AVS Owner's thread for the pioneer elite bdp-62fd.. - Page 27 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #781 of 866 Old 12-29-2013, 06:58 AM
Member
 
bungi43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked this up a few nights ago from a guy on craigslist (I know, I know) and I love it. I read where a few people above were getting lip synch issues with DTS...I found that if you set the HDMI audio to "PCM" on the Elite unit itself, it cleared that up. Everything is still decoded correctly.

bungi43 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #782 of 866 Old 12-29-2013, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
maxleung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
That's true bungi - I noticed massive lipsync issues when I first got the player (Avatar Blu-ray). I set it to PCM after that....
maxleung is offline  
post #783 of 866 Old 12-29-2013, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
rbrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just replaced my Sony BDP-S1 with this unit. Wow, even my wife comments on how much better the picture quality is.
rbrb is offline  
post #784 of 866 Old 12-29-2013, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
pioneertop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: wilington.DE
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbrb View Post

I just replaced my Sony BDP-S1 with this unit. Wow, even my wife comments on how much better the picture quality is.
thats good to hear ...glad you like the player..
as i said ..here before ..you can't in this market today beat this player for all round performance for the price ..especially @ the price point ..you can get one of these for...despite the issue's some have experience with their player ...its the best multi-tasker out there @ the moment ...now after some playback of sacd's /cd's /blu-rays/downloads/Pandora/ even some youtube clips ...its been a few days now after the update v2.13 ...the player has frozen once on a youtube clip ..that was the only time it's have done that since the update

loves...home theather/music/football:)
pioneertop is offline  
post #785 of 866 Old 01-04-2014, 11:17 AM
Senior Member
 
vereekej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Huntington, IN
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just did update to 2.13 this morning. Gonna give her a good test run this weekend.

When purchasing HT equipment remember that it's always easier to beg for forgiveness than ask for permission.
vereekej is offline  
post #786 of 866 Old 01-04-2014, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
vereekej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Huntington, IN
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Watched Smurfs 2 with kids this afternoon. Had no issues with player. Rock solid the whole movie.
HDpalooza and pioneertop like this.

When purchasing HT equipment remember that it's always easier to beg for forgiveness than ask for permission.
vereekej is offline  
post #787 of 866 Old 01-04-2014, 10:18 PM
Member
 
jaymz99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vereekej View Post

Watched Smurfs 2 with kids this afternoon. Had no issues with player. Rock solid the whole movie.

What settings did you have for HDMI during this test? Thanks.
jaymz99 is offline  
post #788 of 866 Old 01-06-2014, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
vereekej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Huntington, IN
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Also watched Avatar with no issues either.

When purchasing HT equipment remember that it's always easier to beg for forgiveness than ask for permission.
vereekej is offline  
post #789 of 866 Old 01-09-2014, 08:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Edllguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by bungi43 View Post

I just picked this up a few nights ago from a guy on craigslist (I know, I know) and I love it. I read where a few people above were getting lip synch issues with DTS...I found that if you set the HDMI audio to "PCM" on the Elite unit itself, it cleared that up. Everything is still decoded correctly.

"That's true bungi - I noticed massive lipsync issues when I first got the player (Avatar Blu-ray). I set it to PCM after that...."

Can us 62 owners now conclude that the Lip Synch issues are resolved with setting audio to PCM?

Or it may have been resolved with the latest firmware?

Maybe David Susilo can chime in?

My whole system is all disconnected for the time being so I cannot test the latest solution.

Thanks
Edllguy is offline  
post #790 of 866 Old 01-09-2014, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
maxleung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The lipsync issues I saw with Avatar were with the 2.06 and the 2.09 firmware.
maxleung is offline  
post #791 of 866 Old 01-10-2014, 01:01 PM
Member
 
MarlinFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Never noticed the lipsync issues either. Upgraded to 2.09 as soon as I got it and recently ran the 2.13 upgrade.

