Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 382 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 523Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11431 of 21728 Old 08-31-2013, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 136
***Bass Problem Solved***

As I mentioned earlier, my bass response on Redbook CD's was not that stellar with my Pioneer SC65 AVR receiver (Class D amp) into my 7.1 HT setup. SACD's and Bluray were fine, but CD's left something to be desired.

Turns out that it was an "amp" issue more than anything. I added an MMC-7 channel amplifier (Class D amp) from Wyred4Sound (220 wpc versus 130 wpc plus dedicated power - discrete from input to output for each channel) and the difference is night and day.

The new amplifier has breathed new life into my speakers and older CD's. Two channel music sounds absolutely fantastic from the OPPO 103. Big bass punch, solid mids and great treble (highs).

So here is a quick question on older CD's and playing music in general with my OPPO:

In terms of quality and sound - - this is how I would rate it:

1. SACD and Bluray
2. CD's
3. MP3's - other like files.

So - - are there any older CD's (Redbook) that sound better than others? Irrespective of mastering techniques - - was there any technology that sounds better or technically better or all CD's the same?

Also - - I haven't played any MP3's yet, but I know there are compression issues. All things being equal - - shouldn't a CD sound better than the same song/music that's in an MP3 format?

I'm not talking about newer "DSD" files - - which sound great but get converted by my OPPO to PCM (but still sound great!)

Thx, Rico

Home Theater Setup
Samsung UN65ES8000 LCD/LED & BenQ W1080ST & Vizio M43C1
Pioneer SC65 (Pre-Amp) & Emotive XPA-3, 200 WPC
OPPO 103, Comcast Infinity X1, Darbee Darblet
ALL Paradigm - 7.1 - Studio 60's, V.2 (FL/FR) CC-690, V.5 (C)
ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub
Ricoflashback is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11432 of 21728 Old 08-31-2013, 08:32 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,754
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 1188
^ CD quality is all over the map, and has been since the format first came out. The "technology" is identical, but how it is used (the recording, mastering, and transfer process) varies an incredible amount. Some are simply godawful. For example, it is very common for recent CDs to be highly compressed. This raises the over all loudness of the result (quieter passages are made louder) but loses the impact of what are supposed to be the truly loud portions. Others are mastered specifically for playback on crappy equipment (in cars, boomboxes and the like). Your best bet is to go spend time at a disc review site focussed on the type of music you like. You may be able to hone in on a few studios that produce the quality you like. Be warned that the better your playback system, the more awful badly produced CDs will sound. You will hear ALL the defects.

HDCD is a variation that encodes 20 bits of dynamic range (softness to loudness difference) in the 16 bit format of a CD, at the expense of raising the noise floor a bit.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #11433 of 21728 Old 08-31-2013, 08:58 AM
Member
 
tenmad899's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Press Enter, and the on screen virtual keyboard will come up.
--Bob
Thanks! Bob! Silly me not trying to simply press enter...
Now the next question is, for the username and password, what kind should I enter? I mean, I use an external HDD attached to a router as a simple NAS. I was trying to use router's username and pw but did not work. Is there anything I missed?
tenmad899 is offline  
post #11434 of 21728 Old 08-31-2013, 09:00 AM
Member
 
globalnomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Beijing
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenmad899 View Post


Thanks! Bob! Silly me not trying to simply press enter...
Now the next question is, for the username and password, what kind should I enter? I mean, I use an external HDD attached to a router as a simple NAS. I was trying to use router's username and pw but did not work. Is there anything I missed?

 

Sounds like it won't even be password protected - just login without inputting any username or password and it should work. To clarify, you will be prompted to input a username/password regardless of whether or not you actually set a username/password to the share.

globalnomad is offline  
post #11435 of 21728 Old 08-31-2013, 12:18 PM
Member
 
Jammers10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Check Setup -> Video Setup -> Display Options -> Subtitle Shift. It should be 0.

This is one of the things that seems to get screwed up if people don't do a Reset Factory Default after installing new firmware. The numerical range of that setting was changed recently and that may have caused odd values to be introduced without a reset.

