The Pioneer BDP-62FD/150/450 2012 Blu-ray Player Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 631 Old 03-14-2013, 10:47 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
ralf71,

try to change some picture settings.
Advizer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 631 Old 03-15-2013, 11:52 PM
Newbie
 
scorilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New here.Hi to everybody and thanks for all your work/help.
I want to buy a Pioneer so please help.What i undestand by now-please correct if i'm wrong:
-the 450 model needs version 2.05 to aply cfw,the 440 model does not matter which version it has.
-the cfw for 440-4.02 is better then the one for 450-4.03.All cfw are Cinavia free.
-if i aply the 4.03 cfw on the 440 can i go back to 4.02?
-are there differences in picture quality between the 440 and 450?Which one do you recomend to buy?
scorilo is offline  
post #183 of 631 Old 03-16-2013, 03:47 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorilo View Post

1)-the 450 model needs version 2.05 to aply cfw,the 440 model does not matter which version it has.
2)-the cfw for 440-4.02 is better then the one for 450-4.03.All cfw are Cinavia free.
3)-if i aply the 4.03 cfw on the 440 can i go back to 4.02?
4)-are there differences in picture quality between the 440 and 450?Which one do you recomend to buy?

1) Right.
2) Wrong. 4.04 (not 4.03) for 450 allows to use NFS protocoll and supports ext2/3/4 as well as 3TB external HDD.. These are real advantages over 4.02 (without alphabetical chaos) for 440. There's CFW 4.03 for 440 without NFS. Yes, Cinavia got killed rolleyes.gif
3) Right. Besides, you can simply downgrade to a factory FW by simply renaming FW-file as "BDP-440_SP.bin". It should work for 1.xx, but I don't know if it's possible for factory FW 2.xx.
NB: Be careful with BDP-450. You can downgrade only once, as the factory FW2.09 can't be hacked and FW2.05 can't be downloaded from the official Pioneer internet page.
4) It depends on prices. BDP-450 is definitely better as it has 2xHDMI, QDEO (DVD-upscaler, etc), but there's no any DAC.
Advizer is offline  
post #184 of 631 Old 03-16-2013, 07:15 AM
Newbie
 
scorilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you Advizer!
I didn't know that the 440 doesn't have the Qdeo chip-for me it's important because i still have many DVDs.
I think the Qdeo offers better upscalling then what a TV does-right?
scorilo is offline  
post #185 of 631 Old 03-16-2013, 07:45 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
scorilo,
If I were you, I would buy BDP-450. Yes, QDEO is good as DVD-upscaler. Besides, 450 is interesting regarding software support, cause this model is very popular in China.
Advizer is offline  
post #186 of 631 Old 03-16-2013, 08:17 AM
Newbie
 
scorilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks again Advizer.Will follow your advice.
scorilo is offline  
post #187 of 631 Old 03-24-2013, 06:09 PM
Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone noticed lip-sync issue with bdp-450? I'm talking about playing mkv and bd-iso from the usb. My setup is hdmi(450 has 2, so this is from "main hdmi") to avr (onkyo). Appreciate any help to overcome this.
raif71 is offline  
post #188 of 631 Old 03-24-2013, 10:49 PM
Member
 
dreamworlds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, I just flash my Pioneer BDP-150 with the CFW v4.03, and activated with the "keygen" software found from this thread.

I have a problem of displaying the "Other" subtitle from the USB I plugged in. From the previous thread, it seems like I just need to do the following:

1. Change the SRT subtitle file name to "Sub.srt", and put it on the root of the USB drive
2. Choose "Other" from the Subtitle button

I tried both Unicode and ASCII format, and also tried to change the subtitle format from the system menu. None of those steps help.

I am trying to play the original blu-ray disc (which is BDMV) with a subtitle that doesn't come with the disc.

Anyone can help me out on this problem? This is the main reason I bought this blu-ray player, I thought the CFW has this feature.

