Official Sony BDP-S590 and BDP-390 Thread - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 4017 Old 03-16-2012, 03:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by sacflies View Post

But the cinavia issue is troubling.

Do you know of alternative products which don't currently feature cinavia detection which are absolutely immune to having it added in an update? The AACS license was amended to make cinavia detection mandatory for licensed devices (which include all BD players) as of February 12th. It's unclear whether this may require that firmware updates be issued for all BD players, but even if it doesn't, all of this year's products shipped past that date. Sony's inclusion of it in their first firmware update for these players may be a slight license violation since they probably should have left the factory with it in place.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 4017 Old 03-16-2012, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I just set up my 390 for Netflix. The netflix selection screen is stretched off the screen on the left and looks enlarged compared to my Sony BDP-570. Do I have a setting messed up or is this the normal appearance on the 390?
HDMI Guy is offline  
post #123 of 4017 Old 03-16-2012, 07:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMI Guy View Post

I just set up my 390 for Netflix. The netflix selection screen is stretched off the screen on the left and looks enlarged compared to my Sony BDP-570. Do I have a setting messed up or is this the normal appearance on the 390?

Hmm, I didn't notice any issues on the S390. Are you sure you don't have some odd screen setting set on your display/TV ?

THis is what Neflix looks like on my S590 ... but it looks identical to the S390 (when I had it).
LL
apw2607 is offline  
post #124 of 4017 Old 03-16-2012, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks for the quick reply. That is exactly like mine looks. The appearance on my old BDP-570 is much better in my opinion. Just looks cleaner.
HDMI Guy is offline  
post #125 of 4017 Old 03-16-2012, 08:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMI Guy View Post

Thanks for the quick reply. That is exactly like mine looks. The appearance on my old BDP-570 is much better in my opinion. Just looks cleaner.

Ah ... Well I think you're in the minority. The general consensus of the sony branded netflix ui featured on the x70 and x80 wasnt very good and the artwork was too small.

Either way now you will be able to enjoy 1080p/dd+
apw2607 is offline  
post #126 of 4017 Old 03-16-2012, 08:51 PM
Member
 
cjpopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As stated previously, BestBuy does not have these at this time in stores but can do "ship to store" (I'm in Rochester, MN - there's none in stores in this area or the Twin Cities, home to Best Buy)

Wondering if there's inventory on trucks or about to be loaded on trucks that could arrive at the store faster... if that makes any sense?

Either way I've decided to go with the S590 for the fact there's 2 USB ports - one for a storage stick and one for me in the front to throw music through or a keyboard.

Almost went with the 580 and took my chances with the interface but thankfully I found this newer model that everyone says has a better menu system. Now to just get it as soon as I can (My LG BD390 is about dead) before my 4 year old screams "I WANT MY LION KING"
cjpopp is offline  
post #127 of 4017 Old 03-16-2012, 08:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

Ah ... Well I think you're in the minority. The general consensus of the sony branded netflix ui featured on the x70 and x80 wasnt very good and the artwork was too small.

That version of the UI is Netflix's design and everyone better get used to it. It's on the PS3, the 2012 Panasonic BD players and a ton of other devices. I actually like the UI that was previously on the PS3 better (also Netflix's design), which is still on the 2011 Panasonic BD players.

That version is a bit different than both the PS3 and Panasonic Viera Connect versions. How do you get to the search menu?

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #128 of 4017 Old 03-16-2012, 09:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

That version of the UI is Netflix's design and everyone better get used to it. It's on the PS3, the 2012 Panasonic BD players and a ton of other devices. I actually like the UI that was previously on the PS3 better (also Netflix's design), which is still on the 2011 Panasonic BD players.

That version is a bit different than both the PS3 and Panasonic Viera Connect versions. How do you get to the search menu?

Either hit the option button on the remote or scroll to the very top of the screen to get to the search field.

Sadly text input does not work (yet) on a iPhone using the app. It works for amazon and Hulu though ... And did work for the old Sony style Netflix ui.
apw2607 is offline  
post #129 of 4017 Old 03-16-2012, 10:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 2,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

That version of the UI is Netflix's design and everyone better get used to it. It's on the PS3, the 2012 Panasonic BD players and a ton of other devices. I actually like the UI that was previously on the PS3 better (also Netflix's design), which is still on the 2011 Panasonic BD players.

That version is a bit different than both the PS3 and Panasonic Viera Connect versions. How do you get to the search menu?

I think apw was referring to the Netflix app on the earlier Sony BRs...He can correct me if I'm mistaken. Here's what the NF app (I'm assuming) he's was speaking of looked like.

