Official Sony BDP-S590 and BDP-390 Thread - Page 70 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2071 of 4059 Old 10-31-2012, 11:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vampidemic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by johanverschuren View Post

Playback problem on the BDP-S390 with the Van Helsing Blu-ray disc.

The Van Helsing Blu-ray disc gives a system hang-up during playback. During the playback of the Blu-ray disc the screen suddenly freezes and there is a complete hang-up of the BDP-S390 Blu-ray player. The player does not respond to the remote control any more and the only way to solve the problem is to disconnect the power from the AC outlet. I have the latest firmware version M11.R.0422 for the BDP-S390 sold in Europe. I have reported this problem to the Sony Support Team in Europe and I hope that Sony Japan can resolve this playback problem with a new firmware update.

Have you tried disabling Deep Color to see if that has an impact?
Vampidemic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2072 of 4059 Old 10-31-2012, 11:35 AM
Member
 
johanverschuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Deep Color is now set on auto. So if the source has 16 bit code it will be engaged. I can disable Deep Color to see if it has any impact. Sony Japan has to look into this matter because under no circumstances the player should lock-up regardless the settings of the Blu-ray player.
johanverschuren is offline  
post #2073 of 4059 Old 11-01-2012, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by johanverschuren View Post

Deep Color is now set on auto. So if the source has 16 bit code it will be engaged. I can disable Deep Color to see if it has any impact. Sony Japan has to look into this matter because under no circumstances the player should lock-up regardless the settings of the Blu-ray player.

There is NO reason to leave Deep Colour ON/AUTO. Nothing in the Audio/Video rhelm of today uses it. Leave in OFF.
p5browne is offline  
post #2074 of 4059 Old 11-01-2012, 04:17 PM
ADU
AVS Special Member
 
ADU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 167

Turn off any features you don't need on the player, including "Auto Display", in the System Settings.

 

If the player locks up again, try holding down the power button on the player (not remote) until it goes off, instead of simply pulling the plug (which is probably not a good idea).


ADU
ADU is offline  
post #2075 of 4059 Old 11-02-2012, 09:20 AM
Member
 
avsusername's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can anyone confirm to me if the S590 can indeed play mp4 video files off a data DVD disc?
avsusername is offline  
post #2076 of 4059 Old 11-02-2012, 08:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsusername View Post

Can anyone confirm to me if the S590 can indeed play mp4 video files off a data DVD disc?

Yup.
apw2607 is online now  
post #2077 of 4059 Old 11-02-2012, 08:58 PM
Member
 
avsusername's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

Yup.

Thanks, I just wanted to make sure it will read mp4 videos off a DVD instead of just USB devices like some other players.
avsusername is offline  
post #2078 of 4059 Old 11-02-2012, 11:16 PM
Newbie
 
elixer2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do I make my Sony s590 a DVD region free player?

I'm in Oz I bought this player assuming - like my last Sony Bluray player - that it would be DVD region free.

But it's locked to DVD region 4. I've searched around and found no remote control hacks for this model. Earlier model DVD region hacks for Sony Bluray players use a brand of universal remote (the All In One brand) that I don't have. I own a Logitech universal remote.

Any tips?
elixer2012 is offline  
post #2079 of 4059 Old 11-03-2012, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,984
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Very difficult to do with logitech because of the complexity of getting several pronto hex codes into the remote. I recommend you get a one-for-all. They can be had for as little as $3 on ebay in the US and perhaps Oz as well. Just about any of the basic or comfort line HERE should work fine. UEI (maker of one-for-all) also makes many cable, satellite, OEM and store brand remotes. So you may already have one and not know it. There are literally hundreds of remote models made by UEI which will work. If you find a specific model and aren't sure if it will work, post back and I can tell you if it will or not. Also post a link to the hack procedure so I can translate the codes correctly for your model. Another benefit of having a one-for-all is you can add every possible command for all your devices because many are missing from the logitech database.
mdavej is offline  
post #2080 of 4059 Old 11-03-2012, 02:58 PM
Newbie
 
elixer2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Very difficult to do with logitech because of the complexity of getting several pronto hex codes into the remote. I recommend you get a one-for-all. They can be had for as little as $3 on ebay in the US and perhaps Oz as well. Just about any of the basic or comfort line HERE should work fine. UEI (maker of one-for-all) also makes many cable, satellite, OEM and store brand remotes. So you may already have one and not know it. There are literally hundreds of remote models made by UEI which will work. If you find a specific model and aren't sure if it will work, post back and I can tell you if it will or not. Also post a link to the hack procedure so I can translate the codes correctly for your model. Another benefit of having a one-for-all is you can add every possible command for all your devices because many are missing from the logitech database.

