Official Panasonic DMP-BDT 220/320/500 Owners Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 05:21 AM
Member
 
idreos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am planning to purchase an ST50 series Panasonic Plasma and and a Panasonic DMP-BDT 220 BD player.

Am somewhat confused over the seeming redundancies such as Viera connect feature of both the HDTV and the Blue Ray player.

If the TV has features like Viera connect, a web browser and built in WiFi do I need the BD player with the identical feature set?
Thanks for helping me sort this out!
idreos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 05:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by swak View Post

My point is this is unacceptable product support, any company that only supports their products for only one model year should be avoided.

Heck many AV manufacturers don't support them the moment they ship. Like the Netflix black flashes on the previous generation. If that's your criteria pick another hobby.

| 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
Charles R is offline  
post #453 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 06:35 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,324
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by swak View Post

My point is this is unacceptable product support, any company that only supports their products for only one model year should be avoided. If your PC stopped getting updates after 1 year would that be acceptable?

First of all, Panasonic supports their older players long after most manufacturers. Panasonic ensures that discs will play. If not, they release a firmware update, like they did for the BD30/50/100 not too long ago. Adding a feature from a service is not as easy as everyone is making it out to be. You can't just do a firmware update. Players must be certified by the provider of the service, NF, VUDU, Amazon, etc. Heck, even Oppo doesn't have 3D Vudu.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #454 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 06:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
swak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

Heck many AV manufacturers don't support them the moment they ship. Like the Netflix black flashes on the previous generation. If that's your criteria pick another hobby.

At least I haven't seen the black flashes on my 310 but I have a very fast wired network so maybe that's why. Consumers should unite and force manufacturers to support their products and deliver at least what they have advertised. Any 3D player with a VUDU app should play VUDU 3D!
swak is offline  
post #455 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 06:44 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,324
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Take it to the X10 thread, please.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #456 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 07:07 AM
Member
 
Dean333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its been awhile. How is everyone doing?

Well I just got a BD320 last night to replace my older BD85 and I am not that happy with the Divx issue. There is many features of the 320 I like but the Divx is a major flaw for me, I will say the networking and online features are far better than the BD85.

I really like the 320's touch pad remote.

What do you guys think about the BD320 vs BD85 ?

Thanks.
Dean333 is offline  
post #457 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 07:15 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,324
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean333 View Post

Its been awhile. How is everyone doing?

Well I just got a BD320 last night to replace my older BD85 and I am not that happy with the Divx issue. There is many features of the 320 I like but the Divx is a major flaw for me, I will say the networking and online features are far better than the BD85.

I really like the 320's touch pad remote.

What do you guys think about the BD320 vs BD85 ?

Thanks.

DIVX is only supported in Canadian and European models and hasn't been supported in US models in 2 years (300/350). Otherwise it is a great machine.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #458 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 07:25 AM
Senior Member
 
sbsidlov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: the garden state
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

Heck many AV manufacturers don't support them the moment they ship. Like the Netflix black flashes on the previous generation. If that's your criteria pick another hobby.

Imho. Customers of isp companies should also check to make sure that they are getting the service that they are paying for, and promised. It is not acceptable to claim 15mbps but deliver only 3, 8 or 10 and tell the customer that it's within specification. You have trouble getting or watching Netflix or VUDU during prime time? Log a complaint. All these companies have software that logs and aggregates complaints by area and will send someone to check out the area for issues once a threshold is reached.

And as a aside, I have had Netflix black flashes on a WDTV Live Plus, with the current Mar 2012 firmware. Just once but it was there when my service was off spec.
sbsidlov is offline  
post #459 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 07:29 AM
Member
 
Dean333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

DIVX is only supported in Canadian and European models and hasn't been supported in US models in 2 years (300/350). Otherwise it is a great machine.

S~

Thanks, I knew about the Non-US DIVX support. When I bought the 320 I didn't think that would bother me much but now that I have it, well now it is a different story. Otherwise it is a good machine and I am enjoying the network abilities.

Almost forgot, about time for NTFS support.
Dean333 is offline  
post #460 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Can anyone who has the 220 or 320 model test it to see if it plays DVD-RAM? It doesn't list it as supported on the 220 user manual that I read. Don't know why they would stop supporting the format since Panasonic developed it?

lujan
673 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #461 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 08:41 AM
Senior Member
 
sbsidlov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: the garden state
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by idreos View Post

I am planning to purchase an ST50 series Panasonic Plasma and and a Panasonic DMP-BDT 220 BD player.

Am somewhat confused over the seeming redundancies such as Viera connect feature of both the HDTV and the Blue Ray player.

If the TV has features like Viera connect, a web browser and built in WiFi do I need the BD player with the identical feature set?
Thanks for helping me sort this out!

IMHO It depends on your AV sound system or if you are using only the tv's sound.

