Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 271 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Blu-ray & HD DVD > Blu-ray Players > Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread

Blu-ray Players

wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
07:47 AM Liked: 386
post #8101 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 17,753
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhobi View Post

I am having issue with NETFLIX (Buffer out) issue...with HDMI handshake with Dish HD receiver

This morning when using the "Netflix" button which was learned by the Harmony 880 from the Oppo 103 remote, it kept bringing up the Netflix splash screen and then after a few seconds, it would go back to the Oppo "Home" screen. I tried a couple of times and it kept doing that. When I clicked on the Netflix icon from the Home screen everything was OK. It was just happening when using the Netflix button on the remote directly. Kind of strange?

Obviously: verify that the OPPO remote is doing the same thing. If not, it's an issue with your Harmony and how it learned the button.

-Bill
dropzone7's Avatar dropzone7
07:48 AM Liked: 75
post #8102 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 4,179
Joined: Jun 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Yes, both.

-Bill

Interesting. So this player would supplement my Dune but not replace it. I'm moving on to a 3D projector, not becuase I have a great interest in 3D but because it's a new unit and happens to do 3D. This got me thinking about Oppo again. I do miss the source direct mode of the Oppo transport which is something the Dune player does not have. I knew if I came in here I would end up spending some money...still thinking about it.
Done Deal DR's Avatar Done Deal DR
09:30 AM Liked: 127
post #8103 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 745
Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Medieval Guy View Post

I set up my Harmony One with the 103 with so little drama, I don't even remember how it went. It just...worked. (I have since tinkered with the buttons a little to suit personal preferences, but it worked just fine with the default settings.)

What did you add it as? When I first got my 103 a couple months ago the configuration was very convoluted for the 103 (when adding as the 103). It made you try to add is as a "mini system" and it was a little strange. I added mine as a BDP-95 and manually added a few buttons and am happy with the functionality.
darthkringle's Avatar darthkringle
11:45 AM Liked: 12
post #8104 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 74
Joined: Apr 2006
Wanted to get a read from Darbee Darblet users on if most of you are using HDM1 or HDMI 2 as the primary video output into the Darblet. I realize HDMI2 is the more "purist" signal at this point and to use that makes sense, but if I like HDMI1 OTHER THAN the "softening/NR" would the Darblet not be ideal for me on HDMI1?


Thanks for any feedback from Darblet owners with the BDP-103/105.


Thanks all!
wse's Avatar wse
12:35 PM Liked: 376
post #8105 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 7,050
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View PostNo. Not allowed. - Bill

What a shame :(


ferdy777's Avatar ferdy777
02:22 PM Liked: 10
post #8106 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 21
Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Yes, both.

-Bill

hello bill, I would like to ask for clarification.
I created the mkv, bluray discs using as sources.
when I listen to the Dolby TrueHD, I see that the player oppo103 recognize the track as MLP 5.1, but not Dolby TrueHD. I used MakeMKV profile "copy as 1:1." other player (popcorn A300 and DUNE player) recognize the track properly. Do you have any advice?
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
02:34 PM Liked: 386
post #8107 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 17,753
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferdy777 View Post

hello bill, I would like to ask for clarification.
I created the mkv, bluray discs using as sources.
when I listen to the Dolby TrueHD, I see that the player oppo103 recognize the track as MLP 5.1, but not Dolby TrueHD. I used MakeMKV profile "copy as 1:1." other player (popcorn A300 and DUNE player) recognize the track properly. Do you have any advice?

I believe they are the same thing. See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meridian_Lossless_Packing

The player OSD could be changed to avoid confusion.

-Bill
ferdy777's Avatar ferdy777
02:45 PM Liked: 10
post #8108 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 21
Joined: Dec 2008
okay. as I understand it, is the player to change the name of the track HD.
if I insert the original disc, the player indicates the correct encoding. Do you know why in the mkv file name is wrong? thanks
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
02:50 PM Liked: 386
post #8109 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 17,753
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferdy777 View Post

okay. as I understand it, is the player to change the name of the track HD.
if I insert the original disc, the player indicates the correct encoding. Do you know why in the mkv file name is wrong? thanks

What's wrong with the file name?

