Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 383 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 392Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2013, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
lorjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by amoergosum View Post

I was wondering >>> how customer-friendly is Oppo in regards to supporting older Blu-ray players? Especially with some new Blu-rays, firmware updates are essential. I'm asking since I recently had a bad experience with a Philips Blu-ray player. Philips stopped releasing firmware updates so quite a number of Blu-rays don't play. I'm never gonna purchase a Blu-ray player from Philips again. So for example; when I look at the Oppo support website for the BDP-83 I see that the latest official firmware was released on March 7, 2012. So I guess they stopped supporting it? Have there not been ANY issues with newly released Blu-rays?

Only issue with my 83SE is the length of time some of the newer releases take to load. For example, "Hitman" hung up when I first loaded it, the display said "stop", and remained that way for some time. I thought I had a defective disc or a dirty one, but after a long time it eventually loaded and played normally. All newer discs that did the same eventually played. I have not had a Blu-ray disc that has not played in my 83SE.
lorjam is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-02-2013, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 97

^^^

 

Did you turn off BD-Live?


How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
petercw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Probably a silly question: if I rip a BluRay from my collection into a MKV file (using MakeMKV) and then play it from an external drive plugged into a USB on my Oppo, is that the same A/V quality as playing it from the BR disc?
petercw2 is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 12:48 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,999
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 789 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by petercw2 View Post

Probably a silly question: if I rip a BluRay from my collection into a MKV file (using MakeMKV) and then play it from an external drive plugged into a USB on my Oppo, is that the same A/V quality as playing it from the BR disc?

Yes.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Old 09-02-2013, 01:05 PM
Senior Member
 
petercw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Again, sorry for the 101-type questions:
ripping my collection and dumping onto a Buffalo Link station drive - that is connected to the Oppo via USB but connected to my network via ethernet - would be the best way to accomplish getting everything into one place and not losing any audio or video quality? Should I expect that the file would then just simply work (in terms of the pop-up menus) if I selected that file just as if I'd put the BR in the Oppo?
thanks again for the help
petercw2 is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 01:20 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,999
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 789 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by petercw2 View Post

Again, sorry for the 101-type questions:
ripping my collection and dumping onto a Buffalo Link station drive - that is connected to the Oppo via USB but connected to my network via ethernet - would be the best way to accomplish getting everything into one place and not losing any audio or video quality? Should I expect that the file would then just simply work (in terms of the pop-up menus) if I selected that file just as if I'd put the BR in the Oppo?
thanks again for the help

MKV copies of Blu-ray discs are single title. There is no menu. You can chapter skip and use the GOTO button, and the Subtitle and Audio buttons to select from available tracks.

Are you sure your device can be on ethernet and a USB mass storage device at the same time? A lot of these devices have USB for additional storage, but are not themselves accessible that way.

If the OPPO and the device are both on the network you can access the files from the player via its DLNA or SMB capability. You don't need a direct USB attachment.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Old 09-02-2013, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
petercw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

MKV copies of Blu-ray discs are single title. There is no menu. You can chapter skip and use the GOTO button, and the Subtitle and Audio buttons to select from available tracks.

Are you sure your device can be on ethernet and a USB mass storage device at the same time? A lot of these devices have USB for additional storage, but are not themselves accessible that way.

If the OPPO and the device are both on the network you can access the files from the player via its DLNA or SMB capability. You don't need a direct USB attachment.

ok, that's the info I was looking for… I assumed there would be a loss of something in the mix, but wasn't clear what it was…
Also, thanks for the clarification about USBvNetwork… Yes, the Oppo would be on the same network so that probably is the better option.

Was just looking for a HT project and wondered if this was a viable option, but in no way am interested in losing a/v quality.
petercw2 is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 02:09 PM
Member
 
kelseyhorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Any thoughts if we might be seeing a new version of the Oppo's at Cedia this year? smile.gif
kelseyhorne is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 02:23 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,103
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 626 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post

.....I did experiment with a 9.1 (even 11.1) channel speaker setup but it was really overkill. I settled into 7.1 and haven't looked back.

Really I thought 9.1 and 11.1 really added sense of space?
wse is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,773
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by kelseyhorne View Post

Any thoughts if we might be seeing a new version of the Oppo's at Cedia this year? smile.gif

Based on their past patterns of introducing new models, I would say no. New models are usually at least 2 years apart in my experience.
kelseyhorne likes this.

JazzGuyy is online now  
Old 09-02-2013, 02:41 PM
Member
 
kelseyhorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I was wondering if I could get some clarification from someone on this forum!