It's not clear to me that the st50's improved sound system will ID the TV as supporting the better surround codecs, I see no (actual) mention of 5.1DD or DTS or higher end formats in the manual or on the spec pages (not even a logo) but this could be because Panasonic moved most of the manual to the web based help. *I thought this was odd and checked again, it does do DD out, and we can assume that it would have 5.1 since that is part of the NTSC HDTV tuner. I could find that the highest PCM the TV will output is 48Mhz while I believe that the players will output 96Mhz. The TV's 8 speaker sound is a pseudo surround (which may sound very good, I have not heard it).

No mention of 24p on the Netflix streaming or other apps. 24p on that particular set has been reported to have judder at 48Mhz and must be watched at 60Mhz so even that may not be as important to some and not add an up-check to the new players with a ST50.
sbsidlov is offline  
post #462 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 08:52 AM
Member
 
tenashus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean333 View Post

Its been awhile. How is everyone doing?

Well I just got a BD320 last night to replace my older BD85 and I am not that happy with the Divx issue. There is many features of the 320 I like but the Divx is a major flaw for me, I will say the networking and online features are far better than the BD85.

I really like the 320's touch pad remote.

What do you guys think about the BD320 vs BD85 ?

Thanks.

I don't know about Divx, but I love my 85. With some reluctance I have moved up to the 220. But the 85 has always been a great performer for me. I haven't yet hooked up the 220, but thanks fro your encouragement about the networking/online features. I assume that the improvement holds for the 220 as well as the 320. I will soon see.
tenashus1 is offline  
post #463 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Does the 320 play those Mini DVD discs from camcorders? The manual doesn't say anything about it.
Cortiz is offline  
post #464 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 09:15 AM
Member
 
Dean333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenashus1 View Post

I don't know about Divx, but I love my 85. With some reluctance I have moved up to the 220. But the 85 has always been a great performer for me. I haven't yet hooked up the 220, but thanks fro your encouragement about the networking/online features. I assume that the improvement holds for the 220 as well as the 320. I will soon see.

The thing that I think is adding insult to injury for me is the networking features. I have many files in DIVX and now that I can access all of them via the 320's networking, NAS features and no FAT file system limitations, the lack of DIVX is hurting me more.

But unless you have my problem the player is great. In comparison to the BD85 it looks like the picture is better (have not tested yet). Netflix on the 320 is way better than the BD85. This is a big plus for me, it as a much better app than the 85.

The sound seems off compared to my BD85 but I have not spend much time setting those features yet, been busy with all the new features it has.

Does anyone know how to delete a user profile on the BD320 or do a total reset. I tried to reset as per the manual and it didn't work.
Dean333 is offline  
post #465 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 09:21 AM
Member
 
kpic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean333 View Post

Does anyone know how to delete a user profile on the BD320 or do a total reset. I tried to reset as per the manual and it didn't work.

I just went through this, I couldn't believe there was no way to "delete" a user profile. I found a site that had the instructions for the BD210 using the remote and that set everything back to factory specs (deleting the profile). It mentioned the instructions were on pg. 34 of the BD210 user manual.
kpic is offline  
post #466 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 09:50 AM
Member
 
Dean333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpic View Post

I just went through this, I couldn't believe there was no way to "delete" a user profile. I found a site that had the instructions for the BD210 using the remote and that set everything back to factory specs (deleting the profile). It mentioned the instructions were on pg. 34 of the BD210 user manual.

Thank you but the BD210 reset instructions will not work as there is no (OK) button on the BD320 remote. But I found my mistake.

The 320 manual says:

While the unit is off, press and hold [KEYS], [b] and [Y] on the remote at the same time for more than 5 seconds.

My mistake was holding just keys [b] and [Y] not all three buttons, [KEYS], [b] and [Y].

Thanks though.
Dean333 is offline  
post #467 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Talk2Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Marin,CA./ Burton, OH
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just a note peoples:ABT has a sale going on till Sunday-$165 for the BDT320. I pre-ordered the BDT500.
Talk2Me is offline  
post #468 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Hmm, so is the price delta between the 220 and 320 mostly about that touch remote?

Does the smart phone app replicate those remotes? So the 220 version would have buttons and the 320 version of the app. would show a large touch area which would let you access all the functions?
wco81 is offline  
post #469 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 11:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Talk2Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Marin,CA./ Burton, OH
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Talk2Me is offline  
post #470 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 12:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 548
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talk2Me View Post

Very nice write-up on 320:

http://hometheater.about.com/od/blur...yer-Photos.htm

That's a piece on the DMP-BDT110 (the model name is even in the URL).

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #471 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 12:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 548
Quote:
Originally Posted by wco81 View Post

Hmm, so is the price delta between the 220 and 320 mostly about that touch remote?

Does the smart phone app replicate those remotes? So the 220 version would have buttons and the 320 version of the app. would show a large touch area which would let you access all the functions?