Thanks a lot!!!
dreamworlds is offline  
post #189 of 631 Old 03-26-2013, 11:32 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
dreamworlds,

if I'm not mistaken, .srt file must have the same name as the video file does. Have you tried this already?
Advizer is offline  
post #190 of 631 Old 03-27-2013, 12:27 AM
Member
 
dreamworlds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I am playing the original blu-ray disc (not any ISO or MKV), what file name I should use on my srt file? Do I have to put the blu-ray disc on the blu-ray rom on the computer to find out the name? I thought somebody said they were able to use the "Sub.srt" when they play the blu-ray disc.

Have you tried this?
dreamworlds is offline  
post #191 of 631 Old 03-28-2013, 07:33 AM
Newbie
 
reki1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Advizer View Post

dreamworlds,

if I'm not mistaken, .srt file must have the same name as the video file does. Have you tried this already?

Guys could you please help me out.I am in the process of buying the bdp 450 could you please verify that it can display external srt files with greek encoding?? CP1253??
Another questionIs it possble for bdp 450 or (150) to play mkvs with aac and dts-hd soundtracks??
Could you please spare some minutes to help me.I am trying here in greece to find a showroom in order to perform some tests but no luck
reki1978 is offline  
post #192 of 631 Old 03-28-2013, 08:15 AM
Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
reki1978, if your media is mostly mkvs, you're better off buying a media player. Imo, media player manage mkvs much better than bluray players especially in the subs department. I use the bdp-450 to play bd-iso though once in a while I play some mkvs but I have a media player for that.
raif71 is offline  
post #193 of 631 Old 03-30-2013, 07:52 AM
Member
 
grill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Folks,

I'm into SACD iso playback. I know there is already a Chinese CFW (2013/03/22) for SACD iso playback on 450. I d/l-ed that fw but I don't speek Chinese so I can't contact the developer for further details. Can any of you help me?
grill is offline  
post #194 of 631 Old 03-30-2013, 01:45 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by grill View Post

Hi Folks,

I'm into SACD iso playback. I know there is already a Chinese CFW (2013/03/22) for SACD iso playback on 450. I d/l-ed that fw but I don't speek Chinese so I can't contact the developer for further details. Can any of you help me?

If you've installed it, get ready to pay...
Advizer is offline  
post #195 of 631 Old 03-30-2013, 02:06 PM
Member
 
ray16kv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Oh good Lord! I just bought a 150, and am i going to have any problem playing 3-D Blu-ray on it? I have a Pioneer SC-61 Do I have to change any settings? Or can I just put the disc in and play?
ray16kv is offline  
post #196 of 631 Old 03-30-2013, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
silvereyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Advizer View Post

If you've installed it, get ready to pay...

sacd.iso playback is indeed worthwhile. But to who do you pay? How do you contact the Chinese programmer?
silvereyes is offline  
post #197 of 631 Old 04-01-2013, 09:32 PM
Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have this sacd iso for example named abc.iso. However looking through the "Music" folder, I cannot view this file. So, how do I actually play sacd iso? I'm using bdp-450 with cfw.
raif71 is offline  
post #198 of 631 Old 04-02-2013, 02:36 AM
Newbie
 
Richard Owen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't suppose anyone has a copy of the CFW v5.09c or newer.??

PM me if you do..

Rich..
Richard Owen is offline  
post #199 of 631 Old 04-02-2013, 10:08 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by raif71 View Post

I'm using bdp-450 with cfw.
Which version? Normally, you have to burn a DVD-R/RW using ImgBurn.
Advizer is offline  
post #200 of 631 Old 04-02-2013, 10:16 AM
Member
 
dreamworlds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by reki1978 View Post

Guys could you please help me out.I am in the process of buying the bdp 450 could you please verify that it can display external srt files with greek encoding?? CP1253??
Another questionIs it possble for bdp 450 or (150) to play mkvs with aac and dts-hd soundtracks??
Could you please spare some minutes to help me.I am trying here in greece to find a showroom in order to perform some tests but no luck


Sorry, I just saw your reply. After days of investigation and try-outs, I finally found out the answer of this.

The answer is Yes and No. Yes, after you flash the firmware v4.03/4.04, you will be able to use the external subtitle in srt format with the USB drive. However, not all the blu-ray disc works with this feature. (I was stuck on this for a while). So far, I tried the "Africa", "Planet Earth", they don't work with this feature, which I need the most. frown.gif But for other movies, it works, like "The Pacific". It seems like all those BBC blu-rays doesn't work.

