The Pioneer BDP-62FD/150/450 2012 Blu-ray Player Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 617 Old 02-13-2013, 08:35 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nisei View Post

No-one's explaining how the "Russian firmware", as you call it, works. The Russians didn't change anything to the firmware, they merely cracked the algorithm to activate it. So please stop pointing your finger at certain people here for just talking about it.

The more you write/talk about it in public the better, right? Keep posting, who cares...
Advizer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 617 Old 02-13-2013, 09:34 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
MortUK,

as I speak Russian, I'm able to read that forum and I know what is going on with the latest version of a Chinese CFW. Looks like it's somehow protected against hacking. Sorry for having been aggressive to you.

Nisei,

If you're the only one and you're shouting out loud "Hooray! I have a CFW made in China, cracked in Russia" in the web, it's okay.

But if there are hundreds of people doing so and writing so in English (you know how easy it is to translate Russian, doncha?)... I didn't point anybody. I have the same right to share my opinion here as you do.
Advizer is offline  
post #93 of 617 Old 02-13-2013, 09:40 AM
Member
 
MortUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Advizer View Post

The more you write/talk about it in public the better, right? Keep posting, who cares...

I have to say, you don't make a very good argument.

The Chinese have all ready worked out that the Russians cracked their FW and re-did the algorithm to prevent it on later versions (v5.00 onward). So what we are discussing here is nothing new to the Chinese guys who customized the FW in the first place.

MortUK
MortUK is offline  
post #94 of 617 Old 02-13-2013, 09:41 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Some information regarding updates and stuff: Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
If you have a BDP-140/440, you can easily install CFW 4.02 or 4.03 (there is a specific CFW for each model).
If you have a BDP-150 with 1.02, it's the same. Don't buy nor install FW 1.05 on it, as you won't be able to install any CFW afterwards.
If you have a BDP-450 with 2.05, it's the same. Don't buy nor install FW 2.09 on it, as you won't be able to install any CFW afterwards.
Advizer is offline  
post #95 of 617 Old 02-13-2013, 09:44 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by MortUK View Post

I have to say, you don't make a very good argument.
I was not going to argue with anybody here. It's a free world.
Advizer is offline  
post #96 of 617 Old 02-13-2013, 02:06 PM
Member
 
EliasGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i just purchased BDP-140

since i haven't opened the box i can swap with BDP-150.

how can you tell the original FW on the BDP-150 without opening the box? since it's 1.05 installed cannot be updated to 4.03, is this certain?

or i just leave i and start using 140, what are differences between 140 vs 150? is it a plus if i have BDP-150 and make sure 1.02 installed on rather than having BDP-140?
Quatre likes this.
EliasGS is offline  
post #97 of 617 Old 02-13-2013, 03:40 PM
Member
 
MortUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The 150 and 140 are virtually identical. The main differences being

1, The remote control. The 150's is simpler and more responsive
2, The audio output on the back is coaxal on the 150 and optical on the 140.
3, The 150 has Cinavia from the factory.

Thats the only differences i know of.

I personally would stick with what you have, Is it really worth the hassle of changing it.?

MortUK
MortUK is offline  
post #98 of 617 Old 02-13-2013, 04:43 PM
Member
 
EliasGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MortUK View Post

The 150 and 140 are virtually identical. The main differences being

1, The remote control. The 150's is simpler and more responsive
2, The audio output on the back is coaxal on the 150 and optical on the 140.
3, The 150 has Cinavia from the factory.

Thats the only differences i know of.

I personally would stick with what you have, Is it really worth the hassle of changing it.?

thank you for the quick advice,

it wont be an issue for swap action. just drop the 140 in a store and get 150 from another in the same mall.

