Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 397 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 702Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-24-2013, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 1,741
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ That should work, but as I said, it will likely just be "pass through" no special goodness applied to the signal on the way.
--Bob

Thanks, Bob. The idea is to use a "Tube Buffer" along your chain. Digital Source >> DAC >> Tube Buffer >> Power Amp(s) >> Speakers. The Bravo Ocean headphone amplifier passes the stereo signal to a pair of MOSFETs for power amplification.

From what I've been reading - - you have to be careful about excessive gain - so you do not crank up the volume, very much, on the Bravo amplifier. It's not the perfect setup but it is worth experimenting with.

I'm glad that I will soon have the ability to use headphones again - - something that was missed for late night listening.

Home Theater Setup
Samsung UN65ES8000 LCD/LED & BenQ W1080ST & Vizio M43C1
Pioneer SC65 (Pre-Amp) & Emotive XPA-3, 200 WPC
OPPO 103, Comcast Infinity X1, Darbee Darblet
ALL Paradigm - 7.1 - Studio 60's, V.2 (FL/FR) CC-690, V.5 (C)
ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub
Ricoflashback is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-24-2013, 07:09 AM
Member
 
AudiophileWalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Reston VA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
New firmware solves audio lag problem.
Have my Fios hd recorder connected directly to the OPPO. This permits the Oppo to be the sound source for my Zvox soundbar rather than the Panny GT50 - a huge advantage.
After a couple of hours I would have to flip inputs to resynch the audio with the picture. It got pretty band during the US Open tennis when the sound of the ball hitting the racket was clearly not in sync.
After installing the new firmware from a disc this issue is completely resolved
AudiophileWalt is offline  
Old 09-24-2013, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
nakamichidts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello.
Two months ago I have the Oppo-103 and am very happy with its image quality. But there is a serious problem not solved and introduced with their latest firmware. Not play mkv at 24fps, 60 fps only. This produces jerks in many of the movies that I have in mkv. I begin to fear that is not a bug, but it is introduced to limit the use of mkv. It is very rare that two months are not able to solve something that worked in previous firmware.
I would like to know your opinion.

Best Regards.
nakamichidts is offline  
Old 09-24-2013, 11:29 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,081
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1853 Post(s)
Liked: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakamichidts View Post

Hello.
Two months ago I have the Oppo-103 and am very happy with its image quality. But there is a serious problem not solved and introduced with their latest firmware. Not play mkv at 24fps, 60 fps only. This produces jerks in many of the movies that I have in mkv. I begin to fear that is not a bug, but it is introduced to limit the use of mkv. It is very rare that two months are not able to solve something that worked in previous firmware.
I would like to know your opinion.

Best Regards.

Welcome to AVSForum.

This has been discussed here and reported to OPPO. They say they are working on a fix.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Old 09-24-2013, 11:47 AM
Newbie
 
nakamichidts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you very much for your welcome and your reply.

I also I have asked and I have answered that they are trying to solve.

The truth is that in the two months since the last one was firmware August is a month of vacation.

I hope it gets fixed soon, I think it is a serious problem that should resolve as soon as possible or allow a return to the previous firmware where it was not this bug.

Best regards.
nakamichidts is offline  
Old 09-24-2013, 12:30 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,081
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1853 Post(s)
Liked: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakamichidts View Post

Thank you very much for your welcome and your reply.

I also I have asked and I have answered that they are trying to solve.

The truth is that in the two months since the last one was firmware August is a month of vacation.

I hope it gets fixed soon, I think it is a serious problem that should resolve as soon as possible or allow a return to the previous firmware where it was not this bug.

Best regards.

The solution until then is to play the original discs rather than your backups.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Old 09-25-2013, 02:57 AM
Member
 
em0ti0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Czech Repulic
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
This has been discussed here and reported to OPPO. They say they are working on a fix.

-Bill

I was told by one of the Oppo support members via email they have fixed that and the new (fixed) firmware is coming next month. One would say, finally.

There is nothing in the desert and no man needs nothing.
em0ti0n is offline  
Old 09-25-2013, 10:50 AM
Member
 
earwicker7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've got an Oppo BDP-103 and a Samsung PN60F8500 on the way, and I'm wanting to get all of the setup research out of the way before it arrives next weekend.

It seems like there are some overlapping features, such as smooth conversion from 24fps sources to 30/60fps. Are there any instances where one of them is much better at its job, and should defintely be the one enabled, or are the two pretty similar in their functionality?

By the way, I want to get as close as possible to reference, so I won't be enabling all of the unnecessary "features" that interfere with the true picture.

Thanks!
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 09-25-2013, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,444
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Disable all your TV's post processing options for the HDMI input your Oppo will be connected to!