Thanks. I'll have a look around.
elixer2012 is offline  
post #2081 of 4059 Old 11-04-2012, 05:05 AM
Senior Member
 
johncourt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Very difficult to do with logitech because of the complexity of getting several pronto hex codes into the remote. I recommend you get a one-for-all. They can be had for as little as $3 on ebay in the US and perhaps Oz as well. Just about any of the basic or comfort line HERE should work fine. UEI (maker of one-for-all) also makes many cable, satellite, OEM and store brand remotes. So you may already have one and not know it. There are literally hundreds of remote models made by UEI which will work. If you find a specific model and aren't sure if it will work, post back and I can tell you if it will or not. Also post a link to the hack procedure so I can translate the codes correctly for your model. Another benefit of having a one-for-all is you can add every possible command for all your devices because many are missing from the logitech database.

Wow, that would be a huge help. Is there a specific remote on ebay you would recommend for price and function?

I'm assuming the hack only works for dvd's, but as a longshot is there a way to hack for blu rays as well?
johncourt is offline  
post #2082 of 4059 Old 11-04-2012, 07:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,984
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by johncourt View Post

Wow, that would be a huge help. Is there a specific remote on ebay you would recommend for price and function?
I'm assuming the hack only works for dvd's, but as a longshot is there a way to hack for blu rays as well?
I've never tried the hack on sony myself, nor do I have any foreign DVDs, so I can't say. But I do know these remotes. The models vary by what part of the world you are in. Here in the US, the models below can do the hack using DVD code 0533 or 20533 depending on the access method ([2] means 20533 and anything else is 0533). The cheapest and easiest to find is probably the Comcast 1067BX3 If you can't find any of these elsewhere, PM me. I have plenty. HERE's how to do the hack. The magic key is also the S, Setup, or P key. Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Code:
Offset       Access Method   Signature       Remote  Processor
[2]     30603060        15-100  S3F80
[2]     30853085        15-133  S3F80
[2]     30853085        15-134  S3F80
[2]     30853085        15-135  S3F80
[VCR]   RSL6RSL0        15-1994 S3C80
[DVD]:[VCR]     RS50RS50        15-2103 S3C80
[DVD]:[VCR]     R6H0R6H0        15-2104 S3C80
{DVD}   RTS0RTS0        15-2107 S3C80
{DVD}   RSL1RSL1        15-2116 S3C80
[DVD]   RSFFRSF0        15-2133 S3C80
[DVD]   RS80RS80        15-2138 S3C80
[DVD]   10101010        15-2144 HCS08
[DVD]:[VCR]     10631063        URC-10820 B00   HCS08
[DVD]:[VCR]     11781178        URC-10820N      HCS08
[DVD]:[VCR]     ECL0ECO0        URC-3440        S3C80
[DVD]   HVC0HVC0        URC-4080        S3C80
[LDP]   O5F0O5F1        URC-5650        S3C80
[DVD]:[VCR]     6_806_80        URC-601X        S3C80
[DVD]   PVR0PVR0        URC-6131        S3C80
[DVD]   10361036        URC-6690 Hybrid HCS08
[DVD]:[VCR]     10631063        URC-6820 B00    HCS08
[LDP]   O5F0O5F1        URC-7200        S3C80
[VCR?]  EO40EO40        URC-7541        S3C80
[DVD]:[VCR]     10751075        URC-7555        HCS08
[DVD]:[VCR]     EBV0EBV0        URC-7560        S3C80
