Official 2012 Sony BDP-S790 Thread - Page 26 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
imws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have Amazon Prime and I can't link this Sony to my account, I get the code is invalid from Amazon site. How does one link this to Amazon?
imws is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by imws View Post

I have Amazon Prime and I can't link this Sony to my account, I get the code is invalid from Amazon site. How does one link this to Amazon?

I haven't seen this listed on Amazon yet. Try the Sony Store
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #753 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by imws View Post

I have Amazon Prime and I can't link this Sony to my account, I get the code is invalid from Amazon site. How does one link this to Amazon?

Goto https://internet.sony.tv/customer/template/Home.vm
and add player to your Sony essentials account.

Then click on Link to premium services, there you will be able to link Amazon prime VOD to your Sony essentials overall account.

Once that's done, you Sony essentials account will always be linked to your Amazon prime VOD account. So you can add more Sony devices, or remove devices as need. Each will have access to your Amazon account.
apw2607 is offline  
post #754 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post

I haven't seen this listed on Amazon yet. Try the Sony Store

?
apw2607 is offline  
post #755 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 12:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,863
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by imws View Post

I have Amazon Prime and I can't link this Sony to my account, I get the code is invalid from Amazon site. How does one link this to Amazon?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post

I haven't seen this listed on Amazon yet. Try the Sony Store

The question is about streaming not buying this Sony at Amazon.
htwaits is offline  
post #756 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 01:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Opps!
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #757 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
imws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

Goto https://internet.sony.tv/customer/template/Home.vm
and add player to your Sony essentials account.

Then click on Link to premium services, there you will be able to link Amazon prime VOD to your Sony essentials overall account.

Once that's done, you Sony essentials account will always be linked to your Amazon prime VOD account. So you can add more Sony devices, or remove devices as need. Each will have access to your Amazon account.

I tried that but it opens another page to Amazon.com and on that page it asks for a registration code, if I enter the registration code that I used already to register the player on Sony's site it comes back as invalid. I give up...
imws is offline  
post #758 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,469
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by imws View Post

I tried that but it opens another page to Amazon.com and on that page it asks for a registration code, if I enter the registration code that I used already to register the player on Sony's site it comes back as invalid. I give up...

The Site he gave you below --
https://internet.sony.tv/customer/template/Home.vm

Is for TVs NOT PLAYERS
drhankz is online now  
post #759 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
imws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is there a site for players? The link I tried was from the player btw and it was Internet.sony.tv which redirected to an https Sony site that allows me to register the player so the link is obviously correct.
imws is offline  
post #760 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
imws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
But it fails when I try to link to Amazon
imws is offline  
post #761 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
imws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Let's forget it, if anything is this difficult then it is not worth pursuing!!!
imws is offline  
post #762 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 02:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,863
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by imws View Post

Let's forget it, if anything is this difficult then it is not worth pursuing!!!

That must be the "light switch" theory of problem solving.
htwaits is offline  
post #763 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
imws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yeah life is too short for this kind of stuff, I have a Roku XS that does Amazon just fine so don't need to bother with QA'ing stuff for Sony.
imws is offline  
post #764 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Clark Burk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Baltimore,MD.USA
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by imws View Post

Is there a site for players? The link I tried was from the player btw and it was Internet.sony.tv which redirected to an https Sony site that allows me to register the player so the link is obviously correct.

When you get to the page showing TVs click on the arrow and several more types of devices are available including blu ray players. It's really not that difficult.

