Panasonic DMP BDT500 - Page 40 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 1846 Old 04-20-2013, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southeastern USA
Posts: 2,885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inspector 24 View Post

I have read every post in this thread. Yes. All 1,168 of them.

Sounds like the Panny 500 is one heck of a player and will be an improvement over my current panny BDP-605k.

But what I really want to know is how it compares to the Oppo 103. Other gear is Marantz SR7006, Sim2 D60 projector and a 106" screen. Do the experts think there would be a noticeable difference in PQ with the Oppo?

Note: Not overly concerned with audio quality, not sure I've got the gear to resolve differences between the two via HDMI or Analog connection...Polk speakers and all...Unless those more experienced think otherwise?

Thanks In Advance!!!

Ryan

Ryan,

You have heard and will continue to hear subjective comments in favor of both players. For me if me if price is not a consideration I would favor the Oppo. I have the Panasoinc in one room and a Sony BDP-S790 in another room both fine machines, but other than the subjective the Oppo overal is a superior machine (features, build quality and customer service). If you don't require all the feautures of the Oppo the Panasonic and Sony are excellent alternatives.smile.gif Also, I have yet to have disc not play in the Oppos I own and have owned, but I can also say this for the Sony and Panasonic.biggrin.gif

From one of my earlier posts. The Oppo in the photo is the BDP-93, but for a physical comparison it is the same size as the BDP-103:
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakerwi View Post

I have the following in camp Oppo BDP-93, Sony BDP-S790 and the Panasonic DMP-BDT500. My only decision is whether or not I will keep the Sony or the Panasonic. The Oppo and Sony are in my bedroom as the wife (I could care less) enjoys streaming and the Oppo hasn't received the best apps and interfaces from some of its streaming partners. Also, I like the idea of having another player in the house that plays FLAC as I have converted almost 3,000 CDs to FLAC over the years.

I also have a legacy receiver (Denon AVR-3802 - old faithful) in my bedroom so another transport with 7.1 analog capability is also welcomed. I just popped the lid on the Panasonic this evening, but I have not set it up yet. Probably over the long weekend.



Below are a few photos showing the exterior of the three players.


Oppo on the bottom, Panasonic in the middle and Sony on top.
LL

LL

LL

Basement: Oppo BDP-105D, Denon DVD-5910CI, Arcam FMJ BDP300, Cambridge 640C V2
Master Bedroom: Sony BDP-S790, Oppo BDP-103
Family Room: Oppo BDP-93, Pioneer BDP-320
Office: Cambridge 752BD
bakerwi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 1846 Old 04-20-2013, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3,465
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakerwi View Post

You could also throw the Sony BDP-S790 into the mix.smile.gif

I've had one. Good player but the XMB is one of the worst menu systems ever.

Panasonic 65" VT50 / Oppo 103D
Marantz AV7702 / Outlaw Model 7500
Klipsch RF7II (2) and RC62II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Panamax MR5100
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #1173 of 1846 Old 04-20-2013, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 208
^ funny ... I think its one of the best and most efficient ... Especially with multi level folders in DLNA :-)
apw2607 is offline  
post #1174 of 1846 Old 04-20-2013, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inspector 24 View Post

I have read every post in this thread. Yes. All 1,168 of them.

But what I really want to know is how it compares to the Oppo 103.

That's funny because there were several posts about this exact topic on the same page as your post. Maybe you need to forget the first 1100 posts and focus on the last 68. Also check the 220/320/500 thread and the Oppo-103 thread for what people are saying about Oppo softness on HDMI-1 output and errors on HDMI-2 in some modes.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #1175 of 1846 Old 04-20-2013, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southeastern USA
Posts: 2,885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

I've had one. Good player but the XMB is one of the worst menu systems ever.

