Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 145 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 480Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2013, 05:41 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,647
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 932 Post(s)
Liked: 1157
^ I'm not seeing that, and in general, comments here on Netflix quality on the 103 compared to the PS3 have been quite positive.

I don't doubt you are seeing what you are reporting, but this is not normal.

I doubt it is a hardware problem. Sorting out a software problem should probably start with a fresh re-install of the firmware followed by a full Reset, including a power down and pulling the power plug for about 10 seconds.

ETA: I presume you are aware that all quality comparisons for Netflix have been thrown for a loop by their recent change of compression codecs and the resulting loss of X-High/HD bit rate. I.e., you can't compare current streams to your memory of the prior streaming quality.

Even so, I'm not seeing the problem you are reporting.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2013, 08:13 AM
Member
 
FlatRocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have tested oppo-103 using motorola 3510m on a 150" screen verses onkyo tx-nr818. Oppo makes picture look much better with or without settings. Better to watch blue ray without any change in settings but for cable signal oppo makes picture cleaner better than straight feed or onkyo. Specialy watching sports. Even though onkyo and oppo may have the same video chip? Or is it properitary to oppo only?
FlatRocky is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thirdkind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ I'm not seeing that, and in general, comments here on Netflix quality on the 103 compared to the PS3 have been quite positive.

I don't doubt you are seeing what you are reporting, but this is not normal.

I doubt it is a hardware problem. Sorting out a software problem should probably start with a fresh re-install of the firmware followed by a full Reset, including a power down and pulling the power plug for about 10 seconds.

ETA: I presume you are aware that all quality comparisons for Netflix have been thrown for a loop by their recent change of compression codecs and the resulting loss of X-High/HD bit rate. I.e., you can't compare current streams to your memory of the prior streaming quality.

My comparisons are based on flipping back and forth between the same content at the same streaming quality; both the 103 and my PS3 are connected to my receiver, which I use as an HDMI switch. My receiver has no video processing over HDMI, it's straight pass-through. Both show High / HD as the quality level. I generally have been pleased with the quality of HD content on Netflix (it's good enough for blowing through multiple seasons of TV shows quickly), which is why the downgrade on the 103 was surprising and immediately noticeable. Everything on the Oppo looks smoothed over compared to the PS3. I was being a bit hyperbolic earlier because it's not awful, but it's certainly not great. If I'd never seen Netflix on the PS3, I'd probably give the Oppo a passing grade, but with the comparison, the Oppo comes up short.

I installed the latest firmware via the internet last night and did a full reset before setting up the 103, but I'll reinstall the firmware tonight via USB and do another reset.
thirdkind is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 08:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,210
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 402
^^^
Netflix is certainly not the best source for using to evaluate the Qdeo processor. It's also possible that in spite of "High-HD" indicators, the PS3 could be receiving a higher bit rate stream. The current state of HD streaming on Netflix is at best unpredictable.

A better comparison might be a DVD. You'll see that same type of DNR in use on a DVD, but the difference falls more into the "personal preference" area and its not immediately obvious. Personally I prefer the output from HDMI-2 for all sources, other people feel the opposite.
rdgrimes is online now  
Old 01-11-2013, 10:54 AM
Member
 
ajaxmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ajax (Toronto) Canada
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmacari View Post

..just wondering why you aren't keeping the 990 in the loop...

No need for the 990 since the Oppo did everything I needed. I gave up the automated microphone volume and distance setup in the 990, so I had to do it manually. I didn't know this until later, but I also gave up the ability to use the fronts as full range and the sub at the same time (the Oppo had more flexible bass management), but hopefully this will be fixed in a firmware update if many of us request it.

Bottom line though, I needed to sell the 990 to pay for the 103.
ajaxmike is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 11:17 AM
Member
 
ajaxmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ajax (Toronto) Canada
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny tuna View Post

This is the reply I got back. To be blunt, I know some things about some things, but do not know how to interpret this. I am wondering why they didn't just say they are working on a firmware fix. For the record, my amp is an outlaw 7075. I don't think there is any problem with the outlaw amp.

