Official 2012 Sony BDP-S790 Thread - Page 94 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 61Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2013, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southeastern USA
Posts: 3,009
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chise View Post

Do what I did get all three of them,then you don't have to worry when one don't act right.

I see we shop in some of the same circles.biggrin.gif.smile.gif

Basement: Oppo BDP-105D, Denon DVD-5910CI, Arcam FMJ BDP300, Cambridge 640C V2
Master Bedroom: Sony BDP-S790
Vacation Home: Oppo BDP-103D
Family Room: Oppo BDP-93, Pioneer BDP-320
Breakfast Area: Pioneer BDP-320
Office: Cambridge 752BD
bakerwi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2013, 05:26 AM
Member
 
poormxdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Folks,

My fatboy PS3 died and I decided to upgrade to the S790. I've had it a week or so but haven't watched much. "Fifth Element" looked and sounded fantastic. But last night I decided to do the "Matrix" test, starting the movie from "The Lobby Scene", scene 29, since I know the movie well. I had the volume on my Onkyo 805 maxed out, and it was no where near as loud as the PS3 could get playing BDs. I played around with some of the S790 audio settings, but only made slight gains in volume.

A search here did not show others having a volume issue. Has anyone else noticed inadequate volume output from the 790? It may have to go back to Amazon.

Thanks,

poormxdad
poormxdad is offline  
Old 07-16-2013, 03:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
iatacs19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieuk147 View Post

Does this play MKV files from USB?

YES.

XBR65X930C, AVR-X4200W, NVIDIA ShieldTV, SVS SB12-NSD, RF-42 II, RC-52 II, RB-41 II
iatacs19 is offline  
Old 07-17-2013, 02:04 AM
Member
 
Mattyo1612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mackay Queensland Australia
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 38
In the Audio settings, make sure you have the Audio DRC switched off and in the DTS Neo:6 switch the sound to Cinema mode which should give the sound more oomph!

Mattyo1612 is online now  
Old 07-17-2013, 04:04 PM
Newbie
 
rodelius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all.
Hope somebody can shed some light on this.
I have my BDP-S790 connected via twin HDMi cables to my Epson TW9000 projector and to my Denon AVC-A11XVA receiver.
Everything worked great so far. Great picture quality and crisp sound from my old receiver both with 2D and 3D discs. (My receiver IS NOT 3D compatible).

Last week I finally allowed the last firmware to be installed and suddenly the audio separation mode stopped working.
Now the receiver does not get any audio from the player when it is set to audio separation mode. When I try to play a disc or a file over the network, the receiver display briefly flashes some info, but then defaults to external in as if no audio was entering through the HDMi input. As a curious note, after resetting the receiver to factory default and while configuring some surround parameters I briefly got some sound from the player, but it suddenly went off immediately after I confirmed the settings.

I reset both the receiver and the player to factory defaults several times with no luck.

Any ideas? Is there any way to download and install a previous firmware version?

Thanks in advance.

Rod.
rodelius is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 04:05 AM
Member
 
poormxdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattyo1612 View Post

In the Audio settings, make sure you have the Audio DRC switched off and in the DTS Neo:6 switch the sound to Cinema mode which should give the sound more oomph!

I should have mentioned I had already checked DRC. It was off. We have since watched the new Schwarzenegger movie, "The Last Stand" and "Hansel & Gretel", and had no volume issues. I have no explanation, but the player seems fine. Still, sometimes I really like cranking up "The Matrix"...

poormxdad
poormxdad is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 05:33 AM
Member
 
poormxdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have another question. Is it possible to use the S790 as a CD player WITHOUT turning on my TV? Right now, I get a "No Signal" message from the Onkyo 805 if the TV is not on.

Thanks,

poormxdad
poormxdad is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 03:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,286
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 921
Quote:
Originally Posted by poormxdad View Post

I have another question. Is it possible to use the S790 as a CD player WITHOUT turning on my TV? Right now, I get a "No Signal" message from the Onkyo 805 if the TV is not on.

Thanks,

poormxdad
That doesn't sound right. Why should the Onkyo care if the TV is on, ARC maybe? In any case, you could also use the coax or analog outs for sound only to your Onkyo, then the no signal thing definitely wouldn't be an issue. Just set the sony to auto-play discs. But someone will need to confirm that works with CDs too.
mdavej is offline  
Old 07-19-2013, 02:37 AM
Member
 
thibsie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

That doesn't sound right. Why should the Onkyo care if the TV is on, ARC maybe? In any case, you could also use the coax or analog outs for sound only to your Onkyo, then the no signal thing definitely wouldn't be an issue. Just set the sony to auto-play discs. But someone will need to confirm that works with CDs too.

Except for SACD if it is needed (it'd need HDMI).
thibsie is offline  
Old 07-22-2013, 08:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iain-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by poormxdad View Post

I have another question. Is it possible to use the S790 as a CD player WITHOUT turning on my TV? Right now, I get a "No Signal" message from the Onkyo 805 if the TV is not on.