I am not a big fan of the XMB menu either, but the BDP-S790 is quite good for its price point and feature set.smile.gif

Basement: Oppo BDP-105D, Denon DVD-5910CI, Arcam FMJ BDP300, Cambridge 640C V2
Master Bedroom: Sony BDP-S790, Oppo BDP-103
Family Room: Oppo BDP-93, Pioneer BDP-320
Office: Cambridge 752BD
bakerwi is offline  
post #1176 of 1846 Old 04-20-2013, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southeastern USA
Posts: 2,885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post

That's funny because there were several posts about this exact topic on the same page as your post. Maybe you need to forget the first 1100 posts and focus on the last 68. Also check the 220/320/500 thread and the Oppo-103 thread for what people are saying about Oppo softness on HDMI-1 output and errors on HDMI-2 in some modes.

I am aware of the softness that some perceive on HDMI-1 (QDEO), but not the errors on HDMI-2 in some modes; since I use both HDMI outputs at their default settings which is what is recommended. Most find no fault with HDMI-1 and unfortunately this is the nature of the QDEO chip. I own both the BDP-103 & BDP-105, but only follow the BDP-105 thread closely.smile.gif

Basement: Oppo BDP-105D, Denon DVD-5910CI, Arcam FMJ BDP300, Cambridge 640C V2
Master Bedroom: Sony BDP-S790, Oppo BDP-103
Family Room: Oppo BDP-93, Pioneer BDP-320
Office: Cambridge 752BD
bakerwi is offline  
post #1177 of 1846 Old 04-20-2013, 09:22 AM
Member
 
BertWoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Metro Chicago
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if this player has Cinavia in it.
BertWoo is offline  
post #1178 of 1846 Old 04-20-2013, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3,465
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 460
Yes. All 2012 and beyond do

Panasonic 65" VT50 / Oppo 103D
Marantz AV7702 / Outlaw Model 7500
Klipsch RF7II (2) and RC62II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Panamax MR5100
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #1179 of 1846 Old 04-21-2013, 05:34 AM
Member
 
rhulett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody else have issues with audio dropouts on this player? The first time it happened, I thought it might be the disk, Disney Wow, but it has happened with other disks. Never any rhyme or reason for it, and usually if I stop the movie, and hit play again, the dropouts are still there, but go away after a few seconds. It's almost like it's a hdmi connection issue, but the picture is always fine.
rhulett is offline  
post #1180 of 1846 Old 04-21-2013, 05:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3,465
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 460
Never had that problem.

Panasonic 65" VT50 / Oppo 103D
Marantz AV7702 / Outlaw Model 7500
Klipsch RF7II (2) and RC62II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Panamax MR5100
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #1181 of 1846 Old 04-21-2013, 05:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Angler55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mouth of the AuSable River, Michigan
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
rhulett, have you tried a new high quality HDMI cable? I had to change the initial HDMI cable I was using when I first connected my player because of some problems, I believe, with the video. I'd have to go back and check because I don't recall the actual problems I was having but a change of HDMI cables cured it and I have had zero problems with audio/video since. The first cable I tried was a nice looking and thick cable but it just wasn't working properly. I changed it for a good quality Belkin cable and, like I said, I have had zero problems.

Al
Angler55 is offline  
post #1182 of 1846 Old 04-21-2013, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Inspector 24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post


Digital is Digital - Is a Panny "1'" Better than an Oppo "1"

I'll bet you can figure that out.

Do Players support different features - YES - You need to make a
BUYING Decision based on Feature Support - A "!" is a "!" and a
"0" is a "0"

I understand digital is digital. However that doesn't explain the differences Aliens pointed out between the 310 and the 500. Apparently different processing of the raw information is occurring before it's sent to the display device. Thus it stands to reason that a better player may produce a better picture.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1386539/panasonic-dmp-bdt500/500_100#post_22164530
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1386539/panasonic-dmp-bdt500/500_100#post_22167547

Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post

That's funny because there were several posts about this exact topic on the same page as your post. Maybe you need to forget the first 1100 posts and focus on the last 68. Also check the 220/320/500 thread and the Oppo-103 thread for what people are saying about Oppo softness on HDMI-1 output and errors on HDMI-2 in some modes.

