Official 2012 Sony BDP-S790 Thread - Page 124 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 3704 Old 03-18-2015, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Has anyone found that some recent update may have improved MKV playback?

I tested a BDRemux today from a DVD-ROM disc and it played smoothly even though it spent most of its time around 30Mbps. The audio was DD 320kbps, but I'm wondering if they fixed that bitrate issue.

I'll do more testing when I get a chance, but I didn't really expect success.

--
(this space for rent)
DoctorM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 3704 Old 03-18-2015, 01:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,223
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1108 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Latest update was last December. Notes don't mention anything about file playback or MKV.
mdavej is offline  
post #3693 of 3704 Old 03-18-2015, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Yeah, I tested an old bdremux that didn't work before and it still stutters badly. I stripped the audio down to DTS core, and while better, it still stutters.

I don't know what the maximum allowable bitrate is, but I think a PS3 style profile is still probably ideal "--vbv-bufsize 31250 --vbv-maxrate 31250".

While the S790 tries mightily with DTS-HD MA it seems to be too much for it. I don't know how it handles lossless audio with the PS3 profile though. That's a test for another day.

--
(this space for rent)
DoctorM is offline  
post #3694 of 3704 Old 03-19-2015, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 41
The S790 does not seem to be equipped to playback mkv's. I also have a 6200 and it plays them fine. As far as I know nothing about the S790 indicates it will play them back reliably or consistently. My humble opinion is when the S790 came out the market was different and MKV playback via a bluray player not really a big deal. Now it is more important. So older stuff like the S790 mkv playback was not an issue.

The S6200 plays them great. And I can have the HD audio tracks in the MKV and even though Dolby TrueHD would choke as long as I have non-hd audio track available the S6200 picks it up and plays perfectly.

Interface not fancy but it works fine.

So IF you want a bluray player to do mkv playback reliably the S790 not a good tool.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #3695 of 3704 Old 03-29-2015, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I like to follow racing, and one of the circuits has started streaming practice and time trials using youtube.

The problem is the YouTube app doesn't support live youtube streams.
I thought maybe going through Serviio would work, but apparently the Groovy plugin doesn't either.

Anyone know of a way to get live youtube streams (as in live events) onto the S790? I'm hating the idea of 'long cord to TV from PC'.

--
(this space for rent)
DoctorM is offline  
post #3696 of 3704 Old 04-02-2015, 07:09 AM
Member
 
ltd76gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Zigzag Oregon / South Padre Island Texas
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
A while back I asked if anyone here had opened up their unit to clean the disk spindle.

My 790 has the hiccups with a few disks and generally a cleaning cures this. I have tried the "spit and polish" technique with little success.

In the meantime I picked up a samsung 5900 that while a speedy and efficient streaming devive, makes more noise than my old 63 Vw bus climbing the hill to Timberline Lodge.

If anyone has a copy of a SERVICE manual.... I would really appreciate having one. I do not want to lose the playback benefits of the 790.

Thanks guys!

Doug k
ltd76gold is offline  
post #3697 of 3704 Old 04-20-2015, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kutlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wetumpka, Al
Posts: 2,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I cant get my unit to split the hdmi to 1 and 2. Anyone else have that problem?
kutlow is online now  
post #3698 of 3704 Old 04-20-2015, 12:42 PM
Member
 
jurid001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turboo2u View Post
The S790 has incredible upscaling abilities, far better than my OPPO93. It's Netflix APP works WAAAYYY better than the $500 OPPO. Do a A-B comparison of the S790 for picture quality against ANY player at ANY price. THAT'S why it's attained mythical
status!
How about s6200, isn't it the same as s790 in terms of PQ? Or s790 is better?

A2, A35, 150, 62fd, s6200, WDTV LIVE, HTPC w/ HD-DVD/BD
jurid001 is offline  
post #3699 of 3704 Old 04-20-2015, 12:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,223
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1108 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by kutlow View Post
I cant get my unit to split the hdmi to 1 and 2. Anyone else have that problem?
AV Separation mode ON sends video out to 1 and audio out to 2, OFF sends both video/audio to both outputs.
mdavej is offline  
post #3700 of 3704 Old 04-20-2015, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kutlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wetumpka, Al
Posts: 2,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 18
ok my hdni is not working. Has anyone else had this issue? I tried to take the top off to look but couldnt get it to seperate.
kutlow is online now  
post #3701 of 3704 Old 04-25-2015, 06:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 41
"How about s6200, isn't it the same as s790 in terms of PQ? Or s790 is better?"

Have both. Had a S7200 before returning it for S6200 so saw picture from the S7200 as well. Pictures are identical on my Sharp 60 inch 1080P Quattron LED TV. All very nice.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #3702 of 3704 Old Yesterday, 11:35 AM
Member
 
jurid001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
"How about s6200, isn't it the same as s790 in terms of PQ? Or s790 is better?"

Have both. Had a S7200 before returning it for S6200 so saw picture from the S7200 as well. Pictures are identical on my Sharp 60 inch 1080P Quattron LED TV. All very nice.
Thanks a lot! How about comparing s6200 and s790 to OPPO? I read some opinions that s790 is better than OPPO which is hard to believe (especially, the Darblet varieties).

A2, A35, 150, 62fd, s6200, WDTV LIVE, HTPC w/ HD-DVD/BD
jurid001 is offline  
post #3703 of 3704 Old Yesterday, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 49
That assumes the Darblet is anything more than a ridiculous gimmick. I don't calibrate my system only to process my video.

Although I still have my doubts any Sony BD player could outstrip an Oppo.

--
(this space for rent)
DoctorM is offline  
post #3704 of 3704 Old Today, 04:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kutlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wetumpka, Al
Posts: 2,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 18
First lets get one thing straight. The s790 from sony is a pos compared to the oppo. I own both. My hdmi number 2 went out on the sony for bo reason. Furthermore the oppo is so easy to make adjustments to. Plus if you are a video/audio geek you have so many options in calibration. Did I forget how fast a movie starts on the oppo? Second thing is the darbee. It is awesome period
kutlow is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony , Sony Bdps790 3d Blu Ray Player , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , Sony Open Box Bdp S790 3d Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off