Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 184 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5491 of 18010 Old 02-11-2013, 08:34 PM
Senior Member
 
bokes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just went back to the first page and clicked on some the recent review links.
How is it that none of the professional reviews mention the sharpness issue?
bokes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5492 of 18010 Old 02-11-2013, 08:42 PM
Member
 
Recstar24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokes View Post

I just went back to the first page and clicked on some the recent review links.
How is it that none of the professional reviews mention the sharpness issue?

They are probably testing with blu ray content or test patterns. For the most part blu ray seems to not suffer as much softening as its a high quality source. For cable content or DVD feeds the QDEO noise reduction seems to be a little more aggressive. Someone recently commented that it may be possible the noise reduction is adaptive and gets more aggressive with what it perceives to be lesser quality sources. To my eyes i can get away with blu ray at sharp 0 but for cable feed the sharp 1 seems to really help, or I just use hdmi2 out for cable.
Recstar24 is offline  
post #5493 of 18010 Old 02-11-2013, 09:11 PM
Member
 
Sidetracked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokes View Post

I just went back to the first page and clicked on some the recent review links.
How is it that none of the professional reviews mention the sharpness issue?

If I remember correctly (and why I'm hopeful a fix might be possible) no one noticed the sharpness issue until the latest firmware update. At least
I don't remember it being brought up here until shortly after that update, and initial speculation that the update was at fault. I remember posts talking
about 'since the update, sharpness at 0 seems fuzzy', coming from some of the most experienced members.

To quote Bob Pariseau from 3 weeks, 3 days ago;

"I agree. Picture Adjustment > HDMI 1 > Sharpness +1 is better for 1080p output of all content resolutions. The default (0) value for Sharpness is fuzzing the image in the Official 1220 firmware. Sharpness +1 works best with 1080p content, but is also an improvement for 720p and 480i content.

I have reported this to OPPO as a bug.

I should point out that this is not yet a CONFIRMED bug. We could both be wrong, or what we are seeing as a problem with the Sharpness setting may actually be a side-effect of some other, root problem elsewhere in the video chain. But right now, I can find no down-side to using Sharpness +1, so that seems to be a useful adjustment (workaround) while OPPO engineering sorts out what's really going on."
Sidetracked is offline  
post #5494 of 18010 Old 02-11-2013, 10:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 78

Anyone using their 103/105 with a Synology NAS? What software are you using to 'push' audio/video to the Oppo via the NAS? I've tried Video Station but it seems inadequate to do so...

 

- David


How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #5495 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 12:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Willie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: The Bay - Green Bay, WI
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Plex works well.I use it w/Netgear Genie app from my Android, or directly through the Oppo.
Willie is online now  
post #5496 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 05:45 AM
Member
 
Mojogypson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm replacing a Pioneer 51FD - it's currently giving me no disc reads far too often. (I think the laser is shot)

I've always been curious about the Oppo-the 103 looks interesting, although some recent comments here have me a bit worried.

My main concern is Blu Ray disc performance.
I would not use it for much else.
I burned all my DVD's and stream them via AppleTv (which is rare- most have been replaced with blu)
So, mostly I just watch movies/Tv shows on Blu Ray.

I read somewhere that Blu Ray performance will be more or less equal on low end machines vs high end.
The High end machines are only good for scaling and Audio upgrades.

So how does the 103 compare to say a cheaper Samsung or Sony in terms of Blu Ray performance?

Thanks
Mojogypson is offline  
post #5497 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 05:53 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mojogypson View Post

So how does the 103 compare to say a cheaper Samsung or Sony in terms of Blu Ray performance?

Thanks

Welcome to AVSForum.

Blu-ray performance will be very similar across all players.

This is partly an article of faith because little published testing is done on Blu-ray players, unlike the DVD era when we had largic public databases of test results.

