Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 387 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 495Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11581 of 21420 Old 09-06-2013, 01:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TSHA222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: barely within my means
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Ok, at the risk of getting any HDMI 1 or 2 debate raging, I sent an email to Oppo just to see what kind of response I would get. Not having a unit yet, I can't comment one way or the other regarding Qdeo or chroma issues but I have read enough to know that enough folks on here say it's an issue. Before ordering, I just was curious what kind of response I'd get from Oppo.

"When using Source Direct the QDEO processor is still engage for things like Color Space conversion and a small amount of Noise Reduction which is always enabled on that output. But all de-interlacing, scaling, frame rate conversion and other processing is disabled.

The Chroma issue with HDMI 2 as resolved in the 59-0719 Firmware.

Best Regards,

Customer Service
OPPO Digital, Inc."

The Qdeo on HDMI 1 was pretty much acknowledged long ago but what struck me was the last sentence stating the HDMI 2 chroma issue was fixed in firmware. Can anyone confirm that who has a unit and has tested the output with this firmware version?

Thanks

Chris
TSHA222 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11582 of 21420 Old 09-06-2013, 01:07 PM
Member
 
OPPOrtunist's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post

The Darblet isn't for everyone. Some folks just do not like the image, period. It doesn't change the resolution or anything like that. it doesn't "boost" the contrast or change it - - it just enhances it. It makes the image look considerably sharper, but dimensionally it takes a huge leap forward. To me, the colors look fantastic - - brighter, sharper, more vivid. All this with no negative consequences to the image and without artifacts.

It definitely sharpens the image - especially for projectors. And, in response to your comment that the Darblet "created it," - - not in my opinion. The same "stubble" effect that I saw on the show when I was channel surfing is evident with other broadcasts. It truly does "lift the veil."

I do not use any HTPC in my setup, so we're probably not comparing apples to apples. But that's o.k. - - to each his own.

What is the difference between "boosting" and "enhancement"?

On a more general note (and no offence intended), is this thread the proper place to discuss the pros and cons of third party products?
OPPOrtunist is offline  
post #11583 of 21420 Old 09-06-2013, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by OPPOrtunist View Post

What is the difference between "boosting" and "enhancement"?

On a more general note (and no offence intended), is this thread the proper place to discuss the pros and cons of third party products?

I'm fine with addressing any Darblet comments on the Darbee Forum. Many folks have asked about the Darblet and how it works with the OPPO player. The basic response is that the better the source, the better the enhancement - - and I think the OPPO is the best Bluray Player on the market.

Perhaps I should have used the word "changing" versus "boosting." Either way - - the intent was to communicate that the source signal itself is not "changed" or altered (chroma or luma patterns). Obviously, enhancement is in the eyes of the viewer and whether it's an effect that you like with your OPPO player or not.

Home Theater Setup
Samsung UN65ES8000 LCD/LED
BenQ W1080ST Projector
Pioneer SC65 (Pre-Amp)
Wyred4Sound MMC-7 Channel Amplifier, 221wpc
OPPO 103, Directv GENIE
Darbee Darblet
ALL Paradigm - 7.1 - Studio 60's, V.2 (FL/FR)
CC-690, V.5 (C)
ADP 590 V.5 (SS)
MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #11584 of 21420 Old 09-06-2013, 01:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,900
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by OPPOrtunist View Post

On a more general note (and no offence intended), is this thread the proper place to discuss the pros and cons of third party products?

 

Third party?

 

http://www.widescreenreview.com/news_detail.php?id=19959

Charles R is offline  
post #11585 of 21420 Old 09-06-2013, 01:50 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,596
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1132 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

Third party?

http://www.widescreenreview.com/news_detail.php?id=19959

That's a different model. There will be a thread for it eventually (I presume), but until then, all darbee talk in the dedicated darbee thead, please.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #11586 of 21420 Old 09-06-2013, 02:00 PM
Member
 
OPPOrtunist's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

Third party?

http://www.widescreenreview.com/news_detail.php?id=19959

As far as I can see, neither Darbee's nor Oppo's website contain anything concerning the possible cooperation between the two companies, let alone any specifics as to whether the 103D will be an official Oppo product or a license for Darbee to customize the player (or some other arrangement).
OPPOrtunist is offline  
post #11587 of 21420 Old 09-06-2013, 02:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,977
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

If it's anything like my experience with the Darblet it created not revealed them. At least it did the moment I applied it on top of the already contrast boosting processes via my display or HTPC.

