The Pioneer BDP-62FD/150/450 2012 Blu-ray Player Thread - Page 21 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Blu-ray & HD DVD > Blu-ray Players > The Pioneer BDP-62FD/150/450 2012 Blu-ray Player Thread

Blu-ray Players

Big C's Avatar Big C
07:57 AM Liked: 31
post #601 of 675
07-06-2014 | Posts: 1,400
Joined: Apr 2008
Cinavia scared me away from ripping because I don't like the idea of putting hours, days, weeks, or months into a project that could possibly fail. So I just cary a Case Logic 320-disc wallet around with me wherever I go.

After some experience, I prefer to disable quickstart on these players because I think HDMI control seems to behave more consistently. It's like Windows 8's shutdown. Unless you go into the settings and turn quickstart off, the system can't do a full reboot.
Apostate's Avatar Apostate
12:43 PM Liked: 134
post #602 of 675
07-06-2014 | Posts: 930
Joined: Dec 2003
Boy, this thread has turned into a firmware "hack" thread. I guess I will go check out the other Pioneer 62FD thread.
cscollis's Avatar cscollis
01:47 PM Liked: 10
post #603 of 675
07-06-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2013
The BDP-62fd will not run netfix with quick start on. Everything else works great but the unit will freeze when i start netflix with quick start on. I turned it off and it works great but i like using icontrol2012 to operate the unit and it only works well when the quick start is on.

Anyone have any suggestions?
fits79's Avatar fits79
08:01 PM Liked: 10
post #604 of 675
07-06-2014 | Posts: 114
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post
Cinavia scared me away from ripping because I don't like the idea of putting hours, days, weeks, or months into a project that could possibly fail. So I just cary a Case Logic 320-disc wallet around with me wherever I go.

After some experience, I prefer to disable quickstart on these players because I think HDMI control seems to behave more consistently. It's like Windows 8's shutdown. Unless you go into the settings and turn quickstart off, the system can't do a full reboot.
There is no reason to scared because if you want to have only the main movie of each bluray and not the extra you can simply extract/rip only the main movie and see it at any pc or media player that support it without any issues at all.


And please answer anyone to me for the bdp-150 custom firmware and what except region free offers to that bluray player.
fits79's Avatar fits79
07:48 PM Liked: 10
post #605 of 675
07-13-2014 | Posts: 114
Joined: Feb 2009
I just buy this product bdp-150 but even i have connected with my router that it has dhcp enabled it doesn't seem to has Internet.
A cable i connect is just like i was not connected the lan cable at all.

I have try the same cable at the same router at the same port to tv, media player and laptop and work fine but at bdp-150 doesn't.

And when i go to network connection test it bring me failed.

Any suggestions.

It has the official firmware 1.05.

Even when i choose to make a downgrade from 1.05 to custom firmware doesn't regonise the file firmware "BDP-150_SP.bin" even at fat32 hard disk.

Or even i try to install the latest official firmware 1.08 from the official pioneer site still doesn't regonise the firmware and bring me the error message "download file data corruption" or "no valid update file is found".

Please HELP ME.
akhil7j's Avatar akhil7j
10:42 AM Liked: 10
post #606 of 675
07-17-2014 | Posts: 52
Joined: Apr 2011
My BDP-450 is giving weird issues. I bought it recently from Kuwait as it was available only there. It came with the older FW v2.05 and i did not update it.

I played few 3D BDs and most of them gave issues like display going off and coming back again within 3-4 secs. It looks like HDMI handshake issues but I am not sure of it. @borland helped me lot in installing CFW and it worked great except the same 3D issues. Few BDs like Gravity, Frozen, Croods work without issues but BDs like The Adventures of Tin Tin, Thor, The Hobbit Extended Edition you can't even watch for 5 mins. Tin Tin I checked in my friend's samsung bluray player and it worked fine. I tried playing Avatar 3D ISO after installing CFW and even it had same issues.

Any suggestions what can be done?
maxleung's Avatar maxleung
11:08 AM Liked: 13
post #607 of 675
07-17-2014 | Posts: 3,497
Joined: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by akhil7j View Post
My BDP-450 is giving weird issues. I bought it recently from Kuwait as it was available only there. It came with the older FW v2.05 and i did not update it.

I played few 3D BDs and most of them gave issues like display going off and coming back again within 3-4 secs. It looks like HDMI handshake issues but I am not sure of it. @borland helped me lot in installing CFW and it worked great except the same 3D issues. Few BDs like Gravity, Frozen, Croods work without issues but BDs like The Adventures of Tin Tin, Thor, The Hobbit Extended Edition you can't even watch for 5 mins. Tin Tin I checked in my friend's samsung bluray player and it worked fine. I tried playing Avatar 3D ISO after installing CFW and even it had same issues.

