AVS Owner's thread for the pioneer elite bdp-62fd.. - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 867 Old 05-11-2013, 01:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Yes. Cinavia is there.

As long as you don't play pirated Sony movies, there is nothing to worry about.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 867 Old 05-11-2013, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
javifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: WHEELWRIGHT CP 2722 -SANTA FE- ARGENTINA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello David... and thank for your fast response, then are you mean that.. the rest of copies are read without problems; i'm sorry, is just that i want stay 100% secure. greetings!!!

AGUANTE SKAY BEILINSON - PATRICIO REY http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kmq7BVcGmlc
javifor is offline  
post #453 of 867 Old 05-11-2013, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
bokes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
IMO- depends on the scene.
While streaming- dark scenes ALWAYS contain macro blocks.
I'm actually glad the blocks exist- it justifies my larger than ever expected Blu ray collection.

Does anyone know if the Pioneer will play all regions?
There are some non USA blu rays I would like to buy off Amazon- but I'm not sure they will play.
bokes is offline  
post #454 of 867 Old 05-13-2013, 09:04 AM
Newbie
 
totita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I watched a 3D movie last night Shrek and the image had a greenish/yellowish tint. Inserted a second 3D movie and the image was the same. Anybody had the same issue? I noticed that right before the movie starts a lot of pixilation (red blue & green wide pixels) are displayed for a few seconds. Any ideas? Thanks
totita is offline  
post #455 of 867 Old 05-14-2013, 02:42 PM
Member
 
Turboo2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
This player is starrting to freeze up about every other day, regardless what disc is being played. Have to unplug to free up. Anyone else have this problem. I can't figure out how to "reset" the unit as advised by Pioneer tech.eek.gif
Turboo2u is offline  
post #456 of 867 Old 05-16-2013, 11:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turboo2u View Post

This player is starrting to freeze up about every other day, regardless what disc is being played. Have to unplug to free up. Anyone else have this problem. I can't figure out how to "reset" the unit as advised by Pioneer tech.eek.gif


my new one has frozen on several occasions as well, had to pull the plug in the back mad.gif


we should all complain and get pioneer to move their butts and release another firmware.

Who needs 4K?... just go see your optometrist.
NODES is offline  
post #457 of 867 Old 05-19-2013, 08:50 PM
Newbie
 
fcagno's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey there, I just purchased a multiregion version of this player but I can't get it to play other BluRay zones. Do you have any instructions to unlock it?

Thanks!
fcagno is offline  
post #458 of 867 Old 05-20-2013, 08:25 AM
Newbie
 
dacari72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fcagno View Post

Hey there, I just purchased a multiregion version of this player but I can't get it to play other BluRay zones. Do you have any instructions to unlock it?

Thanks!

Why not ask where do you bought it? since it isn't multiregion out-of-the-box, it can be multiregion with chip, USB, firmware...
dacari72 is offline  
post #459 of 867 Old 05-20-2013, 01:55 PM
Newbie
 
AbeOwitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fcagno View Post

Hey there, I just purchased a multiregion version of this player but I can't get it to play other BluRay zones. Do you have any instructions to unlock it?

Thanks!

DVD discs don't need any special commands.

Blu-Ray discs require changing the region mode using the remote control.

Mine came with a sheet where:

Quick Start must be turned off, Last Memory set off.

Turn off the player.

Press 1 then Power for Region A
Press 2 then Power for Region B
Press 3 then Power for Region C

(Haven't actually tried this, since I don't have any other BD region discs. I do have DVDs from other regions though, and they work fine. smile.gif )
fcagno likes this.
AbeOwitz is offline  
post #460 of 867 Old 05-20-2013, 01:59 PM
Newbie
 
AbeOwitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES View Post

my new one has frozen on several occasions as well, had to pull the plug in the back mad.gif


we should all complain and get pioneer to move their butts and release another firmware.

If I turn off the player in Netflix mode, it will not do anything else the next time I turn it on.

It will sometimes lock up/crash when starting Netflix.