I will say that I was seriously considering putting it up on eBay before the 2.13 update. It was occasionally unresponsive to remote commands and I had problems "talking" with the iControl app. Now, all those problems appear to be gone. Not a peep about this in the readme. Go figure.
MarlinFan is offline  
post #792 of 866 Old 01-11-2014, 06:44 PM
Member
 
Mamiya7ii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am very happy that I can now use both my Pioneer receiver and my Pioneer BDP on the same Pioneer app. I had moved on to an app called Roomie which worked very well.
Mamiya7ii is offline  
post #793 of 866 Old 01-11-2014, 10:18 PM
Member
 
Wolfpacker96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarlinFan View Post

Never noticed the lipsync issues either. Upgraded to 2.09 as soon as I got it and recently ran the 2.13 upgrade.

I will say that I was seriously considering putting it up on eBay before the 2.13 update. It was occasionally unresponsive to remote commands and I had problems "talking" with the iControl app. Now, all those problems appear to be gone. Not a peep about this in the readme. Go figure.

Glad you're seeing improvements, but I installed the same update and haven't noticed any. Still very hard to get mine to work properly with the remote. Don't use iControl much. Maybe I'll try that more.
Wolfpacker96 is offline  
post #794 of 866 Old 01-12-2014, 02:48 AM
Member
 
Mamiya7ii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am glad that I can finally use the same Pionneer app to control my Pioneer receiver and Pioneer BDP. It drove me crazy having to use two. Not sure when this happened, I spent the money on the Roomie app, which works really good. But I still appreciate the software finally living up to its purpose.
Mamiya7ii is offline  
post #795 of 866 Old 01-13-2014, 08:50 AM
Member
 
MarlinFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfpacker96 View Post

Glad you're seeing improvements, but I installed the same update and haven't noticed any. Still very hard to get mine to work properly with the remote. Don't use iControl much. Maybe I'll try that more.

Hmm.. I have to point my remote directly at the 62FD for it to respond properly. My previous player, a Panasonic BDT110, was far superior in that regard.

Let me ask you a dumb question. Have you reset it by fully shutting it down and pulling the power plug? That worked for me. Like I said previously, go figure.
MarlinFan is offline  
post #796 of 866 Old 01-14-2014, 11:58 AM
Newbie
 
mrpeteyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The batteries that come with the remote are not good at all. After swapping them for new ones, the remote seems far more responsive.
mrpeteyguy is offline  
post #797 of 866 Old 01-17-2014, 11:13 AM
Member
 
bungi43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the most recent firmware upgrade, and I still notice it on bitstream. PCM works fine...so it's no sweat to me either way.

I love this unit, so glad i went this route!

bungi43 is offline  
post #798 of 866 Old 01-20-2014, 10:13 AM
Member
 
mazdacub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had mine for 32 days now. Yesterday during a flick the screen went red and purple with a pixel image. Tried changing out to other hdmi cable and tried 2 other tvs and same issue. Somethings if you unplug and replug the HDMI cable in 10 times the image might just work right after the HDMI handshake. Also tried to test with a 3d disk and a message came up that you need a compatible player to view 3d.The store i bought if from is doing nothing about it and im currently trying to deal with Pioneer directly.

Wish i went with the Oppo now.
mazdacub is offline  
post #799 of 866 Old 01-26-2014, 02:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ray77085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Having an issue playing a particular Blu-Ray called Elysium. All trailers and other content plays fine on the Blu-Ray. When the movie starts I get a purple background color. I have watched a lot of movies on this player, but so far this is the only one that has this issue.
Thankfully I have a Panasonic 220 still connected and it plays that same Blu-Ray without any issues connected to the same A/V receiver and TV.
What could be the problem with the BDP-62FD ?
Yes the player has the latest firmware installed.
Thanks for any info....