Clark
Clark Burk is offline  
post #765 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 30
File Description UPDATE Blu-ray Disc™ Player Firmware Upgrade Release Date 5/16/2012 Version M13.R.0369 File Size 109.26 MB This utility updates the Blu-ray Disc player firmware to version M13.R.0369 and provides the following benefits:
Improvements over firmware version M13.R.0325:
Improves BRAVIA® Internet Video connectivity
Adds support for automatic setting of AV Separation Output Mode which allows you to set up connected devices automatically using Bravia Sync
Benefits provided by previous upgrades and included in version M13.R.0369:
Adds support for the Sony® Entertainment Network portal
Adds support for the "Recommendations" feature
Notes:
The "Recommendations" feature automatically analyzes your interests by referencing your viewing history to find programs and items you may like, and presents them in the xross media bar™ menu.
This feature may not be available depending on your region and broadcasting conditions.
Adds the ability to use the Skype® online calling service
Brian-HD is offline  
post #766 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 04:43 PM
Member
 
Breather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smackrabbit View Post

With Blu-ray content, objectively, there would be no difference most likely. The 590 does 1080p Blu-ray content perfectly, and I'll assume the 790 can but my review unit isn't here yet. Subjectively, some people like the extra "enhancements" the 790 offers for picture control, I offer that on Blu-ray those might enhance one aspect of the image, but will harm another aspect.

Since I don't have the 790 yet, I can't comment on the others. I really can't comment on streaming, as no service has test content I can use to objective measure them, and don't seem inclined to offer that.


Thanks for the reply. You're right, it will probably be about the same. On the other hand, since my main setup is in the family room, I don't have to rush. I think I'll wait until you review the 790 and see what your findings are compared to the 590.
Breather is offline  
post #767 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post


The Site he gave you below --
https://internet.sony.tv/customer/template/Home.vm

Is for TVs NOT PLAYERS

What are you talking about ? It's the same portal for all devices that use the Bravia internet video services.

It's normally a painless process.
apw2607 is offline  
post #768 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by imws View Post


I tried that but it opens another page to Amazon.com and on that page it asks for a registration code, if I enter the registration code that I used already to register the player on Sony's site it comes back as invalid. I give up...

That registration code the player provides is only used to link player to Sony essentials / Bravia Internet video services. You still need to do the additional step to link to premium services.
apw2607 is offline  
post #769 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
imws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I start off within the sony site on my laptop it prompts me to login which I do and then there's an option to register a device, I next enter the 5 digit code on the Sony site and it adds the bluray player. I see on the bluray player that the device is now registered.

Now I see a bunch of services on my laptop that allows me to link to various services I click on the one for Amazon and it pops open a new page with a field for a registration code. I have to enter something here otherwise I can't go any further.

I think I should attempt to register from the player itself instead of using the laptop.
imws is offline  
post #770 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by imws View Post

I start off within the sony site on my laptop it prompts me to login which I do and then there's an option to register a device, I next enter the 5 digit code on the Sony site and it adds the bluray player. I see on the bluray player that the device is now registered.

Now I see a bunch of services on my laptop that allows me to link to various services I click on the one for Amazon and it pops open a new page with a field for a registration code. I have to enter something here otherwise I can't go any further.

I think I should attempt to register from the player itself instead of using the laptop.

Sorry, one step I forgot. Ok, go back to the Sony essentials site and click on link to services. Amazon.com launches and begin registration. It will ask for a 5 digit code, but thats not the same code as what you used for Sony essentials.

Goto the player and launch amazon. Goto options and select account. Select link to account, and it will generate a new 5 digit code. Thats the code you enter into amazon.com

Go back to sony essentials and the status will change to green.

You're now linked.

Now Essentials and amazon are linked, you can add as many devices as you want to your sony essentials account, and amazon will be available automatically, you dont have to go through that step each time you get a new BD. I had already set this up for my Sony Bravia TV back in 2009, so my memory was a bit rusty. Good luck !
LL
LL
LL
LL
apw2607 is offline  
post #771 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 09:27 PM
Senior Member
 
sonic debauchery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I have read how everyone is astonished about the video of this player.

But how does the audio compare to the Oppo 93? To me that is very important.
sonic debauchery is offline  
post #772 of 3603 Old 05-16-2012, 09:35 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,863
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonic debauchery View Post

I have read how everyone is astonished about the video of this player.

But how does the audio compare to the Oppo 93? To me that is very important.