1- i will be using Harmony One, not important
2- i have coax plugs free on my AVR, but not that important that i can swap other devices but prefer coax on bluray player.
3- i guess this is where dilemma begins if FW on 150 is 1.02 or 1.05 out of the box.

if these are the only differences i can stick with 140.

somewhere i have read 150 can read NTFS formatted usb hdd where 140 only accepts FAT32. is this correct?

i will be using my Synology NAS for mkv and flac storage.
EliasGS is offline  
post #99 of 617 Old 02-13-2013, 11:29 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
EliasGS,

MortUK is right. But I would personally prefer the BDP-140.
Advizer is offline  
post #100 of 617 Old 02-14-2013, 02:33 AM
Member
 
MortUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
ElisaGS,

What is the manufacture date on the outside of your box.?

MortUK
MortUK is offline  
post #101 of 617 Old 02-14-2013, 04:47 AM
Member
 
EliasGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
thank you for you replies,

i only have BDP 140 with me and man. date is Sep 2011 on the box. i guess you asked for 150 if it has 1.05 or 1.02. what is the certain man. date for 150 that have 1.05 on? i can check it in store today.

the question is, if these 2 are identical products in terms of chipset, built quality etc. since we install CFW both will act identical? so i guess i wont be necessary to go and do the swap and little risky if 150 has 1.05 on it. if they use the same CFW they will act identical right? only difference will be audio out.

what could i gain swapping 140 to 150?
EliasGS is offline  
post #102 of 617 Old 02-14-2013, 05:46 AM
Member
 
MortUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I've just checked the Manufacture date on the outside of my retail box and it is July 2012.. It came with the 1.02 FW. Looking on Pioneers website the 1.05 Firmware was released in November 2012.

I would say that anything manufactured up to October 2012 would be safe with the BDP-150.

I can't comment on the internal workings of the model as my knowledge only goes so far on the subject.

I personally don't think you'd gain anything from switching. I switched to a BP-150 from a 140 and the only real advantage to me was a nicer remote and the knowledge that i have an up to date player.. The 140 remote is a bit clunky.

Mort.

MortUK
MortUK is offline  
post #103 of 617 Old 02-14-2013, 06:47 AM
Member
 
EliasGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MortUK View Post

I've just checked the Manufacture date on the outside of my retail box and it is July 2012.. It came with the 1.02 FW. Looking on Pioneers website the 1.05 Firmware was released in November 2012.

I would say that anything manufactured up to October 2012 would be safe with the BDP-150.

I can't comment on the internal workings of the model as my knowledge only goes so far on the subject.

I personally don't think you'd gain anything from switching. I switched to a BP-150 from a 140 and the only real advantage to me was a nicer remote and the knowledge that i have an up to date player.. The 140 remote is a bit clunky.

Mort.

what i am curious about is, even if both have 1.02 FW, after CFW update they will act identical, file reading, speed, noise and picture quality etc?
EliasGS is offline  
post #104 of 617 Old 02-14-2013, 11:41 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by EliasGS View Post

what i am curious about is, even if both have 1.02 FW, after CFW update they will act identical, file reading, speed, noise and picture quality etc?

There's CFW 4.02 which doesn't have an alphabetical chaos in a files list, what is a significant drawback of the CFW 4.03 and higher versions.
Advizer is offline  
post #105 of 617 Old 02-14-2013, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
bokes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone here have the 150?
Why no love for it.
I think it's an excellent picture for the price.
Is it true it's actually a Sharp with the Pioneer name stuck on it?
bokes is offline  
post #106 of 617 Old 02-14-2013, 12:46 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokes View Post

Anyone here have the 150?
Why no love for it.
I think it's an excellent picture for the price.
Is it true it's actually a Sharp with the Pioneer name stuck on it?
FW 1.05 = no way for CFW...
Advizer is offline  
post #107 of 617 Old 02-15-2013, 02:51 AM
Member
 
EliasGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MortUK View Post

I've just checked the Manufacture date on the outside of my retail box and it is July 2012.. It came with the 1.02 FW. Looking on Pioneers website the 1.05 Firmware was released in November 2012.

I would say that anything manufactured up to October 2012 would be safe with the BDP-150.

I can't comment on the internal workings of the model as my knowledge only goes so far on the subject.

I personally don't think you'd gain anything from switching. I switched to a BP-150 from a 140 and the only real advantage to me was a nicer remote and the knowledge that i have an up to date player.. The 140 remote is a bit clunky.

