Official 2012 Sony BDP-S790 Thread - Page 112 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3331 of 3607 Old 01-18-2014, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattyo1612 View Post

I'm just curious to know what you have your picture setting on in the options menu on the Sony BDP-S790. I have it on Direct at the moment, but am I better to have it maybe on Standard/Film in the Custom settings?

I use Direct. I am of the opinion that any BD player should play exactly what's on the disc without any manipulations from the player. Direct does exactly that and it looks great IMO.
Mattyo1612 likes this.
Cortiz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3332 of 3607 Old 01-18-2014, 03:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,284
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 585 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Direct looks terrible on my TV. Unconversion of 480 DVD is a major function of these expensive players. If you aren't going to use it, may as well save your money.
mdavej is offline  
post #3333 of 3607 Old 01-18-2014, 05:31 PM
Member
 
Mattyo1612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mackay Queensland Australia
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Direct looks terrible on my TV. Unconversion of 480 DVD is a major function of these expensive players. If you aren't going to use it, may as well save your money.

So what do you have it set to then? Auto, Brighter Room, Theatre Room, or the Custom settings which then allow you to set it on Standard, Film or Anime or tweak it to your own preference which allows to adjust the following listed as follows:
Texture Remaster
Super Resolution
Smoothing
Contrast Remaster
Clear Black
FNR (?)
BNR (?) ←I don't know what these 3 are
MNR (?)
and so on...

If anyone has played around with these settings I'd be interested to know what your impressions are, good or bad or otherwise...

Mattyo1612 is offline  
post #3334 of 3607 Old 01-18-2014, 09:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,284
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 585 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattyo1612 View Post

So what do you have it set to then? Auto, Brighter Room, Theatre Room, or the Custom settings which then allow you to set it on Standard, Film or Anime or tweak it to your own preference which allows to adjust the following listed as follows:
Texture Remaster
Super Resolution
Smoothing
Contrast Remaster
Clear Black
FNR (?)
BNR (?) ←I don't know what these 3 are
MNR (?)
and so on...

If anyone has played around with these settings I'd be interested to know what your impressions are, good or bad or otherwise...
None of the above. I misunderstood. I thought you meant source direct, aka, original resolution. Like you, I turn off as much of that other junk as possible. All I keep is upconversion.
mdavej is offline  
post #3335 of 3607 Old 01-18-2014, 09:48 PM
Senior Member
 
powertoburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Marino, CA, USA
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

The S5100 also plays Total Recall and Monsters U without issues. At least both of my S5100s played them fine while bitstreaming the audio.

Cool! Thanks for letting me know. At this point I am guessing the issues I am experiencing have more to do with my AVR a Pioneer VSX 33 then the actual player itself.
powertoburn is offline  
post #3336 of 3607 Old 01-19-2014, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailalan View Post

After days and days of research I narrowed it down to an Oppo or the S790. My final conclusion was that the S790 delivered as close to the picture quality of an Oppo as you could get. In many cases people felt that the S790 was just as good as or better than the Oppo and of course it is much cheaper. It also seemed to have less complaints about reliability and problems. I didn't really care about the 4K aspects of the player, I just wanted the best player I could get. I had always assumed that would be the Oppo after the years of glowing reviews. But after hours and hours of reading forum posts about the Oppos from people who actually owned them I realized they were far from perfect and there seemed to be lots of complaints regarding mechanical functioning and remote control. I didn't really get that impression from the S790 owners.

So I decided to get the S790 and I have been very happy with it. I use it with a 65" Panasonic ZT60 plasma. True to what I had read, the picture quality is everything I had hoped for, the upscaling of DVDs is extremely impressive and the audio is as good as any I have ever heard. I got it from Amazon for around $165, it was on sale and I had some Amazon credit card points I used with it as well. A player that meets or beats Oppo quality at a price that is a fraction of the Oppo cost is the best deal out there in my estimation. The 4K abilities don't have any impact on my usage of the player. They don't take anything away from it and they will be a plus if I ever get a 4K display. I think what it offers is the best quality for the price.

Alan

Alan,

The only reason to get the Oppo over the Sony would be for the better build quality and the additional features the Oppo has over the Sony. As far as PQ for me it's a toss up with the base Oppos, but the Darbee edition is a different animal. Last, I am not sure where you read the about mechanical and remote control issues with Oppo.eek.gif Which model(s) are you referring to?