We're getting off track here with talk about the Darblet that is better had in the Video Processors forum or the eventual OPPO 103D thread. However, I must point out that the Darblet cannot create detail that isn't present in the source. It merely accenuates what's already there. The better the source, the better the result. Unfortunately, if your image already suffers artifacts (such as from contrast boosting via another processor), it can accentuate those as well. I expect that you would have gotten better results if you'd turned off that extraneous processing before turning on the Darblet.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is online now  
post #11588 of 21420 Old 09-06-2013, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post

We're getting off track here with talk about the Darblet that is better had in the Video Processors forum or the eventual OPPO 103D thread. However, I must point out that the Darblet cannot create detail that isn't present in the source. It merely accenuates what's already there. The better the source, the better the result. Unfortunately, if your image already suffers artifacts (such as from contrast boosting via another processor), it can accentuate those as well. I expect that you would have gotten better results if you'd turned off that extraneous processing before turning on the Darblet.

I'll be at CEDIA Expo 2013 in Denver in a couple of weeks. Adam & Larry will be at the show with the BDP-103D (first public showing) with the Darblet in 4K, "OPPO" glory. I'll post on the Darbee site or the BDP-103D site when one gets created.

Home Theater Setup
Samsung UN65ES8000 LCD/LED
BenQ W1080ST Projector
Pioneer SC65 (Pre-Amp)
Wyred4Sound MMC-7 Channel Amplifier, 221wpc
OPPO 103, Directv GENIE
Darbee Darblet
ALL Paradigm - 7.1 - Studio 60's, V.2 (FL/FR)
CC-690, V.5 (C)
ADP 590 V.5 (SS)
MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #11589 of 21420 Old 09-06-2013, 03:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,900
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post
I expect that you would have gotten better results if you'd turned off that extraneous processing before turning on the Darblet.

 

Those extraneous processes were performing the identical function... hence the overkill when duplicated. One boost is more than enough... other wise it's torch mode. However, I did try each individually and the native tools looked as good or better. Once again why the third party device was overkill or not needed.

Charles R is offline  
post #11590 of 21420 Old 09-06-2013, 03:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,247
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 828 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4mula1 View Post

Are you talking no Cinavia detection at all for MKV, or just over SMB? I have had MKV files played via USB where Cinavia did kick in and I got the popup and lost sound. The work around was to ReMux and remove the chapter references. Then it played fine with no interruption.

I'm not able to duplicate this with my own test files. IOW, no Cinavia detection in MKV or M2TS files, either via attached storage or SMB. They WILL trigger protection on a BDR disc, and of course in BDMV folders.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #11591 of 21420 Old 09-06-2013, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
AYColumbia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post

Ah, I missed the one in the front. But still - - that would look kind of messy running an HDMI cable from there. I would have designed it with two HDMI "in" connections on the back. That would really cover 90% of the HT setups - - satellite box & media player.
The one on the front is for convenience for those connecting a temporary source like a camera, phone and so on. I'd prefer both to be in the back too. Those that need one to always be handy can run a 6" or 1' HDMI extender cable which is preferred in my case since the "wear and tear" would be on the cable and not the port.

AYColumbia is offline  
post #11592 of 21420 Old 09-06-2013, 05:35 PM
Member
 
jboileau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

I'm not able to duplicate this with my own test files. IOW, no Cinavia detection in MKV or M2TS files, either via attached storage or SMB. They WILL trigger protection on a BDR disc, and of course in BDMV folders.

