Official Panasonic DMP-BDT 220/320/500 Owners Thread - Page 112 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3331 of 4216 Old 03-10-2013, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WOLVERNOLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DUMFRIES, VA USA
Posts: 2,544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Maybe this should be obvious, but do you folks think that I would notice a signficant improvement between my older Panasonic (Blu-ray) player BD-60 and the BD-220 ? I wonder how much advancement has been made strictly for Blu-ray playback picture quality, and then for regular DVD (up-conversion) playback ? The 220 is now down to $79. on Amazon !biggrin.gif
WOLVERNOLE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3332 of 4216 Old 03-10-2013, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Bluray will be the same, DVD will be better but don't expect night and day. The upgrade is worthy, though, for the apps.It's a bargain, anyway.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #3333 of 4216 Old 03-10-2013, 10:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Angler55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mouth of the AuSable River, Michigan
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLVERNOLE View Post

Maybe this should be obvious, but do you folks think that I would notice a signficant improvement between my older Panasonic (Blu-ray) player BD-60 and the BD-220 ? I wonder how much advancement has been made strictly for Blu-ray playback picture quality, and then for regular DVD (up-conversion) playback ? The 220 is now down to $79. on Amazon !biggrin.gif

From everything I've read there should be no difference in picture quality between the two blu ray players. The BDT220 probably has better DVD up conversion but that's just a guess.

Al

edit: late by 1 second
Angler55 is offline  
post #3334 of 4216 Old 03-10-2013, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLVERNOLE View Post

Maybe this should be obvious, but do you folks think that I would notice a signficant improvement between my older Panasonic (Blu-ray) player BD-60 and the BD-220 ? I wonder how much advancement has been made strictly for Blu-ray playback picture quality, and then for regular DVD (up-conversion) playback ? The 220 is now down to $79. on Amazon !biggrin.gif
For DVD upconversion there have been three newer versions of the Unipher chip, that has improved the players ability to handle DVD's with bad cadence, usually animation - Charlie Browns head will no longer have jaggies. They 220 is also much faster loading than the 60.
moxie1617 is online now  
post #3335 of 4216 Old 03-10-2013, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WOLVERNOLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DUMFRIES, VA USA
Posts: 2,544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

For DVD upconversion there have been three newer versions of the Unipher chip, that has improved the players ability to handle DVD's with bad cadence, usually animation - Charlie Browns head will no longer have jaggies. They 220 is also much faster loading than the 60.

Yea, the ONE thing that I was aware of regarding the difference (improvement) of the BD-220 was "loading speed." That BD-60 is a real "clunker" in that regard. Well, of course the BD-220 has the 3-D ability as well. I notice that I get choppiness on credits at the end of a movie with my BD-210...I wonder if the 220 does better on smoothing out credits roll out than the 210 ? I have to use "Motion Smooth" on my Panasonic 50GT50 plasma to smooth out the shakiness of the credits at the end of movies.
WOLVERNOLE is offline  
post #3336 of 4216 Old 03-10-2013, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Angler55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mouth of the AuSable River, Michigan
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I've never heard of the "choppiness" problem on just the credits. Maybe someone who is familiar with this will have an idea why the 210 would do that.

Al
Angler55 is offline  
post #3337 of 4216 Old 03-10-2013, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Where the heck are the new Pan. players? They were supposed to be out in Feb.
Jim McC is online now  
post #3338 of 4216 Old 03-10-2013, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

Where the heck are the new Pan. players? They were supposed to be out in Feb.
in Panasonicnese, February means end of March.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #3339 of 4216 Old 03-11-2013, 07:03 AM
Newbie
 
peejay1704's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

so i bought the Panny bdt-320 and was trying to set up DLNA but i just can't seem to get it to work.
Both my 320 and my PC are using a wired connection. I'm using TVersity on my windows 7-pc to stream the files to the 320. Most of the files are connected via a usb external hard drive to my pc.
On the 320, i can see the TVersity server. I can access all of the files i've shared. But when i click on any file, it just won't work and gives an error message "file cannot be played". It happens to every file (music, video) and i tried it with different formats (mp3, flac, mkv, avi, ...).