-Bill
I just did what you said to do and it worked. I updated the firmware a couple weeks ago and it changed the Subtitle Shift to -5. Now it's back to 0. Thanks,
Jammers10 is offline  
post #11436 of 21728 Old 08-31-2013, 02:58 PM
Member
 
kaffeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is there any particular reason that the Auto-Play setting doesn't work with BR/DVD discs (i.e. "Off" only seems to impact audio discs)? I know the workaround based on some googling, but am just curious if there is some legitimate reason this isn't a universal setting and if any of you beta testers or people in the know can see OPPO modifying this in the future?
kaffeen is offline  
post #11437 of 21728 Old 08-31-2013, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 11,002
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Because DVDs and Blu-rays have previews and other warning messages which will slow down how soon you can start watching the film. OPPO wants to get you to the TOP MENU, and thereby the film, as soon as possible. CD and SACD are pretty much load and play, so you may want to get to your listening position before engaging disc playback, which is why Auto Play affects these media types only.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #11438 of 21728 Old 08-31-2013, 04:09 PM
Member
 
kaffeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

Because DVDs and Blu-rays have previews and other warning messages which will slow down how soon you can start watching the film. OPPO wants to get you to the TOP MENU, and thereby the film, as soon as possible. CD and SACD are pretty much load and play, so you may want to get to your listening position before engaging disc playback, which is why Auto Play affects these media types only.

I'd rather they make it universal. Am I alone in that?
kaffeen is offline  
post #11439 of 21728 Old 08-31-2013, 08:04 PM
Member
 
tenmad899's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by globalnomad View Post

Sounds like it won't even be password protected - just login without inputting any username or password and it should work. To clarify, you will be prompted to input a username/password regardless of whether or not you actually set a username/password to the share.
I'd love to think so but it does not. It says invalid username and password...
tenmad899 is offline  
post #11440 of 21728 Old 08-31-2013, 08:41 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,754
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 1188
^ If you haven't set a password yourself, then it may have a default password such as user "Guest" and blank password. Check the documentation for it.

In your question about how to enter the password above, you talked about providing a password to your "router". What is this "router" of which you speak? The OPPO only know about networked SMB servers and DLNA servers. If you have a network accessible hard drive attached to a network router, then you need to enable SMB access to that hard drive (in the router's own settings), and the password you want is whatever you establish for that SMB share at that time -- or none if you don't set any.

If you are attempting to set up SMB-based file sharing on either a MAC computer or a Windows 8 computer, you will run into problems. There's a workaround available for doing that on a Mac, but not yet for Windows 8:

http://www.oppodigital.com/KnowledgeBase.aspx?KBID=32

--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #11441 of 21728 Old 08-31-2013, 10:30 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
sdrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,526
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Hi,
I've been trying to set up my Harmony 900 with my new Oppo 103 (which is being used alongside my Oppo 93 at the moment), and apparently the Harmony seems to be completely clueless about communicating with my new BluRay/AV source player. I have the 103' s original remote set to remote code 2 (the Oppo 93 is on remote code 1), and with the Oppo Device Setup also set to remote 2, I haven't had any problems using the original remote at all.

However, it seems that while I easily could get the 103's instruction set installed on the Harmony, the player itself doesn't recognize any commands from the Harmony. I tried confirming the IR codes by pairing the two remotes as per the Harmony instructions, and the remotes aren't communicating either. The same if I tried the Oppo 105 code.

Is there a known conflict with Harmony and the Oppo 103, particularly if you're using the remote set to something other than 1? I've got the latest official Oppo software up (0719) as well as the most recent Harmony software (7.7.0) and firmware.

Audio Gear: Trinnov Altitude 16/24, NAD M27 amp, Crown XLS 1502 stereo amps (2)
Display: Panasonic VT50, Lumagen Radiance Mini
Misc.: Oppo 103, Apple TV, JRiver ID NUC
Speakers: PSB Imagine T2, Center, and X2T Surrounds; Atlantic Tech 44-DA heights (4), HSU ULS-15 subs (2)
More gear to follow as I get going with the Altitude...
sdrucker is offline  
post #11442 of 21728 Old 08-31-2013, 11:47 PM
Newbie
 
skopelos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Thessaloniki - Greece
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello .....

Same thing here...my harmony remote when i change the remote code in oppo' s remote is unable to control the player....
skopelos is offline  
post #11443 of 21728 Old 09-01-2013, 04:25 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
sdrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,526
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by skopelos View Post

Hello .....