My Pioneer receiver will also turn itself off randomly as well... :/
AbeOwitz is offline  
post #461 of 867 Old 05-20-2013, 02:13 PM
Member
 
Turboo2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Too bad, had to return it to BB and get my money back. Bye bye.
Turboo2u is offline  
post #462 of 867 Old 05-20-2013, 04:07 PM
Newbie
 
fcagno's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I tried that (without setting off those two options) and it didn't work. Also, the Amazon store that sold the Player doesn't know squat about Electronics, he just sells them (his words...), so he was absolutely unhelpful. I did ask for the contact of whoever installed the supposed MOD within but so far, no luck.
fcagno is offline  
post #463 of 867 Old 05-21-2013, 05:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Hello,
I picked one of these up a few days ago at BB for $154 as an Open Box. It has been working pretty good mated with the VSX-53 I picked up the week before. The jury is still out as whether or not it will replace my Opp 83. Convenience wise it is nice to play my FLAC files directly from a HD and control everything from an android app. I have about a week and a half to decide.

bguzman is offline  
post #464 of 867 Old 05-25-2013, 12:38 AM
Member
 
JackDVD78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: MPLS, MN
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I picked up the BDP-62FD at Best Buy Friday since it was on sale for $250.00 (Magnolia in Store) Ends Saturday (today)

I haven't opened it and I keep hearing pros and cons to the player. I have some SACDs so I wanted to be able to play them again. So many seem to have issues with the player, now I'm scared of it lol.

I suppose if it does odd stuff I can return it. I have burned thru 3 PS3's YES 3 and I don't even play video games! I take care of my stuff also so always seemed odd. First one got the blinking light of death second one same thing kind of I could never get it to turn back on. Was really odd. As much as I love the PS3 Interface compared to regular players. I own the Pioneer elite SC-65 receiver so I figured it would be a good match.

Panasonic 65" TC-P65ZT60
Marantz SR7007
MartinLogan: ESL, Grotto i, Motif, FX2, Motion 15
Oppo BDP-103
Oppo BDP-103 Region Free
Pioneer LD CLD-D505
JackDVD78 is offline  
post #465 of 867 Old 05-25-2013, 06:20 AM
Member
 
benfica1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackDVD78 View Post

I picked up the BDP-62FD at Best Buy Friday since it was on sale for $250.00 (Magnolia in Store) Ends Saturday (today)

I haven't opened it and I keep hearing pros and cons to the player. I have some SACDs so I wanted to be able to play them again. So many seem to have issues with the player, now I'm scared of it lol.

I suppose if it does odd stuff I can return it. I have burned thru 3 PS3's YES 3 and I don't even play video games! I take care of my stuff also so always seemed odd. First one got the blinking light of death second one same thing kind of I could never get it to turn back on. Was really odd. As much as I love the PS3 Interface compared to regular players. I own the Pioneer elite SC-65 receiver so I figured it would be a good match.

I have had mine for 2 months and no issues so far. Didn't do the firmware upgrade since its working fine and didn't want to chance any software related problems being introduced to a unit that was working fine. Have mine matched up with pioneer sc-1222.

Good luck with yours.

benfica1 is offline  
post #466 of 867 Old 05-25-2013, 08:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackDVD78 View Post

I picked up the BDP-62FD at Best Buy Friday since it was on sale for $250.00 (Magnolia in Store) Ends Saturday (today)

I haven't opened it and I keep hearing pros and cons to the player. I have some SACDs so I wanted to be able to play them again. So many seem to have issues with the player, now I'm scared of it lol.

I suppose if it does odd stuff I can return it. I have burned thru 3 PS3's YES 3 and I don't even play video games! I take care of my stuff also so always seemed odd. First one got the blinking light of death second one same thing kind of I could never get it to turn back on. Was really odd. As much as I love the PS3 Interface compared to regular players. I own the Pioneer elite SC-65 receiver so I figured it would be a good match.

Mine is working out great also. It plays all of my SACD and DVD-A disks as well as everything else I have tried. It is also loads BDs faster than any player I have used including my PS3.

bguzman is offline  
post #467 of 867 Old 06-03-2013, 01:41 AM
Newbie
 
napoca's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I've read almost all pages on this thread so please excuse me if I am going to ask the same questions again but I'm pretty sure I didn't see anything related to this yet.

