What features would you like in your next Oppo BR - e.g. Oppo BDP-113 and BDP-115. - Page 48 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


View Poll Results: DIRAC Live Software
Yes 62 63.92%
No 35 36.08%
Voters: 97. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
 79Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1411 of 1431 Old 06-06-2015, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,865
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 123
As I remember, Oppo had a good reason for not having the wireless internal. I believe it could affect other circuitry and was best left outside.

JazzGuyy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1412 of 1431 Old 06-06-2015, 08:27 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,580
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1123 Post(s)
Liked: 534
I've always presumed it was because of the steel box. Very hard to propagate RF through a metal surrounding (see: Faraday Cage)

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #1413 of 1431 Old 06-06-2015, 08:28 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,691
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 959 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
The reason is simple. The player's metal chassis would interfere with reception if the Wifi was internal.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1414 of 1431 Old 06-12-2015, 04:21 PM
Member
 
glemigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Don't know if this was mentioned but it would be GREAT to have 2 hdmi out ports and be able to send audio out to one and video out to the other.

Please, please... Thanks.
glemigh is online now  
post #1415 of 1431 Old 06-12-2015, 04:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Viper187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post
Direct support for Amazon Prime would be nice. Will this ever get resolved?
That should happen, but I'm not sure it's beneficial anyway. I like getting stuff in 2 days, but if shipping elsewhere is cheaper than sales tax at Amazon, screw Amazon. Does NewEgg stock Oppo? They really should.

oh. You meant Prime video streaming. oops

Last edited by Viper187; 06-12-2015 at 04:39 PM.
Viper187 is offline  
post #1416 of 1431 Old 06-12-2015, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,865
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by glemigh View Post
Don't know if this was mentioned but it would be GREAT to have 2 hdmi out ports and be able to send audio out to one and video out to the other.

Please, please... Thanks.
The Oppo players have had this for several years. This is not a new feature.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #1417 of 1431 Old 06-12-2015, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Viper187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post
The Oppo players have had this for several years. This is not a new feature.
I was scratching my head when I saw that question. I thought they had two. It's a nice feature, but I don't see what the big deal is. You can just as easily pass the HDMI through the AVR. Though, I suppose now that 4K is a thing it could be an issue if AVRs need upgraded to passthrough 4K video. Easier to bypass the AVR.

Personally, I'd kill for a hidden service menu that allows changing the region. I know there was some cheap off brand BD player a few years ago that you could change regions on without modding. It should be a software option like is on PCs anyway, even if you're only supposed to be allowed to change the region a limited number of times (like DVD drives used to be on PC)...someone would find a workaround and we wouldn't need those expensive chips and annoying remote presses/reboots that I read about. I can watch my region B discs on PC, but doing it with the player would be more convenient.
Viper187 is offline  
post #1418 of 1431 Old 06-12-2015, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper187 View Post
I was scratching my head when I saw that question. I thought they had two. It's a nice feature, but I don't see what the big deal is. You can just as easily pass the HDMI through the AVR. Though, I suppose now that 4K is a thing it could be an issue if AVRs need upgraded to passthrough 4K video. Easier to bypass the AVR.

Personally, I'd kill for a hidden service menu that allows changing the region. I know there was some cheap off brand BD player a few years ago that you could change regions on without modding. It should be a software option like is on PCs anyway, even if you're only supposed to be allowed to change the region a limited number of times (like DVD drives used to be on PC)...someone would find a workaround and we wouldn't need those expensive chips and annoying remote presses/reboots that I read about. I can watch my region B discs on PC, but doing it with the player would be more convenient.
All true, but not possible, since the bluray consortium won't allow it. It was their dictate to have the different regions.
hernanu is offline  
post #1419 of 1431 Old 06-12-2015, 08:50 PM
Member
 
glemigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post
The Oppo players have had this for several years. This is not a new feature.
I own a BDP-83, and after realizing that the newer machines have the feature, think of it as more of a plea to keep it in the future products.
glemigh is online now  
post #1420 of 1431 Old 06-12-2015, 11:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,500
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 129
I mentioned this earlier, but support for the playback of DSD 128x source material.
RWetmore is offline  
post #1421 of 1431 Old 06-13-2015, 06:40 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,691
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 959 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
^ The 105D (only) currently supports DSD 128 Stereo on its USB DAC Input, so its DACs can handle that now, for stereo. DSD multi-channel on that DAC input or DSD higher than 64 through the normal digital processing path (e.g., from media files, shiny discs, or over the network) would, indeed, require newer hardware.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1422 of 1431 Old 06-13-2015, 02:08 PM
Member
 
