Official 2012 Sony BDP-S790 Thread - Page 121 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 56Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-31-2014, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul.R.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Re "don't buy Panny" and "ads in app menu": I think it's important to parse the model years (and it's ironic that one should have to make this point given that the 790 dates back to 2012). Sony AND Panny both began an arguable race to the bottom around 2012. There are older Pannys that are swell (the DMP-BDT220; I'm about to buy a third one), just like I prefer 2012-era Sonys, before they abandoned the traditional rack mount form factor and started doing fakakta things with player style/design. Trapezoidal chassis and prism-y tops--blech.
Paul.R.S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-31-2014, 10:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,125
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1982 Post(s)
Liked: 900
Well said.

Not giving Sony a pass, but I think the trapezoid is a structural necessity rather than just a poor stylistic choice. When they moved to ever thinner plastic cases, I think the creases keep it from caving in when you set something on top. Doesn't really bother me since I can still set stuff on top, in spite of the shape. It's not really as bad as it looks, a few millimeters difference at most.

Current Sonys, while missing some features of the 2011-12 era players, do perform better in most respects and have kept the ads in the menus at bay so far. Unless you have an older AVR, I see no reason to buy an older player. At least my x100 and x200 series players can stream Netflix at the highest rate, unlike x90 series players.
mdavej is offline  
Old 10-31-2014, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul.R.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 17
[quote=mdavej;28687273]
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Well said.

Not giving Sony a pass, but I think the trapezoid is a structural necessity rather than just a poor stylistic choice. When they moved to ever thinner plastic cases, I think the creases keep it from caving in when you set something on top. Doesn't really bother me since I can still set stuff on top, in spite of the shape. It's not really as bad as it looks, a few millimeters difference at most.

Current Sonys, while missing some features of the 2011-12 era players, do perform better in most respects and have kept the ads in the menus at bay so far. Unless you have an older AVR, I see no reason to buy an older player. At least my x100 and x200 series players can stream Netflix at the highest rate, unlike x90 series players.
Thanks for your comments. Re setting stuff on top, I think the trap shape is not problematic for this. It's the non-flat tops (and buttons on top) of the 1100, 3100, 5100 et al. players from the 2013 Sony lineup that are an issue . . . at least for me.

And Sony's no longer supporting across-the-board their own SACD format remains another reason why some may be interested in the older decks.

Last edited by Paul.R.S; 10-31-2014 at 11:32 AM.
Paul.R.S is offline  
Old 10-31-2014, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,712
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 182
I'm not convinced coax digital output is that common anymore either, but I haven't shopped around for them lately. Oppo still has everything, but they are awesome.

As far as the Panny remote, they combined the 'Top Menu' button with the 'Pop-Up Menu' button. In practice that is okay for BDs but it doesn't work properly for DVDs and you have to pull up the player's own onscreen menu, scroll down and select 'Top Menu' from that.

This was true in 2013 anyway. Like I said, if you still watch DVDs you may want to double check that.
DoctorM is offline  
Old 10-31-2014, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
swizzchard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by punjabby View Post
Thank you for the response. So now ive widenened my horizons and was wondering if you could make another suggestion. I thought I could get the s790 for $180 on the sony store but I cant. The samsung f7500 is $200 on amazon. I have found a pioneer elite 62 for $275. Any suggestions?
I would check local Best Buys with Magnolia for open box S790. I did and scored it for $99
swizzchard is offline  
Old 11-01-2014, 10:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Official 2012 Sony BDP-S790 Thread

I picked up one of the last s790 on Amazon.ca for $200 CAD. There were none to be had locally.

I find it loud when it spins a BD at high rpm. Should have learnt my lesson from the noisy s770

My Panny 500 in the other room is way quieter but this has better synergy with my VW-95ES projector. Count me as another 2012 MY lover

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
Old 11-02-2014, 11:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,712
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Noisy? Really, AVfile? Maybe it's those Canadian models.
DoctorM is offline  
Old 11-03-2014, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Official 2012 Sony BDP-S790 Thread

It makes a high-pitched whine when spinning a BD at the higher speeds. It is 70% muffled behind a glass door but still audible. Better than the loud vibrations the 770 makes when it gets a BD that is not perfectly round.

Could be my unit was returned by another customer and put on Amazon by the dealer?