"If the input impedance of the receiver is low, then these errors may be present as the amplifier is amplifying the noise close to the Noise Floor. We would recommend using a 6dB to 12dB attenuator between the player and the amplifier's analog inputs and see if the same errors persist. If the errors persist, then it is possible that you have a defective unit and we would recommend having it replaced through the reseller that you bought the player form as it is possible that you have a defective unit."

Hmmm. My Anthem MCA-5 has a 21K input impedance, so I doubt that is a problem unless the 103 has a really high output impedance (it's not listed in the specs). As for adding an attenuator, that wouldn't work well for me as the volume at 100% is a bit too low for me so I wouldn't want it any lower.
ajaxmike is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 11:18 AM
Member
 
spakins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my oppo 103 last night and so far am impressed. I do however have a few issues I noticed right off:
1.) M2ts filies play for 20 minutes or so then freeze. Also, I can't turn off closed caption on any of them.
2.) The player froze and I had to turn off and back on when I tried to play files from front USB. As a result, I assume M2ts files only play from rear USB ports on all OPPO 103s

Anyone have similar issues and find a resolution to them? Thanks for your time.
spakins is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 11:41 AM
Member
 
ajaxmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ajax (Toronto) Canada
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny tuna View Post

To update the issue of hiss and pops when using analog audio and no preamp - this is what I got from Oppo:

There is no firmware fix for audio hiss or hum. Hum is due to a ground looping error in the system that can usually be resolved by isolating any cable or satellite box from your receiver.

Hiss is due to the amplifier picking up audio close to the noise floor. This is usually due to the input impedance on the amplifier being low or amplifier expecting a lower voltage. Putting an attenuator between the player and the amplifier has been known to resolve these issues.

If the issues persist after installing attenuators, then the errors may be related to a defective player (which we recommended trying) or an incompatibility with the amplifier. We have done our own testing with a wide variety of amplifiers and we can't verify the hiss. So either there are defective units out in the field which need to be replaced, or attenuators need to be used with incredibly sensitive amplifiers which we do not have in our office for testing.

A pre-amplifier will resolve your issues because pre-amplifiers are high impedance, high resistance so they will never be able to receive a signal which is close to the noise floor where the hiss is coming from.

This makes sense. I am not having hiss or hum issues -- I am having digital thump and pop issues when handshakes occur. Kudos to Oppo though for not just blowing you off with "must be a cable issue" even though that's what it likely is.
ajaxmike is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 11:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,210
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by spakins View Post

Got my oppo 103 last night and so far am impressed. I do however have a few issues I noticed right off:
1.) M2ts filies play for 20 minutes or so then freeze. Also, I can't turn off closed caption on any of them
2.) The player froze and I had to turn off and back on when I tried to play files from front USB. As a result, I assume M2ts files only play from rear USB ports on all OPPO 103s

Anyone have similar issues and find a resolution to them? Thanks for your time.

Assuming you are playing these files via attached storage? sounds like your HDD is going into sleep mode against your wishes. This accounts for the freeze. Not an easy issue to resolve, but if it's a self-powered HDD you have no options but to try a different one.
As for subtitles, you should be able to turn them off with the subtitle button on the remote. If not than its an issue with how the files were made. Even if the OSd says that subtitles are "off", cycle them on and off again and it should resolve. this may re-occur if you stop and re-start the file.

It makes no difference whether you're using the front or rear USB ports.
rdgrimes is online now  
Old 01-11-2013, 12:12 PM
Member
 
ajaxmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ajax (Toronto) Canada
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodge827 View Post

ajaxmike,

Thanks for the info.
I have a 6.1 in the wall speaker set up which are kept to small and route all bass to the sub.
That sucks that you can't run your fronts in full range. I hope Oppo will address that soon, it makes no sence that you can't run them full range.
The loud thump/pop might be a deal breaker for me.