I was looking for a player that can play both SACD and DVD-A out of the box and I ordered an Pioneer BDP-62f, which from what I've read seams to be a fine device. I am not much interested in region free, Netflix and other features like these (although it won't hurt to have them smile.gif) but in the player capability to handle home made SACD and DVD-A (burnt on a DVD-R). Can you guys confirm or infirm that this player can play back up copies of SACD and DVD-A? I've just bought from my local Costco a Sony BDPS5100. It doesn't recognize any SACD-R and even it won't play most of my DVD-R back-ups of live concerts which a no name DVD player 8 years old still working have no problems handling them.

I hope you won't be too judgmental about this question.

Thank you.
napoca is offline  
post #468 of 867 Old 06-03-2013, 04:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Not really answering your question, but I'm surprised that the BDP-S5100 won't play your DVD-R because my S5100 play both DVD-R and BD-R without any problem.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #469 of 867 Old 06-03-2013, 11:16 AM
Member
 
shobaffum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I purchased a bdp-62fd a couple of weeks ago after discovering the blow-out sale is still going on. Unfortunately it had 2 of the problems that have discussed in this thread - 1) un-responsive after being turned off overnight until unplugging it and 2) very noisy.

I returned it and looked through the pile that BB had for sale until I found one with a slightly newer manufacture date of October 2012 (all the rest were September 2012). This October model has neither of the problems the other had. For those of you still looking for a deal on this player, I would definitely recommend trying to find the newest one you can.

Lubarsky's Law of Cybernetic Entomology: There's always one more bug.
shobaffum is offline  
post #470 of 867 Old 06-03-2013, 01:18 PM
Member
 
Sunny44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by shobaffum View Post

I purchased a bdp-62fd a couple of weeks ago after discovering the blow-out sale is still going on. Unfortunately it had 2 of the problems that have discussed in this thread - 1) un-responsive after being turned off overnight until unplugging it and 2) very noisy.

I returned it and looked through the pile that BB had for sale until I found one with a slightly newer manufacture date of October 2012 (all the rest were September 2012). This October model has neither of the problems the other had. For those of you still looking for a deal on this player, I would definitely recommend trying to find the newest one you can.

I went thru the same scenario you did, however my second Oct. built
62 had the same lockup problem after a couple of days of inactivity.

The solution was to turn “Quick Start” on as members suggested.
It’s been working great ever since.

I also got the following two responses from Pioneer support:

“Thank you for contacting Pioneer Electronics (USA) Inc.
This is an issue our engineers are looking into.
It seems to be connected to the network connection, but so far they do not have an ETA for a resolution.”

“Thank you for contacting Pioneer Electronics (USA) Inc.
In the OPTIONS menu, turn on the "quick start" feature.
In speaking with customers, this normally resolves the problem.”
Sunny44 is offline  
post #471 of 867 Old 06-03-2013, 03:33 PM
Member
 
shobaffum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny44 View Post

I went thru the same scenario you did, however my second Oct. built
62 had the same lockup problem after a couple of days of inactivity.

The solution was to turn “Quick Start” on as members suggested.
It’s been working great ever since.

I also got the following two responses from Pioneer support:

“Thank you for contacting Pioneer Electronics (USA) Inc.
This is an issue our engineers are looking into.
It seems to be connected to the network connection, but so far they do not have an ETA for a resolution.”

“Thank you for contacting Pioneer Electronics (USA) Inc.
In the OPTIONS menu, turn on the "quick start" feature.
In speaking with customers, this normally resolves the problem.”

Yes, I had quick start turned on for my September 2012 unit. I still became unresponsive overnight until I pulled the plug (it did this several days in a row).

Lubarsky's Law of Cybernetic Entomology: There's always one more bug.
shobaffum is offline  
post #472 of 867 Old 06-04-2013, 09:34 PM
Senior Member
 
vereekej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Huntington, IN
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone utilized hooking up both hdmi outputs and splitting the audio and video up? The manual states this will give better audio quality. I have not tried it yet and was curious if anyone was utilizing this setup?