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
Old 11-10-2014, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Is this the last Sony player that will fully decode multichannel DTS-HD Master Audio and Dolby TrueHD and send it as multichannel PCM via HDMI?
Riekopo likes this.
RWetmore is online now  
Old 12-17-2014, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Kevin M. Dean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Seems there's a new firmware update that the player has detected, upgrading from the old version 497 to 510. However the Sony site doesn't list it yet so who knows what's different.
Kevin M. Dean is offline  
Old 12-17-2014, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,712
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 182
An update after all this time? I think my head might explode.

Edit: Not B.S., my player is showing it too.
I don't dare hope that we get something comparable to the newer models, it's probably a minor bug fix.

Seriously, they stopped with the updates about the time everyone's warranty ran out.

Last edited by DoctorM; 12-17-2014 at 12:58 PM.
DoctorM is offline  
Old 12-17-2014, 02:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kevin M. Dean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The one thing I would like them to fix is the DLNA mkv playback occasional crashing. However I do find that if I stop playback and then select play again every 30 minutes or so it helps a lot to minimize the crashes. Seems like some memory leak over time with only mkv files.

Still doesn't fix the loading of Kill Bill Vol.1. (Basically one needs to repeatedly press the select button while the 3 red slashes appear to have a chance of getting to the menu when you put in the disc).
Kevin M. Dean is offline  
Old 12-17-2014, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cal1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 204
I'm sure that this has been discussed but my year old S790 will not stream Netflix anymore in 1080 HD resolution. It will ramp up through the resolution scale until it hits 720 HD, which actually looks very good and then goes to 1080 SD which isn't as sharp as the 720 HD image, I've get excellent network speed (via Comcast) and have tried the player on WiFi and direct CAT5 cable into the router but alas, 1080 SD is what Sony's Netflix app reaches and locks onto. I got a firmware update today but nothing changed.My Roku 3 does output a 1080 HD picture and, like the Sony. DD+ 5.1 sound when I run it through my AVR which I generally don't for convenience. The 790, supposedly Sony's top of the line player is clearly at fault (or its updated Netfix app is) but I haven't found any solid solutions to this problem. Anyone have any suggestions?
Cal1981 is offline  
Old 12-17-2014, 06:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,125
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1982 Post(s)
Liked: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cal1981 View Post
I'm sure that this has been discussed but my year old S790 will not stream Netflix anymore in 1080 HD resolution. It will ramp up through the resolution scale until it hits 720 HD, which actually looks very good and then goes to 1080 SD which isn't as sharp as the 720 HD image, I've get excellent network speed (via Comcast) and have tried the player on WiFi and direct CAT5 cable into the router but alas, 1080 SD is what Sony's Netflix app reaches and locks onto. I got a firmware update today but nothing changed.My Roku 3 does output a 1080 HD picture and, like the Sony. DD+ 5.1 sound when I run it through my AVR which I generally don't for convenience. The 790, supposedly Sony's top of the line player is clearly at fault (or its updated Netfix app is) but I haven't found any solid solutions to this problem. Anyone have any suggestions?
SD in Netflix land has a completely different meaning than in the rest of the world. 1080 SD (Super Definition 5400kbps) is Netflix's highest bitrate and is nearly double that of 720 HD (3000kbps). So your results don't make any sense. Many months ago a firmware for the x90 series players actually took away the top 1080 SD rate, leaving you with a max of 1080 HD (4300kbps). So I'm glad to see that has apparently changed. What rates do you see when you play the "Example Short"?
mdavej is offline  
Old 12-17-2014, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cal1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
SD in Netflix land has a completely different meaning than in the rest of the world. 1080 SD (Super Definition 5400kbps) is Netflix's highest bitrate and is nearly double that of 720 HD (3000kbps). So your results don't make any sense. Many months ago a firmware for the x90 series players actually took away the top 1080 SD rate, leaving you with a max of 1080 HD (4300kbps). So I'm glad to see that has apparently changed. What rates do you see when you play the "Example Short"?
The clip shows 1920x1080 but the mode still says 1080 SD. On the new Netflix app, the connection rate doesn't seem to be visible. I have an S780 in the bedroom which the older Netflix app. It does show the speed and most hd clips or movies run at anywhere from 6.2 - 8.5 mbps and look to be the full 720p resolution that the S780 maxes out at for Netflix. The 1080 SD on the S790 makes no sense but there it is. It's frustrating to see this on such an advanced player.
Cal1981 is offline  
Old 12-17-2014, 07:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,125
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1982 Post(s)
Liked: 900
Still not making any sense. When you play the "Example Short" title, it shows the exact bitrate in the video itself (not a Sony info display) and will be in the range of 3000 for 720p to 4300 to 5600 for 1080 (HD or SD). 6.2-8.5 Mbps is impossible and far higher than the bitrate for 720p. Which of those numbers do you see on screen in the video itself?

