Official Panasonic DMP-BDT 220/320/500 Owners Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 07:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
swak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Yes, it has been answered and yes, they do.

BUT, does online 3D content work with checkerboard , still unanswered.
swak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 07:23 AM
Newbie
 
gopack306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebat68 View Post

I received the 320 yesterday. The BD quality looks the same to me, but the DVD quality is an improvement in my opinion.

First time poster

I was wondering what you thought of the touchpad remote with the 320. I'm trying to decide between the 220 and the 320 and the remote + eco features seem to be the main differences.
gopack306 is offline  
post #183 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 08:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Talk2Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Marin,CA./ Burton, OH
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

You can also force the 220 into displaying 1080p/24 for VOD material too ... which may improve things.

How?
Talk2Me is offline  
post #184 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 08:24 AM
Senior Member
 
thebat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gopack306 View Post

First time poster

I was wondering what you thought of the touchpad remote with the 320. I'm trying to decide between the 220 and the 320 and the remote + eco features seem to be the main differences.

Honestly, I am not a big fan of the touchpad remote. It is kinda cool and all, but I am using my Logitech 1100 remote mostly. when using the touchpad on the remote you bring up an onscreen remote. There are shortcuts on the touchpad that you do not need the onscreen remote for, pause, play, stop, ff, rw, skip forward and back, etc.
thebat68 is offline  
post #185 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talk2Me View Post

How?

options > video > 24p on/off once the media starts.
apw2607 is online now  
post #186 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 10:21 AM
Newbie
 
gopack306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebat68 View Post

Honestly, I am not a big fan of the touchpad remote. It is kinda cool and all, but I am using my Logitech 1100 remote mostly. when using the touchpad on the remote you bring up an onscreen remote. There are shortcuts on the touchpad that you do not need the onscreen remote for, pause, play, stop, ff, rw, skip forward and back, etc.

Thanks. I know I can always go the universal remote route, but I didn't know if Panny had come up with a neat new remote or if it was just anoying.

It seems like the LG wand, Sony qwerty, and Panny touchpad are all trying to come up with the best way to incorporate text input. I hope Logitech comes out with an elegant solution in their Harmony refresh.
gopack306 is offline  
post #187 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 10:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 481
I think that Logitech should ignore quirky remote input methods. There's no way that they can emulate every possible idea that OEMs can come up with and no sense in wasting money trying. (Another example which comes to mind is the motion sensitive gaming remote for the Roku 2).

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #188 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 11:06 AM
Newbie
 
gopack306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sorry if I didn't state it well, but I was tring to say that the various quirky input methods are all pretty spotty at this point. I don't want Logitech to copy one, just create their own simple and easy text input.

But back to the thread topic, I think I'm sold on the Panny 220/320. Besides the OPPO (out of my price range), the 210 was one of the best Blu Rays last year and it looks like the 220 is a refresh with a few better features (DVD up convert, 24p, ect) for the same price (currently 145 vs 140 on Amazon)

I just have to decide if there is $50 worth of value to step up to the 320.
gopack306 is offline  
post #189 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
dcheesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: VA, USA
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Regarding Netflix 5.1 support: does anyone know if the 220 will output regular DD over SPDIF? My upstairs setup uses an old non-hdmi receiver.

ETA: ...assuming it even has SPDIF out? I can't find a back-panel image or list of I/Os anywhere yet...
dcheesi is offline  
post #190 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 01:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcheesi View Post

Regarding Netflix 5.1 support: does anyone know if the 220 will output regular DD over SPDIF? My upstairs setup uses an old non-hdmi receiver.

ETA: ...assuming it even has SPDIF out? I can't find a back-panel image or list of I/Os anywhere yet...

Yes, it does have optical S/PDIF (and you can see specs for it on a product page at Panasonic's UK site). I can't say for sure if it will output basic DD for Netflix's DD+, but it does follow the settings that affect BD sound (bitstreaming DD+ or converting to LPCM), which would suggest that it's processed the same. Sound processing for BDs will down-mix the advanced formats to basic DD for S/PDIF output.

I'm not interested enough to hook mine up via optical S/PDIF to find out .

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #191 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

I'm upgrading from the BD65 to the 220, and it should be here in a couple days. Will the audio and video setup be the same as the BD65? Any differences I need to be aware of? Thanks.

Anyone ?
Jim McC is online now  
post #192 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 03:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,627
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

Anyone ?

