Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 238 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7111 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 11:39 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,939
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmschnur View Post

I am clueless about how to play dsf files over the net to my oppo.

Do I need a smb player for my w7 64 bit PC?

You need an SMB server on Windows, but that has been built-in for a long time. It is normal network sharing.
Quote:
BTW error handling in the new firmware is poor. Several times in network the system has frozen. I do have several pcs and servers on my network.

Make sure you report your results to OPPO.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7112 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 11:47 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Recstar24 View Post

I definitely have motion issues. Same cable box. Both hdmi's are unwatchable due to choppiness. Already reported to oppo. We are frustrated because our hdmi input is basically bricked.
Yes, your issue is separate. In my testing on HDMI 2 output, I can temporarily cure this stutter by switching to a 720p channel such as ESPN HD and back. This is with "native" output from my Comcast box.

I also see this stutter as associated with audio sync error. The cure fixes both (temporarily). I've still not nailed down what triggers the problem.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #7113 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Coach KG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Conejo Valley, CA
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Oppo is on it. They emailed me today: "If you are experiencing poor playback of cable or satellite video source, then this is a confirmed issue which we will be addressing through a future firmware release. There are no additional recommendations we can make at this time."

Video: Epson 5010 / SI Black Diamond G3 1.4 / Oppo BDP-103 / Darbee Darblet
Audio: Yamaha RX-A820 / Emotiva XPA-5, UPA-200/ B&W: CM9s, CMC2, CM7s / Seaton Submersive HP
Coach KG is offline  
post #7114 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 12:30 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,397
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

Bob is talking about the audio problems, not the motion problems. Bob has already confirmed the issues reported here in his configuration for the motion artifacts.
The most serious audio problem is apparent when hitting the skip-forward/back buttons on the DVR remote. This causes an instant muting of audio (I believe it's the same as if you push the FF button) while the DVR repositions, and then resumes normal playback.

The video returns right away and plays back silently, but the audio does not return for another second or two. It's like the 103 is re-syncing using some new code which perhaps was intended to be dealing with the long-known lip-sync problem and this takes extra time.

This is new with the firmware. Didn't behave this way before.

Also, if the DVR button is pushed multiple times, so that there is an "overlap" of handling of the queued requests by the DVR and audio/video data coming back to the 103 which attempts to re-sync, while the next skip is then being processed by the DVR so that once again the audio is muted... well, this is almost guaranteed to trip the 103 back to the main LOGO screen as it obviously just lost its mind completely.

And now, even if you do manage to get DVR playback working again, there will be NO AUDIO. Only video. You can only recover audio by either (a) going to BluRay and playing a disc briefly to get sound working again, and then go back to the external input, or (b) power off the 103 and wait a bit and then power it back on, in which case audio has once again returned.

These are 100% reproducible symptoms that I can duplicate on demand.

Note that when the DVR goes directly into my AVR, there is essentially ZERO delay before "audio recovery" completes following the momentary MUTE of audio while handling a skip or FF function.
DSperber is online now  
post #7115 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 12:34 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 797
^ Again, I'm not hearing that with my current, Comcast testing setup. I don't doubt your report, but it isn't universal.
--Bob
lanping09 likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #7116 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 01:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post

The most serious audio problem is apparent when hitting the skip-forward/back buttons on the DVR remote. This causes an instant muting of audio (I believe it's the same as if you push the FF button) while the DVR repositions, and then resumes normal playback.

The video returns right away and plays back silently, but the audio does not return for another second or two. It's like the 103 is re-syncing using some new code which perhaps was intended to be dealing with the long-known lip-sync problem and this takes extra time.

This is new with the firmware. Didn't behave this way before.
.

Odds are good this is a delayed HDMI handshake being generated at your AVR. Given the extended HDMI chain resulting from passing a STB through the player to the AVR, this is not unexpected. There are some HDMI handshaking changes in the latest firmware as well. Given the complexities of HDMI and HDCP, and the woefully inadequate implementation of both in STB DVRs, I'm amazed it works at all.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #7117 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Flave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Little blue planet, third from the Sun.
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just purchased a 103 and I'm really looking forward to receiving it. I've been reading (the latter part) of this thread and was surprised to discover that a new release of the firmware supports SACD files off an SMB enabled NAS. From what I've read it seems to support access to both DFF and DSF files but I was wondering if it also supports access to SACD-R ISO images? (FYI, these ISO files are backups of my SACD disks created with a PS3.) TIA.
Flave is offline  
post #7118 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 02:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
pwiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

I really do not understand why you would want to use HDMI 1 in the first place if you are using a Darbee Darblet in between. You will want to do all the video enhancements through the Darblet, so you should be using HDMI 2 for all audio and video. HDMI 2 is much more appropriate for your configuration, not HDMI 1.