Chris

I am confident that they will fix the thump/pop through firmware as Oppo has acknowledged it as their problem. Unfortunately, they don't see the crossover issue as a bug, so there is no commitment to fix it at this point. If we start asking for it, I suspect they will do it, as it isn't that difficult to implement.

Mike
ajaxmike is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajaxmike View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny tuna View Post

This is the reply I got back. To be blunt, I know some things about some things, but do not know how to interpret this. I am wondering why they didn't just say they are working on a firmware fix. For the record, my amp is an outlaw 7075. I don't think there is any problem with the outlaw amp.

"If the input impedance of the receiver is low, then these errors may be present as the amplifier is amplifying the noise close to the Noise Floor. We would recommend using a 6dB to 12dB attenuator between the player and the amplifier's analog inputs and see if the same errors persist. If the errors persist, then it is possible that you have a defective unit and we would recommend having it replaced through the reseller that you bought the player form as it is possible that you have a defective unit."

Hmmm. My Anthem MCA-5 has a 21K input impedance, so I doubt that is a problem unless the 103 has a really high output impedance (it's not listed in the specs). As for adding an attenuator, that wouldn't work well for me as the volume at 100% is a bit too low for me so I wouldn't want it any lower.

 

Oppo 103/105 output impedance of 100 ohms on the RCA outputs, so your 21K i/p impedance is more than large enough to not load the Oppo output stage.


How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 12:23 PM
Member
 
ajaxmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ajax (Toronto) Canada
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

I don't believe this is correct. If Sub is ON, LF/RF are Large, and the Surrounds and Center are Small then the Sub WILL get bass steered from the Surrounds and Center while LF/RF get sent their full frequency range. The Sub will need +15dB boost external to the player.
--Bob

My sub was completely dead even at full gain at the sub and the Oppo setup. Perhaps there was no bass content in the surrounds or center channel, but I doubt that. Also from Oppo:

"When the speakers are set to LARGE then there is no bass management for that speaker. So the subwoofer will only get LFE in this configuration. You will need to set the speakers to SMALL if you want bass management to occur for sources which do not have LFE signal."
ajaxmike is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 12:26 PM
Member
 
spakins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

Assuming you are playing these files via attached storage? sounds like your HDD is going into sleep mode against your wishes. This accounts for the freeze. Not an easy issue to resolve, but if it's a self-powered HDD you have no options but to try a different one.
As for subtitles, you should be able to turn them off with the subtitle button on the remote. If not than its an issue with how the files were made. Even if the OSd says that subtitles are "off", cycle them on and off again and it should resolve. this may re-occur if you stop and re-start the file.

It makes no difference whether you're using the front or rear USB ports.

Thanks for the advice. I will try the front USB port again and will use a different USB source (micro sdxc and usb card reader) to ensure the HD going to sleep isnt the issue.

As far as the closed caption goes, I did try to cycle many times, but will try again. Worst case is I just re-encode the files and remove closed caption. I dont use it anyway.

Thanks again.
spakins is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 12:27 PM
Member
 
ajaxmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ajax (Toronto) Canada
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post

Oppo 103/105 output impedance of 100 ohms on the RCA outputs, so your 21K i/p impedance is more than large enough to not load the Oppo output stage.

Thanks. That what I expected.
ajaxmike is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 12:42 PM
Newbie
 
johnny tuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajaxmike View Post

Thanks. That what I expected.