When purchasing HT equipment remember that it's always easier to beg for forgiveness than ask for permission.
vereekej is offline  
post #473 of 867 Old 06-06-2013, 01:31 PM
Senior Member
 
bokes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone having lip-sync issues?
Is there an adjustment that can be made?
bokes is offline  
post #474 of 867 Old 06-06-2013, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by vereekej View Post

Has anyone utilized hooking up both hdmi outputs and splitting the audio and video up? The manual states this will give better audio quality. I have not tried it yet and was curious if anyone was utilizing this setup?

I tried both, it makes zero difference to my ears.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #475 of 867 Old 06-06-2013, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by vereekej View Post

Has anyone utilized hooking up both hdmi outputs and splitting the audio and video up? The manual states this will give better audio quality. I have not tried it yet and was curious if anyone was utilizing this setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

I tried both, it makes zero difference to my ears.

+1

bguzman is offline  
post #476 of 867 Old 06-06-2013, 09:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Edllguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokes View Post

Anyone having lip-sync issues?
Is there an adjustment that can be made?

If you are having any lip-sync issues with the BDP-62FD and you have a receiver with auto lip-sync adjustment feature, I would try adjusting in your receiver. Many AVS forum members (based on prior posting history) who have had issues with lip-sync, have had great results with this feature and have either tamed or eliminated this problem.
Edllguy is offline  
post #477 of 867 Old 06-09-2013, 06:20 AM
Senior Member
 
bokes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My receiver is a Rotel 1550- current model.
It does not have auto sync. I can manually fix but it appears each disc requires a different tweak.
Hate to trade the Rotel for a cheaper receiver- the sound is rich and full.

Is this standard issue with blu Ray in general or just the Pioneer player?
very strange to have an issue which is the basic function of the tech- to play sound and picture.
bokes is offline  
post #478 of 867 Old 06-09-2013, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Edllguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokes View Post

My receiver is a Rotel 1550- current model.
It does not have auto sync. I can manually fix but it appears each disc requires a different tweak.
Hate to trade the Rotel for a cheaper receiver- the sound is rich and full.

Is this standard issue with blu Ray in general or just the Pioneer player?
very strange to have an issue which is the basic function of the tech- to play sound and picture.

Your receiver is HDMI 1.3a and has the GROUP DELAY: Also known as “lip-sync” delay feature. I checked your manual on line. So its very difficult to pin point your lip sync issues. Perhaps you could try another blu-ray player and see if the problem persists. I don't know if its your Pioneer 62 player but trying different things, it maybe can isolate the problem component.

Also, I always thought that having HDMI 1.3a in every part of the one's home theater set up would have eliminated lip sync issues. That's the impression I received from the literature I read when the specs of HDMI 1.3a was released. However, as seen on AVS forum and many other forums, this is not the case and many people continue to suffer from this issue.
Edllguy is offline  
post #479 of 867 Old 06-11-2013, 09:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 429
The auto lip-synchronization IS a part of HDMi 1.3 specifications for any receivers. How some receivers claim to even have HDMI 1.4 compliance and NOT have the auto synce is confusing for me. i know Rotel, Arcam, Cary and Emotiva don't have this feature, yet they claim that their receivers are 1.3 and 1.4 compliant. rolleyes.gif
Edllguy and pioneertop like this.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #480 of 867 Old 06-20-2013, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,525
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Can anyone confirm if they have had success playing blu ray backed up on hard drives, 1:1 no compression created with a program like make MKV or Handbrake, with DTS HD or Dolby HD without issue?

I've read conflicting things.

I'd really like to pickup this player but would want the media playback features to work without issue since I'd be using this player primarily as a unit to play BluRay and DVD backed up on hard drive and NAS.

If lossless playback of DTS HD is an issue I think going with a cheaper player and a Dune might be a better option.

For media streaming I think I can get away with using my Xbox 360 and Vudu/Xbox/ etc.....

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Pioneer Elite Bdp 62fd , Bdp 52fd , Pioneer Elite

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off