The Pioneer BDP-62FD/150/450 2012 Blu-ray Player Thread - Page 23 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 687 Old 11-26-2014, 06:04 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 5,584
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Please Read Before Posting


Quote:
As always, no hacking chat.



Moderator request: please read BEFORE you Post


Do not ask for CFW on the forum boards. Further requests will be deleted.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 687 Old 01-04-2015, 05:48 PM
Member
 
masuta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by borland View Post
I never pay ransom
so of course I did not!
by the way - you can still have youtube fully working with CFW but you will need to launch it from USB drive....
Hi Borland, You mention that you can load youtube from a USB drive. How exactly do I do that? Is there a script that needs to be put onto the USB?
masuta is offline  
post #663 of 687 Old 01-05-2015, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
borland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by masuta View Post
Hi Borland, You mention that you can load youtube from a USB drive. How exactly do I do that? Is there a script that needs to be put onto the USB?
you just need to place youtube_ver0_1__1920x1080__720p.swf script on USB drive and run it via SWF menu option. dead easy. however as youtube is now present on almost everything including smart tvs, media players and soon - washing machines, fridges and other home appliances I don't think it's terribly useful option!
borland is offline  
post #664 of 687 Old 01-21-2015, 10:21 AM
Newbie
 
manofernando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can anyone provide me contact of Ace of snakes.

thank u and regards
mano fernando.
manofernando is offline  
post #665 of 687 Old 01-26-2015, 08:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Pioneer BDP 450 firmware

Dear friends,


I have installed custom firmware CFW_404 which freezes BD disc's during playback, I would like to install original firmware version BDP-450_V02.09 which comes along with the player. I downloaded this software from Pioneer website and tried to update by using USB. But the custom firmware CFW_404 says already update no update required and I can't install original firmware.


Please help to install the original version of this player


Thanks
Srikar
srikar is offline  
post #666 of 687 Old 02-08-2015, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Hubertoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Does anyone know where I might be able to find a BDP-440 or 450 here in U.S.?

Army Rangers lead the way!

PIONEER SC-1523-K, SONY BDP-S7200, Sharp Q+ 60SQ15U, Monster Power HDP IR 2550, Klipsch Quintet SL, Klipsch Sub 12
Hubertoliver is offline  
post #667 of 687 Old 02-10-2015, 08:56 PM
Newbie
 
cashkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
to borland

hi borland,
i need your help for my pioneer bdp-lx55 player.
i can't say it here in avs..
i received a warning already for my post.
and now its deleted...
can u pm me?
cashkey is offline  
post #668 of 687 Old 02-12-2015, 06:13 AM
Senior Member
 
mecmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubertoliver View Post
Does anyone know where I might be able to find a BDP-440 or 450 here in U.S.?
ebay, I saw a couple of modified 62's for sale recently...
mecmec is offline  
post #669 of 687 Old 02-16-2015, 08:54 PM
Member
 
truelies1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 62FD. I have questions
1. How to make it BD region free and DVD region free?

2. How to make it convert blu ray from PAL to NTSC? Can the 62FD play 1080i 50 PAL blu ray?

Thanks

Last edited by truelies1; 02-16-2015 at 10:20 PM.
truelies1 is offline  
post #670 of 687 Old 02-17-2015, 04:10 PM
Member
 
truelies1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just tried it, the fw is 2.05. It can play 1080i 50 pal. I found I don't have any region b Bluray, is that better just keep original fw?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
truelies1 is offline  
post #671 of 687 Old 02-17-2015, 04:40 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 5,584
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Please read above. Treading very close. There is no way to make players region free with out a software hack or hardware modification. Hack talk is not allowed in the forum areas.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #672 of 687 Old 02-23-2015, 07:04 AM
Member
 
scoughlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thumbs down Hacking

Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
Please read above. Treading very close. There is no way to make players region free with out a software hack or hardware modification. Hack talk is not allowed in the forum areas.
Personally, I disagree with AVS on this issue and I think moderators should reconsider their policy. For a start, labelling members as hackers as if we are all dangerous subversives bent on destroying the movie industry is ridiculous. Superficially, in some countries, it is illegal to bypass region-coding. But, this is a very grey area, and you would be hard-pressed to find any prosecutions, even of dealers selling hardware (just glance around the internet or ebay for example). We can all hope and pray this pointless exercise is finally ended at some point. In fact, with international movie streaming and downloads, what is the point, or the justification, or defence anyway? The movie distribution network no longer needs to be protected.