Ok, so maybe I skimmed a few. tongue.gif Any more info on that?

Down
RTiA9 - CSiA6 - FXiA6
Dual HSU VTF-15H
HCA-3500 - HCA-2003A - Marantz SR7005
Sim2 D60 - Dragonfly 106" Panasonic 500

Up
LSi9 LSiC RX-V3000 Panasonic 220
Inspector 24 is online now  
post #1183 of 1846 Old 04-21-2013, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ti-triodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Damfino
Posts: 2,259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakerwi View Post

I am aware of the softness that some perceive on HDMI-1 (QDEO), but not the errors on HDMI-2 in some modes; since I use both HDMI outputs at their default settings which is what is recommended. Most find no fault with HDMI-1 and unfortunately this is the nature of the QDEO chip. I own both the BDP-103 & BDP-105, but only follow the BDP-105 thread closely.smile.gif


I don't want to turn this into another Oppo thread but I also follow the 105 thread and don't remember people mentioning PQ problems there. I thought the video specs were the same for both the 103 and 105.
ti-triodes is offline  
post #1184 of 1846 Old 04-21-2013, 04:47 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 5,342
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inspector 24 View Post

I understand digital is digital. However that doesn't explain the differences Aliens pointed out between the 310 and the 500. Apparently different processing of the raw information is occurring before it's sent to the display device. Thus it stands to reason that a better player may produce a better picture.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1386539/panasonic-dmp-bdt500/500_100#post_22164530
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1386539/panasonic-dmp-bdt500/500_100#post_22167547
500 uses a generation newer Uniphier chip than the 310.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #1185 of 1846 Old 04-21-2013, 10:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by ti-triodes View Post

I don't want to turn this into another Oppo thread but I also follow the 105 thread and don't remember people mentioning PQ problems there. I thought the video specs were the same for both the 103 and 105.

With HDMI-1, some people are setting sharpness to +1 to compensate for some smoothing function that cannot be defeated in the QDEO chip. Some like the effect and some are bothered by it. Oppo is looking into it but their current stance is the system is performing as designed. It is a departure from the purity of the ABT chip in earlier models, and not what I would expect from a "source direct" mode.

HDMI-2 can be used to bypass the QDEO chip, but a few hardcore videophiles have found that it fails some chroma tests depending on the HDMI format used (RGB, component 4:4:4 or 4:2:2). This one seems to also depend on the display attached, as many claim not to have the problem at all. Oppo has said at one time the bug is confirmed and would be fixed in the next firmware, but that has come and gone. The Panasonic and older Oppo 83 passes all such tests as far as I know.

An American customer could always get an Oppo on a trial period and return it if not satisfied. Or you could just get the Panny for less money on Amazon and skip all that.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #1186 of 1846 Old 04-22-2013, 07:53 AM
Member
 
parlyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in the process of trying to get my Panasonic DMP BDT500 ready to calibrate the new Sharp LC-60LE845U. I have the Panny going into a Denon AVR-2113 via HDMI and then HDMI into the Sharp TV/ARC HDMI input.
I am going to use either the Disney "WOW" disk or DIGITAL VIDEO ESSENTIALS- HD BASICS. I would like to have some input as to how I should set up the Panny and if possible which calibration disc to use. I have some knowledge as to how to go through the calibration process, but before I start I want to have a little more understanding as to how to go about getting the best calibration I can get by myself. Any responses will be greatly appreciated.
I am so glad to have this forum. A long time ago I realized that there are some things that I can't do, and some things I can do, and asking people who have already done them saves a lot of time and frustration.

Thanks again:

Lyle
parlyle is offline  
post #1187 of 1846 Old 04-22-2013, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3,465
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 460
Wow is nice, has a lot of patterns. I also like spears and Munsil. I'd set the player up as 1080p, then you need to test with patterns to see how your display does with ycbcr 422 vs 444 and 60hz vs 24p.