[DVD]:[VCR]     EBV0EBV1        URC-7562        S3C80
{DVD}   10621062        URC-7780 Stealth 12     HCS08
{DVD}   11311131        URC-7781 Digital 12     HCS08
[DVD]   C7L0C7L0        URC-7800        S3C80
[DVD]:[VCR]     30293029        URC-7940        S3F80
[DVD]:[VCR]     30293029        URC-7950        S3F80
[DVD]:[VCR]     6_806_80        URC-801x        S3C80
[DVD]   EKA4EKA0        URC-8040        S3C80
[VCR]   KAMEKAM0        URC-8060        S3C80
[DVD?]  10261026        URC-8203        HCS08
[DVD]   10211021        URC-8206        HCS08
[2]     11691169        URC-8350        HCS08
[DVD]:[VCR]     6_806_80        URC-881x        S3C80
[DVD]:[VCR]     10631063        URC-8820 B00    HCS08
[DVD]:[VCR]     11781178        URC-8820N       HCS08
{DVD}   CPT0CPT0        URC-8910        S3C80
{DVD}   CPT0CPT0        URC-9910        S3C80
[DVD]   NAK0NAK0        URC-9960        S3C80
[DVD]   KASAKAS0        URC-9960B01     S3C80
[DVD]   ATL0ATL0        Atlas4 ATL0     S3C80
[VCR]   CS400102        Atlas4 CS400102 SST
[DVD]   10251025        Atlas5 1025     HCS08
[DVD]   30003000        Atlas5 3000     S3F80
[DVD]   30323032        Atlas5 3032     S3F80
[DVD]   30333033        Atlas5 3033     S3F80
[TV]    SA_7SA_7        Atlas5 SA_7     S3C80
[DVD]:[VCR]     BAL0BAL0        Balboa-Dolphin  S3C80
[VCR]   OEM4OEM0_1      Cat48-Anthem    S3C80
[VCR]   OEM4OEM0_2      Cat48-Outlaw    S3C80
[AUX]   CS300103        Comcast 1058 jp1.1      SST
[AUX]   CS301009        Comcast 1067 jp1.2      HCS08
[2]     30393039        Comcast 1067BX3 jp1.3   S3F80
[AUX]   CS300105        Comcast 1068 jp1.1      SST
[DVD]   30463046        Cox URC-7820B   S3F80
30       [??VIDEO]      10381038        Dreambox V5 URC-39940   HCS08
30       [AUX]  ETPSTPS0        Dreambox.       S3C80
30       [DVD?] ESPBESP2        DreamboxKeyboard        
30       [AUX]? OLVAOLV0        DreamboxV2      S3C80
[VCR]   MIL0MIL0_1      Millenium4      S3C80
[VCR]   MIL0MIL0_2      Millenium4_b00  S3C80
[2]     30043004        Motorola DSR551 URC-2050        S3F80
[VCR]:[AUX]     LATLLAT0        Mundial4        S3C80
[DVD?]  30483048        Pace DStv PVR URC-3989  HCS08
[DVD]:[DVR]     31793179        RCA RCRP05B     S3F80
17       {DVD}  TCE0TCE0        RCU810  S3C80
29       [VCR]  DSS0DSS0        REM400-B00      S3C80
[VCR]   DSS1DSS1        REM400-B01      
[VCR?]  OEM3OEM0_1      Replay-V1       
[VCR?]  OEM3OEM0_2      Replay-V2       
19       [VCR]:[DVD]    T6D0T6D0        Toshiba CT90047 S3C80
[2]     30023002        Vizio URC-66700ABA      S3F80
[2]     30273027        Vizio VUR8      S3F80
[Y]     BINJU   Slingbox - JU   S3C80
[Y]     BINPK   Slingbox - PK   S3C80
[Y]     BINPL   Slingbox - PL   S3C80
[Y]     BINRV   Slingbox - RV   S3C80

(Just ignore the stuff that makes no sense. I'm too lazy to clean it up right now.)
mdavej is offline  
post #2083 of 4059 Old 11-04-2012, 06:25 PM
Member
 
SilverBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm thinking of buying the BDP-390 sometime in the future.

Can the player read mkv files off of Data-BDR's?
SilverBlade is offline  
post #2084 of 4059 Old 11-06-2012, 08:27 AM
Newbie
 
Coffe Mug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys,

Just bought the S390.

With the help of this forum I have managed to get the 'HomeStream' to work, using the Bravia format.

Has anyone managed to hook a Seagate Goflex NAS drive to the S390 via the Lan cable?