I have an Oppo 103 for music and movies using hdmi. How would I be able to use a different dac for 2 channel music only? I have a Cambridge DAC100 that is gathering dust and would like to try it out. Is coaxial or optical the better route to get the highest res possible? and would connecting it that way be the right way?

Thanks for the help.
kelseyhorne is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 03:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
esh516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I would just use the dacs in the oppo
i also have a very nice transport/ dac with a seperate power supply..(costing 4 times the oppos cost)..and for music,the oppo is right up there
very very close.....very nice sounding dacs in the oppo"s.
kelseyhorne likes this.
esh516 is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 03:29 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,280
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 747 Post(s)
Liked: 1073
Quote:
Originally Posted by kelseyhorne View Post

I was wondering if I could get some clarification from someone on this forum!

I have an Oppo 103 for music and movies using hdmi. How would I be able to use a different dac for 2 channel music only? I have a Cambridge DAC100 that is gathering dust and would like to try it out. Is coaxial or optical the better route to get the highest res possible? and would connecting it that way be the right way?

Thanks for the help.

Barring a faulty cable, Optical Digital or Coax will be identical as far as output from the 103. Typically I would go for Optical, as it doesn't carry an electric signal and is thus one less path for shield-path interference to travel between devices. I wouldn't know if your DAC has a preference.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Old 09-02-2013, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Repdetect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Barring a faulty cable, Optical Digital or Coax will be identical as far as output from the 103. Typically I would go for Optical, as it doesn't carry an electric signal and is thus one less path for shield-path interference to travel between devices. I wouldn't know if your DAC has a preference.
--Bob

What does 'shield-path interference ' sound like or what are its effects. Is it ever audible?

Mitsubishi WD73-742, Oppo BDP-103, Gallo 3.1/ Reference AV center/ Adiva-ti surrounds, Emotiva UMC-200/ XPA-5/ XPA-3, Toshiba HD-A3. Roku XS

 

"All rooms, speakers and ears are different, trust your own ears."

Repdetect is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 03:34 PM
Member
 
kelseyhorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
In the settings menu what should I set the optical to so the player doesnt use its internal DAC? is there a raw option that I am missing?

thanks again
kelseyhorne is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 04:19 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,280
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 747 Post(s)
Liked: 1073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Repdetect View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Barring a faulty cable, Optical Digital or Coax will be identical as far as output from the 103. Typically I would go for Optical, as it doesn't carry an electric signal and is thus one less path for shield-path interference to travel between devices. I wouldn't know if your DAC has a preference.
--Bob

What does 'shield-path interference ' sound like or what are its effects. Is it ever audible?

Ground Loops (the most common form of such stuff) typically are heard as 60Hz power line interference hum. The interference current travels between devices on the cable shields of the cables connecting them. Since Optical cable has no electrical path -- not even a cable shield -- such current can't flow.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Old 09-02-2013, 04:40 PM
Member
 
darthkringle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by globalnomad View Post

For those on Windows using SMB and NTFS formatting, this may be a nice (temporary) work around for dealing with playlists.

The newest version of Foobar2000 has the built-in ability to copy files as Hard Links to a directory of your choosing. This doesn't duplicate the file, but rather links the target back to the original file, thus saving storage space. During this process, you can rename the link based on a pattern.

(Made some edits thanks to Flave)
  1. Load your playlist into Foobar.
  2. Select all items in the playlist, right-click, select File Operations-->Copy to... (If you have saved previous Copy operations the tree will be -->Copy-->...)
  3. In the copy dialog, select the "Link" radio button in the first row labeled "Operation type:"
  4. Select the directory you wish to copy the links to under "Destination Folder". I have created a structure like \Playlists\[PlaylistName]
  5. To insure your files stay in the playlist order prefix any naming pattern you choose with %list_index%. For example, to name my links by [Playlist Position]. [Artist] - [Title] (e.g. "01. Billy Joel - Piano Man"). I would use the following naming pattern: %list_index%. %artist% - %title%
  6. Make sure the "Copy entire source folder content" checkbox is unchecked.
  7. Click Run.

You will now have a folder containing links to the original files, renamed to include the playlist position at the front to insure your files appear in the folder in the same order as that of the playlist. You can set OPPO to default play-order to play the directory in the order of the playlist/folder, otherwise you can set it to Shuffle/Random to let it do its own thing.

Full details on how you can use naming patterns to rename your files when copying can be found here.

The latest version of Foobar2000 (1.2.4 as of this post) can be found here.

