Official Sony BDP-S590 and BDP-390 Thread - Page 139 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4141 of 4157 Old 04-30-2015, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Pioneer_Elte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by surreyjack604 View Post
I have a bdp-bx59 bluray player. I bought a seagate 1.5tb external hard drive but it says the usb device is not recognized when I connect it to the bluray player. I have tried many things like reformatting it to fat32 and nothing works. Does anyone know of a external hard drive that will work with my blu ray player for watching movies?

thanks for your help.

Try formatting using NTFS and default sizes. I have a 120GB Seagate that I've used on this player with no problems.

Pioneer_Elte is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4142 of 4157 Old 04-30-2015, 11:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,638
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1339 Post(s)
Liked: 667
A big drive is probably going to need external power as well. The USB ports on these players don't have a whole lot of juice.
mdavej is offline  
post #4143 of 4157 Old 04-30-2015, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8,210
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1458 Post(s)
Liked: 1416
Is it possible that it's the DRM code associated with this stuff? For instance, I know that if you want to hook an external drive to a Verizon DVR, it will only work if it's formatted by the DVR itself (which then performs it's own low-level encryption on it). The symmetric keys involved in the encryption is kept by the DVR and out of your hands entirely, rendering the data on the drive completely useless when disconnected.

In this way, the data of the movie itself is kept safe and you wouldn't be able to duplicate it. It was a cloak-and-dagger requirement of the MPAA I think. Perhaps something like that is going on here?

What do you call a Harley that doesn't leak oil?
Out of oil.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #4144 of 4157 Old 04-30-2015, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Pioneer_Elte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post
Is it possible that it's the DRM code associated with this stuff? For instance, I know that if you want to hook an external drive to a Verizon DVR, it will only work if it's formatted by the DVR itself (which then performs it's own low-level encryption on it). The symmetric keys involved in the encryption is kept by the DVR and out of your hands entirely, rendering the data on the drive completely useless when disconnected.

In this way, the data of the movie itself is kept safe and you wouldn't be able to duplicate it. It was a cloak-and-dagger requirement of the MPAA I think. Perhaps something like that is going on here?
No, the DVR thing ties that HD to your DVR, if you have to have your DVR replaced, you won't be able to see the file list or watch the shows on the new box. This is the DRM scheme to prevent someone from recording shows, say on HBO, and bringing it to a friends house to play.

Whether the Blu-Ray player will play the file is one thing. However, you should still be able to see files with the supported extension.
As mdavej said, make sure it's externally powered.

Pioneer_Elte is offline  
post #4145 of 4157 Old 05-01-2015, 06:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8,210
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1458 Post(s)
Liked: 1416
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pioneer_Elte View Post
No, the DVR thing ties that HD to your DVR, if you have to have your DVR replaced, you won't be able to see the file list or watch the shows on the new box.
I'm sorry, but you started with "No,".......are you disagreeing? You're rephrasing what I said.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pioneer_Elte View Post
This is the DRM scheme to prevent someone from recording shows, say on HBO, and bringing it to a friends house to play.
They're not worried about you unplugging a hard-drive and shlepping it to a friends house at all. They're worried about you lifting the data and putting it up on thepiratebay or some other send-around vehicle, or otherwise burning a disc with it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pioneer_Elte View Post
Whether the Blu-Ray player will play the file is one thing. However, you should still be able to see files with the supported extension.
Well this is my question: It won't work if it's employing the same protection as the DVR purportedly does: you won't see anything in the filesystem at all. No filename, no directory structure, even the sectors themselves are opaque. The encryption occurs at the driver level where the most bottom level access to the drive happens.

What do you call a Harley that doesn't leak oil?
Out of oil.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #4146 of 4157 Old 05-01-2015, 07:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,638
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1339 Post(s)
Liked: 667
Maybe I'm reading too much into it, but it sounded to me like the OP simply bought a new drive for the purpose of hosting unprotected files he already had, not some external drive from a DVR full of protected content. I suspect formatting or power is the most likely culprit in this case.

A workaround would be to simply plug the drive in elsewhere and use a DLNA server. There is no easy workaround for DRM.
mdavej is offline  
post #4147 of 4157 Old 05-01-2015, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8,210
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1458 Post(s)
Liked: 1416
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Maybe I'm reading too much into it, but it sounded to me like the OP simply bought a new drive for the purpose of hosting unprotected files he already had, not some external drive from a DVR full of protected content.
I understand that. But a cable company DVR won't even allow you to do that. The moment you plug any drive into one of those, you are given only one option: reformat immediately (BY the DVR in encrypted format so that the only holder of the key is the DVR) or don't use it at all.

And I understand that he's talking about a BDP; my concern was whether or not the BDP was following the same cloak and dagger nonsense that the DVRs do.

What do you call a Harley that doesn't leak oil?
Out of oil.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #4148 of 4157 Old 05-01-2015, 08:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,638
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1339 Post(s)
Liked: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post
I understand that. But a cable company DVR won't even allow you to do that. The moment you plug any drive into one of those, you are given only one option: reformat immediately (BY the DVR in encrypted format so that the only holder of the key is the DVR) or don't use it at all.