I know DLNA is buggy on the 320 so i'm sorry for asking a question that has probably been asked a lot, but can someone give me some advice to get this thing to work?
peejay1704 is offline  
post #3340 of 4216 Old 03-11-2013, 07:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Vishwa Somayaji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Edmonton,Alberta Canada
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I haven't used TVersity but with Serviio, I have had no problems. With plain DLNA(windows) I could only play limited files like AVI and MP4. MKVs were not even visible.
Vishwa Somayaji is offline  
post #3341 of 4216 Old 03-11-2013, 11:21 AM
Administrator
 
Mike Lang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 11,495
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 313
I'm looking to change out my LG player for something that does Amazon videos. Would anyone recommend something else over the 220?

Also, does this player power itself off after being idle or will it stay on until powered off.

Thanks

Mike Lang
Administrator
Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.
Join the AVS Club and help support the site. Help Support AVS Forum Sponsors.
Mike Lang is offline  
post #3342 of 4216 Old 03-11-2013, 11:32 AM
Newbie
 
maskini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Over the weekend I re-played some of the disks I own after cleaning them ~ I was surprised they were dirtier than I would have thought.redface.gif
The BDT-500 played them with no freezing up problems at all.. so the problem was because of dirty disks( rentals and my own) and not because of the BDT-500. biggrin.gif

I guess the BDT-500 is more fussy about disks than my old RP-82 player for some reason.

I'm so glad I bought this player.
maskini is offline  
post #3343 of 4216 Old 03-11-2013, 11:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Lang View Post

I'm looking to change out my LG player for something that does Amazon videos. Would anyone recommend something else over the 220?

The Sony BDPs have 5.1 sound in their Amazon players, though I don't care for the UI (tiny little unreadable poster thumbs).
Quote:
Also, does this player power itself off after being idle or will it stay on until powered off.

Yes, it has an automatic idle shut off feature.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #3344 of 4216 Old 03-11-2013, 12:46 PM
Administrator
 
Mike Lang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 11,495
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

The Sony BDPs have 5.1 sound in their Amazon players, though I don't care for the UI (tiny little unreadable poster thumbs).

Ugh...It didn't even occur to me that this would only do Amazon in stereo. frown.gif

Mike Lang
Administrator
Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.
Join the AVS Club and help support the site. Help Support AVS Forum Sponsors.
Mike Lang is offline  
post #3345 of 4216 Old 03-11-2013, 12:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Lang View Post

Ugh...It didn't even occur to me that this would only do Amazon in stereo. frown.gif

I don't understand why they've never come up with an update to add 5.1 sound support for Amazon. The Amazon player in these is identical to the one from Panasonic's 2011 BDPs (BDT-x10s). Ever time they make a firmware update I check to see whether it's added 5.1 sound and/or Watchlist support to their Amazon player (another missing feature) and so far no luck.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #3346 of 4216 Old 03-11-2013, 01:11 PM
Administrator
 
Mike Lang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 11,495
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 313
They need to hold some things back for new models. smile.gif

I've got FAR too much invested in my 7.1 setup to go stereo. My WDTV does everything but Amazon so I'm not going to replace the Blu-ray player to get Amazon only to have the audio crippled.

Thanks for the info. Back to the drawing board...

Mike Lang
Administrator
Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.
Join the AVS Club and help support the site. Help Support AVS Forum Sponsors.
Mike Lang is offline  
post #3347 of 4216 Old 03-11-2013, 01:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Angler55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mouth of the AuSable River, Michigan
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

I don't understand why they've never come up with an update to add 5.1 sound support for Amazon. The Amazon player in these is identical to the one from Panasonic's 2011 BDPs (BDT-x10s). Ever time they make a firmware update I check to see whether it's added 5.1 sound and/or Watchlist support to their Amazon player (another missing feature) and so far no luck.