There is no reason for much variation in BR results but we have seen many bugs in consumer electronics before. One of the Sony players was shown to be putting out the wrong black levels a while back, which is a pretty basic error.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #5498 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 05:56 AM
Member
 
astrogeeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mojogypson View Post


So how does the 103 compare to say a cheaper Samsung or Sony in terms of Blu Ray performance?

Thanks

i have a sony s590 and an oppo 103.. very little (if any) difference in blu ray performance on my benq w7000 projector just in terms of video quality. there are other video related features that make the oppo worthwhile for me (and lots of audio related).

  • menus/load times much faster
  • very flexible zoom (makes 2:35 movies much more enjoyable on my 16:9 screen by reducing letter boxing)

 

but purely in terms of a better blu ray image? thats a tough sell for an extra $400.

 

my $.02

astrogeeker is offline  
post #5499 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 06:04 AM
Member
 
vahighland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone else use the Harmony One remote with the OPPO? I'm trying to get the discreet Power ON and Power OFF to work. The Power Toggle works, but not the discreet codes.
vahighland is offline  
post #5500 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 06:43 AM
EVT
AVS Special Member
 
EVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by vahighland View Post

Does anyone else use the Harmony One remote with the OPPO? I'm trying to get the discreet Power ON and Power OFF to work. The Power Toggle works, but not the discreet codes.

I had the same problem. I haven't fixed mine yet but I did read that you can use older codes like the codes from the Oppo BDP-83 to do it. You could also just setup your device as an Oppo BDP-83 and then teach the harmony the additional 103 commands manually.
EVT is offline  
post #5501 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 06:46 AM
EVT
AVS Special Member
 
EVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willie View Post

Plex works well.I use it w/Netgear Genie app from my Android, or directly through the Oppo.

Is there any media front-end that can be used with the Oppo - e.g. Media Browser, MyMovies, XBMC, etc.?
EVT is offline  
post #5502 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 06:46 AM
Newbie
 
clidaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Recstar24 View Post

Yay! You are the first person I think I've legitimately helped smile.gif I actually have both outputs connected to tv - I prefer hdmi 1 sharpness +1 but when the handshaking drives me crazy i switch to hdmi2. I use the QDEO for bluray and sometimes use the hdmi2 for my cable.

I like the idea of having two connections, because using HDMI2 also solved my handshake issues. I liked the picture from HDMI1 a little better (more punch, at least on my 50" 2008 Panny Plasma), but I'll take the small trade-off in exchange for ending the handshake problems. I definitely have plenty of HDMI connections; all I need to do is find another HDMI cable. I do have one strange problem, which is present using both HDMI1 and HDMI2. Whenever I switch from a HD to a SD station (or the on-demand menu option), switching back to a HD picture gives me black bars on the side. Switching to the blu-ray player input and then back to the HDMI back input returns the HD picture to full screen. I don't switch from the HD channels often, so it isn't a big deal. I just find it odd.
clidaw is offline  
post #5503 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 07:19 AM
Member
 
electricmanscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've given up hope on Netflix working properly. I'll just assume that Oppo can't properly integrate it into their five hundred dollar player. Here's a couple of new issues. First, I had a Blu Ray paused for a little while the other day while I left the room. When I came back, the screensaver was on. I pressed play to resume and it took me to the main menu of the disc and the only thing I could do was restart from the beginning. I tried this a couple times and the same thing happened. Second, I was using VUDU and paused for a minute. All of the info, see crappy pictures below, was restricted to one corner of the screen. I stopped what I was watching and went back the the VUDU main page and it was also a small part of the scree. Rebooted and it worked properly. This has happened a few times.

VUDU on Panasonic 65" GT50


Same view as above

Dedicated theater

JVC RS46U

Lumagen XE3D

115"d 16:9 DIY AT Seymour XD screen with DIY masking

Marantz SR7008

Oppo BDP103

Darbee Darblet

Klipsch RF7II mains

Klipsch RC64II center

PSA XS15 Sub

Roku3

Harmony 900

electricmanscott is offline  
post #5504 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 07:27 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by electricmanscott View Post

First, I had a Blu Ray paused for a little while the other day while I left the room. When I came back, the screensaver was on. I pressed play to resume and it took me to the main menu of the disc and the only thing I could do was restart from the beginning. I tried this a couple times and the same thing happened.

