Official Sony BDP-S590 and BDP-390 Thread - Page 124 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 4022 Old 10-07-2013, 02:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

My understanding is that Sony are trying to resolve some playback issues that were reported on the x90 players with the new app from users. Be patient. Should be resolved soonish.

You may be right, maybe the developers at Sony just screwed it up on accident. But either way, one of the most-basic features is broken and end-users have no way of knowing when it will be fixed, if ever.

But from your responses, you must have an inside source, or you just have more faith in Sony than I do. Myself and others have posted on the "Sony Community" support message board about this issue of the firmware update killing the YouTube for TV app, but the only official response in the thread has been from a moderator suggesting to reset and the player, and/or returning the settings to default.

Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

There's no deep conspiracy to get you to upgrade to a x100 player !

Even if they are hard at work behind the scenes on improving it, I don't see how releasing a firmware update to take the YouTube for TV app down completely was an improvement. I don't like to download unnecessary firmware updates, since there's always a real possibility of bricking your device, but I downloaded this one because I was specifically hoping it would fix the YouTube for TV app to allow me to sign in. So it left a bad taste in my mouth when the first thing I tried after the update was the YouTube for TV app, and instead of being improved, it had been killed.

And what's up with none of the Vevo music videos showing up on the remaining, standard Sony YouTube app? You don't have to be a paranoid conspiracy-theorist to realize that there is definitely something going on behind the scenes there.

Anyway, I just bought a second Panasonic BDT-DMP230 to replace the Sony S590 in the living room since the new YouTube app for the Sony never worked right the whole time I had it...it would never allow me to sign in to my YouTube account. And the Panasonic also allows me to view captions on Amazon instant video, something the Sony players inexplicably lack. These two problems are very unfortunate, since the S590 is otherwise a great player, and works better for DLNA streaming than my Panasonic.

My home theater gallery Epson 5010 Projector, 133" Cinemascope Screen, Klipsch RF-7
Edgar_in_Indy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 4022 Old 10-07-2013, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,816
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 200
One of the fixes in latest firmware update for x100 players is YouTube playback. They must have rolled that update into x90 players without testing. It is understandable that Sony developers works on the current generation players first and then trickle down to last generation players.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #3693 of 4022 Old 10-07-2013, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

One of the fixes in latest firmware update for x100 players is YouTube playback. They must have rolled that update into x90 players without testing. It is understandable that Sony developers works on the current generation players first and then trickle down to last generation players.

Well, I guess I'm not as understanding when somebody comes along and breaks something that I paid for, and that I use on a daily basis.

My home theater gallery Epson 5010 Projector, 133" Cinemascope Screen, Klipsch RF-7
Edgar_in_Indy is online now  
post #3694 of 4022 Old 10-07-2013, 11:32 AM
Member
 
FalseAnimal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the BDP-S590. What's the comparable new model? And does it have improvements? Is it lacking anything?

I need WiFi, 3D, and the ability to play SACDs, among other things.

If it's the BDP-S5100 why is it nearly $200 cheaper?

Thanks.
FalseAnimal is offline  
post #3695 of 4022 Old 10-07-2013, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by FalseAnimal View Post

I have the BDP-S590. What's the comparable new model? And does it have improvements? Is it lacking anything?

I need WiFi, 3D, and the ability to play SACDs, among other things.

If it's the BDP-S5100 why is it nearly $200 cheaper?

Thanks.
It is the 5100 which has many improvements, namely faster Netflix streaming, faster loading, new Youtube HD app, more file compatibility, probably a few other things I'm forgetting. It's cheaper because the 590 was discontinued nearly a year ago, and as such, supply is dwindling, so the price keeps rising (due to reasons P.T. Barnum can explain). Since you have one, then you know that when the 590 was still being produced, it's price was comparable to the current price of the 5100.

EDIT: Corrected. Both 590 and 5100 have a plastic case per following post.
mdavej is offline  
post #3696 of 4022 Old 10-07-2013, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Indeed, the S590 has been replaced by the S5100, but the S5100 now is only about $50 cheaper than the 590 was when it was first released. A difference of $200 would indicate that you're actually comparing it to an S790, which has not yet been replaced.

edited to add: my S590 seems to have a plastic case. When you tap on it with fingernails, it goes click, not ting.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #3697 of 4022 Old 10-07-2013, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post

Indeed, the S590 has been replaced by the S5100, but the S5100 now is only about $50 cheaper than the 590 was when it was first released. A difference of $200 would indicate that you're actually comparing it to an S790, which has not yet been replaced.

edited to add: my S590 seems to have a plastic case. When you tap on it with fingernails, it goes click, not ting.
Sorry about that. I must have been thinking of the 570.

But FalseAnimal is correct about the price. The 590 is going for $280 on Amazon right now. The 5100 is only $90. If I were buying right now, I'd go for a used one or refurb and save another $20.
mdavej is offline  
post #3698 of 4022 Old 10-07-2013, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 327
o_O At that price, I'd get the S790 instead of the S590.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #3699 of 4022 Old 10-07-2013, 12:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by FalseAnimal View Post

I have the BDP-S590. What's the comparable new model? And does it have improvements? Is it lacking anything?