You mean the codec label? It's not wrong, just not what you were expecting. Changing it would be a small matter of programming. Contact OPPO with your need if this is important to you.

-Bill
lujan's Avatar lujan
02:50 PM Liked: 28
post #8110 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 2,626
Joined: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Done Deal DR View Post

What did you add it as? When I first got my 103 a couple months ago the configuration was very convoluted for the 103 (when adding as the 103). It made you try to add is as a "mini system" and it was a little strange. I added mine as a BDP-95 and manually added a few buttons and am happy with the functionality.

I may have to re-do my Harmony settings for the 103. Use either a 93 or like you did, use a 95? I'll keep using it for a while with the current settings and see what happens...
ferdy777's Avatar ferdy777
02:58 PM Liked: 10
post #8111 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 21
Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

What's wrong with the file name?

You mean the codec label? It's not wrong, just not what you were expecting. Changing it would be a small matter of programming. Contact OPPO with your need if this is important to you.

-Bill

ok, thank you. last question.
when I create a mkv with at least 2 languages ​​DTS-MA (ITA and ENG), first on the list is recognized correctly, the second is identified as a simple DTS. have you ever? what program do you think is valid for the conversion of bluray? I currently use MakeMKV. is good? thanks again
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
03:06 PM Liked: 386
post #8112 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 17,753
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferdy777 View Post

ok, thank you. last question.
when I create a mkv with at least 2 languages ​​DTS-MA (ITA and ENG), first on the list is recognized correctly, the second is identified as a simple DTS. have you ever? what program do you think is valid for the conversion of bluray? I currently use MakeMKV. is good? thanks again

Are you going by the audio popup window? I've noticed that it does not always give complete information on a audio track that has not been selected yet. When you select the track the popup should be correct.

If the full On Screen Display shows only DTS than I suspect that is what is in the file. You can confirm that with the free utility "mediainfo".

Recommending ripping programs is a bit off topic here. See this thread: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1336046/ripping-blu-rays-ii

-Bill
ferdy777's Avatar ferdy777
03:33 PM Liked: 10
post #8113 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 21
Joined: Dec 2008
I checked some mkv files, mediainfo reports traces HD audio (DTS-MA) correctly. A-300 recognizes the DTS-MA (and dolby trueHD) correctly. the DUNE (base 3.0) recognizes correctly. the 103, in some cases, identifies the DTS-MA as DTS, even when I select the track. the display of 103 confirms the simple DTS.
I noticed that this fact is especially true if there are more than 1 track DTS-MA. or if the DTS-MA is not the first on the list. I did many experiments. thanks for the link!
dmusoke's Avatar dmusoke
03:43 PM Liked: 79
post #8114 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 2,457
Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthkringle View Post

Wanted to get a read from Darbee Darblet users on if most of you are using HDM1 or HDMI 2 as the primary video output into the Darblet. I realize HDMI2 is the more "purist" signal at this point and to use that makes sense, but if I like HDMI1 OTHER THAN the "softening/NR" would the Darblet not be ideal for me on HDMI1?


Thanks for any feedback from Darblet owners with the BDP-103/105.


Thanks all!

 

I have it on HDMI1 and like the picture the way it is. On  HQ source material(BD or broadcast tv), its PQ is excellent...


slimoli's Avatar slimoli
03:45 PM Liked: 31
post #8115 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 4,685
Joined: Nov 2001
I have the 93 and the 103 side by side linked through HDMI1 to a Pioneer receiver. When I put a 5.1 DSD SACD disk on the 93, it plays as a DSD and shows as a DSD on the Pio. The same disk on the 103 is output as PCM, regardless of setting the player at DSD or PCM under SACD. The player menu shows SACD 5.1 PCM on the 103 and 5.1 SACD DSD on the 93. Tried several disks, same result. Is this a known bug ?
I don't have the latest beta firmware on the 103 and the 93 is still with the last ISO compatible firmware.
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
03:47 PM Liked: 386
post #8116 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 17,753
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

