Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 364 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 486Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #10891 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 11:28 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
sdrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,445
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Silly question: if someone planned to use the Oppo 103 as a switcher/decoder for TiVo and ATV3 via HDMI inputs, with the Oppo connected on one HDMI output to a video display chain and the other HDMI output feeding into a Trinnov equipped R-972 acting as an specialized RC audio processor (Split A/V), can the Oppo be safely left as 'Always On', or is it only advisable to turn on/off in suspected HDMI handshake sequence (TV-R972-Denon 4311 as an 'amp' on Ext. In-Oppo)?

The room correction audio processor in this context would be non-ARC compatible.

There's a reason...we have a Harmony remote with macros, but I have one person in the HH who tends to sometimes do things manually that I'd have to retrain. I'm 99% sure I know what the answer will be, but double checking.

Audio Gear: Trinnov Altitude 16/24, NAD M27 amp
Display: Panasonic VT50, Lumagen Radiance Mini
Misc.: Oppo 103, Apple TV, JRiver ID NUC
PSB Imagine T2, Center, and Surrounds; HSU ULS-15 subs (2)
More gear to follow as I get going with the Altitude...
sdrucker is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10892 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TheFactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 4,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

I have had several BD players including Samsung, LG and Panasonic but the Oppo seems to be the slowest at coming out of "Pause". Anyone know why the Oppo 103 takes a few seconds to "Play" after being paused for a few minutes? All my other BD players immediately play when coming out of pause.
Yes I noticed that also and it was annoying at first but I'm getting use to it especially since the 103 shines in most other areas compared to other BDP .
TheFactor is offline  
post #10893 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 12:33 PM
Member
 
atlantasteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried unplugging for five minutes, detaching all other cables and turning on from disc open button. Unit will only power on and off.
atlantasteve is offline  
post #10894 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oztech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 7,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlantasteve View Post

I tried unplugging for five minutes, detaching all other cables and turning on from disc open button. Unit will only power on and off.
Was the internet disconnected during a firmware upgrade?
oztech is offline  
post #10895 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 01:05 PM
Member
 
atlantasteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am guessing the answer is yes. I had no Internet for about 48 hours
atlantasteve is offline  
post #10896 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oztech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 7,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlantasteve View Post

I am guessing the answer is yes. I had no Internet for about 48 hours
I would call Oppo as I fear if this is the case you may have bricked the unit but they will have an answer or ask that you ship the unit to them I have found their customer service is second to none.
Also you need to make sure they know a disc is in the tray .
oztech is offline  
post #10897 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 01:23 PM
Member
 
atlantasteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oztech View Post

I would call Oppo as I fear if this is the case you may have bricked the unit but they will have an answer or ask that you ship the unit to them I have found their customer service is second to none.
Also you need to make sure they know a disc is in the tray .

Thanks. I bought the unit at best buy so hopefully they will exchange.
atlantasteve is offline  
post #10898 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheFactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 4,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 106
That's strange I didn't even know Best buy carried them .
TheFactor is offline  
post #10899 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
mhobart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFactor View Post

That's strange I didn't even know Best buy carried them .

I believe that is through their "Magnoiia Store" which not all locations have. Those in-house stores generally carry higher-end components.

Vizio M501D-A2r hdtv, Sony STR-DN1050 AVR, Oppo BDP-93 blu-ray, Samsung BD-UP5000 HD-DVD/Blu-ray combo, Roku 3, Apple TV
other older items of various types and vintages
mhobart is offline  
post #10900 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlantasteve View Post

I am guessing the answer is yes. I had no Internet for about 48 hours

Quote:
Originally Posted by oztech View Post

I would call Oppo as I fear if this is the case you may have bricked the unit but they will have an answer or ask that you ship the unit to them I have found their customer service is second to none.
Also you need to make sure they know a disc is in the tray .

Just having the power and Internet go out is not the same as having a power failure or internet failure during a firmware update. Firmware updates have to be initiated by someone, so you should know if one was in process when the power failed.
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #10901 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 01:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,224
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 815 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlantasteve View Post

Thanks. I bought the unit at best buy so hopefully they will exchange.

Oppo will still fix you up if you ask. If you can't get an exchange that's the way to go. Oppo will only keep it for a day.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #10902 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 01:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,224
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 815 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

I have had several BD players including Samsung, LG and Panasonic but the Oppo seems to be the slowest at coming out of "Pause". Anyone know why the Oppo 103 takes a few seconds to "Play" after being paused for a few minutes? All my other BD players immediately play when coming out of pause.

Can't speak to the other players, but the Oppo is designed to spin down the optical drive after a few minutes in pause. You're simply waiting for it to spin back up.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #10903 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlantasteve View Post

I tried unplugging for five minutes, detaching all other cables and turning on from disc open button. Unit will only power on and off.