I think the version 5.01 or above will solve this problem (meaning all the disc will work), but I am not sure, since there is NO keygen for the version 5 or above. Therefore, unless you find a way to pay to buy the key to unlock the new CFW, otherwise, flashing to version 5.01 doesn't give you any benefit. Also, there is no way to downgrade this as well. So unless you know what you doing, otherwise, don't flash the version 5 or above, stay in version 4.

For the Greek coding, I don't know, I will check that tonight for you, because I don't know Greek. I believe you will use the UTF-8 codec instead. So I think it should be fine. But I am not sure, and I can't test that for you.

I haven't tried any of the mkv or iso format yet. so I have no comment on that. Also, my machine is BDP-150, I believe the CFW has the same functionality.

If you really need this feature, and you don't want to waste your time on doing this, buy the OPPO BDP-93/95 or BDP-103/105, they will supported on its stock firmware, plus the quality is much better. I know it is very pricey, but you get what you pay for.

I hope this helps.
dreamworlds is offline  
post #201 of 631 Old 04-02-2013, 10:22 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
DEL
Advizer is offline  
post #202 of 631 Old 04-02-2013, 03:34 PM
Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Advizer View Post

Which version? Normally, you have to burn a DVD-R/RW using ImgBurn.

5.05. Hmm, I really thought that I just could play sacd iso similar to bd-iso but I guess I'm mistaken, even with cfw - right?
raif71 is offline  
post #203 of 631 Old 04-02-2013, 09:27 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by raif71 View Post

5.05. Hmm, I really thought that I just could play sacd iso similar to bd-iso but I guess I'm mistaken, even with cfw - right?
5.05=4.04. Right you are.
Advizer is offline  
post #204 of 631 Old 04-02-2013, 10:53 PM
Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Advizer View Post

5.05=4.04. Right you are.

Thanks. I already burned the iso using imgburn. Got couple of warnings. I will get in touch if the disc is unplayable. Just for some info, is there another version of cfw that will read sacd iso without burning to dvd disc ?
raif71 is offline  
post #205 of 631 Old 04-02-2013, 11:59 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by raif71 View Post

Just for some info, is there another version of cfw that will read sacd iso without burning to dvd disc ?
It already exists but it's not free of charge.
Advizer is offline  
post #206 of 631 Old 04-03-2013, 06:58 AM
Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK sacd burned to dvd disc success playing with bdp-450. 5.1 surround music smile.gif. Hmm, some of the other sacd - iso/nrg/flac that I have , have problems with imgburn however, thank you so much Advizer.
raif71 is offline  
post #207 of 631 Old 04-04-2013, 01:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kilian.ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ex-50Hz, now 60Hz
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
If you need to burn it to DVD for it to play that's not sacd.iso but only SACD-R support, which I suspect the player does natively without cfw (as last year's players do).

Audiosceptics accept audio trials using 25 people. A recent Oxford study with over 353,000 patient records from 639 separate clinical trials shows for every 1,000 people taking diclofenac or ibuprofen there would be 3 additional heart attacks, 4 more cases of heart failure and 1 death every year.

Kilian.ca is offline  
post #208 of 631 Old 04-04-2013, 03:45 AM
Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilian.ca View Post

If you need to burn it to DVD for it to play that's not sacd.iso but only SACD-R support, which I suspect the player does natively without cfw (as last year's players do).

Yeah, I guess the current cfw that I have does not support playing sacd iso. That I understand now.
raif71 is offline  
post #209 of 631 Old 04-04-2013, 10:56 AM
Member
 
grill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by raif71 View Post

Yeah, I guess the current cfw that I have does not support playing sacd iso. That I understand now.
The latest Chinese fw supports SACD iso playback on 450 and LX55 ... for $160. I have no Pio players but waiting for such a fw for 140 (no ETA yet).
grill is offline  
post #210 of 631 Old 04-06-2013, 07:34 PM
Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by grill View Post

The latest Chinese fw supports SACD iso playback on 450 and LX55 ... for $160. I have no Pio players but waiting for such a fw for 140 (no ETA yet).

When you say that you have "no Pio players", you meant that you don't have any 450 or that you don't have any players ?
raif71 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Pioneer

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off