Panasonic 65" VT50 / Oppo 103D
Marantz AV7702 / Outlaw Model 7500
Klipsch RF7II (2) and RC62II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Panamax MR5100
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #1188 of 1846 Old 04-22-2013, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Disappointed this player doesn't seem to recognize a USB keyboard. With my older Sony it was literally plug'n'play. Has anyone got a keyboard to work?

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #1189 of 1846 Old 04-22-2013, 07:32 PM
Member
 
parlyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

Wow is nice, has a lot of patterns. I also like spears and Munsil. I'd set the player up as 1080p, then you need to test with patterns to see how your display does with ycbcr 422 vs 444 and 60hz vs 24p.

I am not well acquainted with the Panny yet. Where do I find the "ycbcr 422 and 444 and 60hz vs 24p"
I have looked at both of the discs just to get a flavor of both of them and I tend to lean toward the DVE. I think there is a Youtube on using the WOW. I might look at that too.
Thanks for the response!

Lyle
parlyle is offline  
post #1190 of 1846 Old 04-23-2013, 04:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3,465
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 460
You have audio and video selections in the main setup menu.

Panasonic 65" VT50 / Oppo 103D
Marantz AV7702 / Outlaw Model 7500
Klipsch RF7II (2) and RC62II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Panamax MR5100
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #1191 of 1846 Old 04-23-2013, 05:39 AM
Member
 
rhulett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angler55 View Post

rhulett, have you tried a new high quality HDMI cable? I had to change the initial HDMI cable I was using when I first connected my player because of some problems, I believe, with the video. I'd have to go back and check because I don't recall the actual problems I was having but a change of HDMI cables cured it and I have had zero problems with audio/video since. The first cable I tried was a nice looking and thick cable but it just wasn't working properly. I changed it for a good quality Belkin cable and, like I said, I have had zero problems.

Al

No, but that thought did occur to me. The audio dropouts are only with Bluray, never streaming, and it only seems to happen on the start of the movie. I am running one hdmi cable directly to the tv, and another one to my receiver, maybe I have a setting wrong somewhere. Once it stops, and I can't duplicate on how to get to stop, I never have a problem with it again, that's why I wonder if it's a handshake issue.
rhulett is offline  
post #1192 of 1846 Old 04-23-2013, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Angler55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mouth of the AuSable River, Michigan
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhulett View Post

No, but that thought did occur to me. The audio dropouts are only with Bluray, never streaming, and it only seems to happen on the start of the movie. I am running one hdmi cable directly to the tv, and another one to my receiver, maybe I have a setting wrong somewhere. Once it stops, and I can't duplicate on how to get to stop, I never have a problem with it again, that's why I wonder if it's a handshake issue.

Well, I'm connected directly to my TV also and using 5.1 Analog Audio outputs to my receiver so, now that I think about it, my problem with the HDMI cable was with the video.

The first thing that comes to mind is the "Deep Color Output". Make sure it's turned off. It's debatable whether or not this setting makes any difference but I would turn it off anyway.

It could be a handshake issue with your receiver. Have you ran a search for handshake issues with your reciever?

I would try a different HDMI cable if you have one and/or try a different input on your AVR if you can.

As far as other settings in the player go, I'm using analog and I haven't tried it any other way. If you don't have the video turned off for the HDMI (SUB) that goes to your reciever you could do that but I don't know if it would help. You can also turn off the audio for the HDMI going to the TV.

Someone else can help you out much more than I can because of my lack of experience with these players and HT in general so you can take these suggestions for what they're worth. I hope you get it straightened out so you can enjoy it instead of messing with it.