The differences are a slot loading mechanism, a different trapezoid shaped enclosure (smaller on the bottom that at the top) with a glowing blue light across the disc slot, a "Smart Eco" sensor which switches the unit from 1W standby to 3W quick-start standby when someone moves within a certain radius of it (only the 320 has this among all 2012 models) and that remote. I couldn't tell you which part of that accounts for the largest part of the $50 list-price difference.

Who knows what Panasonic's freebie iOS/Android remote will be like? It hasn't shown up. I bought a $2 app by some third party developer which works (apparently developed for last year's models, for which the capability was not advertised); it works, all except for the text keyboard, which was what I was most interested in.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #472 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Talk2Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Marin,CA./ Burton, OH
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

That's a piece on the DMP-BDT110 (the model name is even in the URL).

Sorry, my bad. I googled BDT320 and that review came up. I did not even read the first page. However, any 320 owners, please check for me- does your 320 output 96 or 48 kHz? Mine only does 48 kHz in stereo mode, and I checked all the audio options.
Talk2Me is offline  
post #473 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 12:54 PM
Member
 
tenashus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow! Hooked up the 220 today to my Panny 1080p LED. Superbien. Beautiful blu ray, and clear, crisp Netflix. Very, very nice. I'm mostly a simple NF, blu ray, and Amazon guy and, for me, the 220 and TC-L42E3 are like a marriage made in heaven. And the 220 is so inexpensive too. Impressed and delighted.
tenashus1 is offline  
post #474 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talk2Me View Post

Just a note peoples:ABT has a sale going on till Sunday-$165 for the BDT320. I pre-ordered the BDT500.

How could you pre-oreder the BDT500 when it didn't even come up when I did a search at their site?

lujan
673 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #475 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 01:54 PM
Member
 
Dean333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the BD500 will support DIVX in the U.S. versions.
Dean333 is offline  
post #476 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
sbsidlov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: the garden state
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talk2Me View Post

Very nice write-up on 320:

http://hometheater.about.com/od/blur...yer-Photos.htm

You have to hand it to About.com that's the LEAST information they could put on each page and NO 'View as a single page' button. 15 'paragraphs' each on a single page. LOL
sbsidlov is offline  
post #477 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
sbsidlov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: the garden state
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talk2Me View Post

Sorry, my bad. I googled BDT320 and that review came up. I did not even read the first page. However, any 320 owners, please check for me- does your 320 output 96 or 48 kHz? Mine only does 48 kHz in stereo mode, and I checked all the audio options.

Pg 30 of the 220 manual:

PCM Down Conversion
Select how to output audio with a sampling frequency of
96 kHz for the PCM output from the DIGITAL AUDIO OUT.
≥ If On is selected, the signals that are converted to
48 kHz are output.
≥ If Off is selected, and the connected equipment does not
support 96 kHz, the sound will not be output normally.
≥ Signals are converted to 48 kHz despite the settings in the
following cases:
- when the signals have a sampling frequency of 192 kHz
- when the disc has copy protection
- when BD-Video Secondary Audio is set to On
sbsidlov is offline  
post #478 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 03:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Talk2Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Marin,CA./ Burton, OH
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

How could you pre-oreder the BDT500 when it didn't even come up when I did a search at their site?

You have to call the sale dept. and ask.
Talk2Me is offline  
post #479 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Talk2Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Marin,CA./ Burton, OH
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbsidlov View Post

Pg 30 of the 220 manual:

PCM Down Conversion
Select how to output audio with a sampling frequency of
96 kHz for the PCM output from the DIGITAL AUDIO OUT.
≥ If “On” is selected, the signals that are converted to
48 kHz are output.
≥ If “Off” is selected, and the connected equipment does not
support 96 kHz, the sound will not be output normally.
≥ Signals are converted to 48 kHz despite the settings in the
following cases:
– when the signals have a sampling frequency of 192 kHz
– when the disc has copy protection
– when “BD-Video Secondary Audio” is set to “On”

Thanks, still does not say 96.
Talk2Me is offline  
post #480 of 4234 Old 03-10-2012, 04:53 PM
Member
 
Spoliator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had the 320 for a couple of days, and overall I'm highly impressed.

BUT -- I continue to get audio sync problems with wireless streaming of Netflix. It will generally happen if I try to watch Netflix after watching a few total accumulated hours of other content, either BD or streamed. If I then switch to Netflix, it will have a video lag (audio ahead of video, by about a half second).

It seems I can get it to behave properly only after unplugging the unit, or turning it completely off (meaning Quick Start cannot be enabled). Router settings make no difference. Neither do player settings.

Anyone else having this issue?

If this is rare enough, I'll have to believe it's the particular unit I have, in which case it's going back for an exchange.
Spoliator is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bdt220 Integrated Wi Fi 3d Blu Ray Dvd Player , Panasonic Dmp Bdt320 Integrated Wi Fi 3d Blu Ray Dvd Player , Panasonic Dmp Bdt500 Integrated Wi Fi 3d Blu Ray Dvd Player
Gear in this thread - Bdt220 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off