Any suggestions what can be done?
I would try a different cable - maybe a shorter one - it may not be able to handle the doubled bandwidth required for 3D.
akhil7j's Avatar akhil7j
12:31 PM Liked: 10
post #608 of 675
07-17-2014 | Posts: 52
Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxleung View Post
I would try a different cable - maybe a shorter one - it may not be able to handle the doubled bandwidth required for 3D.
I'm using Audioquest Pearl 1mtr cable from BDP to Denon 1911 AVR and then 2mtr same model cable to LG 3D LED.

I tried a direct connection as well but it didn't work. Tried Belkin HDMI cable. Same issue.
maxleung's Avatar maxleung
01:05 PM Liked: 13
post #609 of 675
07-17-2014 | Posts: 3,497
Joined: Mar 2003
No other cables you can try? No issues with 2D titles?

There are two HDMI outputs on the BDP - maybe you can try the other one, provided you didn't set it up to be audio only.
akhil7j's Avatar akhil7j
01:18 PM Liked: 10
post #610 of 675
07-17-2014 | Posts: 52
Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxleung View Post
No other cables you can try? No issues with 2D titles?

There are two HDMI outputs on the BDP - maybe you can try the other one, provided you didn't set it up to be audio only.
These are the only 3 cables I have with 1.4a support. But I can use a different one.

Yes problem is only with 3D discs. 2D works flawlessly. Infact BDs like Avatar has option to play 2D as well and if I do that, absolutely no problem. Even Avatar 3D had few hickups.

Hobbit 3D was worse experience. I tried sending only Video signal from HDMI with separate option but no luck. In fact even when the movie was paused the display was fluctuating. Same thing when I stopped it and returned to BD menu. Too much of video fluctuation.
maxleung's Avatar maxleung
01:23 PM Liked: 13
post #611 of 675
07-17-2014 | Posts: 3,497
Joined: Mar 2003
Ouch. It sounds like it doesn't like your cable - maybe the connector isn't "grabbing on" properly? See if you can borrow a different brand of cable?

Double check your video settings on the BDP too!

I can't think of anything else unless the player itself is screwed up.
akhil7j's Avatar akhil7j
01:49 PM Liked: 10
post #612 of 675
07-17-2014 | Posts: 52
Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxleung View Post
Ouch. It sounds like it doesn't like your cable - maybe the connector isn't "grabbing on" properly? See if you can borrow a different brand of cable?

Double check your video settings on the BDP too!

I can't think of anything else unless the player itself is screwed up.
Ahh, that hurts. Will try other cables otherwise I'll have to scrap it and get a new one.

Cables are connected properly otherwise all discs will have issues. Like I said, Gravity 3D, Tin Tin 3D, Frozen 3D, Croods 3D didn't have any issues.
taxwatcher's Avatar taxwatcher
04:42 PM Liked: 10
post #613 of 675
07-18-2014 | Posts: 13
Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by cscollis View Post
The BDP-62fd will not run netfix with quick start on. Everything else works great but the unit will freeze when i start netflix with quick start on. I turned it off and it works great but i like using icontrol2012 to operate the unit and it only works well when the quick start is on.

Anyone have any suggestions?
Had same problem. Sent back to Pioneer for repair. Came back with same problem. Living with it.
taxwatcher's Avatar taxwatcher
04:49 PM Liked: 10
post #614 of 675
07-18-2014 | Posts: 13
Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mantis10 View Post
Anyone having any issues playing Netflix?
See post 613
Sean Conroy
10:20 PM Liked: 0
post #615 of 675
07-19-2014 | Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2014
Hey all...
New here and this is my first post, so please no flaming as I'm confident that the answer exists somewhere in this thread. I'm just looking for a quick answer to help me decide if I am going to move forward on purchasing a BDP62 in the next day or so...
Are there any supported apps that will allow me to access my UltraViolet collection, or will I still have the need for a seperate peripheral box to do so??

Thanks to all in advance for helping out the noob!!
nuclear__
01:11 PM Liked: 0
post #616 of 675
07-21-2014 | Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumblefeet View Post
Thanks to Borland I can now play region free dvd and blu-ray on the BDP-150, thank you so much!
Borland help me too. Thank you Borland!
jurid001's Avatar jurid001
01:46 PM Liked: 10
post #617 of 675
07-22-2014 | Posts: 164
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuclear__ View Post
Borland help me too. Thank you Borland!
Does a 150 with cfw convert PAL DVDs to NTSC, as the standard player does, or it loses that ability?
Sudhakar TheKing
09:10 AM Liked: 0
post #618 of 675
07-23-2014 | Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2014
Dear Friends

My pioneer blu ray player BDP 450 could not read blu ray disc. But, DVD and cd formats can read. Past 6 months i didnt used Blu ray Disc after that i played Blu ray disc. It shows Unknown Disc.

Kindly help me what will i do. If blu ray lens affected, what is the price.
akhil7j's Avatar akhil7j
11:43 PM Liked: 10
post #619 of 675
07-27-2014 | Posts: 52
Joined: Apr 2011
I'm sending back my BDP-450 for replacement. The 3D issue is still there and its irritating. How can i load the default Firmware in it now?
scoughlan's Avatar scoughlan
04:51 AM Liked: 10
post #620 of 675
08-17-2014 | Posts: 11
Joined: Aug 2013
If anyone, at their own risk, wants to install custom firmware on the Pioneer BDP-450 then please contact me directly. I had an 'instructional' post but the moderator slapped my wrist and deleted it.