NOTE: Editing the files from the links will edit the original files! Deleting the links, however, will not touch the original data.

I hope this helps! Sorry for no screen caps.


So this appears to work very well. WIth that said, the links created imply that they are the same size as the source file.....I assume this is because it is reading the "spot" the file is in but has not made a copy of the file itself correct?
darthkringle is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 04:40 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,280
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 747 Post(s)
Liked: 1073
Quote:
Originally Posted by kelseyhorne View Post

In the settings menu what should I set the optical to so the player doesnt use its internal DAC? is there a raw option that I am missing?

thanks again

The internal DAC in the OPPO is always "live" since the Analog outputs are always live, but if you are listening to DIGITAL audio output from the 103 then the internal DAC is not in the signal path. So HDMI Audio, or Optical/Coax S/PDIF Audio remains digital from content to output, and thus no Digital to Analog Converter in the signal path.

Perhaps you are confusing the DAC (Digital to Analog Converter), with the decoding that turns something like a TrueHD or DTS-HD MA Bitstream track from a Blu-ray disc into LPCM digital audio? If you want to avoid having the player do that decoding then set HDMI Audio Bitstream and Secondary Audio OFF. Your HDMI-capable AVR will need to be able to accept such high bit-rate Bitstream HDMI Audio input formats and do its own decoding of those.
--Bob
kelseyhorne likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Old 09-02-2013, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Repdetect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Ground Loops (the most common form of such stuff) typically are heard as 60Hz power line interference hum. The interference current travels between devices on the cable shields of the cables connecting them. Since Optical cable has no electrical path -- not even a cable shield -- such current can't flow.
--Bob

Thanks, I never thought of coax as a possible source for ground loops, good to know.

Avoided optical as it was thought to be a poorer performer many years ago, I guess not an issue any more.

Mitsubishi WD73-742, Oppo BDP-103, Gallo 3.1/ Reference AV center/ Adiva-ti surrounds, Emotiva UMC-200/ XPA-5/ XPA-3, Toshiba HD-A3. Roku XS

 

"All rooms, speakers and ears are different, trust your own ears."

Repdetect is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheFactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 4,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 106
I've got a question I'm running my 103 threw my main HT gear via HDMI to my Integra 80.3 and then RCA out to my 2 ch setup NAD 356 bee preamp section to my halo A21 amp. Anyway when I play CDs or SACDs I don't have to fire up my display and Integra it just starts playing . But when I play my hi res downloads on my USB thumb drive I have to fire up my HT To navigate threw my kuros display to play it and of course that consists of my amps in my HT also . It seems not only its a waste when I just want my 2 ch setup playing but that splits the signal from the HDMI to my RCAs out of my Oppo . So does that take away from the sound quality ? I can't hear any difference it still sounds amazing but was just curious . I normally just turn off the display and HT amp and Integra after I navigate threw my kuros display to get it to play .But it just seems like a lot of extra wear on my HT firing it up Everytime and then turning off just to listen to my seperate 2 ch setup threw the RCA's on my Oppo . It seems it won't let me navigate threw the Oppos remote unless I have my display on . Is there a trick to it I'm missing ? I checked the owners manual and it just shows navigating on the Tv's display not on the Oppos display face .
TheFactor is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 06:23 PM
Newbie
 
waqiabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Right, I simply connected the single cable to the Oppo's HDMI 1 output and all was well. kUH9
waqiabbs is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 07:04 PM
Member
 
globalnomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Beijing
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthkringle View Post


So this appears to work very well. WIth that said, the links created imply that they are the same size as the source file.....I assume this is because it is reading the "spot" the file is in but has not made a copy of the file itself correct?

 

Correct, the links you made are just that - links. They refer back to the original file so when you view their properties it looks like the original file even though no additional space is consumed.

globalnomad is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,224
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFactor View Post

I've got a question I'm running my 103 threw my main HT gear via HDMI to my Integra 80.3 and then RCA out to my 2 ch setup NAD 356 bee preamp section to my halo A21 amp. Anyway when I play CDs or SACDs I don't have to fire up my display and Integra it just starts playing . But when I play my hi res downloads on my USB thumb drive I have to fire up my HT To navigate threw my kuros display to play it and of course that consists of my amps in my HT also . It seems not only its a waste when I just want my 2 ch setup playing but that splits the signal from the HDMI to my RCAs out of my Oppo . So does that take away from the sound quality ? I can't hear any difference it still sounds amazing but was just curious . I normally just turn off the display and HT amp and Integra after I navigate threw my kuros display to get it to play .But it just seems like a lot of extra wear on my HT firing it up Everytime and then turning off just to listen to my seperate 2 ch setup threw the RCA's on my Oppo . It seems it won't let me navigate threw the Oppos remote unless I have my display on . Is there a trick to it I'm missing ? I checked the owners manual and it just shows navigating on the Tv's display not on the Oppos display face .