I can only read m2st and mp3 files from the Seagate Goflex.

Avi and mkv are, not supported.

I don't like leaving my PC on all the time to watch films via HomeStream.



BTW Netflix is working fine.

CM
Coffe Mug is offline  
post #2085 of 4059 Old 11-06-2012, 09:14 AM
Newbie
 
Coffe Mug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys,

Just bought the S390.

With the help of this forum I have managed to get the 'HomeStream' to work, using the Bravia format.

Has anyone managed to hook a Seagate Goflex NAS drive to the S390 via the Lan cable?

I can only read m2st and mp3 files from the Seagate Goflex.

Avi and mkv are, not supported.

I don't like leaving my PC on all the time to watch films via HomeStream.



BTW Netflix is working fine.

CM
Coffe Mug is offline  
post #2086 of 4059 Old 11-06-2012, 12:40 PM
Newbie
 
CraigScot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi folks,

I have a relatively straight forward question, that hopefully can be answered - I have tried looking through previous posts, but there are quite a lot of them.

Does Netflix UK work on a BDP-390 based in the UK? I've been trying to find an answer for hours, but all that I can find is "It should work".

Thanks in advance
CraigScot is offline  
post #2087 of 4059 Old 11-06-2012, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coffe Mug View Post

Hi Guys,
Just bought the S390.
With the help of this forum I have managed to get the 'HomeStream' to work, using the Bravia format.
Has anyone managed to hook a Seagate Goflex NAS drive to the S390 via the Lan cable?
I can only read m2st and mp3 files from the Seagate Goflex.
Avi and mkv are, not supported.
I don't like leaving my PC on all the time to watch films via HomeStream.
BTW Netflix is working fine.
CM

MKV files with mpeg 4 AVC should play fine. VC-1 or mpeg2 needs a bit of tweaking. MKVs are just containers for something else !
Coffe Mug likes this.
apw2607 is online now  
post #2088 of 4059 Old 11-06-2012, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Krutsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

MKV files with mpeg 4 AVC should play fine. VC-1 or mpeg2 needs a bit of tweaking. MKVs are just containers for something else !

I don't think you can tweak VC-1; these files need to presented in an M2TS container to play back on a Sony BD machine.
Coffe Mug likes this.

"Play the volume as loud as you want - but don't touch my levels now. I got them set just like I like them"
Krutsch is offline  
post #2089 of 4059 Old 11-06-2012, 09:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vampidemic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coffe Mug View Post

Hi Guys,

Just bought the S390...
I can only read m2st and mp3 files from the Seagate Goflex.

Avi and mkv are, not supported.

It looks like the Seagate supports UPnP and the Sony supports some .avi and .mkv files. You won't have the flexibility of Homestream/Serviio, which can transcode or remux, but some files in those formats should work if the codecs are compatible (mpeg-4 for mkv and Xvid for avi). Are you able to see the mkv and avi files in the directory listing when you browse video files on the Seagate from the player?
Coffe Mug likes this.
Vampidemic is offline  
post #2090 of 4059 Old 11-07-2012, 12:14 AM
Member
 
johanverschuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have contacted the Sony Support Team in Europe and they have asked me several questions about the hang-up problem of the BDP-S390 player. One of the questions was if I use a HDMI port with ARC (Audio Return Channel). The BDP-S390 is connected with an Audioquest Pearl HDMI interconnect to a Sony KDL-40EX650 LCD TV using a HDMI port with ARC. If the ARC function is not working good this could stop the communication over the HDMI bus. I do not think the settings of the player can be the problem of the hang-up during playback of the BDP-S390 player. The hang-up moment is random during playback of the Van Helsing Blu-ray disc. So far this is the only disc which causes the player hang-up problem.

http://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/hdmi_1_4/arc.aspx
johanverschuren is offline  
post #2091 of 4059 Old 11-07-2012, 04:45 AM
Newbie
 
Coffe Mug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampidemic View Post

It looks like the Seagate supports UPnP and the Sony supports some .avi and .mkv files. You won't have the flexibility of Homestream/Serviio, which can transcode or remux, but some files in those formats should work if the codecs are compatible (mpeg-4 for mkv and Xvid for avi). Are you able to see the mkv and avi files in the directory listing when you browse video files on the Seagate from the player?