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
Old 09-26-2013, 02:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Can anyone tell me if this player has enhanced their OTA pic quality on last years Panasonic ST/GT/VT 50 series Panasonic plasmas? I have the 65ST50 and the de-interlacing and scaling done by my set on OTA channels (don't have cable/ satellite) is nothing to write home about. I'm seriously considering purchasing the 103 just for the video processing capabilities alone.

Thanks!

My setup:

Panasonic 65ST50-> Darbee Darblet-> Base Tivo Roamio and Panny BD-220 blu ray player (which the 103 will replace).
Chere is offline  
Old 09-26-2013, 02:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,625
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post

Can anyone tell me if this player has enhanced their OTA pic quality on last years Panasonic ST/GT/VT 50 series Panasonic plasmas?
Feeding any 720p/1080i HD source into the 103's external HDMI input in order to get video processing plus upconvert-to-1080p for feeding your HDTV produces WONDERFUL RESULTS.

But you have to feed your source INTO the external inputs of the 103. So if you had a DVR or OTA/ATSC tuner that would work. And you'd get TERRIFIC improvement from the 1080p sent to your Panny vs. sending "native" 720p/1080i to the Panny and letting it do whatever it does to self-optimzie the display that source.

Quote:
Panasonic 65ST50-> Darbee Darblet-> Base Tivo Roamio and Panny BD-220 blu ray player (which the 103 will replace).
I don't understand how you will be able to use the external HDMI inputs of the 103 to accomplish your objective, with the 103 placed where you propose it.

The source needs to go into the external HDMI inputs of the 103, and then its HDMI-1 output feeds the HDTV (or goes through an AVR to the HDTV). So you can't be using the OTA/ATSC tuner of your Panny as the source on the left, and also then feed the output of the 103 on the right TO the Panny for display. The Panny can't be both the source tuner and destination display at the same time.

Nevertheless, if you can figure out how to feed your OTA/ATSC channels into the 103's external HDMi inputs, you will REALLY be happy with the HDMI-1 output (video processed and upconverted to 1080p) of the 103 going to your Panny for display.
DSperber is offline  
Old 09-26-2013, 03:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Thanks! How about doing the set up this way:

Panasonic 65ST50-> Oppo HDMI 1. Oppo HDMI 2-> Base OTA Tivo Roamio DVR

Does this sound about right? Now I gotta just figure out where to put the Darbee in this mix.



Edit: I think the darbee goes right between my set and the Oppo HDMI 1 so the final configuration would maybe look like this?

Panasonic 65ST50-> Darbee-> Oppo HDMI 1. Oppo HDMI 2-> Base OTA Tivo Roamio DVR
Chere is offline  
Old 09-26-2013, 06:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 6,791
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 1798
It would be Tivo in to Oppo HDMI IN Back, HDMI 1 out of Oppo to Darbee, then Darbee out to TV.

LG 65EF9500 / Sony UHP-H1
AV7702mkII / Model 5000
Klipsch RF-7II's / RC-64II
Dual Rythmik FV15HP's
gadgtfreek is online now  
Old 09-26-2013, 09:12 AM
Newbie
 
kyg35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Currently I have an LG BDP530. If I am wanting better picture quality an daudio quality, is the 103 worth the upgrade?

What differences will I be able to see?
kyg35 is online now  
Old 09-26-2013, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

It would be Tivo in to Oppo HDMI IN Back, HDMI 1 out of Oppo to Darbee, then Darbee out to TV.



I think that's exactly how I was envisioning it. I noticed that you have the 65VT50. Do you notice a huge difference in PQ using the 103 doing the scaling and de-interlacing vs the set itself? The GT50 and VT50 have a "1080p pure direct" mode that bypasses processing when fed a 4:4:4 signal making it ideal for the 103 but the ST50 doesn't. Does this even matter?
Chere is offline  
Old 09-26-2013, 10:57 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,714
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 798 Post(s)
Liked: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post

I think that's exactly how I was envisioning it.
Just FYI, the difference was you were listing it as destination to source. Usually, things get listed source to destination as it's more in line with how things work (and therefore easier to follow).
gsr is online now  
Old 09-26-2013, 02:30 PM
Newbie
 
frankof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently read that folks are using the new oppo players to achieve better image quality than a cable box yields. I may be old school but I thought not messing with the source yields the best results... My current path is comcast dvr (XC1-P) => marantz av7005 => panasonic AE7000U and would happily upgrade the oppo and feed the comcast DVR signal into a new oppo _if_ the image quality is better. I have all the image "enhancements" turned off in the av7005 so the signal is pass through and only watch hd channels.. Thoughts/suggestions welcome :-) Thanks
frankof is offline  
Old 09-26-2013, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 1,741
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 292
General question - - what are you supposed to set the "volume" level to on the OPPO 103? Max out at 100%? A little less?