I have the 93 and the 103 side by side linked through HDMI1 to a Pioneer receiver. When I put a 5.1 DSD SACD disk on the 93, it plays as a DSD and shows as a DSD on the Pio. The same disk on the 103 is output as PCM, regardless of setting the player at DSD or PCM under SACD. The player menu shows SACD 5.1 PCM on the 103 and 5.1 SACD DSD on the 93. Tried several disks, same result. Is this a known bug ?
I don't have the latest beta firmware on the 103 and the 93 is still with the last ISO compatible firmware.

DSD is not available over HDMI1 on the -103. This is a hardware limitation. It works on HDMI2.

-Bill
Neuromancer's Avatar Neuromancer
05:13 PM Liked: 188
post #8117 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 10,997
Joined: Jul 2005
Seems the Spears & Munsil HD Benchmark 2nd Edition is available on the OPPO website.

The new edition has some new features that the previous disc did not such as a full suite of audio calibration and evaluation test tones and the ability to calibrate your display in 3D.
slimoli's Avatar slimoli
05:15 PM Liked: 31
post #8118 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 4,685
Joined: Nov 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

DSD is not available over HDMI1 on the -103. This is a hardware limitation. It works on HDMI2.

-Bill

Thanks Bill.
Medieval Guy's Avatar Medieval Guy
05:19 PM Liked: 14
post #8119 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 172
Joined: Oct 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Done Deal DR View Post

What did you add it as? When I first got my 103 a couple months ago the configuration was very convoluted for the 103 (when adding as the 103). It made you try to add is as a "mini system" and it was a little strange. I added mine as a BDP-95 and manually added a few buttons and am happy with the functionality.
I honestly don't remember. Whatever I had to do, it wasn't enough hassle to register in my (admittedly not-great) memory.

In my Harmony set-up software, the 103 has a DVD player icon, for what that's worth...
subavision212's Avatar subavision212
05:44 PM Liked: 25
post #8120 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 1,451
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post

I have it on HDMI1 and like the picture the way it is. On  HQ source material(BD or broadcast tv), its PQ is excellent...
I do this also and love the way my PQ looks in my HT.
darthkringle's Avatar darthkringle
06:14 PM Liked: 12
post #8121 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 74
Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by subavision212 View Post

I do this also and love the way my PQ looks in my HT.


Thanks so much. May I ask what you have the Darblet set to? Thanks again!!
dmusoke's Avatar dmusoke
07:56 PM Liked: 79
post #8122 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 2,457
Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthkringle View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by subavision212 View Post

I do this also and love the way my PQ looks in my HT.


Thanks so much. May I ask what you have the Darblet set to? Thanks again!!

HD 50% smile.gif!


kobyh15's Avatar kobyh15
09:08 PM Liked: 11
post #8123 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 51
Joined: Mar 2013
Would anyone care to comment on the PQ improvement I would see coming from a PS3 to a BDP-103? I'm in the process of purchasing my first set of "grown-up" A/V components, and I am weighing the benefits of selling and upgrading my PS3. I only use it as a Blu-ray player these days, and it's a pretty good one. Just wondering if it would be worth it to replace it with the Oppo. Thanks!
Sidetracked's Avatar Sidetracked
09:30 PM Liked: 24
post #8124 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 162
Joined: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by kobyh15 View Post

Would anyone care to comment on the PQ improvement I would see coming from a PS3 to a BDP-103? I'm in the process of purchasing my first set of "grown-up" A/V components, and I am weighing the benefits of selling and upgrading my PS3. I only use it as a Blu-ray player these days, and it's a pretty good one. Just wondering if it would be worth it to replace it with the Oppo. Thanks!

On paper, blu-ray PQ difference is apt to be minimal at most - most decent blu-ray players,
including the PS3 are pretty darn good, and perform well on all the various tests.