Identical if bit streaming and using 1080P24... and identical to all other players as well.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #193 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 03:32 PM
 
audio/videoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebat68 View Post

I received the 320 yesterday. The BD quality looks the same to me, but the DVD quality is an improvement in my opinion.

Can you compare noise levels of the two machines? Anyone?

Also, I believe I read somewhere in this thread that the netflix black flashes are gone?
audio/videoman is offline  
post #194 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

Bump, anyone checkout the 2D to 3D conversion? Can you also test and see if the Playback Information window is still available on these 2012 models?

I'm starting to think that the 2D - 3D conversion is not anything to write home about in these newer players 'cause I've already asked twice and no one is answering. I also asked if the "Playback Information Window" is still there and didn't get an answer to this either. I have the BDT300 so don't know if they kept it on the later players? I guess I'll see if I can't hunt for the user guides to get my answer?

lujan
658 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #195 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 03:54 PM
Senior Member
 
thebat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio/videoman View Post

Can you compare noise levels of the two machines? Anyone?

Also, I believe I read somewhere in this thread that the netflix black flashes are gone?

I never did have any noise issues with the 210 and none with the new 320 either. The black flashes for Netflix appear to be gone.
thebat68 is offline  
post #196 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
thebat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

I'm starting to think that the 2D - 3D conversion is not anything to write home about in these newer players 'cause I've already asked twice and no one is answering. I also asked if the "Playback Information Window" is still there and didn't get an answer to this either. I have the BDT300 so don't know if they kept it on the later players? I guess I'll see if I can't hunt for the user guides to get my answer?

On the 320, I'm not wowed by the 2D-3D conversion, but the enhancing the 3D material has improved, as they have added a popout enhancing as well. Hugo 3D was amazing on this player. The playback info is still there. It is just difficult to get to with the touchpad.
thebat68 is offline  
post #197 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 04:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

I also asked if the "Playback Information Window" is still there and didn't get an answer to this either.

That display wasn't on the BDT110, but was on the 210 and 310. Since the 220 seems to be the new 110, it may not have it--I don't know how to get to it in any case.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #198 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

That display wasn't on the BDT110, but was on the 210 and 310. Since the 220 seems to be the new 110, it may not have it--I don't know how to get to it in any case.

its very easy. when watching something click on display. then stroll down until you find the playback info. its the second one down I think.

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #199 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 06:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob305 View Post

its very easy. when watching something click on display. then stroll down until you find the playback info. its the second one down I think.

The DISPLAY button is a no-op on my 220. No reaction to pressing it at all. thebat68, how about on your 320?

EDIT: I'd look to see whether the manual had a label for that button in its picture of the remote but of course I can't find it .

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #200 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

Identical if bit streaming and using 1080P24... and identical to all other players as well.

Thanks. I thought maybe the 220 has settings or features the BD65 didn't have.
Jim McC is online now  
post #201 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 07:32 PM
Senior Member
 
thebat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

The DISPLAY button is a no-op on my 220. No reaction to pressing it at all. thebat68, how about on your 320?

EDIT: I'd look to see whether the manual had a label for that button in its picture of the remote but of course I can't find it .

There is a Status selection when you bring up the onscreen remote with the touchpad and there is a hard key for options.
thebat68 is offline  
post #202 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 10:57 PM
 
audio/videoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are the upgrades from the X10 series from what I can gather. Let me know if I'm mistaken...

1. 1080p netflix streaming (from 720)

2. no black flashes with netflix streaming

3. higher quality dvd upconversion
audio/videoman is offline  
post #203 of 4206 Old 03-01-2012, 11:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio/videoman View Post

Here are the upgrades from the X10 series from what I can gather. Let me know if I'm mistaken...

1. 1080p netflix streaming (from 720)