I have been testing an MKV of Total Recall 2012 through SMB for more than 25 minutes without a problem with the latest beta firmware.
jboileau is online now  
post #11593 of 21420 Old 09-06-2013, 05:38 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,596
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1132 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by jboileau View Post

I have been testing an MKV of Total Recall 2012 through SMB for more than 25 minutes without a problem with the latest beta firmware.

My test was an MKV on an optical disc. I'll try USB hard drive, SMB and DLNA tomorrow.

Checking cinavia can eat up your day.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #11594 of 21420 Old 09-06-2013, 08:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,247
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 828 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

My test was an MKV on an optical disc. I'll try USB hard drive, SMB and DLNA tomorrow.

Checking cinavia can eat up your day.

-Bill

Optical discs ALWAYS cause Cinavia detection, even if its not a BDR. I've tested it on a DVD too, and got the same triggering.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #11595 of 21420 Old 09-07-2013, 05:15 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,596
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1132 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

Optical discs ALWAYS cause Cinavia detection, even if its not a BDR. I've tested it on a DVD too, and got the same triggering.

So this has been the case for a long time? Somehow that slipped by me. Usually I do the cinavia check from USB or over the network; I happened to try it from disc this time.

I'll verify the other modes today.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #11596 of 21420 Old 09-07-2013, 05:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,247
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 828 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

So this has been the case for a long time?

-Bill

Far as I know, yes.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #11597 of 21420 Old 09-07-2013, 07:42 AM
Member
 
kaffeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Last evening, I was watching Netflix via the OPPO and quickly exited and changed to my HDMI in signal - there was no HDMI signal. I mention "quickly" simply because I wasn't giving much time between menu transitions and trying to get to some source material in a hurry (and think that may have something to do with the behavior exhibited). I then proceeded to do the following.

1) I checked the HDMI cable which was coming from my ATT Uverse receiver and verified that all was attached correctly (I even unplugged and plugged it back in to the OPPO). No HDMI signal.
2) I tried turning on and off the Uverse receiver (which is my HDMI in source). My Panasonic ZT60 kept informing me there was no HDMI signal (via Panny dialog box).
3) I tried turning on and off the television with no change.
4) I then tried turning on and off the OPPO. This is when I noticed that the OPPO static image came up when I switched to HDMI - this is the same image that shows when powered on (but goes away to the home screen) - this image was constant on HDMI in (I've never seen this happen before).
5) At that point I tried turning off all devices and turning them back on - still a constant and static OPPO image on HDMI.

Ultimately, I needed to take my dog for a walk and just turned everything off. About 20 minutes later I came back and all was good. Damn poltergeists!

Has anyone seen this behavior before? I've never had this problem until now.
kaffeen is offline  
post #11598 of 21420 Old 09-07-2013, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Repdetect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I am getting a 103 delivered today smile.gif but my controller died last night.mad.gif

Until it is repaired I am planning on running all the MCH analog outputs of the 103 directly to my amps and controlling volume via the103's remote control.

I have searched this thread to see if there are any issues running it this way and haven't found anything.

Does anyone know of any concerns running my system this way?

Just want to be sure before I move ahead.

Thanks, great thread btw.

Mitsubishi WD73-742, Oppo BDP-103, Gallo Classico CL-4/Classico CL-C Center/ CL-10 Sub/ Adiva-ti surrounds, Emotiva UMC-200/ XPA-5/ XPA-3, Toshiba HD-A3. Roku XS  "All rooms, speakers and ears are different, trust your own ears."
Repdetect is offline  
post #11599 of 21420 Old 09-07-2013, 08:17 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,596
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1132 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Repdetect View Post

I am getting a 103 delivered today smile.gif but my controller died last night.mad.gif

Until it is repaired I am planning on running all the MCH analog outputs of the 103 directly to my amps and controlling volume via the103's remote control.

I have searched this thread to see if there are any issues running it this way and haven't found anything.

Does anyone know of any concerns running my system this way?

Just want to be sure before I move ahead.

Thanks, great thread btw.