The gains in the Oppo are more in other areas; speed, build quality, sound (it can function as
an audiophile level CD player), image processing options, DVD-upscalling, number of formats
it can handle, comparative ease of making it region free, etc. etc.

That said, some people see bigger differences in the BR PQ of various players than
others. Whether that's their sensitive eyes, or equipment dancing together better, or
a placebo effect, it's very hard to say.

One great thing about Oppo, they have a liberal return policy, so if you decide within 30
days the cost isn't worth the features or PQ for you, all you're out is shipping.
djPerfectTrip's Avatar djPerfectTrip
09:39 PM Liked: 29
post #8125 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 488
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by kobyh15 View Post

Would anyone care to comment on the PQ improvement I would see coming from a PS3 to a BDP-103? I'm in the process of purchasing my first set of "grown-up" A/V components, and I am weighing the benefits of selling and upgrading my PS3. I only use it as a Blu-ray player these days, and it's a pretty good one. Just wondering if it would be worth it to replace it with the Oppo. Thanks!
Here is a link to my oppo review coming from a PS3:

http://community.klipsch.com/forums/t/168922.aspx
kobyh15's Avatar kobyh15
09:45 PM Liked: 11
post #8126 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 51
Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidetracked View Post

On paper, blu-ray PQ difference is apt to be minimal at most - most decent blu-ray players,
including the PS3 are pretty darn good, and perform well on all the various tests.

The gains in the Oppo are more in other areas; speed, build quality, sound (it can function as
an audiophile level CD player), image processing options, DVD-upscalling, number of formats
it can handle, comparative ease of making it region free, etc. etc.

That said, some people see bigger differences in the BR PQ of various players than
others. Whether that's their sensitive eyes, or equipment dancing together better, or
a placebo effect, it's very hard to say.

One great thing about Oppo, they have a liberal return policy, so if you decide within 30
days the cost isn't worth the features or PQ for you, all you're out is shipping.

I agree! I am interested in using the HDMI input for my cable box. I've read that using the Oppo's video processing helps out when viewing bad cable source material. I believe build quality and aesthetics will be superior to the PS3.
Nicodimus22's Avatar Nicodimus22
11:00 PM Liked: 21
post #8127 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 273
Joined: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicodimus22 View Post

In theory, Bitstream and LPCM should sound identical, but lots of people claim to hear differences. If I can't fix this, I'll just go back to LPCM I guess, not a big deal...it's just nice to see the signal displayed on the receiver too.

The player is already at 1080p and 1080p24 is already off as well. Once the cables arrive, I'll see if the short ones were screwing it up. If not, I can always use an extra HDMI cable for something else down the road.

Just following up...got my 6' cable today, and replaced the 18" one. It still does the exact same thing where the audio cuts out for 2-3 seconds when something starts to play (on Bitstream output.) So, that rules out the possibility of the shorter cable causing the problem.

At this point, I'm just going to put the 18" cable back on, switch the output to LPCM, and never look back. My receiver won't display the signal type on the front, but it should sound the same.
djPerfectTrip's Avatar djPerfectTrip
11:50 PM Liked: 29
post #8128 of 19289
04-26-2013 | Posts: 488
Joined: Feb 2009
^^^true
RamGuy's Avatar RamGuy
06:36 AM Liked: 10
post #8129 of 19289
04-27-2013 | Posts: 66
Joined: Dec 2008
Eagerly awaiting my Oppo BDP-103EU region unlocked from Ebay, might arrive sometime during next week.

Now I have to decide whether I should bother to redo my whole x264 encoded library with Dolby Digital / DTS 5.1 and get them into remuxed MKV's with TrueHD and Master Audio instead...
AYColumbia's Avatar AYColumbia
07:12 AM Liked: 16
post #8130 of 19289
04-27-2013 | Posts: 355
Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post

What kind of keyboard do you need for search YT on the Oppo?
I picked up this little thing and it works great.

FAVI Wireless Keyboard
Tags: Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Reply Blu-ray Players

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3