Official 2012 Sony BDP-S790 Thread - Page 61 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1801 of 3575 Old 10-29-2012, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Regarding the remote, it has two features that I like but haven't seen in a few years. The skip back, like instant replay on a TiVo, and a skip ahead.
moxie1617 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1802 of 3575 Old 10-29-2012, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
nelson57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

Regarding the remote, it has two features that I like but haven't seen in a few years. The skip back, like instant replay on a TiVo, and a skip ahead.

Agreed moxie, the remote features are fine, I just found the layout minor problem for me. This is not a big deal at all, I just have to pay close attention to avoid hitting the wrong buttons which I did on a few occasions. That doesn't take away from my liking this player at all.
nelson57 is offline  
post #1803 of 3575 Old 10-30-2012, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Does the 790 have a Source Direct or Native resolution mode. I have a Lumagen Radiance and would prefer to do the deinterlacing and scaling there.

Just another blank signature.
gtgray is offline  
post #1804 of 3575 Old 10-30-2012, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It has a native mode but IIRC, it will always deinterlace 480i to 480p. I was told here that if you set the output to 480i, it will deinterlace to 480p and then interlace to 480i before it leaves the player.

Edit: I found my original post in the 590 thread and the deinterlace->interlace response may have been a tongue in cheek response. It will output 480i if selected.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #1805 of 3575 Old 10-30-2012, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by nelson57 View Post

....impressive sound quality.

Nelson,

What do you attribute this impressive sound quality to?

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #1806 of 3575 Old 10-30-2012, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
nelson57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakerwi View Post

Nelson,
What do you attribute this impressive sound quality to?

I don't know what specifically to attribute sound quality to. I'm sure its a combination of all the system components and the room.
If it seemed I was attributing specific sound qualities to the player, then I used poor phrasing in sharing my view.
I'm just satisfied with my early overall experience with this player, and was expressing nothing more than that.
nelson57 is offline  
post #1807 of 3575 Old 10-31-2012, 03:51 AM
Member
 
engkiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The BDMV folder playback stopped working on some movies previously working after firmware update - has anyone encountered that?

Thanks!
engkiat is offline  
post #1808 of 3575 Old 10-31-2012, 08:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtgray View Post

Does the 790 have a Source Direct or Native resolution mode. I have a Lumagen Radiance and would prefer to do the deinterlacing and scaling there.
Yes
bluechunks is offline  
post #1809 of 3575 Old 10-31-2012, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
William L Carman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oceanside, California (San Diego County)
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a Optoma GT 750 720p 3D projector. Yesterday I received my new Sony BDP-S 790
Blu-ray player. This new (to me that is) player plays my 3D discs great, but when I attempt
to convert a DVD to 3D, the projector apparently loses synch and gives me a green screen.
I checked the manual for the Sony, and believe that I am doing this as they suggest. Is there
a trick to the 3D conversion that I don't know about?

Any advice or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
William L Carman is offline  
post #1810 of 3575 Old 10-31-2012, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post

Yes

Thanks to all... I will probably look at the 590 as sure don't need dual HDMI with the Radiance.

Just another blank signature.
gtgray is offline  
post #1811 of 3575 Old 10-31-2012, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Audio5oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need some help. Don't know if anyone has experienced this, but every once in a while the sound cuts off for 1 or 2 seconds during playback of blu ray discs. It doesn't really matter what title i throw in, but it does it it during random parts of a movie. Usually within the first 20 minutes is when I get the sound dropout. I have the 790 connected to a Sony str-da3600 receiver. Is there a setting I need to change it to?
Audio5oh is offline  
post #1812 of 3575 Old 11-01-2012, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audio5oh View Post

I need some help. Don't know if anyone has experienced this, but every once in a while the sound cuts off for 1 or 2 seconds during playback of blu ray discs. It doesn't really matter what title i throw in, but it does it it during random parts of a movie. Usually within the first 20 minutes is when I get the sound dropout. I have the 790 connected to a Sony str-da3600 receiver. Is there a setting I need to change it to?

Try switching Deep color off. Seems to be the route of many HDMI issues ... assuming you're using HDMI.
apw2607 is offline  
post #1813 of 3575 Old 11-01-2012, 11:38 AM
GGA
Advanced Member
 
GGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Topanga CA
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 14
It looks like the On/Off button on the remote is a toggle. This can be a real problem if you use a macro in a universal remote control.

One of my other components had an option to convert the toggle to a positive On or Off. Is there a way of doing this with the Sony?
GGA is offline  
post #1814 of 3575 Old 11-01-2012, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 7,184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 429
FWIW, "Play" (the > button) often can be used as an alternative to an "explicit On". Of course, if a disc was left in the tray, it'll start playing as soon as the player has finished booting.

Both "Play" and "Open/Close" turn on Sony players if they're off. I usually use "Open/Close" when I know the player's off, since it immediately opens the tray and then boots the player's software. By the time I've inserted a disc (and gently pushed on the tray so it closes), the player is ready.