Thanks,

poormxdad

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

That doesn't sound right. Why should the Onkyo care if the TV is on, ARC maybe? In any case, you could also use the coax or analog outs for sound only to your Onkyo, then the no signal thing definitely wouldn't be an issue. Just set the sony to auto-play discs. But someone will need to confirm that works with CDs too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thibsie View Post

Except for SACD if it is needed (it'd need HDMI).

Indeed.

I send DSD bitstream direct to AVR. Only way this will be accomplished is via HDMI.

BTW, I never use display device for audio only media as I consider it inefficient and a waste of resources (power-hungry Panasonic plasma display device).
Iain- is offline  
Old 07-23-2013, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 7,709
Mentioned: 149 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2386 Post(s)
Liked: 1848
Seiki 50" 4K coming in this week. Can one HDMI out go to my Radiance XE-3D to fire up my LG 55LHX, and the other HDMI output 4K to the Seiki? Then can I compare the 2 sets?

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's !
PN64F8500 up for sale
p5browne is online now  
Old 07-24-2013, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I don't think you'll get 4K out because the EDID feedback will limit the player to the lowest resolution reported if both sets are powered on.
moxie1617 is offline  
Old 07-24-2013, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 7,709
Mentioned: 149 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2386 Post(s)
Liked: 1848
May try to circumvent that issue by putting the one HDMI into my Yamaha RX-V673, which will then upconvert to 4K for the Seiki. The other HDMI to my Lumagen XE-3D for the LHX.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's !
PN64F8500 up for sale
p5browne is online now  
Old 07-25-2013, 08:18 AM
Member
 
thibsie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

I don't think you'll get 4K out because the EDID feedback will limit the player to the lowest resolution reported if both sets are powered on.

But you can out both HDMI with both audio+video at the same time, can't you ?
thibsie is offline  
Old 07-25-2013, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yes, but the highest resolution will be that of the lowest resolution supported, ie, no 4K if the other set is on.
moxie1617 is offline  
Old 07-25-2013, 05:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 7,709
Mentioned: 149 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2386 Post(s)
Liked: 1848
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

Yes, but the highest resolution will be that of the lowest resolution supported, ie, no 4K if the other set is on.

Yes, but as stated above, if I go to my AVR first, then upconvert to the 4K, I should be OK. But since AIT decided to put the delivery of the Seiki in limbo until next week, won't be able to test this weekend.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's !
PN64F8500 up for sale
p5browne is online now  
Old 07-25-2013, 08:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Please update this when you get it. I'd like to know what your results are with 4k upscaling.
moxie1617 is offline  
Old 07-26-2013, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 7,709
Mentioned: 149 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2386 Post(s)
Liked: 1848
Seiki now here, FW updated, and currently on Pixel Protector Washes. Pixel protector Demo Pics on the Blu-ray looked great. Blacks looked great.
Should start calibrating later tonight once I get the feel for the Menuing system. So far impressed - this could could go either way once I get into it. A good way to get into 4K without spending $ thousands, hoping Manufactures will do HW upgrades in the future, while waiting for the final 4K Standarizations to take place.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's !
PN64F8500 up for sale
p5browne is online now  
Old 07-27-2013, 06:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 7,709
Mentioned: 149 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2386 Post(s)
Liked: 1848
Sony 790 works great with the Yamaha upconverting! (Once you figure out how to do it. The Yamaha Manual is very vague with the instructions!)
Sony to the Yamaha HDMI Input and upscaled to 4K and out to the Seiki 4K
Sony HDMI 2 to the Radiance XE-3D and out to the LG 55LHX for 1080P.
Seiki 4K - Great looking PQ, would have been Amazing if they had incorporated Local Dimming. Greyscale Flat from 30 to 100. Very detailed. Those who say you don't see a difference between a 1080P set and the 4K from 10 feet, are wrong, and I need cataract surgery and can see the difference. CMS; bulk of the colours are below the 3 line. For $1100 and getting 4K for now, small price to pay. If I AutoCal with my iScan Duo could make PQ even better, but wanted to see how good I could get it with just the Seiki adjustments.
Tonight will retweak my LHX, and the Seiki. Watched Samsara Upconverted last night. Will let you know

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's !
PN64F8500 up for sale
p5browne is online now  
Old 07-27-2013, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 7,709
Mentioned: 149 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2386 Post(s)
Liked: 1848
Update: Milky Blacks on the Seiki completely disappeared after everthing was shut down overnight, then restarted today. Probably what CNN Didn't do when they tested the 4K Seiki, and gave bad Black ratings. Re-starting from scratch and calibrating both my LH 55LHX and Seiki from the bottom up, but from what I'm seeing, especially after a Sharpness re-calibration, it was Sharp lines on the Seiki, and Fuzzy lines for the 1080P. So Samsara upconverted from the Sony 790 looks absolutely amazing on the 4K Seiki - and people are paying thousands for a non-standardized 4K TV? Go cheap, go Seiki for now if you want to play with 4K, then put out the monies later when the dust settles and we have real 4K TVs!

