Denon DBT-1713UD - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 107 Old 12-07-2013, 09:41 AM
Newbie
 
John Kowtko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the good word ... can you be more specific though? Have you used the DLNA and Netflix players and noticed any of the issues that I desribed above?

I would prefer to stick with Denon if the above issues are being improved upon. I've had Denon AV receivers for years and would prefer to keep the components in the family I have my $99 Sony in house to use as a last resort but would prefer not to rely on that.

That being said, if there is a better combination of AV Receiver and blue-ray/media player out there for modest cost (under $500 each component) I am eager to hear suggestions.

Thanks. John
John Kowtko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 107 Old 12-18-2013, 08:23 PM
Newbie
 
AGiLiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just a heads up if anyone is searching for info on this unit and happens upon this thread: Best Buy is having an in-store sale on this unit - $299. They couldn't tell me how long it will be running.

Picked one up tonight, but won't get a chance to set it up until the weekend. Was looking for a good spinner to pair with a new Pioneer SC-1523-K, setting that up was last weekend's project. tongue.gif I plan to have the receiver handle all the heavy lifting. I'll see how that goes...
AGiLiT is offline  
post #93 of 107 Old 12-19-2013, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Speakerphile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,947
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGiLiT View Post

Just a heads up if anyone is searching for info on this unit and happens upon this thread: Best Buy is having an in-store sale on this unit - $299. They couldn't tell me how long it will be running.

Picked one up tonight, but won't get a chance to set it up until the weekend. Was looking for a good spinner to pair with a new Pioneer SC-1523-K, setting that up was last weekend's project. tongue.gif I plan to have the receiver handle all the heavy lifting. I'll see how that goes...

This offer should last through next week.

Though I am an employee of Magnolia Home Theater, the views and opinions I express on this forum are those of my own and not my employer.
Speakerphile is offline  
post #94 of 107 Old 12-31-2013, 11:04 AM
Member
 
mylopr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi.

I have the 1713UD for quite some time and it works very well. My only complain is the DLNA Feature. Not that I use it that much but I don't know why it doesn't support external substitle as in .srt format.

Can some one have them working with this player?

Thanks in advanced.
Jose
mylopr is offline  
post #95 of 107 Old 01-01-2014, 06:52 PM
Member
 
techblogpool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mylopr View Post

Hi.

I have the 1713UD for quite some time and it works very well. My only complain is the DLNA Feature. Not that I use it that much but I don't know why it doesn't support external substitle as in .srt format.

Can some one have them working with this player?

Thanks in advanced.
Jose

Hi Jose,

Yes, srt subtitles do work, but you need to set up your DLNA server correctly. I will check mine and get back to you soon.

Cheers,
Martin

techblogpool is offline  
post #96 of 107 Old 01-02-2014, 08:36 AM
Newbie
 
John Kowtko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own a 1611ud and am specifically unhappy with the DLNA payer functionality ... Wondering if the 1713ud will do better --

- some mp4 formats don't play on my 1611. I will get a "video format not supported" error box on the screen.

- wma pro audio is not supported in wmv files.

- when I first start to browse to my dlna server contents, I get a top level directory with three folders "music/photo/video", and when I navigate into any one of these folders I get a second set of folders that looks identical. I think what is happening here is that the first level of folders is allowing you to choose what type of dlna service you want to connect to (assuming the dlna server provides more than one type of service), and the second level of folders represents the share names posted by the dlna server. What's incorrect is that my dlna server associates each share with only one type of service .. So there is a mismatch between my dlna server and the 1611ud's dlna player.

- if I change the contents of a folder on the dlna server after the 1611ud has opened that folder, if I navigate back to that folder again the 1611ud will hang, requiring a reboot.

Does the 1713ud exhibit any of these problems? If you're not sure about the video/audio compatibility issues let me know and I can prepare some examples for you to check with.

FYI my dlna server isa Synology DS211j running that latest version of DSM 4.3.

My $99 Sony blue-ray player has none of the above issues.

Thanks. John
John Kowtko is offline  
post #97 of 107 Old 01-02-2014, 04:00 PM
Member
 
mylopr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Techblogpool,

Where you able to check your settings for proprer .srt functionality? I tried everything even changing dlna cliemt profiles on my dlna server for the denon player but still not working. All my other dlna clients works fine.


Thxs
-Jose
mylopr is offline  
post #98 of 107 Old 01-09-2014, 06:06 PM
Newbie
 
belukrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Did anyone found a way to sort the video files and music files like we do in Windows in denon bmt-1713ud media server.

 

Everytime i go to my denon with media server, i see the folder photo, video and music.