My amp has the following :
Input Impedance: Nominal 50k ohms

What does not mean with respect to the Oppo specs? Because I get a constant hiss and very loud pops and cracks when switching inputs, channels, Bluray chapters etc. I am thinking that my experieent to have an Oppo as a preamp has failed and I should break down and get a preamp.
johnny tuna is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 01:11 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,502
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1082 Post(s)
Liked: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by spakins View Post

Got my oppo 103 last night and so far am impressed. I do however have a few issues I noticed right off:
1.) M2ts filies play for 20 minutes or so then freeze. Also, I can't turn off closed caption on any of them.
2.) The player froze and I had to turn off and back on when I tried to play files from front USB. As a result, I assume M2ts files only play from rear USB ports on all OPPO 103s

Anyone have similar issues and find a resolution to them? Thanks for your time.

Someone forward me email from OPPO support where they say the stopping is a known problem with M2TS files, to be addressed in future firmware.

As an experiment you might try converting one to MKV to see how it works. I believe mkvmerge will do it.

Subtitles: don't know.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Old 01-11-2013, 01:15 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,647
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 932 Post(s)
Liked: 1157
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajaxmike View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

I don't believe this is correct. If Sub is ON, LF/RF are Large, and the Surrounds and Center are Small then the Sub WILL get bass steered from the Surrounds and Center while LF/RF get sent their full frequency range. The Sub will need +15dB boost external to the player.
--Bob

My sub was completely dead even at full gain at the sub and the Oppo setup. Perhaps there was no bass content in the surrounds or center channel, but I doubt that. Also from Oppo:

"When the speakers are set to LARGE then there is no bass management for that speaker. So the subwoofer will only get LFE in this configuration. You will need to set the speakers to SMALL if you want bass management to occur for sources which do not have LFE signal."

The OPPO comment is of course correct. Speakers that are set to Large do not get Crossover processing. That's what "Large" means in this context.

But with a mix of both Large and Small speakers, those Small speakers WILL get crossover processing.

So there was something else at work here. For example, if you were playing an SACD with DSD-direct-to-Analog Conversion engaged, then no audio processing is possible -- including no bass management. Use SACD Output PCM instead.

Also, just to cover the basics, those Speaker Configuration settings in the OPPO are only for the multi-channel Analog outputs. If you are using HDMI audio they have no effect. (Instead, there will be settings in your HDMI AVR for this.)
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 01:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thirdkind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

Netflix is certainly not the best source for using to evaluate the Qdeo processor. It's also possible that in spite of "High-HD" indicators, the PS3 could be receiving a higher bit rate stream. The current state of HD streaming on Netflix is at best unpredictable.

A better comparison might be a DVD. You'll see that same type of DNR in use on a DVD, but the difference falls more into the "personal preference" area and its not immediately obvious. Personally I prefer the output from HDMI-2 for all sources, other people feel the opposite.

I'm just really surprised that any modern video processor would apply noise reduction that can't be turned off. And if I switch to HDMI 2, I lose the great processing that I do want, like Qdeo's upscaling and 24fps DVD playback.

If I use the 103 to play Blu-ray discs, DVDs, and Netflix via HDMI 2, is it really providing any better performance than a cheaper player?
thirdkind is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 01:36 PM
Member
 
Despoiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdkind View Post


I'm just really surprised that any modern video processor would apply noise reduction that can't be turned off.

You haven't established that though. It's an assumption on your part.
Despoiler is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Just a quick question does the 103 have a streaming app for amazon prime? Thanks in advance

william06 is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Charlie Tango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdkind View Post

I'm just really surprised that any modern video processor would apply noise reduction that can't be turned off. And if I switch to HDMI 2, I lose the great processing that I do want, like Qdeo's upscaling and 24fps DVD playback.

If I use the 103 to play Blu-ray discs, DVDs, and Netflix via HDMI 2, is it really providing any better performance than a cheaper player?
The 103 does not use the QDEO processor for upscaling and 24fps DVD playback. It uses the Mediatek decoder.
Charlie Tango is online now  
Old 01-11-2013, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thirdkind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Despoiler View Post

You haven't established that though. It's an assumption on your part.