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
post #1815 of 3575 Old 11-01-2012, 12:23 PM
GGA
Advanced Member
 
GGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Topanga CA
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks. Those are good observations.

It sounds like I could use the Play button as an explicit On and use Play+Off as a explicit Off.
GGA is offline  
post #1816 of 3575 Old 11-01-2012, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,928
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Liked: 376
No reason for any of those workarounds. All Sonys, including the 790, have discrete on/off.

EFCs below work with UEI DVD code 1516 or 21516

Protocol=Sony20 Device=26.226 Function=46..47
Device Code: 26.226 Function: 46 EFC: 00113 Power On
0000 0068 0000 0015 0060 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 01DE
Device Code: 26.226 Function: 47 EFC:00109 Power Off
0000 0068 0000 0015 0060 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 01C6

What kind of remotes do you have, GGA? If you have harmony and discrete on/off are missing, just try an older profile like the 570. All Sony blu-ray players use the same codes except newer models have a few additional commands like 15s skip and 10s replay (which I can also post if you like). If you must learn them, you can use a cheap one-for-all like the RCA RCRP05B (or RCRP05BR) to teach them.
mdavej is offline  
post #1817 of 3575 Old 11-01-2012, 01:53 PM
GGA
Advanced Member
 
GGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Topanga CA
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi mdavej.

I have the Universal Remote Control MX-850. It is an IR learning remote.

http://www.universalremote.com/products/residential/remotes/mx-850

I imagine I would need some way for the MX-850 to learn via IR the discrete commands.

Thanks.
GGA is offline  
post #1818 of 3575 Old 11-01-2012, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,928
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Then you'll have to buy or borrow the RCA I posted above or a cheap harmony like the 200 (a refurb is $10 on newegg). Take your pick.
mdavej is offline  
post #1819 of 3575 Old 11-01-2012, 04:50 PM
GGA
Advanced Member
 
GGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Topanga CA
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thank you. Your help is much appreciated.
GGA is offline  
post #1820 of 3575 Old 11-02-2012, 09:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
atabea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post

Yes

Read through the owners manual (on line) --couldn't find anything referring to "source direct"
atabea is offline  
post #1821 of 3575 Old 11-02-2012, 09:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It's called native output.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #1822 of 3575 Old 11-02-2012, 09:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
atabea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

It's called native output.

Has it been confirmed that it simply outputs the information on the disc without messing with the color space?
atabea is offline  
post #1823 of 3575 Old 11-03-2012, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
There had been an early color space problem with RGB, but that was fixed with one of the more recent firmware releases.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #1824 of 3575 Old 11-03-2012, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

It's called native output.

How do you get to this selection. I just fired up my BDP-S790 and I couldn't find this selection. Also, doing a search on the manual on-line on the word "native" yields no results.

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #1825 of 3575 Old 11-03-2012, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by atabea View Post

Read through the owners manual (on line) --couldn't find anything referring to "source direct"
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakerwi View Post

How do you get to this selection. I just fired up my BDP-S790 and I couldn't find this selection. Also, doing a search on the manual on-line on the word "native" yields no results.
Page 32 of the Manual (*.pdf) under "Output Video Format."

smile.gif
bluechunks is offline  
post #1826 of 3575 Old 11-03-2012, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
atabea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post

Page 32 of the Manual (*.pdf) under "Output Video Format."
smile.gif

I see what you mean. It's an odd way to describe the usual "source didrect" concept.

thanks

atabea
atabea is offline  
post #1827 of 3575 Old 11-03-2012, 10:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sorry for the misinformation, native vs original resolution. Thanks bluechunks for setting them in the right direction. Was out all day so couldn't follow up.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #1828 of 3575 Old 11-04-2012, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post

Page 32 of the Manual (*.pdf) under "Output Video Format."
smile.gif

Thanks!
Quote:
Originally Posted by atabea View Post

I see what you mean. It's an odd way to describe the usual "source didrect" concept.
thanks
atabea

Leave it to Sony to be different on something so basic.

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #1829 of 3575 Old 11-04-2012, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,928
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Liked: 376
You think that's bad. Try to figure out the aspect ratio settings. They're equally vexing.
mdavej is offline  
post #1830 of 3575 Old 11-04-2012, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
jalaram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This player seems to be going for 2x the price on the 590 (108 vs 248 on Amazon). Besides 4k and 2 HDMI outputs, is there a list of the differences (both features and quality) between the 2 players?

I don't have a blu-ray player yet. My current DVD player (a Pioneer) also does SACD and DVD-A. Now, I realize that I would need an Oppo to keep those last 2 capabilities. However, I'm trying to save a little money and I can at least get SACD playback with the Sony players.

The 590 is at a good price point, but some reviews say that its DVD upconversion isn't good. So, I thought I would look at the 790 as well. I'm not going to change blu-ray players anytime soon, so it has to last. My TV is only 720p (Insignia plasma 40") and I'll be keeping that a while as well.

Take care,
JC
jalaram is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony , Sony Bdps790 3d Blu Ray Player , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , Sony Open Box Bdp S790 3d Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off