Any sonic difference (gain?) with various settings being used with an AVR/Pre-Amp/Amplifier or headphone amplifier?

Home Theater Setup
Samsung UN65ES8000 LCD/LED & BenQ W1080ST & Vizio M43C1
Pioneer SC65 (Pre-Amp) & Emotive XPA-3, 200 WPC
OPPO 103, Comcast Infinity X1, Darbee Darblet
ALL Paradigm - 7.1 - Studio 60's, V.2 (FL/FR) CC-690, V.5 (C)
ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub
Ricoflashback is offline  
Old 09-26-2013, 02:47 PM
Member
 
petercw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can anyone confirm if the 103 supports Netfilx "Super HD"? I ask because I saw this article today and wondered if it was one of the supporting units.

The Oppo site states about Netflix, "Selected titles support features including 1080p video, 5.1ch audio, subtitles and alternative audio languages", but doesn't mention "Super HD" nor does a search thru this thread result in any mentions...
petercw2 is offline  
Old 09-26-2013, 02:52 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,262
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1320 Post(s)
Liked: 1331
Ricoflashback,
When connecting to a pre-amp, the normal setting for Analog Volume is 100. You can also set "Fixed" in Setup, which will keep you from accidentally changing it. Fixed locks Volume at 100, however Mute still functions.

Then you do your real Volume control using the pre-amp's own control.

There are some folks who've discovered their pre-amp can't handle the voltage the OPPO puts out (i.e., insufficient "head room" in the pre-amp's input) -- the input on the pre-amp "clips", leading to distortion. If you discover that -- and some pre-amps will have a level indication showing that's happening -- then you can lower Analog Volume on the OPPO until that stops happening. Start by reducing your Analog output speaker Volume Trim settings (in Speaker Configuration) an equal amount for all of them so that none of them are above 0dB -- i.e,. all the trims are 0dB or negative values. If you need to reduce Volume even further to avoid clipping your pre-amp, then do that with the Analog Volume control (set to "Variable" in Setup).
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Old 09-26-2013, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by petercw2 View Post

Saw this article today (http://*******/19Knz1q) and wondered if the 103 was one of the BR that was capable.

the Oppo site states, "Selected titles support features including 1080p video, 5.1ch audio, subtitles and alternative audio languages." but doesn't use Netflix's "super HD" wording.. and a search of this thread doesn't bring up any results.
IMHO I don't believe any BD vendor uses the Netflix's "super HD" term. But if you had a BDP-103 and that higher stream was supported by your ISP then you would see it in the Netflix GUI.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
Old 09-26-2013, 03:06 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,262
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1320 Post(s)
Liked: 1331
Quote:
Originally Posted by petercw2 View Post

Can anyone confirm if the 103 supports Netfilx "Super HD"? I ask because I saw this article today and wondered if it was one of the supporting units.

The Oppo site states about Netflix, "Selected titles support features including 1080p video, 5.1ch audio, subtitles and alternative audio languages", but doesn't mention "Super HD" nor does a search thru this thread result in any mentions...
The answer is yes, the 103 and 105 will receive the "Super HD" bit rate streams if Netflix has enabled them through your ISP. However the on-screen Info continues to show "1080 HD" instead of "Super HD".

This is how it has been working for some time for people reporting who happened to be using ISPs that met Netflix' earlier requirements for pairing with their Content Delivery Network.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Old 09-26-2013, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 196
This bit of very recent news is related to the above question.

Netflix expands Super HD and 3D streaming to all of its members
Quote:
Prepare for your Netflix streams to look better: Netflix is making its Super HD video quality available to all of its members. All members will also have access to 3D titles on Netflix. Both 3D and Super HD were previously only available to members whose ISPs peered with Netflix or placed the company’s Open Connect caching hardware within their networks.
Super HD streams are essentially 1080p HD streams with less compression, which should make for a better picture quality. Netflix recommends that members have at least 7 Mbps of bandwidth available for best results, but the company also serves a less-demanding Super HD version that only requires around 5 Mbps of bandwidth. 3D streams can require up to 12 Mbps of bandwidth, according to Netflix.
Netflix’s 3D catalog is thought to be small, but the company has been looking to offer higher-quality HD streams for a substantial number of the movies and TV shows it has been adding to its catalog, and obviously Netflix-exclusive content like House of Cards is available in Super HD as well.
Netflix first launched these higher-bitrate HD streams in January, and at the time only made it available to customers whose ISPs were using Open Connect. Customers without access to Super HD and 3D streaming were encouraged to contact their ISP and ask for it.
This kind of public petitioning didn’t go over well with everyone, and Time Warner Cable even alleged that Netflix was violating net neutrality principles — a somewhat ironic charge in light of various efforts by ISPs to get content providers to pay for the videos their customers are consuming.
By making Super HD and 3D available to everyone, Netflix has arguably one less carrot in its arsenal to convince ISPs to adapt Open Connect — but the company hasn’t given up completely on the idea to make this more of a public issue. Netflix is continuing to expand its monthly ISP ratings, which highlight the average speed its customers see on various ISP networks.
I think there are a whole bunch of us, sick and tired of various ISP's resistance to Netflix's to Open Connect caching hardware within their networks, now we don't have to worry. cool.gif