Yeah, I have yet to rent a movie from Amazon for that very reason. It just seems so silly that they don't release a firmware update for this that it makes me wonder if Panasonic has a problem with Amazon or vice versa.

Al
Angler55 is offline  
post #3348 of 4216 Old 03-11-2013, 01:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Lang View Post

Back to the drawing board...

As I said the Sony 2012 BDPs have 5.1 sound and Watchlist support in their Amazon players (BDP-S390, -S590 and -S790 with no 3D video in the S390). As I also said I'm not a fan of their UI. The Roku 2 and new Roku 3's Amazon players have 5.1 sound and Watchlist support and their interface is quite nice. Just a couple of suggestions.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #3349 of 4216 Old 03-11-2013, 01:32 PM
Administrator
 
Mike Lang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 11,495
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Thanks for the suggestions...I'll have a look.

Mike Lang
Administrator
Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.
Join the AVS Club and help support the site. Help Support AVS Forum Sponsors.
Mike Lang is offline  
post #3350 of 4216 Old 03-12-2013, 09:07 AM
Newbie
 
golfgoofy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maskini View Post

Well I have some good news.

After seeing aaronwt's post asking if you were cleaning the rental disks the first thing I did when I got home last night was to look at the 3D Hubble disk I have from Netflix (my second disk).
The disk had what appeared to be a film on the bottom side with what looked like small water spots or something. Looked a bit like if you were to wash a dvd disk with soap and water and let it air dry without rinsing completely.

I used a soft tissue and just a little water and cleaned the disk going from the recommended center to outer edge in a straight line. Then I put the disk it the player and to my amazement it played with no problems. I kept waiting for it to freeze up but it played flawlessly. smile.gif

I would have played some other disks but I worked last last night so didn't have much time. Tonight I will clean and play some of the other disks that were freezing up and see what happens.

I hope that works for you. I cleaned each of the disks with no change at all
golfgoofy is offline  
post #3351 of 4216 Old 03-12-2013, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
Ben Vallery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have already returned one BDT500 earlier this year which I received from Amazon. Probably gonna send this one back too. It simply doesn't play discs I have rented from my Blockbuster account (yes the discs are clean.). This old dumpy Sony I had played most of them fine. Sometimes the Panny won't play them at all.... or just freezes on the first page. Seems like it could be a batch of new players. Thinking Pioneer elite.
Ben Vallery is offline  
post #3352 of 4216 Old 03-12-2013, 10:55 AM
Member
 
atcdav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLVERNOLE View Post

The 220 is now down to $79. on Amazon !biggrin.gif
thanks for the heads up. Gotta love the Best Buy price match
atcdav is offline  
post #3353 of 4216 Old 03-12-2013, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

As I said the Sony 2012 BDPs have 5.1 sound and Watchlist support in their Amazon players (BDP-S390, -S590 and -S790 with no 3D video in the S390). As I also said I'm not a fan of their UI. The Roku 2 and new Roku 3's Amazon players have 5.1 sound and Watchlist support and their interface is quite nice. Just a couple of suggestions.

I can confirm that the new 2013 Sony players also support amazon in 5.1 with wishlists ... but its the same old interface as before !
apw2607 is offline  
post #3354 of 4216 Old 03-12-2013, 12:07 PM
Member
 
seafan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I'm looking to buy a blue-ray player, probably the Panasonic BDT-500 or 220. The spec of them show that they both have USB slot, and compatible with AVCHD and FLAC. I have over 100 hours of home video shot in AVCHD format, and stored in external hard drive. I'm also in the process of putting my CD collection on external HD in FLAC format. Will these music and video files on HD plug-n-play on the Panasonic BDT-500 or 220?

thanks!