I have the S590 and I have not used the S5100, but from what I have read they are functionally very similar in terms of features and performance. When I was looking at picking up a second player, I looked at the 5100, but the sloped top really turned me off since I like my components to be stackable. I also think it looks kind of odd.

Also, like most of the newest Blu-ray players, the S5100 lacks any analog audio/video outputs, whereas the S590 still has red/white RCA audio output jacks and the yellow video output jack. For some people, that may be an important distinction.

My home theater gallery Epson 5010 Projector, 133" Cinemascope Screen, Klipsch RF-7
Edgar_in_Indy is online now  
post #3700 of 4022 Old 10-07-2013, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

But FalseAnimal is correct about the price. The 590 is going for $280 on Amazon right now. The 5100 is only $90. If I were buying right now, I'd go for a used one or refurb and save another $20.

When an item has been discontinued, the prices on Amazon can be kind of off-the-wall and should usually be ignored. If you look at the used/refurbished S590's on Amazon, you'll see that they're mostly $75 - $100. The going price for a used S590 (or BX59...same thing) on eBay is around $60 - $70.

My home theater gallery Epson 5010 Projector, 133" Cinemascope Screen, Klipsch RF-7
Edgar_in_Indy is online now  
post #3701 of 4022 Old 10-07-2013, 01:02 PM
Member
 
FalseAnimal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post

A difference of $200 would indicate that you're actually comparing it to an S790, which has not yet been replaced.

Actually, it indicates that I bought my S590 quite recently. In fact, recently enough that I might be able to return it and get the S5100 and get my money back.

Just to be sure: there's nothing the 590 has over the 5100? As I said, SACD and 3D and WiFi are among my biggest concerns. The improved streaming sounds great.

Thanks for all the feedback.
FalseAnimal is offline  
post #3702 of 4022 Old 10-07-2013, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by FalseAnimal View Post

Just to be sure: there's nothing the 590 has over the 5100?.

The analog outputs and the flat top.

My home theater gallery Epson 5010 Projector, 133" Cinemascope Screen, Klipsch RF-7
Edgar_in_Indy is online now  
post #3703 of 4022 Old 10-07-2013, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Kisakuku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by FalseAnimal View Post

Just to be sure: there's nothing the 590 has over the 5100?

SACD-R support in early firmware, but not in the latest one.
Kisakuku is online now  
post #3704 of 4022 Old 10-07-2013, 02:35 PM
Newbie
 
Kredoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kredoc View Post

After the recent update my S590 will not shut down cleanly after using any streaming service. it seems to turn off normally, but when I attempt to turn it back on I end up stuck with a blinking OFF display on the LCD. Anyone else seeing behavior like this?

Possible workaround to this issue: Turn off the fast-startup option in settings. Seems to have fixed it for me (with the downside being the device is slower to start of course).
Kredoc is offline  
post #3705 of 4022 Old 10-09-2013, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
it would seem currently, my Roku is the most stable streamer, both the 590 and 3100 are having little glitches. the 590 has the known youtube issue on the 3100 it seems like netflix keeps forgetting it's signed in, and dumps me back to the main screen where i have to login again.
MacinMan is offline  
post #3706 of 4022 Old 10-09-2013, 01:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post

it would seem currently, my Roku is the most stable streamer.

If only Roku supported YouTube, I would use that for all my streaming needs and forget about finding the perfect Blu-ray player since they all seem to have their glitches and omissions when it comes to streaming.

My home theater gallery Epson 5010 Projector, 133" Cinemascope Screen, Klipsch RF-7
Edgar_in_Indy is online now  
post #3707 of 4022 Old 10-09-2013, 01:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post

it would seem currently, my Roku is the most stable streamer, both the 590 and 3100 are having little glitches. the 590 has the known youtube issue on the 3100 it seems like netflix keeps forgetting it's signed in, and dumps me back to the main screen where i have to login again.

The BDP-Sx90s also won't access the 5800 Kbps Super HD video encode. It stops and sticks on the 4300 Kbps one (also called "Super HD").

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #3708 of 4022 Old 10-12-2013, 10:44 PM
Newbie
 
jeffshead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my BDP-S590 behind a UTM gateway device on my network. This device disallows all traffic that is not specifically specified (allowed).

I have specified port 80 as open for the player in the UTM and I am able to access the Internet from my Sony but updates are failing.

Can someone tell me if the update process requires port forwarding or if additional ports need to be opened in the UTM?

UPDATE:

After more testing, I cannot access any of the online video portals such as Crackle. However, I can access the Internet via the Sony's browser. When I access the player's network settings, it shows no internet access.
jeffshead is offline  
post #3709 of 4022 Old 10-13-2013, 05:23 AM
Newbie
 
keenly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How can i make my 390 play all regions?
keenly is offline  
post #3710 of 4022 Old 10-13-2013, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by keenly View Post

How can i make my 390 play all regions?