MY 7.4 SET UP. Not Perfect But Let's Just Say I'm Happy !!
Onkyo TX-NR809, (Klipsch-KF-28 mains),( Center KC-25), (Front wide- Primus P363), (AR-Stature S20 side surrounds).2 each Klipsch RW12D subs. HSU VTF-3 MK3 and HSU VTF-3 MK4 subs.
Mitsubishi 3D DLP MODEL73-738, DarbeeVision DVP-5000.Pioneer BDP-62FD.
Ray77085 is offline  
post #800 of 866 Old 01-26-2014, 04:37 PM
Member
 
Mamiya7ii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I watched that movie with no issue. I can't remember if it was before or after I upgraded. The disk was from Netflix.
Mamiya7ii is offline  
post #801 of 866 Old 01-26-2014, 06:01 PM
Member
 
mazdacub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just purple screen ? Or yellow is tone with purple. Try to change the colour dosage to full rgb on the player.
mazdacub is offline  
post #802 of 866 Old 01-26-2014, 06:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ray77085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazdacub View Post

Just purple screen ? Or yellow is tone with purple. Try to change the colour dosage to full rgb on the player.

Yes,
Could have some yellow and purple mixed ? Looks like a light purple/dark pink ?? Usually most movies have the black bar at the top and bottom. Those are in the purple mix color along with the movie. The color on the player is set to full RGB already.
I guess I could try another setting to if that changes anything ?
Thanks for the info....

MY 7.4 SET UP. Not Perfect But Let's Just Say I'm Happy !!
Onkyo TX-NR809, (Klipsch-KF-28 mains),( Center KC-25), (Front wide- Primus P363), (AR-Stature S20 side surrounds).2 each Klipsch RW12D subs. HSU VTF-3 MK3 and HSU VTF-3 MK4 subs.
Mitsubishi 3D DLP MODEL73-738, DarbeeVision DVP-5000.Pioneer BDP-62FD.
Ray77085 is offline  
post #803 of 866 Old 01-30-2014, 11:22 AM
Newbie
 
Ben82379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upgrade View Post

Hi All,

I recently purchased a bdp-62fd and have been running into a weird issue with it: from time to time throughout DVD or Blu-Ray playback the receiver that this unit is hooked up to shuts off, then turns back on without any action on my part. The receiver does not shut off and turn back on randomly when any other device is running through it (cable box, PS3, Wii, Apple TV), so it must be that the Elite BDP-62FD is causing the receiver to turn off and back on.


The unit is hooked up to the receiver (Pioneer VSX-1020) via an HDMI cable (from HDMI Main to the BD HDMI port on the receiver). I contacted Pioneer technical support and they had know idea what was happening. The unit is out of the 30-day window to return it to the store where I bought, but it is stil under warranty. I really do not want to send the unit to Pioneer for possible repair when I don't know first know what is going on. Has anyone else run into this issue?

I hooked the unit up to the receiver with a different HDMI cable and had the same problem. I also hooked the unit up to a different HDMI port on the receiver and again, had the same issue. I am skeptical that there is just some setting on the unit or receiver that I have not set properly, but its worth asking before I pay out of pocket to ship this brand new unit across the country for warranty service. In scrolling through the set-up menu, the only setting that looked relevant was HDMI Control, which I have set to Off.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I am having the exact same issue as stated above for quite some time now. I also have my BDP-62 hooked up to a VSX-1020 and it will randomly shut the receiver on and off maybe once every 20-30 minutes. Only happens during DVD, Netflix, or at main menu of player. This oddly does not happen while playing back blu-ray discs. The player itself does not shut off, only the receiver and then it will promptly power back on. I sent in the player for warranty and Pioneer swapped out the main board, however, when receiving it back I'm having the same problem still. Both the player and receiver have HDMI control off. I tried calling Pioneer again after the warranty and no one has an answer and would rather push me around to different departments until I just hung up not wanting to waste anymore of my time. Does anyone here have any insight on this? Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated at this point.
Ben82379 is offline  
post #804 of 866 Old 02-03-2014, 10:50 AM
Newbie
 
tsr06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben82379 View Post

I am having the exact same issue as stated above for quite some time now. I also have my BDP-62 hooked up to a VSX-1020 and it will randomly shut the receiver on and off maybe once every 20-30 minutes. Only happens during DVD, Netflix, or at main menu of player. This oddly does not happen while playing back blu-ray discs. The player itself does not shut off, only the receiver and then it will promptly power back on. I sent in the player for warranty and Pioneer swapped out the main board, however, when receiving it back I'm having the same problem still. Both the player and receiver have HDMI control off. I tried calling Pioneer again after the warranty and no one has an answer and would rather push me around to different departments until I just hung up not wanting to waste anymore of my time. Does anyone here have any insight on this? Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated at this point.