The whole region-coding fiasco has been stupid from the very beginning and the whole planet, other than studio executives, agree. Hence DVD players where you can tap a few numbers on the remote to defeat the coding. Hardware manufacturers just playing lip-service to the issue.

A lot of AVS members will possess a region-free player and this is for various, completely justified, reasons. From my point of view, I sometimes want a film that is not available in my region. If studios want to stop that, then they should make the film region-free! Often versions vary across regions, such as Criterion Region A blu-rays for instance, or versions from the same studio with different extras for different regions. Again, if the studios want to prevent this, then issue the same content on all the region issues. Of course, many AVS members will have their own, equally valid, reasons for wanting a region-free player.

Instead of haranguing your members, lets move the topic on: Let's support the arguments for region-free discs (and some studios issue all their blu-rays as region-free) so we don't have to hack our firmware or buy modded players. You can gladly pass my details on to the Canadian or UK authorities if you wish. I'd love a day in court where they try and prosecute me for altering some hardware that I have purchased, so that I can play a disc that I have also legitimately purchased.

AVS should be about videophiles for videophiles, not supporting some minority idiotic movie moguls who have already lost the moral argument and whose systems have already been bypassed for years, and are out of date the moment the format is invented. If moderators don't want to support their members, then just signpost them to a forum that will help them...
jazzycat likes this.
scoughlan is offline  
post #673 of 687 Old 02-23-2015, 07:20 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 5,584
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 241
AVS does not support piracy, hacking, selling hacked firmware, asking for hacked firmware in the forum boards, or linking to forums that support hacking players. AVS does not ban buying a pre-modded player (we have a dedicated thread for region free players) or hardware mod (Oppo) that does not alter the manufacturers' firmware. This will not change. There are threads for copying your personal Blu-ray discs including removing region coding in the streaming forum (even though bypassing copy protections is illegal in many countries). You can also use the pm system to contact individuals.

Ripping Blu-Rays II

Region Free Blu Ray player discussion

S~
jazzycat likes this.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself

Last edited by teachsac; 02-23-2015 at 07:23 AM.
teachsac is online now  
post #674 of 687 Old 02-24-2015, 01:31 PM
Member
 
scoughlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mod/Hack Tomato/Tomatoe - Let's call the whole thing off...

Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
AVS does not support piracy, hacking, selling hacked firmware, asking for hacked firmware in the forum boards, or linking to forums that support hacking players. AVS does not ban buying a pre-modded player (we have a dedicated thread for region free players) or hardware mod (Oppo) that does not alter the manufacturers' firmware. This will not change. There are threads for copying your personal Blu-ray discs including removing region coding in the streaming forum (even though bypassing copy protections is illegal in many countries). You can also use the pm system to contact individuals.

Ripping Blu-Rays II

Region Free Blu Ray player discussion

S~
I fail to see how a hardware hack (politely called modding here) is any more legal than a software hack. Both processes achieve exactly the same aim.

Living in the UK, I can legally purchase and import a US blu-ray player (or, even better, a Hong Kong one - then I won't have to worry about buying a transformer), I can also legally purchase and import a US blu-ray film, I can then perfectly legally watch my region A movie on my region A player. Of course, I will have to retain a region B player to legally watch my region B films on. That is how senseless the whole region coding debacle is; and, of course, who wants two blu-ray players on their rack?

PM is a good point, as you will often see mentioned the whole problem about not being able to PM until you have clocked up multiple posts. Hopefully, I'm getting close now and welcome anyone who wants to contact me for help (related to this thread).
scoughlan is offline  
post #675 of 687 Old 02-24-2015, 01:55 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 5,584
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 241
The hardware mod for Oppo bypasses the components without altering the machine. Oppo has not objected to the mod when players have been sent in with it. Software alters the manufacturers' software or firmware. We have always had a no hacking policy, it has been enforced the past few years after complaints from regular users about turning the threads into hacking and complaints from some of the representatives. The CFW reverse engineered firmware also removes restrictions in place by the BDA in addition to region coding. We do not allow the custom firmware for Oppo either.