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's !
PN64F8500 up for sale
p5browne is online now  
Old 07-27-2013, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Have you tried 4K from the 790 to the Seiki? I'm curious how it performs compared to your Radience.
moxie1617 is offline  
Old 07-28-2013, 02:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
mariner888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or letting the Seiki do the 4k upconversion?
mariner888 is offline  
Old 07-28-2013, 02:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
canton160's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK & Portugal
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariner888 View Post

Or letting the Seiki do the 4k upconversion?

No way, the tvs upscaling are not that good.

upscaling dvd > HD from oppo103 was better than the sony KD- 55X9005A (4000£) own upscaling engine
They had same performance upscaling 1080p > 4k

Check this review
http://hometheaterreview.com/sony-xbr-55x900a-ultra-hd-lcd-tv-reviewed/?page=2

so my next step was to test the XBR-55X900A's scaling and other video-processing skills. I compared the TV's internal upconversion with that of the OPPO BDP-103; since the OPPO has a source direct mode, I could easily switch between the TV's UHD scaler and the OPPO's UHD scaler. The Sony processor did only an average job with SD DVDs; the detail level was good, but the Sony failed many of the assorted cadence tests on my HQV Benchmark DVD, and it was a little slow to detect the 3:2 cadence in real-world DVD scenes from The Bourne Identity (Universal) and Gladiator (DreamWorks), resulting in some moiré and jaggies. The OPPO scaler did a better job with all of these tests. I will add, though, that the Sony TV did a better job than the Panasonic VT60 in the deinterlacing and upscaling of SD DVDs. With HD sources, the Sony and OPPO were closer in performance.

Anthem MRX310 | XTZ 93.23 DIY + 93.21 DIY | Ken Kreisel DXD808 | Oppo 103D | HC5 | OLED 55EC930V | MED1000X3D

Portuguese Blog & Forum Discussion about Audio & Video
Visit our Blog & Forum CinemaHIFI.PT
Like cinemahifi on Facebook
canton160 is offline  
Old 07-28-2013, 10:05 AM
Member
 
goldberg96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey folks. I recently purchase the BDP-S790. Really like it a lot. But I want it on all the time and there's a timeout function that turns it off even when I don't want it off. This is a really big thread so I admit I haven't read it all the way through. Just want to know if there's any way to disable that function so that the unit will stay on all the time?

Thanks ................ Rob
goldberg96 is offline  
Old 07-28-2013, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,587
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldberg96 View Post

Hey folks. I recently purchase the BDP-S790. Really like it a lot. But I want it on all the time and there's a timeout function that turns it off even when I don't want it off. This is a really big thread so I admit I haven't read it all the way through. Just want to know if there's any way to disable that function so that the unit will stay on all the time?

Thanks ................ Rob

It is a FEATURE you CAN NOT DELETE
drhankz is offline  
Old 07-28-2013, 12:08 PM
Member
 
wargod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am considering this unit and for those of you that have it, what does it not do that another model does do that you are unhappy with?
wargod is offline  
Old 07-28-2013, 09:20 PM
Member
 
wargod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm considering this player. I want to be able to play an mkv file that is on my PC or on a USB stick. Can this player do it or do I need an Oppo?
wargod is offline  
Old 07-29-2013, 07:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by wargod View Post

I'm considering this player. I want to be able to play an mkv file that is on my PC or on a USB stick. Can this player do it or do I need an Oppo?
The S790 will do it.

But remember: MKV is only a "container" and the video and audio files within it must also use codecs that the player supports if you want to avoid transcoding/remuxing the files on your media server (PC). The list of officially supported combinations is listed in the S790 user manual available on the Sony support site. Also note that there are different combinations of native container/codec support for local (USB) and network (PC via DLNA) connections.

FWIW, I sold my S790 and use an Oppo 103 for all of my local streaming (I still provide "tech support" for the S790 I bought my parents so I follow this thread.) The DLNA performance, IMHO, is not comparable between the two units as the Oppo plays virtually everything natively while the S790 performs best with a DLNA server than is able to transcode/remux to meet the S790's more limited container/codec support. For example, Serviio works great because it has a profile for Sony players and can automagically serve the Sony media it supports.

BUT.....the Oppo is also a $499 player. There are dedicated media streamers from Dune and Mede8er for much less if you don't need/want everything in a single unit. The S790 is an awesome disc player and purchased in conjunction with a dedicated media player is still less expensive than the Oppo. The Oppo simply has the advantages of being built like a tank, great support, and contained in a single unit. And the Oppo still doesn't offer all the streaming services of the S790 (Amazon for example.)

It's simply a matter of deciding which features are important and at which price point.
bluechunks is offline  
Old 07-29-2013, 02:57 PM
Member
 
wargod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the very informative reply! Where can I find a good price on a dune media streamer?
wargod is offline  
Old 07-29-2013, 03:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by wargod View Post

Thanks for the very informative reply! Where can I find a good price on a dune media streamer?
For a used unit, try the AVS classifieds. Otherwise the hyperlink in my post above takes one to the USA store. Other worldwide Dune dealers are linked on Dune's main web site.
bluechunks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony , Sony Bdps790 3d Blu Ray Player , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , Sony Open Box Bdp S790 3d Blu Ray Disc Player
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off