What disc was that? Was it the player screensaver or the disc screensaver?

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #5505 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 07:41 AM
Member
 
astrogeeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by electricmanscott View Post

 First, I had a Blu Ray paused for a little while the other day while I left the room. When I came back, the screensaver was on. I pressed play to resume and it took me to the main menu of the disc and the only thing I could do was restart from the beginning. I tried this a couple times and the same thing happened. 
 

i've had this happen at least once as well.

astrogeeker is offline  
post #5506 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 07:45 AM
Member
 
electronics craz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
question I have blu ray silence of the lambs played fine in oppo 93 went to play in 103 last night it reads the disc then nothing?it reads all zeros on display panel no picture.Any ideals?
electronics craz is offline  
post #5507 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 08:01 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by electronics craz View Post

question I have blu ray silence of the lambs played fine in oppo 93 went to play in 103 last night it reads the disc then nothing?it reads all zeros on display panel no picture.Any ideals?

Just tested my copy and no problems here.

Does it play the intro material or just nothing? Did you try it more than once? Is this the only BR that doesn't play?

Turn off BD-Live, Erase Persistent Storage, turn the player off and on again.

Still no good?

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #5508 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 08:06 AM
Senior Member
 
bokes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've had the 103 for about a week now. The build quality is solid and the sound is quite nice,
but in this short time- I've experienced most of the issues brought up here.
The worst being- discs locking up and not being able to decide on sharpness 0 or +1.
I find myself watching for issues vs watching the movie. (to my eyes: 0 is fuzzy and +1 is too much sharpness in image makes it unnatural)

I'm sending it back.
Thanks for the help and Good luck.
bokes is offline  
post #5509 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 08:16 AM
Member
 
electronics craz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
plays just nothing/ive tried all you suggested several times will try again today
electronics craz is offline  
post #5510 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 08:20 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by electronics craz View Post

plays just nothing/ive tried all you suggested several times will try again today

Is this the only BR that doesn't play?

Is this a stock North American player? No region-free mod?

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #5511 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 08:24 AM
Member
 
electronics craz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes others play fine it is north American version
electronics craz is offline  
post #5512 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 08:27 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by electronics craz View Post

yes others play fine it is north American version

That's mysterious. Are you running current firmware?

Contact OPPO support with the disc details and see if they have any suggestions.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #5513 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 08:32 AM
Member
 
electronics craz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes its current firmware.it loads says bdmv then says stop then all zero's on display panel.will try oppo
electronics craz is offline  
post #5514 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 08:34 AM
Member
 
dstr212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokes View Post

I just went back to the first page and clicked on some the recent review links.
How is it that none of the professional reviews mention the sharpness issue?

This is why I started my original post, I had read all of the reviews online and here so it seemed like a slam dunk, then I get the player and it looks actually worse than my Panny. If the reviews and praise hadn't been so gushing I probably wouldn't have said anything, but its probably fortunate that they did. Just feel taken advantage of for now but willing to wait and see for fix. There better be a fix because this is unacceptable honestly.
dstr212 is offline  
post #5515 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 08:38 AM
Member
 
dstr212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidetracked View Post

If I remember correctly (and why I'm hopeful a fix might be possible) no one noticed the sharpness issue until the latest firmware update. At least
I don't remember it being brought up here until shortly after that update, and initial speculation that the update was at fault. I remember posts talking
about 'since the update, sharpness at 0 seems fuzzy', coming from some of the most experienced members.

To quote Bob Pariseau from 3 weeks, 3 days ago;

"I agree. Picture Adjustment > HDMI 1 > Sharpness +1 is better for 1080p output of all content resolutions. The default (0) value for Sharpness is fuzzing the image in the Official 1220 firmware. Sharpness +1 works best with 1080p content, but is also an improvement for 720p and 480i content.