TOS:

Quote:
Reverse engineering and/or materials analysis of audio and home theater components/accessories parts thereof, whether patented or unpatented, shall not be discussed on these forums. You are free to discuss objective test measurements, findings and opinions and subjective opinions. This is necessary to avoid legal complications and to encourage industry and manufacturer participation in these forums.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #676 of 687 Old 04-05-2015, 10:25 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 5,584
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Please read above. No hack talk in the forum boards.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #677 of 687 Old 04-07-2015, 12:01 AM
Newbie
 
Carat_EST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Pioneer BDP-450 exyernal subtitles

I solved the Subtitle problem myself. This text here can be translated into any language and used as help.

First half
A) sub.srt shall be recorded as Unicode. In Windows Notepad shall be chosen "Unicode" which in reality means "UTF-16 little endian" (with BOM).
B) In BDP playback settings (with disc ejected) the subtitle charset shall also be UTF16 little endian (UTF16LE)
as result the other subtitles appeared without any Chinese characters, but unfortunately the internal font will not correctly display umlaut letters, so ä -> a, ö -> o, ü -> u etc.

So I started second half as instructed in Russian forum
adding to USB JBDIY bolder with ttf font and sub.conf
The proposed font ST Caiyun or STCAIYUN.TTF supports only Chinese, Korean, Russian etc. but has only limited support for Latin/English.
All these: Õ õ Ä ä Ö ö Ü ü Š š Ž ž characters are missing from it.
I found similar font with full umlaut support: Franklin Gothic Demi Cond Regular or FRADMCN.TTF
So I replaced original STCAIYUN.TTF with FRADMCN.TTF
I also edited the contents of sub.conf (this file shall be also recorded as "UTF-16 little endian" (with BOM).
Now the contents of it are as following:
###

# *** font longitudinal position (not changed)
sub_pos=0

# *** Font size, with a maximum of 102 (was 60)
sub_size=40

# *** Font file name from the network to download or computer Fonts directory TTF fonts,
# *** and then fill in the corresponding font name below "=" sign on the right. (was STCAIYUN.TTF)
sub_font=FRADMCN.TTF

# *** Font foreground color, to take reference color values ,
# *** and then fill in the color value of #xxxxxx below "=" symbol on the right (this is and was black border)
sub_Bcolor=#000000

# *** Subtitles background color, to take reference color values ,
# *** and then fill in the color value of #xxxxxx below "=" symbol on the right (now it is white, was deep sea blue #00BFFF )
sub_Fcolor=#FFFFFF

# *** 3D subtitle depth of field, the left and right sides Subtitles deviation (was 5)
sub_3Ddeep=4

# *** Subtitles time cross-sectional unit of milliseconds, such as 1000 represents 1 second, 1500 for 1.5 seconds (not changed)
sub_timestamp=0

# *** Subtitle encoding gbk - Simplified Chinese (mainland users),
# *** big5 - Traditional Chinese (Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan users) - now changed to utf16le (Unicode)
sub_char_encode=utf16le

###

With best regards

Lauri
TheUglyBad likes this.
Carat_EST is offline  
post #678 of 687 Old 04-07-2015, 04:38 AM
Member
 
TheUglyBad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carat_EST View Post
I solved the Subtitle problem myself. This text here can be translated into any language and used as help.
Great stuff your adding to the community. Thanks!
TheUglyBad is offline  
post #679 of 687 Old 04-09-2015, 11:38 PM
Newbie
 
Carat_EST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by saltanar View Post
No, i need The latest one hdsir version because on october 2013 the subs has problems.
Very strange. I had problems with subtitles (external ones not working for bluray disc) only with 2014 June version. When I installed 2013 October version the subtitles appeared. Maybe you are using wrong encoding, character set or font?
Carat_EST is offline  
post #680 of 687 Old 04-29-2015, 07:21 AM
Newbie
 
reju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by borland View Post
you just need to place youtube_ver0_1__1920x1080__720p.swf script on USB drive and run it via SWF menu option. dead easy. however as youtube is now present on almost everything including smart tvs, media players and soon - washing machines, fridges and other home appliances I don't think it's terribly useful option!
Hi Borland, can you please let me know how to get youtube.rar file.