People get a small TV or monitor that accepts HDMI and run it instead of the main display.
TheFactor likes this.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Corbin Dallas, "The Fifth Element"

Klipsch Chorus II (Mains); Klipsch Academy (Center) (KLF-C7 waiting in the wings); Klipsch RS-62 II (Surrounds); SVS PC13-Ultra (Big Bada Boom); ATI AT1505 (Amp); OPPO BDP-105 (Blu-ray Player); Panasonic 60GT50 (Plasma TV)
Mongo171 is online now  
Old 09-02-2013, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheFactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 4,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post

People get a small TV or monitor that accepts HDMI and run it instead of the main display.
I can see why , Thank you that's a great idea .
TheFactor is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 11:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheFactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 4,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by aulola0001 View Post

Want it !
Get it ! biggrin.gif
TheFactor is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 07:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

Really I thought 9.1 and 11.1 really added sense of space?

Chalk it up to my smaller man cave. Plus, there really isn't much material natively recorded in discrete 9.1 or 11.1 format that I know of.

You can use DTS-Neo and output 5.1 & 7.1 into 9.1 or 11.1 - - but it is "matrixed" as I understand it.

I ended up going with 7.1 and using a dedicated 7.1 amplifier (Wyred4Sound MMC-7) and it seems to work the best for my area, "sense of space" wise.

Home Theater Setup
Samsung UN65ES8000 LCD/LED
BenQ W1080ST Projector
Pioneer SC65 (Pre-Amp)
Wyred4Sound MMC-7 Channel Amplifier, 221wpc
OPPO 103, Directv GENIE
Darbee Darblet
ALL Paradigm - 7.1 - Studio 60's, V.2 (FL/FR)
CC-690, V.5 (C)
ADP 590 V.5 (SS)
MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub
Ricoflashback is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
amoergosum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So I've been thinking about ordering an OPPO BDP-103 for quite a while now.
I'm looking for a solution to watch Region A & Region B Blu-rays so I either need >>>

a) one multi zone Blu-ray player

or

b) one region A Blu-ray player and one region B Blu-ray player

I'm from Germany by the way.

So of course it would be more convenient to purchase one multi zone Blu-ray player. On the other hand I heard that the Panasonic BDT-500 has better pq than the Oppo BDP-103. PQ is very important to me. I actually don't want an image processor like the Qdeo chip which alters the image. I read quite a bit about the softness of HDMI1 due to default noise reduction (Oppo BDP-103). What I want is an image which represents what the master looks like. I'm not looking for additional contrast boost, noise reduction etc. .
Oppo recommends using HDMI2 in that case...hmmmm.
I wonder how HDMI2 (Oppo) compares with the Panasonic BDT-500.

What would you recommend?
amoergosum is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,773
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 102
For Blu-Ray, no one has been able to demonstrate significant differences among Blu-Ray players, except for some of the dirt cheap no-name-brand players which are poor. For standard DVD, I think it is hard to beat the Oppos. I get great results with both NTSC and PAL material on my BDP-105 (which has the same video circuitry as the 103) via HDMI2. The Oppo also gives you a whole lot of file playing and disc playing options that just aren't there on the Panasonic. It all depends on where your needs and priorities are.

JazzGuyy is online now  
Old 09-03-2013, 09:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by amoergosum View Post

I wonder how HDMI2 (Oppo) compares with the Panasonic BDT-500.

What would you recommend?

If your only concern is watching BD and DVD via HDMI, it makes very little difference what player you buy. Get whatever is simplest to make region free.
brentsg likes this.
rdgrimes is online now  
Old 09-03-2013, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Repdetect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

If your only concern is watching BD and DVD via HDMI, it makes very little difference what player you buy. Get whatever is simplest to make region free.

Kudos for such a refreshingly frank answer.

It's posts like this that make oppo and the oppo avs threads such great resources.

.

Mitsubishi WD73-742, Oppo BDP-103, Gallo 3.1/ Reference AV center/ Adiva-ti surrounds, Emotiva UMC-200/ XPA-5/ XPA-3, Toshiba HD-A3. Roku XS

 

"All rooms, speakers and ears are different, trust your own ears."

Repdetect is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off