Al
Angler55 is offline  
post #1193 of 1846 Old 04-23-2013, 12:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
WRX_Rocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
In regards to audio dropouts with blu-ray movies - before blaming the player, check to see if the movie itself has a known issue. Case in point: the new Total Recall. Huge discussion on here about it! Also, it appears movies using Dolby TrueHD are having audio dropout issues when Bitstream is used. Going to LPCM is the work around for now.

Even on the old HD DVD, Dolby TrueHD had the same problems.
WRX_Rocky is offline  
post #1194 of 1846 Old 04-23-2013, 07:36 PM
Member
 
parlyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

You have audio and video selections in the main setup menu.

Thanks for the response. I will use the info..............
Now to gather the time to get this done. I have had the set since last September, so it should be broken in by now.

Lyle
parlyle is offline  
post #1195 of 1846 Old 04-23-2013, 08:33 PM
Newbie
 
Limbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Holland
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to play MKV on 24p with the BDT500?I have an P50VT50 TV and the BDT500 sends an 60hz signal out instead of 24p. When i put the same USB stick in my good old WDTV live, 24p is showed well..
Limbman is offline  
post #1196 of 1846 Old 04-24-2013, 06:30 AM
Member
 
rhulett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for tips and tricks guys, I will try those and see if they make a difference. It isn't the movie, as it happens on more than one, although I don't remember it being a problem at all when first getting the player. Disney's WOW disk was the first thing I noticed it on, but have noticed it on other disks since then. It may be something to do with a sound format and bitstream.
rhulett is offline  
post #1197 of 1846 Old 04-24-2013, 03:21 PM
Member
 
rocktober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inspector 24 View Post

I have read every post in this thread. Yes. All 1,168 of them.

Sounds like the Panny 500 is one heck of a player and will be an improvement over my current panny BDP-605k.

But what I really want to know is how it compares to the Oppo 103. Other gear is Marantz SR7006, Sim2 D60 projector and a 106" screen. Do the experts think there would be a noticeable difference in PQ with the Oppo?

Note: Not overly concerned with audio quality, not sure I've got the gear to resolve differences between the two via HDMI or Analog connection...Polk speakers and all...Unless those more experienced think otherwise?

Thanks In Advance!!!

Ryan


I had both players not long ago. I returned the oppo and kept the panny. That was my first oppo and IMO overrated! I buy a blu-ray player strictly for movies/FLAC and in that regard, the panny was superior to the oppo. The panny 500 also has great audio via analog, FLAC files sound really good. I am extremely happy with the panny and every time I use it, I know I made the right choice.

"May fortune favor the foolish" Captain James T Kirk
rocktober is offline  
post #1198 of 1846 Old 04-24-2013, 04:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Charlie Tango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocktober View Post

I had both players not long ago. I returned the oppo and kept the panny. That was my first oppo and IMO overrated! I buy a blu-ray player strictly for movies/FLAC and in that regard, the panny was superior to the oppo. The panny 500 also has great audio via analog, FLAC files sound really good. I am extremely happy with the panny and every time I use it, I know I made the right choice.

+1
Charlie Tango is online now  
post #1199 of 1846 Old 04-27-2013, 01:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob7145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dollars, Taxes
Posts: 2,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
The SDHC card slot in front is great too! Pulled the card out of my camera, plugged it in and and enjoyed a long slide show of high quality pictures taken from a cheapie digital camera at the races. Much better and easier than viewing with the computer and same HDTV display. Skype usb camera port in back. If only it made coffee haha.
Bob7145 is offline  
post #1200 of 1846 Old 04-29-2013, 04:44 AM
Senior Member
 
esdwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yesterday I tried to play mp3s stored on one of my sd-cards and to my surprise Panasonic menu does not seem to provide option for playing audio files from sd-card slot, only front usb.

Do I really need to use usb adapter for this having working sd card slot on a side?

Or am I missing something?
esdwa is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Lcd Hdtv , Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bdt500 Integrated Wi Fi 3d Blu Ray Dvd Player
Gear in this thread - Bdt500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off