HDCP issues will likely be reduced with HDMI 2 than 1. The main reason for this is that you are using a normal SI HDMI transmitter when using HDMI 2, but relaying on the built in Marvell HDMI transmitter on HDMI 1. I would put the Marvell solution up there with the TI implementations: works for most users, but there are some compatibility issues.

If you had AV sync issues with the DVDO Edge, then this sounds like the onus of audio and video synchronization issues is with your overall system configuration, and not the BDP-103.

The Darblet has always been last in the chain before the Panasonic. In fact if anything needs the Darblet it is HDMI 1 with its softer picture vs HDMI 2.

I would love to be using HDMI 2 but my Motorola 7216 will not handshake in HDMI 2 but it will in HDMI 1. Oppo is aware of the problem with the Motorolas and is working on it. The Marvell was perfectly compatible until the Beta caused motion issues with it and Oppo is aware of that and is working on it.

No, the onus of my problem with Lip Sync issues was the DVDO Edge. I have ZERO Lip Sync issues with the Oppo. I do have motion issues with stuttering video on all channels and this only appeared after the Beta firmware update.
pwiss is offline  
post #7119 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 02:03 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,939
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flave View Post

Just purchased a 103 and I'm really looking forward to receiving it. I've been reading (the latter part) of this thread and was surprised to discover that a new release of the firmware supports SACD files off an SMB enabled NAS. From what I've read it seems to support access to both DFF and DSF files but I was wondering if it also supports access to SACD-R ISO images? (FYI, these ISO files are backups of my SACD disks created with a PS3.) TIA.

Sorry, no ISO file support of any type.

Is there a DLNA server that will open SACD ISO, convert the contents and stream it? I've lost track.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #7120 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 02:42 PM
Member
 
Recstar24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Yes, your issue is separate. In my testing on HDMI 2 output, I can temporarily cure this stutter by switching to a 720p channel such as ESPN HD and back. This is with "native" output from my Comcast box.

I also see this stutter as associated with audio sync error. The cure fixes both (temporarily). I've still not nailed down what triggers the problem.
--Bob

Thanks bob. If you find out anymore about this issue it is always appreciated, until oppo fixes it in the next firmware.
Recstar24 is offline  
post #7121 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scolumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post


Is there a DLNA server that will open SACD ISO, convert the contents and stream it? I've lost track.

-Bill

Yes, Foobar2000. Foobar opens the SACD ISO, converts the DFF/DSF files to PCM at a specified bitrate/samplerate e.g. 24/88.2, then streams the files to the Oppo from a NAS or network share.

FYI, Foobar will also stream DVD-A ISOs.
ckronengold likes this.
scolumbo is offline  
post #7122 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 03:30 PM
 
comicguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Ok, with the new firmware, if I backup a Blu-ray Disc I own with anydvd and save it as folder structure will it be playable ia attached hard drive? I have read and read but can't seem to get a straight answer..
comicguy is offline  
post #7123 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 03:32 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,939
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by comicguy View Post

Ok, with the new firmware, if I backup a Blu-ray Disc I own with anydvd and save it as folder structure will it be playable ia attached hard drive? I have read and read but can't seem to get a straight answer..

No, it will not.

You can convert it to MKV or M2TS and it will play.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #7124 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 03:33 PM
Member
 
Dickeymint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A little off topic but hopefully someone can advise I just watched inception for the first time on bluray and noticed I had to crank up the receiver more than with other recent films The vocal was quiet than normal but the bass more pronounced. Is this normal? The oppo is currently set to LPCM due to a little handshake issue at the beginning of each disc when using bitstream so i changed It to lpcm today also the surround on the 5.1 setup was not as defined.The sound was not as in your face as with truehd content or other DVD/ripped content. Is it me or my setup
Dickeymint is offline  
post #7125 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 03:39 PM
 
comicguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

No, it will not.

You can convert it to MKV or M2TS and it will play.