I have reported this to OPPO as a bug.

I should point out that this is not yet a CONFIRMED bug. We could both be wrong, or what we are seeing as a problem with the Sharpness setting may actually be a side-effect of some other, root problem elsewhere in the video chain. But right now, I can find no down-side to using Sharpness +1, so that seems to be a useful adjustment (workaround) while OPPO engineering sorts out what's really going on."

This issue had to be in the original shipped condition or the first firmware update in Dec, because I did the firmware update as soon as I got the issue and was immediately put off. The second firmware update in Jan did not rectify it so I can only assume one of the other two options.
dstr212 is offline  
post #5516 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 09:05 AM
Member
 
vahighland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by EVT View Post

I had the same problem. I haven't fixed mine yet but I did read that you can use older codes like the codes from the Oppo BDP-83 to do it. You could also just setup your device as an Oppo BDP-83 and then teach the harmony the additional 103 commands manually.
Thanks EVT, I'll try the BDP-83 trick.
vahighland is offline  
post #5517 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 10:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
hodges69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I have had the 103 for a few days now......the only problem I have encountered so far deals with Netflix streaming.....for about 60-90 seconds.....the picture is fuzzy and looks worse than SD...after that...all is golden....I have changed my DNS1 and 2 settings per OPPO...but still having problems....using the 103 wireless(at a clocked speed of 11)..thru a Denon cs2311 receiver....input 1 on 103...directv...panny vt30 65"TV....all thru HDMI...
Any suggestion?
Thanks
hodges69 is offline  
post #5518 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 10:32 AM
Newbie
 
kwffs0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had to use the OPPO BDP-103EU software to get the control I needed which would let me have the OPPO start up on the HDMI input in the back for the comcast cable box instead of the bluray player.
kwffs0 is offline  
post #5519 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 10:37 AM
Newbie
 
kwffs0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That was in response to ]VAHIGHLAND and the harmony remote question.
kwffs0 is offline  
post #5520 of 18010 Old 02-12-2013, 11:04 AM
Member
 
dstr212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hodges69 View Post

I have had the 103 for a few days now......the only problem I have encountered so far deals with Netflix streaming.....for about 60-90 seconds.....the picture is fuzzy and looks worse than SD...after that...all is golden....I have changed my DNS1 and 2 settings per OPPO...but still having problems....using the 103 wireless(at a clocked speed of 11)..thru a Denon cs2311 receiver....input 1 on 103...directv...panny vt30 65"TV....all thru HDMI...
Any suggestion?
Thanks

For everyone that uses Netflix and other like services, this is how streaming works, you are on a connection with probably everyone else in your immediate neighborhood, If someone suddenly demands a huge amount of bandwidth then yes your connection will be affected temporarily until the bandwidth adjusts. Not to be funny towards you specifically but I am not sure how people don't understand this, you are subject to the internet. DNS changing and other things will have an impact but unless you are working from a physical disc copy ALL are subject to these bandwidth fluctuations, just like YouTube will play fine one minute and not the next.

I have my issue with my Oppo but this is not one of them, I watch Netflix, the picture fluctuates i deal with it, the infrastructure is simply not there in the US yet to demand issue free access to streaming HD. Most of these issues end up being user problems 90% of the time, and honestly people should pay $50 and get a network specialist to fix the constant Netflix and DLNA issues that constantly come up in this thread that few have the technical knowhow to fix through a forum.

One example I will give is as simple as this, I had DNS and all sorts of errors about a year a go with a game I had on Xbox, I could not stay in a game for long, couldn't join chat etc... I had a Belkin router. The tech after the third visit suggested maybe the issue is within the router even though every other application I used worked, I called BS but I switched to a Cisco anyhow, and have not had one issue since. Same settings everything, so go figure, but it was "technically" my error and a very simple yet head scratching fix.
dstr212 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc , Seiki Digital Se50uy04 50 Inch 4k 120hz Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off