Mort.

Hello again Mort. Today in store i checked that current 150's they have are all manufactured in August 2012. Seems they come with 1.02 right?

I would like to use my coax input on AVR. So i might be swaping my 140 with 150.

So we are positive that 2012 August manufactured 150 is without 1.05. After installing CFW will there be any risk in terms of Cinavia in the future? Or 140 is much safer way to go?
EliasGS is offline  
post #108 of 617 Old 02-15-2013, 03:19 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by EliasGS View Post

After installing CFW will there be any risk in terms of Cinavia in the future? Or 140 is much safer way to go?

Time will tell... 140 doesn't have Cinavia. CFW 4.03 for both models is identical. CFW 4.02 is better than 4.03 and exists only for 140/440.
Advizer is offline  
post #109 of 617 Old 02-15-2013, 06:33 AM
Member
 
MortUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
EliasGS,

I don't know for sure. Just an educated guess. It makes sense that if the 1.05FW was released in November then the August manufacture date should be safe.. It's your money though, not mine.!

As far as Cinavia goes with the current state of things the 150 & 140 with CFW 4.03 as safe. Cinavia is something that has to be built into the Firmware of the player. As long as you don't change the FW you should be fine. All players from Feb 2012 have to have Cinavia built in. Although a lot of manufacturers are updating the FW of their earlier players as far back as 2010 to include it.. So if being Cinavia free is important to you don't change your FW.

Mort.

MortUK
MortUK is offline  
post #110 of 617 Old 02-16-2013, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
eyekode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokes View Post

Anyone here have the 150?
Why no love for it.
I think it's an excellent picture for the price.
Is it true it's actually a Sharp with the Pioneer name stuck on it?

I recently bought a 150. I have not used it much but first impressions are not good. It feels/looks cheap but the worst is it is not very responsive. For example if you hit the power button to turn it on... nothing happens for a couple seconds. At a minimum the lights should come on immediately.

I also could not figure out how to change the DRC setting without restarting the movie which is annoying. Maybe it is user error.

It is also missing some common features: wifi (I don't need it though) and it doesn't stream from Amazon (of course I knew that before I bought it).

And unfortunately it has locked up on me once already (I have only used it for one day).
Salem
eyekode is offline  
post #111 of 617 Old 02-17-2013, 06:08 AM
Senior Member
 
squall12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi guy,

If pioneer 150 have firmware 1.05 and above it wont install the Chinese crack firmware correct? For pioneer 140 is it that same as well if it have 1.05 firmware and above which i cannot install the chinese crack firmware?

Thanks
squall12 is offline  
post #112 of 617 Old 02-17-2013, 06:42 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by squall12 View Post

Hi guy,

If pioneer 150 have firmware 1.05it wont install the Chinese crack firmware correct?

Right you are. It must be FW1.02.
Quote:
Originally Posted by squall12 View Post

For pioneer 140 is it that same as well if it have 1.05 firmware and above which i cannot install the chinese crack firmware?

There's no FW1.05 for BDP-140. There's no "protected" original firmware for BDP-140 either, that's the point.
Advizer is offline  
post #113 of 617 Old 02-17-2013, 09:47 AM
Newbie
 
madcapfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Advizer View Post

CFW 4.02 is better than 4.03 and exists only for 140/440.
Only bug in 4.03 is about sorting files right m8? Or anything else should we warn of?
Maybe i am wrong but i think 4.02 have cinavia for dvds?

Is there a some program combo or chance for check synchronisation between external subtitle and iso on computer?
Thanks in advance.
madcapfrog is offline  
post #114 of 617 Old 02-17-2013, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by madcapfrog View Post

Only bug in 4.03 is about sorting files right m8? Or anything else should we warn of?
Nope.
Quote:
Originally Posted by madcapfrog View Post

Maybe i am wrong but i think 4.02 have cinavia for dvds?

4.03
No cinavia for DVD
3TB external HDD support
Ext2/3/4 support
Advizer is offline  
post #115 of 617 Old 02-17-2013, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
squall12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Advizer View Post

Right you are. It must be FW1.02.
There's no FW1.05 for BDP-140. There's no "protected" original firmware for BDP-140 either, that's the point.