Last, as you stated there are no perfect Blu-ray players but you want to get as close to excellence (PQ, media support, customer service, etc.) as possible.smile.gif

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #3337 of 3607 Old 01-19-2014, 06:34 PM
Newbie
 
terryuk22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my G/F has a 4100 i think her's plays flv and flac from dongle where my s790 don't.
is there any firmware to do this as have just been given 600 flv files
terryuk22 is offline  
post #3338 of 3607 Old 01-20-2014, 08:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,284
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 585 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by terryuk22 View Post

my G/F has a 4100 i think her's plays flv and flac from dongle where my s790 don't.
is there any firmware to do this as have just been given 600 flv files
Serviio
mdavej is offline  
post #3339 of 3607 Old 01-20-2014, 10:24 AM
Newbie
 
wyup's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used to wonder about this for a long time. But I have come across a fact. When doing YCC>RGB conversion, a player transforms 16-235 luma and 16-240 chroma to RGB values(0-255) in order to look right on a TV or computer display. (Some players offer video RGB levels that cutoff to 16-235). It means that standard YCC to RGB conversion loses superwhites and blacker than blacks. Noetheles, all DVD, blu-rays and camcorders contain them. In order to prove this, some test videodiscs like AVSHD 709 include pluges from 0 to 255 values which flash on the screen to adjust brightness and contrast, and blu-ray is YCC 4:2:0 in nature. So when watching DVD and Blu-ray material, always select YCC 4:4:2 or 4:4:4 output and not RBG because YCC preserves all the data. If RGB translated full range, images would look flat instead of right. RGB should only be for computer output.
wyup is offline  
post #3340 of 3607 Old 01-22-2014, 09:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by terryuk22 View Post

790 vs 5100 which is better
also FourCC Code changer what to change to new to this
thanks

Get AVI FourCC Code Changer: http://www.fourcc.org/changer/
Click the folder icon and and select your DivX file.
For the line FourCC Description Code enter: XVID
For the line FourCC Used Codec enter: XVID
Click the 'Apply' button.

--
(this space for rent)
DoctorM is offline  
post #3341 of 3607 Old 01-23-2014, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 45
In response to someone's question a while back I stated that MVC 3D wasn't used by BD players, only frame packed 3D.
I came across information today that suggests the opposite is true... can anyone set me straight?

--
(this space for rent)
DoctorM is offline  
post #3342 of 3607 Old 01-23-2014, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
cougar75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post

can anyone set me straight?




That would be your significant other. tongue.gif
cougar75 is offline  
post #3343 of 3607 Old 01-23-2014, 11:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 45
No particularly helpful.

Another DLNA/media question. Is it just plain impossible to have subtitles with mpeg2 video?
From what I understand subs aren't recognized in Mpeg-PS (VOB files), can't be muxed into Mpeg-TS (.ts and .m2ts), and mpeg2 can't be muxed into .MKV.

I'm pretty much out of ideas for a way to do this. I'm ready to call it impossible.
The worse of this is, the source has inbuilt closed captioning, but that of course isn't recognized.

--
(this space for rent)
DoctorM is offline  
post #3344 of 3607 Old 01-24-2014, 09:42 AM
Newbie
 
natant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I just purchased an S790 and am running it to a Benq W1070. I'm able to access and stream Netflix and Hulu 3D titles, but I can't seem to actually find the right settings to get 3d to work correctly with this setup. I tried changing the S790's settings to playback at 720p. I tried the projector's 3d settings (side by side, stacked, frame packing), which alters playback accordingly, but rather than seeing clean 3d image through the glasses, I'm just seeing the side by side or stacked frames. 3D blu-rays work perfectly. 

 

I talked with someone at Sony and they told me that if I'm able to access and stream the 3d title then it must be an incompatibility with the projector. But I'm seeing in this thread that the S790 doesn't support Netflix 3D. 

 

Any thoughts on this?

 

Much obliged.

 

Natant

natant is offline  
post #3345 of 3607 Old 01-24-2014, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by natant View Post

I just purchased an S790 and am running it to a Benq W1070. I'm able to access and stream Netflix and Hulu 3D titles, but I can't seem to actually find the right settings to get 3d to work correctly with this setup. I tried changing the S790's settings to playback at 720p. I tried the projector's 3d settings (side by side, stacked, frame packing), which alters playback accordingly, but rather than seeing clean 3d image through the glasses, I'm just seeing the side by side or stacked frames. 3D blu-rays work perfectly. 

I talked with someone at Sony and they told me that if I'm able to access and stream the 3d title then it must be an incompatibility with the projector. But I'm seeing in this thread that the S790 doesn't support Netflix 3D. 

Any thoughts on this?

It's true that the 790 does not support Netflix 3D. Reprehensibly enough, the $90 5100 does! Thanks a lot Sony.(They also dropped the CinemaNow streaming service from the 790. Last time I'll ever purchase a Sony product.)

cinema13 is online now  
post #3346 of 3607 Old 01-24-2014, 03:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 103
whats on Netflix in 3d that's worth watching anyways???
wase4711 is offline  
post #3347 of 3607 Old 01-24-2014, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 45
People actually use 3D? I never even bothered to buy glasses.

--
(this space for rent)
DoctorM is offline  
post #3348 of 3607 Old 01-24-2014, 04:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 103
3d is really nice on the 65 inch 4k sony tv; you dont have to buy glasses, they come with 4 pairs.
Passive 3d, so cheapo glasses are all you need..

best 3d in a home tv ever..
wase4711 is offline  
post #3349 of 3607 Old 01-24-2014, 05:55 PM
Senior Member
 
cougar75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post

People actually use 3D? I never even bothered to buy glasses.




