AVS Owner's thread for the pioneer elite bdp-62fd.. - Page 29 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #841 of 850 Old 06-04-2014, 09:05 AM
Member
 
ChrisTheKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by hermes_vb View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisTheKid View Post

Ahhh Finally!

Glad to finally get to join you guys. Firmware is updated to 2.13 and such.

Can you tell me something that's been in my mind for quite some time? Are you able to play SACD-R with the newest firmware. I've had this unit for about two years when Best Buy had it for $199. I only use this player for playing SACD-R. I haven't updated the firmware because I don't want to risk losing that ability like my Oppo BDP-103 after a firmware update.

I haven't tried a burnt disc yet. i will try one tonight.

Panasonic TC-P65VT60
Pioneer Elite SC-55
Klipsch RF-3, RP-3, RC-3, RS-3
Bang & Olufsen Beogram TX
Pioneer Elite BDP-62FD
XBOX-360, XBOX-ONE, PS3(60GB)
ChrisTheKid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #842 of 850 Old 06-04-2014, 07:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcm5 View Post

I do not understand how to unlock the region to DVD? Where do I put "3344"?
You have to flash the player with a "special" firmware that is known as CFW. I suggest googling it as discussion of the firmware hack is not allowed.

bguzman is offline  
post #843 of 850 Old 06-04-2014, 10:02 PM
Member
 
ChrisTheKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by hermes_vb View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisTheKid View Post

Ahhh Finally!

Glad to finally get to join you guys. Firmware is updated to 2.13 and such.

Can you tell me something that's been in my mind for quite some time? Are you able to play SACD-R with the newest firmware. I've had this unit for about two years when Best Buy had it for $199. I only use this player for playing SACD-R. I haven't updated the firmware because I don't want to risk losing that ability like my Oppo BDP-103 after a firmware update.

Well I can confirm burnt DVD-A discs work (I have a program that can make DVD-A discs biggrin.gif) I just realized i have no SACD-R right now, but if a burnt DVD-A works i see no reason why SACD-R would't work.

Panasonic TC-P65VT60
Pioneer Elite SC-55
Klipsch RF-3, RP-3, RC-3, RS-3
Bang & Olufsen Beogram TX
Pioneer Elite BDP-62FD
XBOX-360, XBOX-ONE, PS3(60GB)
ChrisTheKid is offline  
post #844 of 850 Old 06-06-2014, 10:26 AM
Newbie
 
deskjob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hey guys, I've been following this thread ever since my 62fd started having netflix issues. A couple days ago, I was so annoyed at not being able to stream netflix AT ALL that I sent a strong worded email to Pioneer support. I got the following reply from them two days later on 6/3/2014:

 

Quote:

Thank you for contacting Pioneer Electronics (USA) Inc.

 

I'm sorry to hear you are having problems accessing Netflix through our player.

This is an issue we have reported to our engineers. They are working with Netflix to determine the cause and provide a resolution.

At this time we do not have an ETA for the resolution.

 

Rocky

Customer Service Representative

 

Now, last night, I decided to try netflix again on the player and it works now! I am still on the 2.09 firmware, and didn't do anything on my end so this must have been from pioneer and/or netflix. There were still a few times where the player crashed back to the start screen after selecting a title to stream. But I'll take it.

deskjob is offline  
post #845 of 850 Old 06-08-2014, 09:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mantis10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pa
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Whats up everyone?
Anyone have one of these players? I have noticed a few of them now not working with Netflix. All players have firmware updated to latest version and what happens is Netflix gets to the home page, you see your sign in names or users and then at this point you select which user you wanna log in under. So if you have 2 people on your account like you and your kids, you have to select which Netflix sign in you want to use.
What the Pioneer's now do is you get to this page and you can't select either user account. I removed the player from the account and cleared all Netflix players on said account. Then added in one of the Players and it does the same thing.
Updated firmare and still does the ams thing. Re factory setup player and still same thing. Tried to get a hold of someone at Pioneer and no call back yet.
Anyone else experiencing this?

Personally I don't use a Blu ray player for Netflix, I much prefer Apple TV or the Xbox which both IMO have better user interfaces.
Mantis10 is offline  
post #846 of 850 Old 06-12-2014, 10:05 PM
Member
 
hermes_vb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisTheKid View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by hermes_vb

Well I can confirm burnt DVD-A discs work (I have a program that can make DVD-A discs ) I just realized i have no SACD-R right now, but if a burnt DVD-A works i see no reason why SACD-R would't work.
Burnt DVD-A discs were never a problem. I can still play them on my Oppo. SACD-R is a whole different thing. Unless I'm sure the firmware won't screw it up, I'm keeping it unplugged from the net.
hermes_vb is offline  
post #847 of 850 Old 06-16-2014, 12:52 PM
Member
 
48548's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well my pioneer display just went dark and after an hour or so it will start to be dim,but display some data. I took it back to bestbuy as I had the gs 4 year warranty. They wanted to send it out for repair. I wasn't up for that. I argued and got most of the money back and pro-rated warranty. I then paid the difference for the oppo 103. Much better in build quality and weight. Nice packing with the bag inside as well. I am bummed out as I didn't use my pioneer much, but maybe 50-100 hours and the display took a dump. The fl button didn't help either. I wish I could have saved some money and now I have a worthless pioneer wireless adapter....
48548 is offline  
post #848 of 850 Old 07-06-2014, 05:03 PM
Newbie
 
cscollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased the BDP-62fd using cc points. Love watching DVD's with the up scaling. Look almost as good as blue ray. Blue rays look fantastic.

I use it mostly for netflix and it does not disappoint. I have been having a issue with netflix not loading when the player is setup using quick start. The player locks ups with the pioneer screen like it didnt run the netflix executable file. I switched back to normal start up and it works fine. I really want to use quick start so i can turn on the BDP using icontrol2012.

My current setup is:
SC65
BDP-62fd
Sony cd changer

Anyone have a fix?
cscollis is offline  
post #849 of 850 Old 08-07-2014, 07:17 AM
Member
 
bilbo46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cscollis View Post
I purchased the BDP-62fd using cc points. Love watching DVD's with the up scaling. Look almost as good as blue ray. Blue rays look fantastic.

I use it mostly for netflix and it does not disappoint. I have been having a issue with netflix not loading when the player is setup using quick start. The player locks ups with the pioneer screen like it didnt run the netflix executable file. I switched back to normal start up and it works fine. I really want to use quick start so i can turn on the BDP using icontrol2012.

My current setup is:
SC65
BDP-62fd
Sony cd changer

Anyone have a fix?
Welcome to the frustrating world of Pioneer Netflix streaming. It will work fine for a while and then stop for no apparent reason. I thought the problem was fixed. I'm not sure whether it is a Netflix or a Pio problem. I have a cheap Samsung, as backup, and it works every time. I suspect that this is a case of the old saying, "keep it simple".
bilbo46 is offline  
post #850 of 850 Old 08-26-2014, 10:47 AM
Member
 
bungi43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update: I went from an Elite VSX-23 to an SC-77...I don't have the lip sync issues now. I was able to put it back at bitstream.

bungi43 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Pioneer Elite Bdp 62fd , Bdp 52fd , Pioneer Elite

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off