JJK1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 112
The ability to rip CDs to a NAS, Airplay, Spotify connect,
Display file format and sample rate of DNLA data off the network.
HDMI pass-through so you can watch TV from your cablebox but listen to music off the network at the same time.
A good (better) media controller for ios, android.
Non darbee options
JJK1 is offline  
post #1423 of 1431 Old 06-14-2015, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
dbphd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 67
I may have mentioned this earlier, but a 12 v trigger to turn an amp on and off would be nice for those who use an Oppo as a processor. I've recently begun to use my BDP-95 with a Proceed Amp 2 that drives a pair of KEF LS50s in our living room, and it would be nice if the Oppo triggered the Amp 2, because I tend to forget to set the amp back to standby.

db
dbphd is offline  
post #1424 of 1431 Old 06-14-2015, 10:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 4
I actually love the ios oppo app

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJK1 View Post
The ability to rip CDs to a NAS, Airplay, Spotify connect,
Display file format and sample rate of DNLA data off the network.
HDMI pass-through so you can watch TV from your cablebox but listen to music off the network at the same time.
A good (better) media controller for ios, android.
Non darbee options

I use it all the time...


Miguel6868 is offline  
post #1425 of 1431 Old 06-21-2015, 03:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Down Under
Posts: 1,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 440 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper187 View Post
I was scratching my head when I saw that question. I thought they had two. It's a nice feature, but I don't see what the big deal is. You can just as easily pass the HDMI through the AVR. Though, I suppose now that 4K is a thing it could be an issue if AVRs need upgraded to passthrough 4K video. Easier to bypass the AVR.
I think with the HDCP issue still hanging in the air, there will be a few legacy amps around, so having two HDMI outputs will certainly help keep these recent amps w/o HDCP in circulation.

But does anyone knows when will we see a UHD capable Oppo?
petetherock is offline  
post #1426 of 1431 Old 06-21-2015, 04:12 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,580
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1123 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by petetherock View Post
But does anyone knows when will we see a UHD capable Oppo?
OPPO has said not this year, and maybe not next year.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #1427 of 1431 Old 06-21-2015, 04:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Down Under
Posts: 1,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 440 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
OPPO has said not this year, and maybe not next year.

-Bill
Thanks, I guess my 105 will be in use for a while longer
petetherock is offline  
post #1428 of 1431 Old 07-01-2015, 07:04 AM
Member
 
MIIKE888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbphd View Post
I may have mentioned this earlier, but a 12 v trigger to turn an amp on and off would be nice for those who use an Oppo as a processor. I've recently begun to use my BDP-95 with a Proceed Amp 2 that drives a pair of KEF LS50s in our living room, and it would be nice if the Oppo triggered the Amp 2, because I tend to forget to set the amp back to standby.

db
This is a must!

don't know how they would think if they don't fix a 12v trigger for the amps connected to the Oppo.

//Mike
MIIKE888 is offline  
post #1429 of 1431 Old 07-01-2015, 09:48 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,691
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 959 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
^ In the existing players, some folks have successfully tapped 5V power from the USB socket for use as a Trigger.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1430 of 1431 Old 07-01-2015, 12:59 PM
Senior Member
 
dnoonie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Seattle, WA area
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 99
dnoonie is offline  
post #1431 of 1431 Old 07-01-2015, 08:49 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,691
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 959 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
Many "12V" Trigger inputs will work just fine with only 5V. So try that first.
--Bob
dnoonie likes this.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc Bdp 105



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off