I passed on 3D. Waiting on 4D.
CaptainVideoJW likes this.
cougar75 is offline  
post #3350 of 3607 Old 01-24-2014, 11:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by cougar75 View Post

I passed on 3D. Waiting on 4D.

I maintain that TVs have ALWAYS been 3D. Otherwise they'd be called photographs.
4D is already here.

--
(this space for rent)
DoctorM is offline  
post #3351 of 3607 Old 01-25-2014, 11:29 PM
Member
 
S_G7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_G7 View Post

My BDP-S790 has issues with the Oblivion blu-ray when playing the M83 isolated soundtrack via bitstream. The audio starts cutting in and out at the 00:25 second mark. The M83 soundtrack plays fine when BD Audio Mix is set to On. Does anybody else have this same issue or similar with the Oblivion blu-ray when the audio is set to bitstream?

I tried different HDMI cables and had the same issue. The M83 soundtrack plays fine via bitstream on my BDP-320.

Does anybody else with a Sony player have issues with Oblivion M83 soundtrack? I picked up a BDP-BX510 from Costco (awesome price), to test out the reportedly better streaming apps and it does the same thing. The same Oblivion disc plays perfectly fine on my BDP-320, BDP-51fd, DMP-BDT310, and LG BD590.
S_G7 is offline  
post #3352 of 3607 Old 01-25-2014, 11:36 PM
Member
 
S_G7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

No. Not supported on the amazon app on any sony BDP.

I tested out this feature on the BDP-BX510 (5100) and it has subtitles for Amazon now. Unfortunately, the BDP-S790 still doesn't have it.

I think I read somewhere that the FCC was requiring CC for streaming by January of 2014, so hopefully the Amazon app for the 790 will be updated sometime this month.
S_G7 is offline  
post #3353 of 3607 Old 01-25-2014, 11:44 PM
Member
 
S_G7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I had the chance to test out DVD upscaling between the BDP-S790 and the BDP-BX510 (5100). The BDP-S790 does such a better job with removal of jaggies and artifacts than the BDP-BX510 especially on animation. The BDP-S790 also has much richer colors. If you care about DVD upscaling, the BDP-S790 is worth the extra cost.
LuckyCheetah likes this.
S_G7 is offline  
post #3354 of 3607 Old 01-26-2014, 03:14 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,128
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1028 Post(s)
Liked: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post

I maintain that TVs have ALWAYS been 3D. Otherwise they'd be called photographs.
4D is already here.

4D would involve traveling through time.
CaptainVideoJW likes this.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #3355 of 3607 Old 01-27-2014, 01:53 PM
Member
 
Zap Branigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My 790 is giving me trouble again. I tried to play Cowboys and Aliens yesterday, and it kept hanging up while loading the menu. The previews played OK. Anyone else have trouble with that title? It loaded right up and played fine in my Denon.
Zap Branigan is offline  
post #3356 of 3607 Old 01-27-2014, 06:33 PM
Member
 
suomynona's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belltown
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, you're not the only one. Happens the same on both the US and Canadian version of Kill Bill Vol 1. Won't play on the BDP-S790, but plays fine on the Xbox One. Kind of pisses me off that neither disc works -- even with the latest software update. Didn't think that it would be the player, so I tried buying a different version of the disc. Oh well frown.gif
suomynona is offline  
post #3357 of 3607 Old 01-27-2014, 06:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
sbddvm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by suomynona View Post

No, you're not the only one. Happens the same on both the US and Canadian version of Kill Bill Vol 1. Won't play on the BDP-S790, but plays fine on the Xbox One. Kind of pisses me off that neither disc works -- even with the latest software update. Didn't think that it would be the player, so I tried buying a different version of the disc. Oh well frown.gif

You may know this, but hit the top menu button on the remote and the disc menu will load. Just watched KBV1 yesterday. wink.gif

"Oh what a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive." -Sir Walter Scott

sbddvm is offline  
post #3358 of 3607 Old 02-01-2014, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Urlacher5454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just ordered the BDP-S790 from Vanns.com for $198 shipped. I needed the extra HDMI output and this was the cheapest player I could find with 2 HDMI outputs. Kinda sucks I had to buy another player because my BDP-S570 is great. Oh well!
Urlacher5454 is offline  
post #3359 of 3607 Old 02-02-2014, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urlacher5454 View Post

I just ordered the BDP-S790 from Vanns.com for $198 shipped. I needed the extra HDMI output and this was the cheapest player I could find with 2 HDMI outputs. Kinda sucks I had to buy another player because my BDP-S570 is great. Oh well!

Can an HDMI splitter not be used?

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is offline  
post #3360 of 3607 Old 02-02-2014, 09:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Urlacher5454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post

Can an HDMI splitter not be used?
From what I've read they can be very inconsistent.
Urlacher5454 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony , Sony Bdps790 3d Blu Ray Player , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , Sony Open Box Bdp S790 3d Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off