You want Output Volume set the Variable and make sure the volume is not at 100% the first time you play something. Dial it way down. Note that Reset Factory Default sets the volume to 100% so exercise the same caution when doing that.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #11600 of 21420 Old 09-07-2013, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Repdetect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

You want Output Volume set the Variable and make sure the volume is not at 100% the first time you play something. Dial it way down. Note that Reset Factory Default sets the volume to 100% so exercise the same caution when doing that.

-Bill


I'll dial it down right after I plug it in and before I power amps up. Could be scary scenario otherwise.

Thanks much Bill.

Mitsubishi WD73-742, Oppo BDP-103, Gallo Classico CL-4/Classico CL-C Center/ CL-10 Sub/ Adiva-ti surrounds, Emotiva UMC-200/ XPA-5/ XPA-3, Toshiba HD-A3. Roku XS  "All rooms, speakers and ears are different, trust your own ears."
Repdetect is offline  
post #11601 of 21420 Old 09-07-2013, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Repdetect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Does the 103's analog sub out likely have enough level to drive 2 subs if it is Y'ed out ?

Sub Amp (200w rms) input sensitivity is 1.8V ( for 8 ohms) gain 29db and Input impedance of 23.5k ohms.

Mitsubishi WD73-742, Oppo BDP-103, Gallo Classico CL-4/Classico CL-C Center/ CL-10 Sub/ Adiva-ti surrounds, Emotiva UMC-200/ XPA-5/ XPA-3, Toshiba HD-A3. Roku XS  "All rooms, speakers and ears are different, trust your own ears."
Repdetect is offline  
post #11602 of 21420 Old 09-07-2013, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaffeen View Post

Last evening, I was watching Netflix via the OPPO and quickly exited and changed to my HDMI in signal - there was no HDMI signal. I mention "quickly" simply because I wasn't giving much time between menu transitions and trying to get to some source material in a hurry (and think that may have something to do with the behavior exhibited). I then proceeded to do the following.

1) I checked the HDMI cable which was coming from my ATT Uverse receiver and verified that all was attached correctly (I even unplugged and plugged it back in to the OPPO). No HDMI signal.
2) I tried turning on and off the Uverse receiver (which is my HDMI in source). My Panasonic ZT60 kept informing me there was no HDMI signal (via Panny dialog box).
3) I tried turning on and off the television with no change.
4) I then tried turning on and off the OPPO. This is when I noticed that the OPPO static image came up when I switched to HDMI - this is the same image that shows when powered on (but goes away to the home screen) - this image was constant on HDMI in (I've never seen this happen before).
5) At that point I tried turning off all devices and turning them back on - still a constant and static OPPO image on HDMI.

Ultimately, I needed to take my dog for a walk and just turned everything off. About 20 minutes later I came back and all was good. Damn poltergeists!

Has anyone seen this behavior before? I've never had this problem until now.

The name of the game with electronics is to let it complete its functions. Don't force "quick" exits or anything like that. Those usually cause hang-ups, freezing or a pissed off unit. Let it do its thing and everyone will be happy.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Corbin Dallas, "The Fifth Element"

Klipsch Chorus II (Mains); Klipsch Academy (Center) (KLF-C7 waiting in the wings); Klipsch RS-62 II (Surrounds); SVS PC13-Ultra X2 (BIG BADA BOOM); ATI AT1505 (Amp); OPPO BDP-105 (Blu-ray Player); Panasonic 60GT50 (Plasma TV)
Mongo171 is offline  
post #11603 of 21420 Old 09-07-2013, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Repdetect View Post

I am getting a 103 delivered today smile.gif but my controller died last night.mad.gif

Until it is repaired I am planning on running all the MCH analog outputs of the 103 directly to my amps and controlling volume via the103's remote control.

I have searched this thread to see if there are any issues running it this way and haven't found anything.

Does anyone know of any concerns running my system this way?

Just want to be sure before I move ahead.

Thanks, great thread btw.