Search on ebay, there are a few vendors selling a region free hardware mod for the player
apw2607 is offline  
post #3711 of 4022 Old 10-13-2013, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,816
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffshead View Post

I have my BDP-S590 behind a UTM gateway device on my network. This device disallows all traffic that is not specifically specified (allowed).

I have specified port 80 as open for the player in the UTM and I am able to access the Internet from my Sony but updates are failing.

Can someone tell me if the update process requires port forwarding or if additional ports need to be opened in the UTM?

UPDATE:

After more testing, I cannot access any of the online video portals such as Crackle. However, I can access the Internet via the Sony's browser. When I access the player's network settings, it shows no internet access.

Port 80 means only regular HTTP traffic can go through. Anything that requires login probably won't go through. So are the any other traffic. What are you possible to gain by doing this kind of filtering? Internet does not mean port 80 only.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #3712 of 4022 Old 10-13-2013, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 290
While I agree that firewalling a blu-ray player makes absolutely no sense (what possible damage could hackers do to a blu-ray player anyway), the OP can easily update via disc.
mdavej is offline  
post #3713 of 4022 Old 10-13-2013, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,816
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 200
I don't think he only has problem with updating the firmware. None of his streaming apps work.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #3714 of 4022 Old 10-13-2013, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

I don't think he only has problem with updating the firmware. None of his streaming apps work.
Maybe I'm reading too much into his original post. But I gather that he's had his player firewalled forever, hence doesn't care about streaming. He just noted that upon further investigation after a failed update attempt, that streaming didn't work either. So I still think his main goal is updating, not streaming, so no solution to his streaming problem is required.

Jeffshead, is that about right, or am I way off base?
mdavej is offline  
post #3715 of 4022 Old 10-14-2013, 06:55 AM
Newbie
 
keenly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

Search on ebay, there are a few vendors selling a region free hardware mod for the player

I can't find any.
keenly is offline  
post #3716 of 4022 Old 10-14-2013, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kredoc View Post

After the recent update my S590 will not shut down cleanly after using any streaming service. it seems to turn off normally, but when I attempt to turn it back on I end up stuck with a blinking OFF display on the LCD. Anyone else seeing behavior like this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pioneer_Elte View Post

However when I turned it off, OFF would flash on the screen until I held down the power button for a few seconds. Same would happen if I played the same videos on my Android phone and sync the phone's YouTube app with the TV/BX-59....player would lock up and behave oddly.

Hi Kredoc and Pioneer_Eite, did the update yesterday and now have the OFF blinking problem. Any word on another update to fix this issue?
JChin is offline  
post #3717 of 4022 Old 10-14-2013, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Pioneer_Elte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post


Hi Kredoc and Pioneer_Eite, did the update yesterday and now have the OFF blinking problem. Any word on another update to fix this issue?

I'm pretty sure mine is not related to the update. My issue occurs when I tried to watch videos off the New You Tube app and the player comes back and says the video is not currently available.
Happens even when trying to sync the phone (which is playing said "not available" video) to player.

Since it was directly related to the New You Tube app and seeing as that app has been disabled...I guess in a roundabout way, yes you can call my problem fixed.

Pioneer_Elte is offline  
post #3718 of 4022 Old 10-15-2013, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I find it so frustrating that these players support most all of the desired audio and video codecs via DLNA but Sony refuses to do some minor usability tweaks to make them truly great DLNA media players. I can't imagine if they actually tried to use/test their players with DLNA they would think that it would be useful to have a long list of video titles all with the same generic video icon. Just show the thumbnail that is already supplied by the server! A resume point for just the last played video that is cleared when the unit is powered off is just about as useless. It doesn't seem like anything has changed for the new players which is a shame...
crbaldwin is offline  
post #3719 of 4022 Old 10-15-2013, 07:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbaldwin View Post

I find it so frustrating that these players support most all of the desired audio and video codecs via DLNA but Sony refuses to do some minor usability tweaks to make them truly great DLNA media players. I can't imagine if they actually tried to use/test their players with DLNA they would think that it would be useful to have a long list of video titles all with the same generic video icon. Just show the thumbnail that is already supplied by the server! A resume point for just the last played video that is cleared when the unit is powered off is just about as useless. It doesn't seem like anything has changed for the new players which is a shame...

They did ... However they just did it on the x100 series rather than the x90 series.

For example the x100 series supports avc, VC-1 and mpeg2 all in MKV containers

If you want visual updates. ... Forget these players ... Buy a dune.
apw2607 is offline  
post #3720 of 4022 Old 10-15-2013, 08:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by keenly View Post

I can't find any.

Yes you are right. They were selling them, but they all appear to have being removed ! I'll see if i can find a link
apw2607 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Bdp S590 3d Blu Ray Player , Sony Bdp S390 Blu Ray Player , Blu Ray Players
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off