-Bill
bill,
Thanks for he lightning fast response, even if it was not the answer I wanted to hear..
comicguy is offline  
post #7126 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
quattroatl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Eureka! I just ordered the 103! Now I have the 93 for my dvd-audio iso's and 103 for my large sacd collection! I wish I had a one player does all solution, but this is still great news! I have a feeling that this option may not last just like the iso capability that was removed later in the 93/95.
quattroatl is online now  
post #7127 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Note to 103/105 owners with a region-free kit modification:

If you have a region mod kit (not the one that only requires you run a disc) and you are upgrading to the new beta (or any other firmware), be aware that you may need to do one or more of the following:

1. Make sure your player is in your "native" Blu-Ray region. So, if you're in North America or are using a U.S. spec player, return your player to Region A before installing the new firmware.
2. If you install (or have already installed) the region-free mod, you may have to reset your player to factory defaults before you can change the region. Write down your settings and then enter them afterward. This is especially likely to be necessary if you installed the new firmware when you were not in your "native" region. I did this and had to reset to factory defaults and then return my player to Blu-Ray Region A. Without setting to factory defaults the mod kit refused to recognize my remote key sequence that should have changed the region.
3. It is possible (but probably unlikely) that you may have to reset your player to defaults to make any future Region changes. I have had this happen intermittently after firmware updates with my region-free 83SE and it may be the case with the 103/105.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #7128 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 04:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,712
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dickeymint View Post

A little off topic but hopefully someone can advise I just watched inception for the first time on bluray and noticed I had to crank up the receiver more than with other recent films The vocal was quiet than normal but the bass more pronounced. Is this normal? The oppo is currently set to LPCM due to a little handshake issue at the beginning of each disc when using bitstream so i changed It to lpcm today also the surround on the 5.1 setup was not as defined.The sound was not as in your face as with truehd content or other DVD/ripped content. Is it me or my setup
The OPPO doesn't do any base management with bit stream or LPCM HDMI output. Before you switched, your AVR was doing the conversion to LPCM from bitstream before it does it's thing on audio. There is no reason for LPCM to be any different done by the OPPO rather than the AVR. What does "Inception" sound like if you go back to bitstream? What you're hearing may be in the source.
htwaits is online now  
post #7129 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Nicodimus22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I have sort of an indirect question about the 103, its USB ports, and memory cards. Please bear with me, as I'm not terribly knowledgeable about this kind of thing.

I know the USB ports are 2.0. My question is, if I wanted to use an SD card in conjunction with a USB card reader to watch 1080p/5.1 DTS video content, does it matter what speed card I get as far as the transfer rate? Or will even the slowest SD card play this content without a hitch on the 103? Thinking of getting either a 32gb or 64gb card since it's much easier and quicker than moving my hard drives around for everyday use. I see there are some cards that are 15mb/sec, some that are 30, and some that are 45. I have no idea what speed card would be necessary to watch this content smoothly through the 103. Thanks for any help on this.

Yamaha RX-A1020 AVR | Paradigm Monitor 11v7 L/R | Paradigm Monitor Center 3v7 C | Paradigm Monitor Surround 3v7 LS/RS | Klipsch SW-350 sub
Samsung HL61A750 HDTV | Oppo BDP-103 blu-ray player | Logitech Harmony 650 | Sony PS3 Slim 500gb | Nintendo Wii


My movie room: http://imgur.com/a/IjWr1
Nicodimus22 is offline  
post #7130 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 08:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicodimus22 View Post

I have sort of an indirect question about the 103, its USB ports, and memory cards. Please bear with me, as I'm not terribly knowledgeable about this kind of thing.

I know the USB ports are 2.0. My question is, if I wanted to use an SD card in conjunction with a USB card reader to watch 1080p/5.1 DTS video content, does it matter what speed card I get as far as the transfer rate? Or will even the slowest SD card play this content without a hitch on the 103? Thinking of getting either a 32gb or 64gb card since it's much easier and quicker than moving my hard drives around for everyday use. I see there are some cards that are 15mb/sec, some that are 30, and some that are 45. I have no idea what speed card would be necessary to watch this content smoothly through the 103. Thanks for any help on this.

Basic SD cards can be notoriously slow for writing, but tend to do better for reading. I'd say if you stick to Class 10 or better you *should* be alright. Memory is rated in MB/sec, not Mb/sec.
5-10 MB/sec should be adequate for HD video with HD audio.
FWIW, a plain USB thumb drive will work as well. They tend to run about the same speeds as SD cards. 32MB USB-2 thumb drives are running about $20.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #7131 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cocoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

No, it will not.

You can convert it to MKV or M2TS and it will play.

-Bill

Hmm, this removes the ability to play 3D blu-ray backups.
Would it be safe to say that the chances of oppo adding MVC 3D are slim to none?
cocoon is offline  
post #7132 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 09:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 75

I believe i have found a new bug that existed in the official FW as well as the new beta FW. I am using HDMI_1 output to my Anthem D2v then to Darblet to the TV(Pioneer Elite Kuro).