You've probably done most of this, but check this to make sure you tried everything listed: http://www.oppodigital.com/KnowledgeBase.aspx?KBID=6

Also try what Bob suggested below.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ Also try powering up using the Tray Open button instead of the Power button. If the failure is happening after it starts to load the disc that will open the tray ahead of time so the disc does not try to load.
--Bob
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #10904 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheFactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 4,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhobart View Post

I believe that is through their "Magnoiia Store" which not all locations have. Those in-house stores generally carry higher-end components.
Ok that explains it , Thanks .
TheFactor is offline  
post #10905 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

Can't speak to the other players, but the Oppo is designed to spin down the optical drive after a few minutes in pause. You're simply waiting for it to spin back up.

That makes sense then, thanks! Don't know why they set it to spin down so quickly though?

lujan
776 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is online now  
post #10906 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 03:24 PM
Senior Member
 
creator441's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

We all hope it will be fixed soon.

-Bill

Probably not before September or October since they seem to be coming out with firmwares every two-three months, and that's IF they correct this problem then.

I converted one 1080p24 video that did moiré before in the 0422 firmware to m2ts to be able to play it in 24hz and it is not doing the moiré effect anymore? I guess they fixed something about that in the latest firmware. Also, the exact same MKV file that was doing the moiré before in 24Hz but now running in 60Hz does not do it either. So either they corrected this or it is the combination MKV + 24Hz that did it.

They could have corrected it because they clearly added undocumented things to the latest firmware like the ability to resume on files now, which is not something I wanted anyway.
creator441 is offline  
post #10907 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 03:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,872
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by creator441 View Post

... which is not something I wanted anyway.
It's my impression, which may not be right, that you seem to find a way in every post to mention something about the OPPO that you didn't want anyway. wink.gif

Enjoy. smile.gif
htwaits is offline  
post #10908 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheFactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 4,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

That makes sense then, thanks!
X2 cool.gif
TheFactor is offline  
post #10909 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
 
creator441's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

It's my impression, which may not be right, that you seem to find a way in every post to mention something about the OPPO that you didn't want anyway. wink.gif

Enjoy. smile.gif

Yeah I'm sorry I'm just bummed about the loss of 24Hz/50Hz in MKV, I only view files with this player which the vast majority is MKV so it's a major deal for me personally and I really want to like the Oppo and use it exclusively but looks like I'll have to switch between my Dune and the Oppo.
creator441 is offline  
post #10910 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 07:32 PM
Member
 
bziggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.J
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello had a few questions on the oppo 103 player as I was thinking of getting one. I don't currently have a blue ray player and had a few questions on the oppo unit. First question was if I understand it correctly I can hook up my Verizon set top box to this unit and it will up convert the signal. If that is so has anyone been doing this and if so had it improved the picture. Second is for what this unit cost would it be better just spending the extra money for the next higher unit from opps. I was also looking at the pioneer elite units. Thanks
bziggy is offline  
post #10911 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 07:36 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by bziggy View Post

Second is for what this unit cost would it be better just spending the extra money for the next higher unit from opps.

The BDP-105? Only if you need an upgrade in analog audio or dedicated stereo outputs. Or must have the additional digital inputs or the headphone jack.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #10912 of 21356 Old 08-11-2013, 11:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,548
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by bziggy View Post

First question was if I understand it correctly I can hook up my Verizon set top box to this unit and it will up convert the signal. If that is so has anyone been doing this and if so had it improved the picture.
Yes... using my own HTPC whole-home system as the source (fed from TWC/LA cablecard). HDMI output of the "extender" (remote satellite box, aka "client", to deliver HDTV from the HTPC, aka "server", connected through home LAN).

The upconversion of 720p and 1080i to 1080p in the 103, along with the QDEO video processing by the Oppo 103 for delivery to my Panny 65VT50, produces stunning results. Looks like film, or a "live window" (e.g. today's PGA golf on CBS)... fantastic.

If you do go this way, I strongly urge you that if possible to set up your Verizon (FIOS?) box to put out "native" resolution, i.e. 720p source -> 720p output, and 1080i source -> 1080i output. If the box does not have a "native" setting for automatically retaining source program resolution as output, then bite the bullet of obvious minor inconvenience and nuisance and manually set the output resolution yourself to match the the source resolution of whatever program you're watching. The improved visual results far outweigh any minor steps to reconfigure. You do not want the Verizon box doing any upconverting of any kind.

In other words, the 103 does by far the best job of upconversion to 1080p (for any given source resolution) of any of the devices... either your DVR/STB box or even your HDTV itself. So you want it to be the 103 that delivers the 1080p to the HDTV, either upconverting from source program 720p -> 1080p, or upconverting from source program 1080i -> 1080p.