Same thing here...my harmony remote when i change the remote code in oppo' s remote is unable to control the player....

See this--I knew about switching remote codes, but missed the Harmony discussion a few weeks ago:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1432162/official-oppo-bdp-103-owners-thread/10980#post_23632552

Audio Gear: Trinnov Altitude 16/24, NAD M27 amp, Crown XLS 1502 stereo amps (2)
Display: Panasonic VT50, Lumagen Radiance Mini
Misc.: Oppo 103, Apple TV, JRiver ID NUC
Speakers: PSB Imagine T2, Center, and X2T Surrounds; Atlantic Tech 44-DA heights (4), HSU ULS-15 subs (2)
More gear to follow as I get going with the Altitude...
sdrucker is offline  
post #11444 of 21728 Old 09-01-2013, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,892
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdrucker View Post

Hi,
I've been trying to set up my Harmony 900 with my new Oppo 103 (which is being used alongside my Oppo 93 at the moment), and apparently the Harmony seems to be completely clueless about communicating with my new BluRay/AV source player. I have the 103' s original remote set to remote code 2 (the Oppo 93 is on remote code 1), and with the Oppo Device Setup also set to remote 2, I haven't had any problems using the original remote at all.

However, it seems that while I easily could get the 103's instruction set installed on the Harmony, the player itself doesn't recognize any commands from the Harmony. I tried confirming the IR codes by pairing the two remotes as per the Harmony instructions, and the remotes aren't communicating either. The same if I tried the Oppo 105 code.

Is there a known conflict with Harmony and the Oppo 103, particularly if you're using the remote set to something other than 1? I've got the latest official Oppo software up (0719) as well as the most recent Harmony software (7.7.0) and firmware.

Do you have a region-free mod? If you do, you may need to make some additional changes before you can change remote codesets. Check with the maker or your mod or the seller for additional information.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #11445 of 21728 Old 09-01-2013, 07:53 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
sdrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,526
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 235
^^ I have the JVB multiregion/multizone mod (from the instructions that came with the 103 I purchased from them, it's identical to the bluraychip.dk 'standard' mod kit). There was no problem using the Oppo remote on code 2 and switching out R1 and R2 DVDs (and so for, Region A BluRays). But I still have the original codeset, not the alternate in the Harmony database with their 103/105 device.

I'll check with JVB and see what, if anything else I might need to do to make the Harmony work with the 103 wrt their kit.

Audio Gear: Trinnov Altitude 16/24, NAD M27 amp, Crown XLS 1502 stereo amps (2)
Display: Panasonic VT50, Lumagen Radiance Mini
Misc.: Oppo 103, Apple TV, JRiver ID NUC
Speakers: PSB Imagine T2, Center, and X2T Surrounds; Atlantic Tech 44-DA heights (4), HSU ULS-15 subs (2)
More gear to follow as I get going with the Altitude...
sdrucker is offline  
post #11446 of 21728 Old 09-01-2013, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
amoergosum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was wondering >>> how customer-friendly is Oppo in regards to supporting older Blu-ray players? Especially with some new Blu-rays, firmware updates are essential. I'm asking since I recently had a bad experience with a Philips Blu-ray player. Philips stopped releasing firmware updates so quite a number of Blu-rays don't play. I'm never gonna purchase a Blu-ray player from Philips again. So for example; when I look at the Oppo support website for the BDP-83 I see that the latest official firmware was released on March 7, 2012. So I guess they stopped supporting it? Have there not been ANY issues with newly released Blu-rays?
amoergosum is offline  
post #11447 of 21728 Old 09-01-2013, 11:26 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,836
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1275 Post(s)
Liked: 587
Updates for disc compatibility are probably all you are going to get for older players, but as you say, that is pretty important.

From time to time there are reports of title-related issues with the older players but we seldom hear of the followup: did OPPO address the issue, is it working now?

You might ask in the -83 thread whether there are Blu-ray discs that will not play, then follow up with OPPO to make sure they agree, that it is not a user error of some sort.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #11448 of 21728 Old 09-01-2013, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,154
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by amoergosum View Post

I was wondering >>> how customer-friendly is Oppo in regards to supporting older Blu-ray players? Especially with some new Blu-rays, firmware updates are essential. I'm asking since I recently had a bad experience with a Philips Blu-ray player. Philips stopped releasing firmware updates so quite a number of Blu-rays don't play. I'm never gonna purchase a Blu-ray player from Philips again. So for example; when I look at the Oppo support website for the BDP-83 I see that the latest official firmware was released on March 7, 2012. So I guess they stopped supporting it? Have there not been ANY issues with newly released Blu-rays?