Also, you aren't following what I'm saying about 1080 SD. That stands for Super Definition, not Standard Definition and is the top rate possible from Netflix. If you see that, it's not possible to do any better on any player because you're already getting the highest possible rate that Netflix provides.

Bottom line, there is nothing wrong.
mdavej is offline  
Old 12-18-2014, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Also 1080 > 720.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
Old 12-18-2014, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 5,972
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 98
My S790 just updated as well.

My Kill Bill bluray's play fine. I don't have to push any extra buttons. Not sure what the Kill Bill thing is about.

With what's going on at Sony I was afraid after the update my S790 was going to be locked into North Korean.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
Old 12-18-2014, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cal1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Still not making any sense. When you play the "Example Short" title, it shows the exact bitrate in the video itself (not a Sony info display) and will be in the range of 3000 for 720p to 4300 to 5600 for 1080 (HD or SD). 6.2-8.5 Mbps is impossible and far higher than the bitrate for 720p. Which of those numbers do you see on screen in the video itself?

Also, you aren't following what I'm saying about 1080 SD. That stands for Super Definition, not Standard Definition and is the top rate possible from Netflix. If you see that, it's not possible to do any better on any player because you're already getting the highest possible rate that Netflix provides.

Bottom line, there is nothing wrong.
Not entirely sure about that. I did read, in several forums, that the S790 may havc a bit rate limitation on Netflix but that the 2014 models can pump out the full 1080P image. As much as I like the 790, I moved it into another room and got an S6200 to replace it. It does indeed get full HD resolution and its newer Netflix app loads very quickly and ramps up to 1080P almost instantly. There is a discernible improvement in the Netflix PQ. It is closer to the image that my Roku 3 puts out which is definitely 1080P. The S6200 derives most of its heritage from the S790 (dual processors, 4K upscale, 2 USB ports, etc) and appears to be a worthy successor to it even if it does have that odd geometric shape.
Cal1981 is offline  
Old 12-19-2014, 08:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,125
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1982 Post(s)
Liked: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cal1981 View Post
Not entirely sure about that. I did read, in several forums, that the S790 may havc a bit rate limitation on Netflix but that the 2014 models can pump out the full 1080P image. As much as I like the 790, I moved it into another room and got an S6200 to replace it. It does indeed get full HD resolution and its newer Netflix app loads very quickly and ramps up to 1080P almost instantly. There is a discernible improvement in the Netflix PQ. It is closer to the image that my Roku 3 puts out which is definitely 1080P. The S6200 derives most of its heritage from the S790 (dual processors, 4K upscale, 2 USB ports, etc) and appears to be a worthy successor to it even if it does have that odd geometric shape.
That's great about the 6200. But what you're reporting about the 790 (1080 SD) is actually a big deal if true. So if you have a chance, would you please play the Netflix movie titled "Example Short 23.976" and report the highest bitrate you see (3000, 4300 or 5600)?

FYI, all 2013 Sony's also have no bitrate limitation like the 2012 models. Your 790 does and always has played Netflix at 1080P 4300kbps. It even played it at 1080P 5600kpbs (the top Netflix bitrate) for a brief period until a firmware update removed it. What you've reported so far implies the 5600kpbs bitrate (1080 SD) has been restored, which would be great news for other 90 series owners, if you can confirm it from the "Example Short 23.976" (that's the name of the movie you need to play to test the theory and see the actual bitrate).

Same goes for any other 790 owners. If anybody can confirm or deny with actual data from the "Example Short 23.976", that would be great. Reporting 1080P or 1080 SD or 1080 HD is all meaningless. What we need are the actual bitrates displayed on the screen when playing "Example Short 23.976".