Others have said that it's noise reduction (see the post by rdgrimes above). The only thing I assumed is that they're right smile.gif
thirdkind is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,691
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 293
? For you 103 owners. Is any of you experiencing any lockups on newly released bd? I ask this because my new Pio 62 is locking up on some scenes on movies like Looper. And had major lockups on newly release Dredd. If the 103 plays smoothly, im thinking of returning my 62 to get a 103 instead. Pioneer hasn't release any updates for the 62. Thanks..
rhed is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 02:05 PM
Member
 
Despoiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdkind View Post

Others have said that it's noise reduction (see the post by rdgrimes above). The only thing I assumed is that they're right smile.gif

I read what he said. He said nothing of the sort. He said it's more likely that it's a Netflix bit rate issue. ie that Netflix has a couple of different bit rates under each generic heading like High-HD and you are not getting the highest one. It's a lot more likely a scenario than always on DNR. In any case it needs to be proven what it is before people start repeating it as fact.
Despoiler is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 02:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Recstar24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

^^^
Netflix is certainly not the best source for using to evaluate the Qdeo processor. It's also possible that in spite of "High-HD" indicators, the PS3 could be receiving a higher bit rate stream. The current state of HD streaming on Netflix is at best unpredictable.

A better comparison might be a DVD. You'll see that same type of DNR in use on a DVD, but the difference falls more into the "personal preference" area and its not immediately obvious. Personally I prefer the output from HDMI-2 for all sources, other people feel the opposite.

What's the difference between the 2 outputs video wise?
Recstar24 is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 02:25 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,647
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 932 Post(s)
Liked: 1157
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post

Just a quick question does the 103 have a streaming app for amazon prime? Thanks in advance

Not native on the player. If you get the optional Roku Streaming Stick there is a Roku version app for Amazon. However, there have been some reports of video quality problems with that one (probably needs either an app or firmware update).
--Bob
lanping09 likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thirdkind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Despoiler View Post

I read what he said. He said nothing of the sort. He said it's more likely that it's a Netflix bit rate issue. ie that Netflix has a couple of different bit rates under each generic heading like High-HD and you are not getting the highest one. It's a lot more likely a scenario than always on DNR. In any case it needs to be proven what it is before people start repeating it as fact.

I'm referring to this post from Neuromancer, which references something rdgrimes apparently said previously about Marvell applying DNR by default. I'm not making this stuff up, I'm only going by what reliable contributors have said.
thirdkind is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thirdkind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Tango View Post

The 103 does not use the QDEO processor for upscaling and 24fps DVD playback. It uses the Mediatek decoder.

Ah, I didn't realize. So Qdeo is just for noise reduction, edge enhancement, etc.? I never used any of those features on my 93, so I'd be happy to bypass them if the MediaTek decoder handles the stuff I need.
thirdkind is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Charlie Tango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdkind View Post

Ah, I didn't realize. So Qdeo is just for noise reduction, edge enhancement, etc.? I never used any of those features on my 93, so I'd be happy to bypass them if the MediaTek decoder handles the stuff I need.

That is correct. On the 93 the QDEO was used for deinterlacing, scaling, noise reduction, color and contast enhancement, etc. when using HDMI 1.The change was made for the 103/105.
Charlie Tango is online now  
Old 01-11-2013, 03:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,210
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdkind View Post

Ah, I didn't realize. So Qdeo is just for noise reduction, edge enhancement, etc.? I never used any of those features on my 93, so I'd be happy to bypass them if the MediaTek decoder handles the stuff I need.

At default settings, the Qdeo is applying NR, though very little. It's a judgement call on Oppo's part how much to apply, because some folks want none and some folks like it. HDMI-2 output is preferable to some folks, and the MTK decoder is extremely good for video processing. WAY better than older revisions. But by all means let Oppo know your preference for no NR at default settings.

But it bears repeating that using Netflix streams to judge image quality is misdirected energy. "HD" streams from Netflix are anything but HD, and they already use heavy DNR in their encoding. GIGO
rdgrimes is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off