Anyway no problems with using a BDP-103/105 against higher speed streams.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
Old 09-26-2013, 03:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,084
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1312 Post(s)
Liked: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAV View Post

This bit of very recent news is related to the above question.

Netflix expands Super HD and 3D streaming to all of its members
I think there are a whole bunch of us, sick and tired of various ISP's resistance to Netflix's to Open Connect caching hardware within their networks, now we don't have to worry. cool.gif

Anyway no problems with using a BDP-103/105 against higher speed streams.

What this probably means is that Netflix has had time to expand their capacity to handle more demand via the "normal" pathways. It does not mean however that ISPs have made any improvements, or that they won't still be futzing with Netflix traffic to lower the load.
rdgrimes is online now  
Old 09-26-2013, 04:12 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,714
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 798 Post(s)
Liked: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankof View Post

I may be old school but I thought not messing with the source yields the best results... My current path is comcast dvr (XC1-P) => marantz av7005 => panasonic AE7000U and would happily upgrade the oppo and feed the comcast DVR signal into a new oppo _if_ the image quality is better.
TV is either 1080i or 720p. Your projector displays 1080p. So the image has to be either deinterlaced or scaled to get to 1080p. That either happens in your DVR, the projector / TV, or a device that's between the 2. So it boils down to whether the Oppo deinterlaces and/or scales better than your projector or DVR does. For the Oppo to make an improvement, your DVR either needs to support native output (where it outputs 1080i or 720p depending on the channel) or you would need to manually switch the output mode as needed when changing channels.

Keep in mind that the Oppo always turns on to the Bluray player input, so you would need to manually switch it to the HDMI input for your DVR every time you want to turn your system on and watch TV (or use a programmable remote that can use a macro to switch it for you).
gsr is online now  
Old 09-26-2013, 04:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
7channelfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Houston
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 184
I saw the 103D today. The 'D' stands for Darbee. Anyone like the idea of having Darbee built in?
7channelfreak is offline  
Old 09-26-2013, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Repdetect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7channelfreak View Post

I saw the 103D today. The 'D' stands for Darbee. Anyone like the idea of having Darbee built in?

Yes, if I know it will improve my particular display.

No, if don't know.

No, if it's going to bump up the Oppo's price by $200-300.

Sony HW40 ES, Oppo BDP-103, Gallo Classico CL-4/ Classico CL-C Center/ CL-10 Sub/ Classico CL-2 surrounds, Emotiva UMC-200/ XPA-5/ XPA-3, Toshiba HD-A3. Roku X, Darbee Darblet, Silver Ticket 110" White Screen  "All rooms, speakers and ears are different, trust your own ears."
Repdetect is offline  
Old 09-26-2013, 04:46 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,262
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1320 Post(s)
Liked: 1331
^ OPPO has posted the price: $599

http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-bdp-103/blu-ray-BDP-103D-Overview.aspx

--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Old 09-26-2013, 05:55 PM
Newbie
 
johnny tuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been a while since I checked in here. My Oppo has serious lip synch issues when playing satellite cable, which I feed through the Oppo into an Emotiva receiver, but more problematic than that is that the Oppo is now sending any audio at all, either cable box of blurays. Has this been seen before?
johnny tuna is offline  
Old 09-26-2013, 05:58 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,262
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1320 Post(s)
Liked: 1331
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny tuna View Post

Been a while since I checked in here. My Oppo has serious lip synch issues when playing satellite cable, which I feed through the Oppo into an Emotiva receiver, but more problematic than that is that the Oppo is now sending any audio at all, either cable box of blurays. Has this been seen before?
The most common reason for this is that you've accidentally hit the Mute button on the remote or dropped the Volume (buttons on the remote) down to 0, which does the same thing.

For your lip-sync problem, I recommend you update to 0808B Public Beta firmware. Download it from the OPPO site, and install via a USB stick:

http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-bdp-103/blu-ray-BDP-103-Support.aspx

After you install the firmware, you need to do a Reset to insure proper operation, so jot down your settings first. The Recommended Reset offered on the first power up after the install is all that's needed.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off