I'm in the same boat with 1120. AFAIK, the only solution to this problem is to disconnect either BDP or VSX from the network. There was quite long thread related to this issue for BDP-440 (BDP-53FD in US) and VSX-1120 combo, I guess it's never been fixed (http://www.avsforum.com/t/1335651/pioneer-blu-ray-players-2011-bdp-140-bdp-440-bdp-lx55-bdp-53fd/660#post_21127879).

If you find another solution, I would be glad to hear, I really like to control my receiver with iPad.
tsr06 is offline  
post #805 of 866 Old 02-03-2014, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,378
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I know that the BDP-150 is 480i capable via HDMI. Unless my text-to-speech software isn't loading the PDF correctly, in the manual for the BDP-62FD, I can't find anything about 480i in the HDMI options. Will the 62FD output 480i via HDMI Main, Sub, none, or both? I know it can do 480p, but if I can get 480i out of it, I might see if I can get one of these brand new because it looks like Pioneer won't be releasing any new Blu-ray players any time soon.
Big C is offline  
post #806 of 866 Old 02-04-2014, 05:49 PM
Newbie
 
Ben82379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsr06 View Post


I'm in the same boat with 1120. AFAIK, the only solution to this problem is to disconnect either BDP or VSX from the network. There was quite long thread related to this issue for BDP-440 (BDP-53FD in US) and VSX-1120 combo, I guess it's never been fixed (http://www.avsforum.com/t/1335651/pioneer-blu-ray-players-2011-bdp-140-bdp-440-bdp-lx55-bdp-53fd/660#post_21127879).

If you find another solution, I would be glad to hear, I really like to control my receiver with iPad.

Can't thank you enough for this. Pulled the network cable out of my receiver and everything works as it should. I just can't believe Pioneer didn't have a clue about this or that it even happens.

Sent from my One using Tapatalk
Ben82379 is offline  
post #807 of 866 Old 02-05-2014, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,378
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I know the BDP-62FD and BDP-450 can output 480p, but can they output 480i via HDMI Main, Sub, both, or neither?
Big C is offline  
post #808 of 866 Old 02-09-2014, 07:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ray77085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazdacub View Post

Just purple screen ? Or yellow is tone with purple. Try to change the colour dosage to full rgb on the player.

Went in and tested the Elysium Blu Ray with RGB and Full RGB and both have the issue with the color of purple hue etc. Changed the settings to ycbcy and ycbcr422 and it played perfect. I read some where on this thread that the best setting is Full RGB.
So what is the problem with this Blu Ray and or the player as all other Blu Ray's have worked without this issue in the Full RGB setting ??

What are your thoughts ??
Thanks

MY 7.4 SET UP. Not Perfect But Let's Just Say I'm Happy !!
Onkyo TX-NR809, (Klipsch-KF-28 mains),( Center KC-25), (Front wide- Primus P363), (AR-Stature S20 side surrounds).2 each Klipsch RW12D subs. HSU VTF-3 MK3 and HSU VTF-3 MK4 subs.
Mitsubishi 3D DLP MODEL73-738, DarbeeVision DVP-5000.Pioneer BDP-62FD.
Ray77085 is offline  
post #809 of 866 Old 02-09-2014, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray77085 View Post

So what is the problem with this Blu Ray and or the player as all other Blu Ray's have worked without this issue in the Full RGB setting ??

This is a Sony "Mastered in 4K" disc, which says in the fine print "Expanded color requires xvYCC-enabled TV and Blu-ray player."
What they don't tell you is results will be very unpredictable if you don't use the right Sony hardware.
My guess is you have x.v. color enabled somewhere it shouldn't be.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #810 of 866 Old 02-09-2014, 11:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
mantaraydesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I was looking the specs on this player and I see this player got the 192kHz/24-bit Audio DAC. Is that like a typo on the Pioneer website because I do not see Left/Right Analog connection on the back of this player.
mantaraydesign is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Pioneer Elite Bdp 62fd , Bdp 52fd , Pioneer Elite

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off