If you are using HDMI bit stream then the audio will be determined by the AVR. What you need to find out is how the audio compares with AVRs that can do HDMI with LPCM or AVRs without HDMI that can take analog signals from the OPPO. Chances are that the OPPO will be better in those areas, but I haven't seen a review.
htwaits is offline  
post #773 of 3603 Old 05-17-2012, 12:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

If you are using HDMI bit stream then the audio will be determined by the AVR. What you need to find out is how the audio compares with AVRs that can do HDMI with LPCM or AVRs without HDMI that can take analog signals from the OPPO. Chances are that the OPPO will be better in those areas, but I haven't seen a review.

So what is your opinion of the video?
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #774 of 3603 Old 05-17-2012, 12:57 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,863
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post

So what is your opinion of the video?

I own the OPPO not the Sony. If you watch a lot of DVDs the OPPO has a reputation for outstanding up-conversion. I don't know how it compares to the Sony. With BD disks there shouldn't be noticeable difference. You would need to check the special features to make your choice. The Sony gets better software from Netflix and UTube. The OPPO doesn't have an Amazon app either.
htwaits is offline  
post #775 of 3603 Old 05-17-2012, 03:13 AM
Senior Member
 
marctronixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 33
SMACK and clark, thanks for the advice.

i went to frys out in burbank and picked up the last 790 they had. its replacing my two mint 780's. This time i want to better educate myself and have appreciated the TECHNICAL posts here. SMACK im looking forward to your review of the 790 when you are able to post it...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Smackrabbit View Post

...

marctronixx is offline  
post #776 of 3603 Old 05-17-2012, 04:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

I own the OPPO not the Sony. If you watch a lot of DVDs the OPPO has a reputation for outstanding up-conversion. I don't know how it compares to the Sony. With BD disks there shouldn't be noticeable difference. You would need to check the special features to make your choice. The Sony gets better software from Netflix and UTube. The OPPO doesn't have an Amazon app either.

The S 790 looks good with DVDs too.
Brian-HD is offline  
post #777 of 3603 Old 05-17-2012, 05:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

I own the OPPO not the Sony. If you watch a lot of DVDs the OPPO has a reputation for outstanding up-conversion. I don't know how it compares to the Sony. With BD disks there shouldn't be noticeable difference. You would need to check the special features to make your choice. The Sony gets better software from Netflix and UTube. The OPPO doesn't have an Amazon app either.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian-HD View Post

The S 790 looks good with DVDs too.

The S790 indeed does a nice job ond DVDs. I normally use Star Trek: The Next Generation Season 1 as my test DVD and the S790 held its own.

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is online now  
post #778 of 3603 Old 05-17-2012, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
imws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

Sorry, one step I forgot. Ok, go back to the Sony essentials site and click on link to services. Amazon.com launches and begin registration. It will ask for a 5 digit code, but thats not the same code as what you used for Sony essentials.

Goto the player and launch amazon. Goto options and select account. Select link to account, and it will generate a new 5 digit code. Thats the code you enter into amazon.com

Go back to sony essentials and the status will change to green.

You're now linked.

Now Essentials and amazon are linked, you can add as many devices as you want to your sony essentials account, and amazon will be available automatically, you dont have to go through that step each time you get a new BD. I had already set this up for my Sony Bravia TV back in 2009, so my memory was a bit rusty. Good luck !

Yes that did it, thank you
imws is offline  
post #779 of 3603 Old 05-17-2012, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
imws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Unfortunately the streaming quality of Amazon by the 790 is not as good as the Roku. It lacks detail. I'll take some pics today and post.
imws is offline  
post #780 of 3603 Old 05-17-2012, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by imws View Post

Unfortunately the streaming quality of Amazon by the 790 is not as good as the Roku. It lacks detail. I'll take some pics today and post.

I owned the Roku for a bit, and although I preferred the user interface on the Roku I didn't notice any difference in streaming quality. Just looked like the same 720p stream to me. The Sony was able to pass out DD bitstream, and at the time, the Roku couldn't ... but that may have changed now.
apw2607 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony , Sony Bdps790 3d Blu Ray Player , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , Sony Open Box Bdp S790 3d Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off