Official 2012 Sony BDP-S790 Thread - Page 131 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 58Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3901 of 3909 Old 07-24-2016, 08:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kevin M. Dean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
For Youtube, did you try the same video again. The youtube app seem to accumulate whatever overtime eventually leading to the "App is too large" problem, but usually after relaunching you can watch again, but eventually the same problem will build up again. Some memory leak that's neveer been fixed.
Kevin M. Dean is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3902 of 3909 Old 07-25-2016, 02:48 AM
Member
 
boca rat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: St Augustine, Florida
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks Kevin. It was actually the first video I ever opened on Youtube, and happened the second time and with another video as well.
boca rat is offline  
post #3903 of 3909 Old 07-25-2016, 07:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Kevin M. Dean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hmm, I haven't used the Youtube app in a while so I guess that could be a new quirk.
Kevin M. Dean is offline  
post #3904 of 3909 Old 08-01-2016, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Official 2012 Sony BDP-S790 Thread

Can the 790 play UV via Cinema Now or other app?

I tried to activate Cinema Now on my 770 and it said invalid code!

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #3905 of 3909 Old 08-02-2016, 03:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kevin M. Dean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
Can the 790 play UV via Cinema Now or other app?
It doesn't have the Cinema Now app, but it does have VUDU which works fine.
Kevin M. Dean is offline  
post #3906 of 3909 Old 08-07-2016, 10:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin M. Dean View Post
It doesn't have the Cinema Now app, but it does have VUDU which works fine.
Thanks but it looks like there's still no VUDU in Canada. The player doesn't even have the app.
AVfile is offline  
post #3907 of 3909 Old 08-08-2016, 07:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,215
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2016 Post(s)
Liked: 909
You guys ever heard of Roku? It's a little puck that has every streaming app imaginable. So you can keep using your 790 for discs forever and get all the streaming services you want. If that's not your cup of tea, then get a Chromecast, Fire TV or Apple TV. The streaming landscape changes so fast, it's unreasonable to expect any disc player or smart TV to keep up. A stand-alone streamer is always going to be the best option.
DoctorM likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #3908 of 3909 Old 08-08-2016, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 186
We recently bought new Sony android TVs. Apps are almost always up to date because it isn't up to Sony to give you the latest and greatest apps, they come from the Google App Store just like your cellphone.
It also plays media files leagues better than the S790.

Our S790 is now a dumb DVDs and BDs, nothing else.
mdavej likes this.
DoctorM is offline  
post #3909 of 3909 Old Today, 03:38 AM
Member
 
Mattyo1612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mackay Queensland Australia
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Here's something weird.... a little while ago I started to experience a handshake issue between the Sony BDP-S790 and my new Yamaha RX-A3030 where it would suddenly lose connection during a movie, it never did it on my previous Yamaha RX-V773. I couldn't figure it out until I realised that my Yamaha sub YST-SW515 was causing the interference whenever it would either kick in or when no signal was detected after 6 or 7 minutes and shut off momentarily as it has an Auto setting that allows it to do so.... I tried altering the phase to normal from reverse and a few other things and still it kept on happening..... and then I tried something so basic and simple... I swapped the ends of the HDMI cable around between the player and the receiver.... and voila, it worked! Who would've thought... I had forgotten an article I read ages ago stating that HDMI leads are usually directional...

Mattyo1612 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony , Sony Bdps790 3d Blu Ray Player , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , Sony Open Box Bdp S790 3d Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off