I have a BDP-83, have benefited from the great Oppo support on firmware updates, etc. I think it's a combination of excellent initial design and timely firmware updates that has kept it going well. I bought mine in 2009, kept up with every update. I have never had a disk that would not play and play well.

In the time I've owned it, there have been many features added to my player, SACD and DVD-A play, DLNA capabilities, and many fixes that improved the machine. Throughout the time I've had it, it has been a rock solid player. I've just finished watching "How the west was won", "Life of Pi", "O Brother Wherefore art thou" and "Terminator Salvation".

Statistically, I'm just one point but for four years this thing has been a horse. It gets used daily for music, movies, DVD and Bluray. In my experience, if what you want is the best player around with the best support, you get an Oppo.

I have no doubt that if the 83 needed a firmware update, it would get it, but for what it does, I haven't needed one.
hernanu is offline  
post #11449 of 21728 Old 09-01-2013, 07:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Bill Cruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Washington, DC metro area, USA
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jammers10 View Post

I'm having a strange issue with my OPPO BDP-103 blu-ray player if indeed it's the players fault. When i choose to see the subtitles on a DVD or blu-ray disc they don't show on the screen. I played the same movie on my computer and the subtitles showed on the screen. I'm sure the answer is right under my nose. Is there a setting in the blu-ray player that should be on?

I just had this problem myself. Except the subtitles were half off the bottom of the screen. From p.34 of the manual:

To shift the display position of subtitles, please follow these steps:
1. When playing a DVD, Blu-ray Disc or other video programs recorded with subtitles, select the desired
subtitle from the disc menu or by using the remote. (Refer to page 29 for more information.)
2. Press and hold the SUBTITLE button on the remote control until the Shift Subtitle Position prompt
appears on the screen.
3. Wait until subtitle text is shown on the screen, and then use the UP/DOWN ARROW buttons to move
the subtitle text to the desired position.
4. Press the ENTER button to set the subtitle display position.
Once the Subtitle Shift position is set, it is saved by the player in the Video Setup > Display Options >
Subtitle Shift setup menu option. The setting will be applied to subtitles of all future DVD and Blu-ray
Discs. You can also change the setup menu item directly. Refer to the Video Setup section beginning on
page 53 for more information.

-Bill

Bill Cruce
Widescreen Review
Bill Cruce is offline  
post #11450 of 21728 Old 09-01-2013, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wildwood, MO
Posts: 1,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've been using the Vudu app a lot with my 103. The last couple of nights, we power everything up and navigate to Vudu. The Vudu logo comes up and the player hangs. I can power cycle the BD player and then it works fine.
brentsg is offline  
post #11451 of 21728 Old 09-01-2013, 11:49 PM
Senior Member
 
amoergosum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post

I have a BDP-83, have benefited from the great Oppo support on firmware updates, etc. I think it's a combination of excellent initial design and timely firmware updates that has kept it going well. I bought mine in 2009, kept up with every update. I have never had a disk that would not play and play well.

In the time I've owned it, there have been many features added to my player, SACD and DVD-A play, DLNA capabilities, and many fixes that improved the machine. Throughout the time I've had it, it has been a rock solid player. I've just finished watching "How the west was won", "Life of Pi", "O Brother Wherefore art thou" and "Terminator Salvation".

Statistically, I'm just one point but for four years this thing has been a horse. It gets used daily for music, movies, DVD and Bluray. In my experience, if what you want is the best player around with the best support, you get an Oppo.

I have no doubt that if the 83 needed a firmware update, it would get it, but for what it does, I haven't needed one.


Thanks for your reply. It was just hard to imagine that there hasn't been an issue with ANY newly releaed Blu-ray on the BDP-83 since March 2012.
amoergosum is offline  
post #11452 of 21728 Old 09-02-2013, 12:03 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,876
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by amoergosum View Post



Thanks for your reply. It was just hard to imagine that there hasn't been an issue with ANY newly released Blu-ray on the BDP-83 since March 2012.
I've owned a BDP-83 but back in 2011 I switched to the 93. You can read the 83 and 93 threads for owner's complaints about disks that don't play. I don't recall any unsolved problems if all players were effected.