 

When i set my HDMI_2 output video bit settings to 30-bits or 30-bits(dithered) in the 105, Audio is MUTED on HDMI_1 output of the Oppo but video is not. When i change the bit depth to 36-bit or 24-bit, then i get audio back on HDMI_1. Now, i realize both HDMI outputs are active simultaneously but was suprised to have HDMI_1 audio muted by HDMI_2 bit settings.

 

Can anyone try to verify this phenomenon? I don't think its my Anthem AVR that is the problem... 


How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #7133 of 17735 Old 03-29-2013, 09:38 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,397
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ Again, I'm not hearing that with my current, Comcast testing setup. I don't doubt your report, but it isn't universal.
--Bob
A possible relevant setup factor for me: my "speaker configuration" is "downmix to stereo". I'm feeding L/R-stereo analog audio out of the 103 to an analog audio input on my AVR, specifically for listening through 2.0 speakers.

This additional downmixing-to-stereo task for the 103 may be overloading the processor, hence the ever-increasing lip-sync symptom present in the 103 even before the new firmware. But it may also be relevant to the new "very slow audio recovery" symptom when using the SKIP buttons on the DVR remote.
DSperber is online now  
post #7134 of 17735 Old 03-30-2013, 02:04 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 797
^ That's highly unlikely (the work of doing the down-mix is not that processor intensive), but it's easy enough for you to check. Just set the down-mix back to 5.1 or 7.1 even though you don't have the extra cables attached.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #7135 of 17735 Old 03-30-2013, 02:06 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post

I believe i have found a new bug that existed in the official FW as well as the new beta FW. I am using HDMI_1 output to my Anthem D2v then to Darblet to the TV(Pioneer Elite Kuro).

When i set my HDMI_2 output video bit settings to 30-bits or 30-bits(dithered) in the 105, Audio is MUTED on HDMI_1 output of the Oppo but video is not. When i change the bit depth to 36-bit or 24-bit, then i get audio back on HDMI_1. Now, i realize both HDMI outputs are active simultaneously but was suprised to have HDMI_1 audio muted by HDMI_2 bit settings.

Can anyone try to verify this phenomenon? I don't think its my Anthem AVR that is the problem... 

Not enough information. You only mentioned the HDMI 1 output. What do you have the HDMI 2 output connected to? Are you using Split A/V or Dual Display?
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #7136 of 17735 Old 03-30-2013, 03:22 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 797
DSperber,
Since you are using Analog audio output. Another thing to try would be to set HDMI Audio OFF. If that cures the problem, that would be more evidence pointing to the HDMI handshake as the problem.

Try the alternate HDMI *INPUT* on the OPPO. Try HDMI Audio LPCM vs Bitstream for the output setting of the OPPO. Try 1080i output from the OPPO instead of 1080p. All this is to collect data.

Consider your complete set if HDMI cables. Are there TWO HDMI paths between you cable TV box and the AVR, or between that box and the TV? If so, disconnect the path you don't think is actually in use and see if that cures the problem.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #7137 of 17735 Old 03-30-2013, 04:32 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,939
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by cocoon View Post


Hmm, this removes the ability to play 3D blu-ray backups.
Would it be safe to say that the chances of oppo adding MVC 3D are slim to none?

I'm not familiar with the different ways of encoding 3D, but the player does support some 3D in MKV: Does the player convert Side-by-Side and Top-Bottom formatted MKV into 3D?

If MVC is different from that but can still be encoded in MKV then it could still be done. Don't know how to gauge the chances; make your needs known to OPPO.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #7138 of 17735 Old 03-30-2013, 05:08 AM
Member
 
grill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can somebody confirm that Oppo 103 with the latest beta fw is able to play DST encoded stereo/multichannel DFF (DSD64) files? As you know multichannel audio is DST compressed on SACD discs.
grill is offline  
post #7139 of 17735 Old 03-30-2013, 07:25 AM
Member
 
ferdy777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
has anyone tried if the audio lpcm stereo or 5.1 is read correctly in mkv files with new firmware? thanks
ferdy777 is offline  
post #7140 of 17735 Old 03-30-2013, 07:34 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,939
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferdy777 View Post

has anyone tried if the audio lpcm stereo or 5.1 is read correctly in mkv files with new firmware? thanks

Has that been a problem? I don't have anything about it my notes. I can work up an example if no one else has tested it.

What would be the source of the LPCM soundtrack? My sources would be Criterion Blu-ray discs, although I suspect many of those are mono.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc , Seiki Digital Se50uy04 50 Inch 4k 120hz Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off