So u mean for pioneer 140 any firmware that is on the player can stll be flash to CFW 4.03 unlike pioneer 150 that can only be flash if the player default comes with 1.05 firmware correct?

Thanks
squall12 is offline  
post #116 of 617 Old 02-17-2013, 06:20 PM
Newbie
 
madcapfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by squall12 View Post

unlike pioneer 150 that can only be flash if the player default comes with 1.05 firmware correct?
Thanks
For BDP-150;
1.02 firmware = Can flash cfw
1.05 firmware = Can't flash cfw
Quatre likes this.
madcapfrog is offline  
post #117 of 617 Old 02-17-2013, 09:43 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by squall12 View Post

So u mean for pioneer 140 any firmware that is on the player can stll be flash to CFW 4.03 unlike pioneer 150 that can only be flash if the player default comes with 1.05 firmware correct?
1. Yes
2. Some people have already updated their BDP-150 from 1.02 to 1.05...
Advizer is offline  
post #118 of 617 Old 02-18-2013, 06:36 AM
Senior Member
 
squall12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So anyone using the free crack firmware 4.03 on pioneer 150 and encounter any issue so far?

Thanks
squall12 is offline  
post #119 of 617 Old 02-21-2013, 12:36 PM
Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'm cornfuzed about some of the settings for audio and video. What are some sugestions for the best audio and video settings. Picked up a bdp150. I have it connected to a Pioneer 1222 and then out to a mitsubishi dlp 73740. All with the latest high speed hdmi cables.

For the audio settings:

I selected bitstream for the digital output. That way the raw signal goes to the 1222 to process it.

Dts Downmix - This is where i'm cornfuzed. The choice is stereo or lt/rt....What is the most goodest setting, lol.....im going to let the 1222 process the signal.

Downsampling - Set it to 192k

DRC - Set it to off

HDMI SETTINGS
Color space - Set it to YCbCr, not sure about this one either. Is the 4:4:4 signal better than 4:2:2
Resolution - I set to auto
HDMI Audio Out - set it to bitstream. The choices are bitsream, pcm, reencode and off
Control - set to off
HDMI Deep Color - Set it to 36 bits
HDMI 1080P 24hz - Set it to on. Is 24 better than 60? My tv will do 60

I play mostly blu rays and sometimes cds via the bdp 150. I would like to experience sacd multi channel.

Thanks for any advice/education in advance. I tried searching the web, many oppinions, enven more cornfuzed. The manual is VERY UNinformitive. I even went to DTS.

Thank you........

Mitz DLP 73740
Pioneer SC 1222K
Pioneer BDP 150
Apple I Pad Retina
Fronts Cerwin Vega AT-12
Center JBL Northridge EC-35
Surround Rear JBL CST-56
Surround Back Advent
LNEWoLF is offline  
post #120 of 617 Old 02-21-2013, 11:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kilian.ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ex-50Hz, now 60Hz
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
It's not difficult really if you understand the basics.

Dts Downmix is only relevant for 'Digital Output', which only means coaxial/optical (see the rear panel diagram), not HDMI. I know HDMI is digital too but that's just how it is called for some manufacturers. That's why there is a separate 'HDMI Audio out' for HDMI .
Downsampling ditto.

Color space: generally YCbCr 422 unless it's known to be worse than RGB (we dunno)
HDMI Audio Out: generally no difference PCM vs bitstream but most people want to see dts or Dolby lights proudly displayed on their receivers for psychological satisfaction.
HDMI Deep Color: 24 bits (anything more means guessing what's not there)
Is 24 better than 60 - yes only if TV can display in multiples of 24 frames per second, irrelevant otherwise

Audiosceptics accept audio trials using 25 people. A recent Oxford study with over 353,000 patient records from 639 separate clinical trials shows for every 1,000 people taking diclofenac or ibuprofen there would be 3 additional heart attacks, 4 more cases of heart failure and 1 death every year.

Kilian.ca is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Pioneer

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off