The modification can be done from version 2.12 (current) downwards.
Evangelo2's Avatar Evangelo2
08:14 AM Liked: 12
post #621 of 675
08-18-2014 | Posts: 2,014
Joined: Mar 2004
I recently converted my old HD-DVD files into MKVs so that I can play them on my main tv and not need an HD-DVD player on my rack anymore. My BDP-62FD can find the mkv files on my Synology Server and it can play them but it always seems to freeze after a few minutes. If I skip to the next chapter after it freezes it will begin to play again and then lock up after 30 seconds or so. Any idea what I may be doing wrong? My network at home is a pretty good performing Gigabit hard wired network so nothing is wireless in this chain and nothing is streaming from online. Any ideas greatly appreciated!
-Evangelo2
Reynaldo's Avatar Reynaldo
09:21 AM Liked: 10
post #622 of 675
08-18-2014 | Posts: 5
Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoughlan View Post
If anyone, at their own risk, wants to install custom firmware on the Pioneer BDP-450 then please contact me directly. I had an 'instructional' post but the moderator slapped my wrist and deleted it.

The modification can be done from version 2.12 (current) downwards.
I sent a message
bguzman's Avatar bguzman
09:46 PM Liked: 28
post #623 of 675
08-19-2014 | Posts: 793
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoughlan View Post
If anyone, at their own risk, wants to install custom firmware on the Pioneer BDP-450 then please contact me directly. I had an 'instructional' post but the moderator slapped my wrist and deleted it.

The modification can be done from version 2.12 (current) downwards.
PM sent
borland's Avatar borland
03:41 PM Liked: 50
post #624 of 675
08-21-2014 | Posts: 319
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoughlan View Post
If anyone, at their own risk, wants to install custom firmware on the Pioneer BDP-450 then please contact me directly. I had an 'instructional' post but the moderator slapped my wrist and deleted it.

The modification can be done from version 2.12 (current) downwards.
are you dealing with 4.0X or 5.XX? I've found April 5.10 the most stable
scoughlan's Avatar scoughlan
01:03 PM Liked: 10
post #625 of 675
08-22-2014 | Posts: 11
Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by borland View Post
are you dealing with 4.0X or 5.XX? I've found April 5.10 the most stable
I'm using 4.04 (free). Haven't felt the need to upgrade, since I just use it for playing Blu-rays and DVDs. My player was UK region locked, and I have since used it to play American region A and 1 discs without any problems. Did you pay to activate your 5.1 custom firmware?
borland's Avatar borland
03:16 PM Liked: 50
post #626 of 675
08-22-2014 | Posts: 319
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoughlan View Post
I'm using 4.04 (free). Haven't felt the need to upgrade, since I just use it for playing Blu-rays and DVDs. My player was UK region locked, and I have since used it to play American region A and 1 discs without any problems. Did you pay to activate your 5.1 custom firmware?
I never pay ransom
so of course I did not!
by the way - you can still have youtube fully working with CFW but you will need to launch it from USB drive....
reju's Avatar reju
11:06 PM Liked: 10
post #627 of 675
08-23-2014 | Posts: 2
Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by borland View Post
I never pay ransom
so of course I did not!
by the way - you can still have youtube fully working with CFW but you will need to launch it from USB drive....
Hi Borland, I have BDP-450. Originally I had v2.09 and the "Web content" (You tube etc) was available in "Home Menu".
Since I wanted to install CFW 4.04 I followed the instructions and downgraded to v2.05 before installing CFW 4.04.
But at this stage (v2.05) the "Web Content" option was no longer available.
And even after upgrading (thru USB drive) to CFW 4.04 the "Web Content" still remains unavailable. Please help!
sukhish's Avatar sukhish
01:14 PM Liked: 0
post #628 of 675
08-28-2014 | Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoughlan View Post
If anyone, at their own risk, wants to install custom firmware on the Pioneer BDP-450 then please contact me directly. I had an 'instructional' post but the moderator slapped my wrist and deleted it.

The modification can be done from version 2.12 (current) downwards.
Hi, i've sent you a pm, could you please help me in this regard? Thanks.
teachsac's Avatar teachsac
01:34 PM Liked: 201
post #629 of 675
08-28-2014 | Posts: 4,980
Joined: May 2006
Please keep pm private.
sukhish's Avatar sukhish
05:47 AM Liked: 0
post #630 of 675
08-29-2014 | Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 2011
Got the 4.04 to work... It's amazing to see subtitles back, however i have no idea how to get the NFS working, i am sorry if this has already been covered as tried to find out but couldn't locate any info on the same, can anyone please help me with the same? Thanks.
Tags: Blu Ray Players , Pioneer

Reply Blu-ray Players

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3