There are some cases where a disk wouldn't play for one or a very small number of owners. In those cases is seems to be the disk, failed player, or a setup problem.

OPPO handles hardware failures very rapidly for a very modest flat rate. You can check with them for the current rate. Turn around is almost always is one business day.
htwaits is offline  
post #11453 of 21728 Old 09-02-2013, 06:13 AM
Member
 
cc999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I was wondering >>> how customer-friendly is Oppo in regards to supporting older Blu-ray players? Especially with some new Blu-rays, firmware updates are essential. I'm asking since I recently had a bad experience with a Philips Blu-ray player. Philips stopped releasing firmware updates so quite a number of Blu-rays don't play. I'm never gonna purchase a Blu-ray player from Philips again. So for example; when I look at the Oppo support website for the BDP-83 I see that the latest official firmware was released on March 7, 2012. So I guess they stopped supporting it? Have there not been ANY issues with newly released Blu-rays?


In response to above post:

They are excellent is response. I have a problem now with the DVD 5.1 version of Elvis 30 #1 Hits. I emailed them.
Within an hour they replied and verified the problem and promised a fix in an upcoming firmware release.

That's what I would call excellent customer service.

CC
cc999 is offline  
post #11454 of 21728 Old 09-02-2013, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I just found another feature on the Oppo 103 that had me pleasantly surprised. In addition to the video/audio information screen on Netflix movies, you can easily toggle the subtitles on/off with the Subtitle button. This is great!! smile.gif

lujan
799 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #11455 of 21728 Old 09-02-2013, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 126
^^
It's a nice feature, but it's not really unique to Oppo. Both of the players I replaced with the 103 (Samsung and Pioneer) had a Subtitle button.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #11456 of 21728 Old 09-02-2013, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,892
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post

^^
It's a nice feature, but it's not really unique to Oppo. Both of the players I replaced with the 103 (Samsung and Pioneer) had a Subtitle button.

Could they also adjust the positioning of the subtitles like the Oppo can?

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #11457 of 21728 Old 09-02-2013, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 126
^^Nope!

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #11458 of 21728 Old 09-02-2013, 10:09 AM
Senior Member
 
lorjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by amoergosum View Post

I was wondering >>> how customer-friendly is Oppo in regards to supporting older Blu-ray players? Especially with some new Blu-rays, firmware updates are essential. I'm asking since I recently had a bad experience with a Philips Blu-ray player. Philips stopped releasing firmware updates so quite a number of Blu-rays don't play. I'm never gonna purchase a Blu-ray player from Philips again. So for example; when I look at the Oppo support website for the BDP-83 I see that the latest official firmware was released on March 7, 2012. So I guess they stopped supporting it? Have there not been ANY issues with newly released Blu-rays?

Only issue with my 83SE is the length of time some of the newer releases take to load. For example, "Hitman" hung up when I first loaded it, the display said "stop", and remained that way for some time. I thought I had a defective disc or a dirty one, but after a long time it eventually loaded and played normally. All newer discs that did the same eventually played. I have not had a Blu-ray disc that has not played in my 83SE.

JVC-RS4910, Samsung 64H5000, LG 60PA6550
Oppo 93, Oppo 83SE, Oppo 80, DirecTV HR44-200, Samsung DTB260F, Roku 3, Denon DP-1200
Marantz AV7702, Onkyo PR-SC5507, Onkyo TX-NR3008, McIntosh C26, DVDO Duo
Parasound A51, Parasound HCA-806A, Emotiva UPA-1s, Marantz MA500s, Sonance 5150, McIntosh MC2105
Paradigm Studio V4s & V5s, Hsu subs X2,
lorjam is offline  
post #11459 of 21728 Old 09-02-2013, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 103

^^^

 

Did you turn off BD-Live?


How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #11460 of 21728 Old 09-02-2013, 11:37 AM
Member
 
petercw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Probably a silly question: if I rip a BluRay from my collection into a MKV file (using MakeMKV) and then play it from an external drive plugged into a USB on my Oppo, is that the same A/V quality as playing it from the BR disc?
petercw2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off