You will absolutely not be disappointed with the resulting 1080p images from 720p/1080i HDTV out of the 103. Stunning!
whippersnapper likes this.
DSperber is offline  
post #10913 of 21356 Old 08-12-2013, 04:55 AM
Member
 
winston99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have had to lowere the resolution to 1080i to play the last 2 DVD movies rented from redbox. At 1080p may TV displays "unsupported format".
Is this normal?
winston99 is offline  
post #10914 of 21356 Old 08-12-2013, 04:57 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston99 View Post

I have had to lowere the resolution to 1080i to play the last 2 DVD movies rented from redbox. At 1080p may TV displays "unsupported format".
Is this normal?

No.

Does your display not accept 24hz, and do you have both 1080p24 and DVD 24p turned on? That would explain unsupported mode.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #10915 of 21356 Old 08-12-2013, 05:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Recently decided to start using my 103 for streaming FLAC files from my NAS and was greeted with thousands of unsorted directories and files. WTF! I figured by now OPPO would have fixed this problem. Any word on this or why OPPO thinks this is acceptable on a $500 player?

The Cave: Sony VPL-VW600ES, 110" Elite Fixed, Oppo BDP-103D, HTPC, Marantz AV8802, 3 x Emotiva XPA-1 Gen2 , 4 x Emotiva XPA-1L, 2 x Emotiva XPA-200, 2 x MartinLogan Motion 60XT, MartinLogan Motion 50XT, 4 x MartinLogan MotionFX, 2 x Rythmik FV15HP, 4 x Gallo Nucleus Micro (Atmos Height)
Balthazar2k4 is online now  
post #10916 of 21356 Old 08-12-2013, 05:08 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balthazar2k4 View Post

Recently decided to start using my 103 for streaming FLAC files from my NAS and was greeted with thousands of unsorted directories and files. WTF! I figured by now OPPO would have fixed this problem. Any word on this or why OPPO thinks this is acceptable on a $500 player?

Our supposition is that Mediatek has not so far provided the API hooks needed to provide SMB sorting as they do for locally attached storage.

I suspect a little more patience will be rewarded. Until then: try DLNA instead of SMB. DLNA servers do their own sorting; in SMB the client has to do it.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #10917 of 21356 Old 08-12-2013, 05:47 AM
Member
 
winston99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

No.

Does your display not accept 24hz, and do you have both 1080p24 and DVD 24p turned on? That would explain unsupported mode.

-Bill
I cannot find from the manual if it accepts 24hz, but it plays blue ray and dish DVr when the 103 is set to 1080p if that tells you anything. Both 1080p24 and DVD 24p are on. The TV is Sony kdl52xbr3 from around 2006
winston99 is offline  
post #10918 of 21356 Old 08-12-2013, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFactor View Post

X2 cool.gif

???? confused.gif

lujan
776 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is online now  
post #10919 of 21356 Old 08-12-2013, 05:57 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston99 View Post

I cannot find from the manual if it accepts 24hz, but it plays blue ray and dish DVr when the 103 is set to 1080p if that tells you anything. Both 1080p24 and DVD 24p are on. The TV is Sony kdl52xbr3 from around 2006

To summarize, you have:
  • Resolution: 1080p
  • 1080p24: On
  • DVD 24p: On

...and some DVDs cause the TV to show "Unsupported mode". They play if you switch the resolution to 1080i.

You're in the US with a US player and are trying Redbox DVDs, right? You have TV System set to the default "NTSC?"

Does this happen with all DVDs or just some?

What happens if you set DVD 24p to OFF?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #10920 of 21356 Old 08-12-2013, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Our supposition is that Mediatek has not so far provided the API hooks needed to provide SMB sorting as they do for locally attached storage.

I suspect a little more patience will be rewarded. Until then: try DLNA instead of SMB. DLNA servers do their own sorting; in SMB the client has to do it.

-Bill

Thanks Bill for the information. I flipped the switch on the DLNA support on my Plex server last night and while that solves the sorting problem it isn't very stable (I assume that is most likely the fault of Plex). It would just be nice if I could do all of this directly sans DLNA, but I guess I will just wait it out.

The Cave: Sony VPL-VW600ES, 110" Elite Fixed, Oppo BDP-103D, HTPC, Marantz AV8802, 3 x Emotiva XPA-1 Gen2 , 4 x Emotiva XPA-1L, 2 x Emotiva XPA-200, 2 x MartinLogan Motion 60XT, MartinLogan Motion 50XT, 4 x MartinLogan MotionFX, 2 x Rythmik FV15HP, 4 x Gallo Nucleus Micro (Atmos Height)
Balthazar2k4 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off