Official 2012 Sony BDP-S790 Thread - Page 122 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3631 of 3646 Old Yesterday, 11:19 PM
Newbie
 
coldsolder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Upper case letters & spec. chars_entering router key in Sony player

Sony BPD-S790 bluray/DVD player w/ Netflix.
Best I can tell, Sony's on-screen keypad to enter wireless router key, has only 4 special characters & NO upper case letters.
I'm fairly sure about the 4 spec. chars.
Maybe I missed how to get upper case.

Are most mfg's of players w/ wireless connection to routers, as limited in available character set(s) for wireless PWs as this Sony?
How can I find out which mfg's / players might offer most spec. chars & upper case letters?

I use a long, random router key - with some of all characters / numbers / cases available.
Not sure how comfortable I'd be, re-doing the router key, leaving out upper case & ~ 90% of spec. chars.

Seems if someone finds you have a Sony player connected wirelessly, they instantly know which 4 spec. chars & that NO upper case were used.

Suggestions?
coldsolder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3632 of 3646 Old Today, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,482
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
There had to have been a pretty small window where tuners had HDMI connections BUT couldn't decode DTS HD MA.
That is the WRONG way to think of the problem.

Some people have very LARGE investments in TOP-END
Audio and Video gear that we can't throw away.

In my case - I don't have a new $12,000 to UPGRADE my
AVR gear. Using the S790 keeps me 100% in-sync with
all the trends INCLUDING 3D.
AVfile likes this.
drhankz is offline  
post #3633 of 3646 Old Today, 09:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
film113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post
. Using the S790 keeps me 100% in-sync with
all the trends INCLUDING 3D.
Except for Netflix 3D, which Sony will not provide a firmware update for.
film113 is offline  
post #3634 of 3646 Old Today, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,482
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by film113 View Post
Except for Netflix 3D, which Sony will not provide a firmware update for.
What is NETFLIX

I only use 3D Blu-Ray Disks
drhankz is offline  
post #3635 of 3646 Old Today, 10:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
film113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post
What is NETFLIX

I only use 3D Blu-Ray Disks
Yeah, but some NF 3D titles (Dante's THE HOLE, Zemeckis' BEOWULF) don't have a domestic BD release.
film113 is offline  
post #3636 of 3646 Old Today, 10:31 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,857
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Not Sony's fault. NF controls the app. My 2-3 year old Oppo and Panasonics were never updated either.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #3637 of 3646 Old Today, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,482
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
Not Sony's fault. NF controls the app. My 2-3 year old Oppo and Panasonics were never updated either.
3 THUMBS UP
drhankz is offline  
post #3638 of 3646 Old Today, 10:54 AM
Member
 
JimSatala777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ft. Myers Beach, FL
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 6
I have the option to view Netflix 3d content on both of my Sonys 790 and 7200 and my Oppo 105D ..do a search for 3d in Netflix and some titles appear after you view 1 you will get the header on your title menu
JimSatala777 is online now  
post #3639 of 3646 Old Today, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
swizzchard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by coldsolder View Post
Sony BPD-S790 bluray/DVD player w/ Netflix.
Best I can tell, Sony's on-screen keypad to enter wireless router key, has only 4 special characters & NO upper case letters.
I'm fairly sure about the 4 spec. chars.
Maybe I missed how to get upper case.

Are most mfg's of players w/ wireless connection to routers, as limited in available character set(s) for wireless PWs as this Sony?
How can I find out which mfg's / players might offer most spec. chars & upper case letters?

I use a long, random router key - with some of all characters / numbers / cases available.
Not sure how comfortable I'd be, re-doing the router key, leaving out upper case & ~ 90% of spec. chars.

Seems if someone finds you have a Sony player connected wirelessly, they instantly know which 4 spec. chars & that NO upper case were used.

Suggestions?
I certainly use a mixture of cases, numbers, special characters...just look at the screen harder and usually the red, yellow, blue or , green buttons cycles through your menu. or the */# key will cycle different character map on the screen...im just not sure which
swizzchard is offline  
post #3640 of 3646 Old Today, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 47
drhankz - You are not wrong. I wasn't telling you to update your gear... I never tell anyone that because I think it sucks when people use it on me. I bought the BDP S790 because my tuner needed the optical out and this is also the last BD player to have that.

I meant I have no recollection of a time when tuners included HDMI, but did not support BD lossless audio formats. It couldn't have been for very long.

--
(this space for rent)
DoctorM is offline  
post #3641 of 3646 Old Today, 12:48 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,857
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
To TV, no. To soundbar, no. The x60 series and older all decode, except low end models like the 91. Any player still bitstreams 5.1 over optical/coax as you would use with a TV or soundbar. The only reason I can think of to get a decoding player is if you have one of the rare AVRs that can't decode anything.
Depending on the Soundbar, Sony does decode lossless audio. I got my Dad the 770 soundbar because it decodes lossless audio (Dolby and DTS), and has 3D and 4K passthrough. Not that he needs those two. Both his D* box and BD player run bitstream into the soundbar and video goes out to the TV. He loves it.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #3642 of 3646 Old Today, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,482
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
drhankz - You are not wrong. I wasn't telling you to update your gear... I never tell anyone that because I think it sucks when people use it on me. I bought the BDP S790 because my tuner needed the optical out and this is also the last BD player to have that.

I meant I have no recollection of a time when tuners included HDMI, but did not support BD lossless audio formats. It couldn't have been for very long.
LPCM is High-Def Audio over HDMI - I LOVE IT
drhankz is offline  
post #3643 of 3646 Old Today, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
film113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSatala777 View Post
I have the option to view Netflix 3d content on both of my Sonys 790 and 7200 and my Oppo 105D ..do a search for 3d in Netflix and some titles appear after you view 1 you will get the header on your title menu
Whoa! You are getting actual 3D from NF on the 790? You're the first 790 owner that's been able to do that. I've searched using "3D" and there is a list...but nothing is displayed in 3D. Nor do some titles that appear (BEOWULF) even state that they are in 3D.
film113 is offline  
post #3644 of 3646 Old Today, 02:14 PM
Member
 
JimSatala777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ft. Myers Beach, FL
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 6
It's been working for over a year
JimSatala777 is online now  
post #3645 of 3646 Old Today, 02:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
film113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSatala777 View Post
It's been working for over a year
Well, as I said, no other 790 owners have reported that. Is there a player setting I'm overlooking? Any 790 owners out there getting NF 3D?
film113 is offline  
post #3646 of 3646 Unread Today, 06:04 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,857
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 179
I just went on with my 790. No 3D.


S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony , Sony Bdps790 3d Blu Ray Player , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , Sony Open Box Bdp S790 3d Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off