Thanks for reply,

Yes I can see all the files, but get the corrupted/ un supported message.
Coffe Mug is offline  
post #2092 of 4059 Old 11-07-2012, 04:47 AM
Newbie
 
Coffe Mug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigScot View Post

Hi folks,
I have a relatively straight forward question, that hopefully can be answered - I have tried looking through previous posts, but there are quite a lot of them.
Does Netflix UK work on a BDP-390 based in the UK? I've been trying to find an answer for hours, but all that I can find is "It should work".
Thanks in advance

I have Netflix and Lovefilm running on my S390.

I'm in the UK.
Coffe Mug is offline  
post #2093 of 4059 Old 11-07-2012, 05:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 7,278
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by johanverschuren View Post

I have contacted the Sony Support Team in Europe and they have asked me several questions about the hang-up problem of the BDP-S390 player. One of the questions was if I use a HDMI port with ARC (Audio Return Channel). The BDP-S390 is connected with an Audioquest Pearl HDMI interconnect to a Sony KDL-40EX650 LCD TV using a HDMI port with ARC. If the ARC function is not working good this could stop the communication over the HDMI bus. I do not think the settings of the player can be the problem of the hang-up during playback of the BDP-S390 player. The hang-up moment is random during playback of the Van Helsing Blu-ray disc. So far this is the only disc which causes the player hang-up problem.

http://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/hdmi_1_4/arc.aspx

Have you actually tried turning off ARC in both the TV and the receiver to see if that helps?

Bugs in the implementation can cause problems whether or not it "should" work.

Selden

Marantz SR7009/7.1.4/FH+TM/DefTech PM1000/LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #2094 of 4059 Old 11-07-2012, 07:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krutsch View Post

I don't think you can tweak VC-1; these files need to presented in an M2TS container to play back on a Sony BD machine.

I use the term tweak loosely .... MKV VC-1 -> M2TS
Coffe Mug likes this.
apw2607 is online now  
post #2095 of 4059 Old 11-07-2012, 08:48 PM
Newbie
 
mother314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I haven't found a direct answer to this on the site so I figured i would ask direct. I'm using the S590 to stream a .mpg video from an HPServer (Home Server) and using just the remote control that came with the unit. It doesn't seem to have any fast forward or pause functions from the remote. I was previously using popcorn hour in one room and an LG BlueRay in another and both funtion fine with the mentioned functions. Is there any fix to this?? Thanks in advance.
mother314 is offline  
post #2096 of 4059 Old 11-08-2012, 01:56 AM
Member
 
johanverschuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sony should look into this matter. The BDP-S390 player should work correctly regardless the use of a HDMI with or without ARC. On an other AVS thread I have seen a posting about a similar hang-up problem with the BDP-S790.
johanverschuren is offline  
post #2097 of 4059 Old 11-08-2012, 06:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vampidemic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coffe Mug View Post

Thanks for reply,

Yes I can see all the files, but get the corrupted/ un supported message.

Sounds like the codecs being used in your files are incompatible. Open some of your files in a program such as MediaInfo, which can display details about the codecs being used in your files. This information will help to determine why specific files are not playing from your NAS without transcoding/remuxing from Homestream/Serviio,
Coffe Mug likes this.
Vampidemic is offline  
post #2098 of 4059 Old 11-08-2012, 09:15 AM
Member
 
tomalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi
Does BDP-S590 keep spinning the disc all the time when disc is inserted? Even when playing internet video or listening internet radio? Or when player is in XMB menu?
tomalo is offline  
post #2099 of 4059 Old 11-08-2012, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
anikun07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northwest Illinois USA
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I noticed this with my 580, so I think it may be common. It got to the point it wad so loud that I put my Wii on top of it as a paperweight to hush the vibration and humming.
anikun07 is offline  
post #2100 of 4059 Old 11-08-2012, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomalo View Post

Hi
Does BDP-S590 keep spinning the disc all the time when disc is inserted? Even when playing internet video or listening internet radio? Or when player is in XMB menu?

Yup. Think so. 790 does it too. Annoying !
apw2607 is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Bdp S590 3d Blu Ray Player , Sony Bdp S390 Blu Ray Player , Blu Ray Players
Gear in this thread - S590 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off