Jason
seafan is offline  
post #3355 of 4216 Old 03-12-2013, 12:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Angler55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mouth of the AuSable River, Michigan
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by seafan View Post

Hi,

I'm looking to buy a blue-ray player, probably the Panasonic BDT-500 or 220. The spec of them show that they both have USB slot, and compatible with AVCHD and FLAC. I have over 100 hours of home video shot in AVCHD format, and stored in external hard drive. I'm also in the process of putting my CD collection on external HD in FLAC format. Will these music and video files on HD plug-n-play on the Panasonic BDT-500 or 220?

thanks!

Jason

According to my manual for the BDT500 for "Playable media" with "USB devices (up to 2 TB)" it says under "Playable contents" DivX (Canada), MP4, MPEG2, MKV, JPEG, MPO, FLAC, MP3, WAV with no mention of AVCHD. It says it will play AVCHD from an SD card but not from USB.

Now, I don't know the first thing about files but that's what the manual says.

Al
Angler55 is offline  
post #3356 of 4216 Old 03-12-2013, 01:41 PM
Newbie
 
burg32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My problem: the remote won't work for 3d content. It works fine for regular DVD, blu ray and even the 3d movie that is converted to 2d. I can have the same disk playing on 3d, remote doesn't work, turn my projector to 2d, and the remote will then work. I have the 220.

I did load the iPhone remote app and that works for everything but I am baffled as to why I have the remote problem. Any ideas?
burg32 is offline  
post #3357 of 4216 Old 03-12-2013, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Vishwa Somayaji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Edmonton,Alberta Canada
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
That is really strange. It is as if some ir signal is jamming the signal from the remote. Does your projector have an ir emitter. I have used 220 in 3D mode and never had any trouble. May be someone with the exact same model of your projector could try.
Vishwa Somayaji is offline  
post #3358 of 4216 Old 03-12-2013, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,621
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Some 3D displays use IR to sync the glasses. So that could indeed flood the room with IR noise, interfering with the remote. As a test, you could put a piece of masking tape (painter's tape) over the IR window on the player and see if that helps filter the noise. You could also try pushing the player back in your rack so no IR can reach it unless you're aiming straight at it. Imagine a flashlight on your projector aiming at your player. Relocate the player so this light can't reach it.

This isn't typically a problem with TV's because they're sending IR away from your player. A projector is sending IR to your player because it's in front of it.
mdavej is offline  
post #3359 of 4216 Old 03-12-2013, 03:53 PM
Member
 
Mojogypson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does the 500 allow you the set independent audio output for HDMI and Optical?

I have a wireless headphone set that only accepts PCM optical.

I want to run the HDMI Bitstream audio through the receiver and the optical PCM to the wireless headphone amp.

This would eliminate having to go into the menu settings and switching the audio output settings.
Mojogypson is offline  
post #3360 of 4216 Old 03-12-2013, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Angler55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mouth of the AuSable River, Michigan
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mojogypson View Post

Does the 500 allow you the set independent audio output for HDMI and Optical?

I have a wireless headphone set that only accepts PCM optical.

I want to run the HDMI Bitstream audio through the receiver and the optical PCM to the wireless headphone amp.

This would eliminate having to go into the menu settings and switching the audio output settings.

No.
The manual says to set "HDMI Audio Output" to "Off" when using "Digital Audio Output".
There is nothing in the manual that even hints at doing what you propose that I've seen and I have gone thru this manual many times. Does that mean you can't do it? No, but it also doesn't make any sense to me either because you're asking the player to send two different signals at the same time.

Al

edit: If I misunderstood you and you just want to use headphones when not bitstreaming the answer would still be no IMO as it looks like you would have to still go to the menu.
Angler55 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bdt220 Integrated Wi Fi 3d Blu Ray Dvd Player , Panasonic Dmp Bdt320 Integrated Wi Fi 3d Blu Ray Dvd Player , Panasonic Dmp Bdt500 Integrated Wi Fi 3d Blu Ray Dvd Player
Gear in this thread - Bdt220 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off