Sit back and enjoy some good sound. Just make sure the volume is turned down as wmcclain said. My 105 is direct-to-amp and I love it.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Corbin Dallas, "The Fifth Element"

Klipsch Chorus II (Mains); Klipsch Academy (Center) (KLF-C7 waiting in the wings); Klipsch RS-62 II (Surrounds); SVS PC13-Ultra X2 (BIG BADA BOOM); ATI AT1505 (Amp); OPPO BDP-105 (Blu-ray Player); Panasonic 60GT50 (Plasma TV)
Mongo171 is offline  
post #11604 of 21420 Old 09-07-2013, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Repdetect View Post

Does the 103's analog sub out likely have enough level to drive 2 subs if it is Y'ed out ?

Sub Amp (200w rms) input sensitivity is 1.8V ( for 8 ohms) gain 29db and Input impedance of 23.5k ohms.

Yes.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Corbin Dallas, "The Fifth Element"

Klipsch Chorus II (Mains); Klipsch Academy (Center) (KLF-C7 waiting in the wings); Klipsch RS-62 II (Surrounds); SVS PC13-Ultra X2 (BIG BADA BOOM); ATI AT1505 (Amp); OPPO BDP-105 (Blu-ray Player); Panasonic 60GT50 (Plasma TV)
Mongo171 is offline  
post #11605 of 21420 Old 09-07-2013, 10:35 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,596
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1132 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4mula1 View Post

Are you talking no Cinavia detection at all for MKV, or just over SMB? I have had MKV files played via USB where Cinavia did kick in and I got the popup and lost sound. The work around was to ReMux and remove the chapter references. Then it played fine with no interruption.

After some testing this is what I see:

  • Cinavia is NOT detected in MKV files on USB storage, or over SMB or DLNA.
  • Cinavia is detected in MKV files on optical disc.

Apparently this has been true for some time. If you are seeing something else, please let us know the details.

As I always warn people (stressing I am without any inside knowledge) this will not get better in the future.

-Bill
obonillaf and lanping09 like this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #11606 of 21420 Old 09-07-2013, 10:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,247
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 828 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaffeen View Post

Last evening, I was watching Netflix via the OPPO and quickly exited and changed to my HDMI in signal - there was no HDMI signal. I mention "quickly" simply because I wasn't giving much time between menu transitions and trying to get to some source material in a hurry (and think that may have something to do with the behavior exhibited)..

Black screen is usually a result of a HDCP handshake failure. Certainly not unheard of with DVR boxes and the like. Most common on HDMI-1 player output but it can happen on HDMI-2 also. All that's really required to resolve it is to change inputs on the display, or power cycle the player.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #11607 of 21420 Old 09-07-2013, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Repdetect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post

Yes.

Thanks much.

Mitsubishi WD73-742, Oppo BDP-103, Gallo Classico CL-4/Classico CL-C Center/ CL-10 Sub/ Adiva-ti surrounds, Emotiva UMC-200/ XPA-5/ XPA-3, Toshiba HD-A3. Roku XS  "All rooms, speakers and ears are different, trust your own ears."
Repdetect is offline  
post #11608 of 21420 Old 09-07-2013, 02:21 PM
Member
 
Friendly Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I have a question that likely has been answered, but danged if I can find it among the threads.

Is there any advantage to running the HDMI output from my Dish DVR through the 103 then out into the system? Would the 103 take over the video processing? I never have liked the PQ from Dish on my 130" screen -- not nearly as good as a Bluray played on the 103.

Thanks.
Friendly Fire is offline  
post #11609 of 21420 Old 09-07-2013, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,865
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Yes. The Oppo will do the video processing with that hookup. There have been some issues with cable/satellite boxes through the Oppo but I believe recent firmware updates pretty much fix that. Try it and see how it works for you. If you search this thread for "Dish", you should find some posts from people who have done this and suggested settings for doing it.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #11610 of 21420 Old 09-07-2013, 03:24 PM
Member
 
Friendly Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 43
That is great -- I knew they were doing that with the 105, and on the video side the 103 is the same machine. Very cool. Thanks.
Friendly Fire is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off