2. no black flashes with netflix streaming

3. higher quality dvd upconversion

4. 24p output for VOD

5. 3D VUDU movies

6. AVCHD 3D and MP4 file playback from some sources

7. Ability to read NTFS formatted USB drives

8. Formalized control by Android and iOS devices (though the apps haven't materialized yet).

9. Touchpad remote for 310, 500 and BBT01.

I may have missed some. It's early to claim that #2 is true, though I haven't seen any and no one else has reported them either.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #204 of 4206 Old 03-02-2012, 12:17 AM
Member
 
birdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, at first sorry for my bad english....
I am a ps3 owner and recently bought a panasonic 110 bluray. I tested and back it because although the movies in bluray picture quality was very good he had the drawback that not admitted by the usb port hard drives formatted in nfts. I have 10 hard drives formatted in nfts with mkv files mainly with which I was not worth my main use.
The 2d to 3d conversion was good but in my opinion it is merely anecdotal. Not got connect by network with the pc, which was the option (uncomfortable) of playing mkv files. Also I called the attention the use of skype but have to buy a very expensive camera made it unworkable. At the end as I have said before that I back.
A few days ago I found the bluray sony bdp-780 at a very good price and bought it to test it for the good comments from the Forum. The image quality with bluray movies see it like that with the panasonic 110. 2D conversion to 3d is considerably better than the panasonic 110. In addition it supports connect hard drives formatted nfts to the usb port. It plays files mkv (with profile 4.1). And for the use of skype there are very cheap compatible cameras. But it has a major drawback in my opinion and probably because of this inconvenience you to return it and that material recorded on a hard drive connected to the usb port does not allow the use of the 24 p, which many mkv files have judder.
Now my questions come to users of the new panasonic 2012 220/320. Does the function 24p files mkv on hard disks connected to the usb port active with new models?.
And connected by network?
Is it still essential to buy the panasonic camera to use skype?
Do with the sony 780 many files mkv format 3d side by side that are perfectly with multimedia players (wd live streaming) suffer from crosstalk. With the panasonic 220/320 look good?
In the new panasonic 2012 have improved the conversion of 2d to 3d?
Thanks.
birdy is offline  
post #205 of 4206 Old 03-02-2012, 02:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mandarax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Ontario, CA
Posts: 2,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the transport on the 320 like?
mandarax is offline  
post #206 of 4206 Old 03-02-2012, 06:32 AM
Senior Member
 
thebat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

4. 24p output for VOD

5. 3D VUDU movies

6. AVCHD 3D and MP4 file playback from some sources

7. Ability to read NTFS formatted USB drives

8. Formalized control by Android and iOS devices (though the apps haven't materialized yet).

9. Touchpad remote for 310, 500 and BBT01.

I may have missed some. It's early to claim that #2 is true, though I haven't seen any and no one else has reported them either.

10. Popout enhancement added to the 3D enhancement.
thebat68 is offline  
post #207 of 4206 Old 03-02-2012, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 289
3. Only one person has anecdotally reported better DVD unconversion. We know nothing about the settings on the players compared, the display or the source material. We need more data.
mdavej is offline  
post #208 of 4206 Old 03-02-2012, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

That display wasn't on the BDT110, but was on the 210 and 310. Since the 220 seems to be the new 110, it may not have it--I don't know how to get to it in any case.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebat68 View Post

On the 320, I'm not wowed by the 2D-3D conversion, but the enhancing the 3D material has improved, as they have added a popout enhancing as well. Hugo 3D was amazing on this player. The playback info is still there. It is just difficult to get to with the touchpad.

Thanks for your answers! I use the Harmony 880 so hopefully it should continue to work with the newer models of players? I'm also waiting on the 500 model for the twin HDMIs because I have an older receiver that doesn't support 3D.

lujan
658 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #209 of 4206 Old 03-02-2012, 07:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

4. 24p output for VOD

5. 3D VUDU movies

6. AVCHD 3D and MP4 file playback from some sources

7. Ability to read NTFS formatted USB drives

8. Formalized control by Android and iOS devices (though the apps haven't materialized yet).

9. Touchpad remote for 310, 500 and BBT01.

I may have missed some. It's early to claim that #2 is true, though I haven't seen any and no one else has reported them either.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebat68 View Post

10. Popout enhancement added to the 3D enhancement.

11. 2D to 3D conversion for VOD

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #210 of 4206 Old 03-02-2012, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

Thanks for your answers! I use the Harmony 880 so hopefully it should continue to work with the newer models of players? I'm also waiting on the 500 model for the twin HDMIs because I have an older receiver that doesn't support 3D.

Correct. Panasonic hasn't changed IR codes in at least 10 years. No reason to expect these new models to be any different.
mdavej is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bdt220 Integrated Wi Fi 3d Blu Ray Dvd Player , Panasonic Dmp Bdt320 Integrated Wi Fi 3d Blu Ray Dvd Player , Panasonic Dmp Bdt500 Integrated Wi Fi 3d Blu Ray Dvd Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off