And I understand that he's talking about a BDP; my concern was whether or not the BDP was following the same cloak and dagger nonsense that the DVRs do.
Ahh, I understand now. No, the BDP doesn't care what you plug into it, and there is no encryption. The BD Live drive is a different story.
mdavej is offline  
post #4149 of 4157 Old 05-06-2015, 11:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 4,181
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Now, after April 20 cutoff, can someone owning the S590 verify that YouTube app works (the other one) and whether it shows ads. Thanks.
Ungermann is offline  
post #4150 of 4157 Old 05-11-2015, 07:41 PM
Senior Member
 
See The Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I put in the 2010 45th Anniversary BD disc of The Sound Of Music in my S590, to play the movie, and I got this message:

"This feature requires Local Storage. Your Blu-Ray player supports local storage but none is currently installed. 3 MB minimum required."

I pressed "Continue" to watch the movie.

So, today, I bought a 16 GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive, a Micro Metal version ($9), and plugged it into the back of the S590.

When I reloaded The Sound Of Music, then the above message did not show anymore, nor will it show again in the future.

Cable Channel Choice is the only choice I want to make !!
See The Light is online now  
post #4151 of 4157 Old 05-16-2015, 11:32 PM
Member
 
DWPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AZ
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Recommended USB External HD for Music on BDP-S590?

I've ripped all my CDs to a network drive (wifi) in .wav format. My S590 won't play the .wav files from the wi-fi network cleanly. Sometimes its fine, but I'm getting random blasts of noise at the end of audio tracks that aren't heard when played via a USB drive, and wi-fi playback often pauses as if for buffering. It may be because the wi-fi router from the cable company is cheap/weak or because my iOmega network drive is a few years old and not up to the streaming duty. My plan now is to just get a dedicated music-only USB hard drive to sit next to the S590. I would appreciate recommendations. Full-time music; no video or computer duty (except when ripping). 2TB is adequate. Do I need a DNLA drive if it's USB? Does the S590 have only USB 2.0? Should I use the ethernet connection instead?

I'd also like to know if there's a way to avoid the extra file structure layers that the S590 adds to the Win 7 directory structure. The network drive file structure shows three directory levels on Win 7, but when I open files through the S590, there are redundant directory levels I click through.

Last edited by DWPC; 05-17-2015 at 10:47 AM.
DWPC is offline  
post #4152 of 4157 Old 07-19-2015, 08:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can't stream to BDP S390

I used to have it set up so it could see my computer as a media server. I would stream music to my bedroom.

I upgraded the hard drive and set it up recently as a media server again and cannot get the BDP S390 player to see it (after 4 hours of messing with it). My TV, Playstations (4 in household), Roku, phones, everything can see my computer as a media server and stream from it except my BDP S390 (which used to stream from it before I upgraded my hard drive, fresh install Win7-x64 btw). any advice on troubleshooting this?

Thanks
Tim Petty is offline  
post #4153 of 4157 Old 07-19-2015, 08:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
by the way I have my PC running both Plex and Media Monkey.
Tim Petty is offline  
post #4154 of 4157 Old 07-25-2015, 08:12 AM
Senior Member
 
david0406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by sacflies View Post
Do the Sony blu-rays have an MLB.tv app? Deciding between the Panasonic 220 and the Sony 390 or 590. Although I don't think I will do the 3D thing any time soon, I prefer the 590 for the USB in the front and the back. But I absolutely have to have the MLB.tv app!
My 590 does NOT have the MLB.tv app.
david0406 is offline  
post #4155 of 4157 Old 07-26-2015, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
ColinTaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by david0406 View Post
My 590 does NOT have the MLB.tv app.
You do realise that question was asked 3 years ago? I doubt either of the players are sold anymore.

Last edited by ColinTaylor; 07-26-2015 at 08:55 AM.
ColinTaylor is offline  
post #4156 of 4157 Old 07-26-2015, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
david0406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColinTaylor View Post
You do realise that question was asked 3 years ago? I doubt either of the players are sold anymore.
LOL! I never looked at any dates. So the short answer to your question is no I did not realize it was asked three years ago.

Last edited by david0406; 07-26-2015 at 10:05 AM.
david0406 is offline  
post #4157 of 4157 Old Today, 02:32 PM
Newbie
 
bhenry15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Having Trouble Streaming Music

I have been using my Blu ray player to steam music from my PC for some time now. I have the player connected directly to the network, I don't use the wireless. The player has worked fine, streaming music all day. In the past couple of weeks it has started losing the connection and the music stops. If I hit the play button on the remote the song resumes but if I don't notice the music has stopped it eventually shuts the player down. The stoppage is very intermittent, sometimes it works for hours without stopping.

I'm not sure what is happening since the streaming has been working fine for many months. I stream from an external drive connected to a Window's Vista PC to a Sony BDP-S390 Blu ray player.

Thanks!
bhenry15 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony Bdp S390 Blu Ray Player , Sony Bdp S590 3d Blu Ray Player
Gear in this thread - S590 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off