Thanks
mdavej is offline  
Old 12-19-2014, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 5,972
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 98
I'll check as I can later today. I'm looking at selling my S790. I don't need dual HDMI out anymore and thinking it is still holding its value if for only that reason. But for now I still have it.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
Old 12-19-2014, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cal1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
That's great about the 6200. But what you're reporting about the 790 (1080 SD) is actually a big deal if true. So if you have a chance, would you please play the Netflix movie titled "Example Short 23.976" and report the highest bitrate you see (3000, 4300 or 5600)?

FYI, all 2013 Sony's also have no bitrate limitation like the 2012 models. Your 790 does and always has played Netflix at 1080P 4300kbps. It even played it at 1080P 5600kpbs (the top Netflix bitrate) for a brief period until a firmware update removed it. What you've reported so far implies the 5600kpbs bitrate (1080 SD) has been restored, which would be great news for other 90 series owners, if you can confirm it from the "Example Short 23.976" (that's the name of the movie you need to play to test the theory and see the actual bitrate).
Same goes for any other 790 owners. If anybody can confirm or deny with actual data from the "Example Short 23.976", that would be great. Reporting 1080P or 1080 SD or 1080 HD is all meaningless. What we need are the actual bitrates displayed on the screen when playing "Example Short 23.976".
Thanks
The clip showed 4300 when I played it on the S790. The same clip on the 6200 actually shows 5800 and and the info text is much bolder and sharper. There were reports of Sony doing some odd things with some of its firmware updates so who knows. Another example is the Super HD Moving Art Oceans clip. On the 790 it looked OK but not very sharp. On the 6200, the image is very sharp so there are visible differences between the two players. Maybe my 790 went south on Netflix but the 6200 is so much better that the problem will have to be consigned to the "beats me" category although it is disturbing that whatever it is, it occurred on a top of the line unit.
Here's a link to post on Sony's community site. The poster has a number of Sony Bluray players
http://community.sony.com/t5/Blu-Ray...225009/page/17

Last edited by Cal1981; 12-19-2014 at 09:25 AM. Reason: Additional info
Cal1981 is offline  
Old 12-19-2014, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,712
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 182
I would think any Netflix changes falls under those app updates, not a firmware update.
DoctorM is offline  
Old 12-19-2014, 10:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,125
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1982 Post(s)
Liked: 900
Thanks Cal. That confirms that nothing has changed in the firmware and/or app. I think it's firmware since 5800 used to work until the firmware was updated.

I sold my 790 immediately after Sony crippled Netix on it.
mdavej is offline  
Old 12-19-2014, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 5,972
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 98
1080P at 4300 KBPS

I've set it to the highest quality via web based access and then tested it with that short file.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
Old 12-22-2014, 05:18 PM
Member
 
jafo818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Sony UK site does have more info about the 510 update.

http://www.sony.co.uk/support/en/con...r0510/BDP-S790
jafo818 is offline  
Old 12-28-2014, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,712
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Improves the encryption security
Sony is concerned about security?
jsmiddleton4 and pacman9270 like this.
DoctorM is offline  
Old 01-02-2015, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 5,972
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Kept the Sony S790. Sold the Panasonic BDT500.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
Old 01-25-2015, 10:02 PM
Member
 
Riekopo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWetmore View Post
Is this the last Sony player that will fully decode multichannel DTS-HD Master Audio and Dolby TrueHD and send it as multichannel PCM via HDMI?

Can you explain what you mean? I was considering getting a newer Sony Blu-ray player, but if this one is better then I will have to reconsider.
Riekopo is offline  
Old 01-26-2015, 06:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riekopo View Post
Can you explain what you mean? I was considering getting a newer Sony Blu-ray player, but if this one is better then I will have to reconsider.
Starting from 2013, Sony players do not not fully internally decode Dolby/True HD. They only decode 2CH. DTS HD Master is fully decoded but only on their higher end models. The S790 is the last Sony BD player that fully internally decodes everything and send it as LPCM.

Last edited by Cortiz; 01-26-2015 at 06:11 AM.
Cortiz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony , Sony Bdps790 3d Blu Ray Player , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , Sony Open Box Bdp S790 3d Blu Ray Disc Player
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off