Go to 3 mins into this youtube vid. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vpcw7WmdugM

Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is online now  
post #130 of 4017 Old 03-16-2012, 10:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Duplicate.
apw2607 is offline  
post #131 of 4017 Old 03-16-2012, 10:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westly-C View Post

I think apw was referring to the Netflix app on the earlier Sony BRs...He can correct me if I'm mistaken. Here's what the NF app (I'm assuming) he's was speaking of looked like.

Go to 3 mins into this youtube vid. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vpcw7WmdugM

Yup that's correct.
apw2607 is offline  
post #132 of 4017 Old 03-17-2012, 01:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westly-C View Post

I think apw was referring to the Netflix app on the earlier Sony BRs...He can correct me if I'm mistaken.

I probably should have quoted HDMI Guy's post instead to make it clear that I was responding to his complaint that the old Sony Netflix UI was better.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #133 of 4017 Old 03-17-2012, 12:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Someone should post a review and rating for the S390 on Amazon. It only got one review by a guy who 1-starred it because he apparently got a lemon which stopped playing discs when he paused halfway through the first disc he played on it.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #134 of 4017 Old 03-17-2012, 07:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Someone should post a review and rating for the S390 on Amazon. It only got one review by a guy who 1-starred it because he apparently got a lemon which stopped playing discs when he paused halfway through the first disc he played on it.

Did you cancel you're s590 order, or did you at least get shipping confirmation ?
apw2607 is offline  
post #135 of 4017 Old 03-17-2012, 08:31 PM
Member
 
avspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Do you know of alternative products which don't currently feature cinavia detection which are absolutely immune to having it added in an update? The AACS license was amended to make cinavia detection mandatory for licensed devices (which include all BD players) as of February 12th. It's unclear whether this may require that firmware updates be issued for all BD players, but even if it doesn't, all of this year's products shipped past that date. Sony's inclusion of it in their first firmware update for these players may be a slight license violation since they probably should have left the factory with it in place.

So is this just speculation or is cinavia really in the new Sony BD Players? I hope somebody can confirm this by playing back a test file to see if it really is in the firmware.
avspace is offline  
post #136 of 4017 Old 03-17-2012, 08:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by avspace View Post


So is this just speculation or is cinavia really in the new Sony BD Players? I hope somebody can confirm this by playing back a test file to see if it really is in the firmware.

If you can point me to a test file I will try it for you.
apw2607 is offline  
post #137 of 4017 Old 03-17-2012, 09:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by avspace View Post

So is this just speculation or is cinavia really in the new Sony BD Players? I hope somebody can confirm this by playing back a test file to see if it really is in the firmware.

It's not speculation that Sony has stated that the firmware update contains Cinavia (see this). From what someone said above, if you don't apply the upgrade you can't use the online services apps.

It's also not speculation that Cinavia detection is required by the AACS Adopters Agreement (see this and this), which is riddled with references to Cinavia.
tivimac likes this.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #138 of 4017 Old 03-17-2012, 10:18 PM
Member
 
avspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, thanks for the info, the studios must have really banded together on the piracy issue.

Times are a changin!
avspace is offline  
post #139 of 4017 Old 03-17-2012, 11:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

Did you cancel you're s590 order, or did you at least get shipping confirmation ?

I called and asked for cancellation yesterday. Their site says that the order is still in "Processing" state, but the hold has been removed from my bank account. I'm going to chance it and order it elsewhere.

EDIT: After some internal debate I decided to eschew the external LED display, superfluous 3D capabilities and 2nd USB connection and buy the S390 instead. I ordered it from Amazon Marketplace seller "Video & Audio Center", who ship from some CA location (they have 3 B&Ms in LA suburbs). They offered free ground shipping and claim that 99% of orders ship same day or next business day so I may have it on Tuesday .

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #140 of 4017 Old 03-18-2012, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 173
B&H now have the S590 and S390 in stock.
apw2607 is offline  
post #141 of 4017 Old 03-18-2012, 11:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Video & Audio Center shipped my S390 today. I can't get any tracking info from UPS yet; the shipping notification from Amazon estimated that it would arrive on Tuesday the 27th . They said that their free shipping is standard 3-5 business day ground and if that's true it should get to me the day after UPS picks it up from them. If they've shipped via some Super-Saver-7-10-day service I'm posting some negative feedback about them on Amazon.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #142 of 4017 Old 03-18-2012, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pronghorn/az's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
So basicly the only difference between the the 390 and 590 is the 590 is a 3D player and the 390 a "regular" Blu Ray player?? On the fence between the Sony models listed above and the Panny 320.