Last edited by reju; 04-29-2015 at 07:38 AM.
reju is offline  
post #681 of 687 Old 04-29-2015, 10:45 PM
Newbie
 
reju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to post the youtube.rar file link here?
reju is offline  
post #682 of 687 Old 05-01-2015, 09:58 AM
Member
 
scoughlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wink Cyber Criminals

Quote:
Originally Posted by reju View Post
Is it possible to post the youtube.rar file link here?
Probably not, since the moderators all regard us as deadly Cyber Criminals meddling with our legally purchased products. God forbid! You'll probably be asking to change a fuse in your fridge next. I'm just relieved MI6 haven't come knocking on my door yet; I expect to be dragged off any day...
scoughlan is offline  
post #683 of 687 Old 05-01-2015, 11:19 AM
Newbie
 
reju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In that case I think I would have to wait for Borland or someone to PM me the youtube script download link :-)
reju is offline  
post #684 of 687 Old 05-02-2015, 10:23 AM
Newbie
 
reju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found one youtube_ver0_1__1920x1080__720p.swf script but when I run it through USB drive it says that its designed for Dune HD TV.
So it does not work :-(
reju is offline  
post #685 of 687 Old 05-15-2015, 05:10 AM
Member
 
dikkiedirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Confederate View Post
I have played a couple of BDMV folders from my NAS so far.

It seems that there are issues whenever the movie's Dolby True HD track is played. In this case the movie stutters a lot and it is unwatchable.
Playing the Dolby Digital track ( French audio track for instance ) does not cause this problem.

I first thought it was due to the high bitrate HOWEVER I have had not had this problem playing Criterion Blu Rays such as Videodrome from my NAS
which use very high bitrates ( video bitrate around 35 mbit/s ! plus LPCM 1.0 track ). And the Star Trek's combined video and Dolby True HD audio track
are less, around 25-30 mbit/s combined.

I then found a way to play the movie nonetheless:

I renamed the BDMV into BDMVrenamed or whatever and played the m2ts video stream file containing the main movie ( in this case the newest Star Trek movie )
via NFS. This did not solve the issue. Same stutters. HOWEVER playing the same m2ts video stream file via DNLA did not cause that problem. The movie plays
perfectly ! I think this is a good workaround and I can live with it.
Playing the BDMV folder directly via DNLA did not work at all.

The only thing I miss is Netflix support

I had this too with any server and any BD rip, either ISO or BDMV. I have them on a Qnap NAS, an unraid server and a Thecus NAS. All servers are on my Gigabit network. On the Thecus and unraid server I found /proc/fs/nfsd/max_block_size which was set too high. I set the value to 4096 or 8192. O the Qnap server I lowered to UDP payload value to 4096. Now I can play all 2D BD-rips without annoying stuttering or sound breakups. 3D rips are placed on an external harddisk and played over USB on my BDP-450
dikkiedirk is offline  
post #686 of 687 Old 05-18-2015, 12:11 PM
Member
 
scoughlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dikkiedirk View Post
I had this too with any server and any BD rip, either ISO or BDMV. I have them on a Qnap NAS, an unraid server and a Thecus NAS. All servers are on my Gigabit network. On the Thecus and unraid server I found /proc/fs/nfsd/max_block_size which was set too high. I set the value to 4096 or 8192. O the Qnap server I lowered to UDP payload value to 4096. Now I can play all 2D BD-rips without annoying stuttering or sound breakups. 3D rips are placed on an external harddisk and played over USB on my BDP-450
And Confederate, there really is no need to miss Netflix either. Just buy a stick!

https://www.google.co.uk/chrome/devices/chromecast/

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Amazon-W87CU.../dp/B00KAKUN3E

https://www.roku.com/products/streaming-stick
scoughlan is offline  
post #687 of 687 Old 05-28-2015, 07:41 AM
Member
 
Heuristix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Strafford, PA
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I recently tried to play WMA lossless files but it did not work. Has anybody tried WMA lossless?
Heuristix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Pioneer



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off