 

If i want video, then i see again photo,video and music, if i choose video, then at last i  see my nas that has a folder named streaming that contains a folder named movies. But the content in the folder movies  are all not sorted. Is there a way to sorte them. Also is there a way to go directly to my nas folder streaming and not to have to go to the full process everrytime.

belukrin is offline  
post #99 of 107 Old 02-05-2014, 09:16 PM
Member
 
fordfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sumter, SC
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've have a LG BD-370 since the late 09/early 10 time frame. All I wanted at the time was something inexpensive. It plays most of my BR discs with no problem. I still haven't been able to get Red 2 to work. It works fine with other players though. The picture isn't the best but part of that is also my TV. My AVR is the Denon 3808. I'm thinking about the Denon 1713UD to replace the BD-370. Would it be worth it? Or should I look for something else? Is there something else that Denon might be releasing soon?
fordfreak is offline  
post #100 of 107 Old 05-16-2014, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
Roberto1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by belukrin View Post
 

Did anyone found a way to sort the video files and music files like we do in Windows in denon bmt-1713ud media server.

 

Everytime i go to my denon with media server, i see the folder photo, video and music.

 

If i want video, then i see again photo,video and music, if i choose video, then at last i  see my nas that has a folder named streaming that contains a folder named movies. But the content in the folder movies  are all not sorted. Is there a way to sorte them. Also is there a way to go directly to my nas folder streaming and not to have to go to the full process everrytime.

 

I found one  solution which somehow settles this issue -- Create a new folder in the source (which can either be a USB flash drive of a folder in your computer) and drag the files in the order which you want to see. I'm not an expert on "file allocation tables" of computers, but seems that Denon player reads the list of contents of the folder based on the actual creation date, instead of the order shown in the Windows Explorer.

 

It works well in flash drives -- I placed more than a hundred files, in the order I wanted to see in Denon GUI. Important do not copy or move two or more files at same time (please do not select several lines when "dragging" to the new folder) , to prevent messing with the order.

 

Hope this helps you

Roberto1974 is offline  
post #101 of 107 Old 05-21-2014, 01:36 PM
Newbie
 
fsallum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi,

I have a Denon DBT-1713 Blu-Ray player. It was working fine yesterday, but now none of the buttons on the remote work. When the Blu-Ray player is turned on the display says "TRAY LOCK". I have scoured the manual, but it says nothing about any locks.

Has anyone come across this or have any solutions?



Thank

fsallum is offline  
post #102 of 107 Old 05-21-2014, 02:58 PM
Newbie
 
Roberto1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by fsallum View Post
 

Hi,

I have a Denon DBT-1713 Blu-Ray player. It was working fine yesterday, but now none of the buttons on the remote work. When the Blu-Ray player is turned on the display says "TRAY LOCK". I have scoured the manual, but it says nothing about any locks.

Has anyone come across this or have any solutions?



Thank


Hello

Tray lock is an special operation mode which is used in stores, to avoid the customers to open the drawer and remove the disc which is being played

At least on older models, the cancel trau lock you should do the following

 

With player turned on and TV connected, using the remote control, press [SETUP], [TOP MENU],[3], [AUDIO], [0] and [SETUP] buttons on the
remote control unit in that order.

"Trade-Off" appears in the upper right corner on the screen and also in the display.

Hope this works with 1713.

Roberto1974 is offline  
post #103 of 107 Old 05-22-2014, 03:15 AM
Newbie
 
megsandadam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fsallum,

For some reason I could reply to you in my other thread, but yes, I managed to get it solved by calling Denon

You basically have to reset the unit by holding down the play button and the forward skip button at the same time until the display says "Initialising". When it says "Initialised" you release the buttons and unplug the power cord until all the lights go out, then plug back in.

This resets the until to factory settings.

Hope it helps, I remember how frustrating it was!
megsandadam is offline  
post #104 of 107 Old 05-22-2014, 06:17 PM
Newbie
 
fsallum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

thank you 
but none of these options solve.

Could not initialize the device

fsallum is offline  
post #105 of 107 Old 05-23-2014, 06:23 PM
Newbie
 
biggal76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't initialize mine either. Mine works well except that Netflix keeps freezing up. Happened the day after I updated my firmware, but it's weird because I watched a Netflix movie right after I updated and it worked fine. Pressing play and forward buttons does not do anything. I'll try the soft reset overnight tonight though (leaving unplugged all night) although I've tried unplugging for a few minutes and it didn't help.
biggal76 is offline  
post #106 of 107 Old 07-14-2014, 02:23 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 615
I was just looking at this player to replace my ancient OPPO for SACD and DVD-A playback. Does it access online info for the SACD titles(and DVD-A) like the Sony players do? I plan on mating this with a Denon 4520 I got recently. I used to have a Denon 3808 which worked fine with DSD over HDMi so I guess the 4520 should work well too.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #107 of 107 Old 07-14-2014, 05:20 PM
gce
Senior Member
 
gce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Anaheim CA
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I was just looking at this player to replace my ancient OPPO for SACD and DVD-A playback. Does it access online info for the SACD titles(and DVD-A) like the Sony players do? I plan on mating this with a Denon 4520 I got recently. I used to have a Denon 3808 which worked fine with DSD over HDMi so I guess the 4520 should work well too.

I just put a SACD in and cannot see were it would access online info. I looked everywhere but cant find where it would access online info. The player works great with everything but I've gotten back into Vinyl so I don't use it much anymore. I'm sure I'll pick it back up someday.
gce is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Denon 3d Blu Ray Disc Player Dbt 1713ud , Blu Ray Players , Denon Avr 3313ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off