Jeff
pronghorn/az is offline  
post #143 of 4017 Old 03-18-2012, 04:32 PM
Member
 
DaveB99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Clinton, CT
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pronghorn/az View Post

So basicly the only difference between the the 390 and 590 is the 590 is a 3D player and the 390 a "regular" Blu Ray player?? On the fence between the Sony models listed above and the Panny 320.

Jeff

I am on fence too between panny and sony. I just do blurays. And it seems most people feel the panny has a better bluray picture. But this sony model is a little newer and guys say they cant see a difference between the two...S390 vs BDT110....maybe I'll flip a coin...
DaveB99 is offline  
post #144 of 4017 Old 03-18-2012, 04:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by pronghorn/az View Post

So basicly the only difference between the the 390 and 590 is the 590 is a 3D player and the 390 a "regular" Blu Ray player?? On the fence between the Sony models listed above and the Panny 320.

The 390 is smaller, 12 5/8" wide versus the 590's standard 17" width. The 390 has one USB connection versus the 590's two and the 390 does not have an external LCD display. On the other hand, the 590's list price is only $20 more and the additional features seems pretty inexpensive at that price. Of course, if you do not and never will need those additional features it's $20 wasted.

The 2012 Panasonic BD player line has a couple of inexpensive non-3D units but they do not have all the same features as the 3D ones. For instance, they don't have the Viera Connect suite, just a closed set of players for four streaming services.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #145 of 4017 Old 03-18-2012, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pronghorn/az's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I was looking at the Sony's because of a fleeting interest in SACD (I have one disc, the hybrid Dark Side of the Moon). I have had 3 Pannys that I was and am happy with. We are looking at networking players instead of having to drive to the video store or Red Box. The Panny 320 is what I'm looking at in that respect. The 390/590 is for the same reason except the SACD (over HDMI I'm supposing). Even though the Panny has 196/32 bit processors, I could never take advantage of that unless I major upgrade my Integra 40.2 to a 70.3 or 80.3.

Jeff
pronghorn/az is offline  
post #146 of 4017 Old 03-18-2012, 06:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by pronghorn/az View Post

I was looking at the Sony's because of a fleeting interest in SACD (I have one disc, the hybrid Dark Side of the Moon). I have had 3 Pannys that I was and am happy with. We are looking at networking players instead of having to drive to the video store or Red Box. The Panny 320 is what I'm looking at in that respect. The 390/590 is for the same reason except the SACD (over HDMI I'm supposing). Even though the Panny has 196/32 bit processors, I could never take advantage of that unless I major upgrade my Integra 40.2 to a 70.3 or 80.3.

Jeff

Yea. I got out a few of my SACD to see what they sounded like. Really enjoyed the surround mixes. The players will pass the audio over HDMI including DSD.
apw2607 is offline  
post #147 of 4017 Old 03-18-2012, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pronghorn/az's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveB99 View Post

I am on fence too between panny and sony. I just do blurays. And it seems most people feel the panny has a better bluray picture. But this sony model is a little newer and guys say they cant see a difference between the two...S390 vs BDT110....maybe I'll flip a coin...

I like the size of the 590, don't know if I can get use to the 390s smaller size (WAF believe it or not!). Sigh, so many choices..I already listen to any music (CD's, Pandora, etc.) in all channel stereo, so will SACD make any difference??

Jeff
pronghorn/az is offline  
post #148 of 4017 Old 03-18-2012, 06:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Seinfeld has finally shown up on the crackle app even though it's being available on the crackle website for ages. Looks great on the S590.
apw2607 is offline  
post #149 of 4017 Old 03-18-2012, 08:54 PM
Member
 
PawPawDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pronghorn/az View Post

I like the size of the 590, don't know if I can get use to the 390s smaller size (WAF believe it or not!). Sigh, so many choices..I already listen to any music (CD's, Pandora, etc.) in all channel stereo, so will SACD make any difference??

Jeff

With good stereo system, a good SACD is far better than CD.
PawPawDog is offline  
post #150 of 4017 Old 03-18-2012, 09:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pronghorn/az's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by PawPawDog View Post

With good stereo system, a good SACD is far better than CD.

Paradigm Monitor 9's for now, hopefully Studio 60's in the near future, and a new Rythmik sub, F15, F15HP, or FV15.

Jeff
pronghorn/az is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Bdp S590 3d Blu Ray Player , Sony Bdp S390 Blu Ray Player , Blu Ray Players
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off