Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 412 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 194Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12331 of 18669 Old 10-11-2013, 09:32 PM
Member
 
wlst101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same question, different equipment. DirecTV H25 through the 103 . Info says Audio Dolby Digital 5.1 48k, output HDMI 1 LPCM 2.0 48k regardless on what setting HDMI audio is set to unless off. Is this correct?
wlst101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12332 of 18669 Old 10-11-2013, 10:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by robcentola View Post

So if I have the Oppo connected to my Peachtree Nova Pre/220 via coaxial and I stream hi-res files it will result "lossy" quality? From my research (I thought) I discovered the toslink will do up to 24/96 and the coax 24/192 into the Peachtree. Am I wrong on this?

If you're using an audio preprocesser after the Oppo, you should not be using optical or coax for the audio, since those can do full resolution only in stereo - if your propro doesn't have an HDMI jack, it should have multichannel analog jacks for playing DVD-A and SACD disks. Use those jacks with the Oppo's multichannel analog output and you're all set - full resolution audio in up to 7.1, limited only by the number of channels the prepro has. If the prepro is only 5.1, you can tell the Oppo to fold the rear surround signals into the side surround channels. If the preprocessor can't do channel trims or distance adjustments for the multichannel analog input, the Oppo can do those for it.

Philnick is offline  
post #12333 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 02:35 AM
Member
 
Holzohr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

The player does not respond to the watermarks, so there is no restriction on DVD-Audio titles other than you getting stereo only.
Just checked it with the DVD-A "R.E.M. - The Best Of" with 2.0 LPCM in 24/192kHz. What to say... when using a coax cable between the Oppo (103) and a DAC/Digi-Amp, the sampling rate is limited on 48kHz. No matter if Bitstream or 192k LPCM is activated in the setup menu. That`s also what I have read in a review some months ago. I should have bookmarked it.

The solution (when using an extern DAC) is to hang a HDMI-Audio De-embedder between HDMI Out 2 (A/V split activated) and DAC/Digi-Amp. Then you can enjoy the full 24/192kHz from several DVD-A and BDs and also the 88,2kHz from SACD/DSD.

Lucky the fellows with the older Oppo models in this case.


(When streaming the ripped stereo track of this DVD-A via network, then the Oppo gives out the stream in 192kHz via coax.)


Update: The stereo track of the DVD-A "R.E.M. - Monster" is LPCM 88,2kHz. The Oppo gives out 44,1kHz via coax rolleyes.gif
Holzohr is offline  
post #12334 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 05:40 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlst101 View Post

Same question, different equipment. DirecTV H25 through the 103 . Info says Audio Dolby Digital 5.1 48k, output HDMI 1 LPCM 2.0 48k regardless on what setting HDMI audio is set to unless off. Is this correct?

I've lost track of your configuration. Are you actually using the HDMI output? Connected to what?

Some devices, like TVs and soundbars, are LPCM only, no bitstream. HDMI is not very smart in some cases, but it is smart enough not to let you override that.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #12335 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,900
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Thats odd. It sounds like to me you are running the H25 into the Oppo, it is noting DD 5.1, but sending out LPCM 2.0. Just to be sure you have the H25 audio setting to Dolby Digital and the Oppo HDMI Audio out to Bitstream?

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #12336 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 07:33 AM
Member
 
wlst101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

I've lost track of your configuration. Are you actually using the HDMI output? Connected to what?

Some devices, like TVs and soundbars, are LPCM only, no bitstream. HDMI is not very smart in some cases, but it is smart enough not to let you override that.

-Bill

Sorry, HDMI out to a Samsung 6350 tv. So it's not as smart of a tv as they say..lol
wlst101 is offline  
post #12337 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 07:34 AM
Member
 
wlst101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

Thats odd. It sounds like to me you are running the H25 into the Oppo, it is noting DD 5.1, but sending out LPCM 2.0. Just to be sure you have the H25 audio setting to Dolby Digital and the Oppo HDMI Audio out to Bitstream?

Yes and yes.
wlst101 is offline  
post #12338 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 07:38 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlst101 View Post

Sorry, HDMI out to a Samsung 6350 tv. So it's not as smart of a tv as they say..lol

Ok, so the OPPO output shown is correct: regardless of the source or the player settings, the TV can accept only LPCM stereo.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #12339 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 07:42 AM
Member
 
wlst101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Bill
wlst101 is offline  
post #12340 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 08:34 AM
Member
 
robcentola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17

Ah......I'm only talking about 2 channel. 

 

Thanks!

robcentola is offline  
post #12341 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 10:17 AM
Member
 
TARDIS2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would someone please tell how to look up the region setting on my OPPO 103? I remember verifying (several months ago) that the region setting had been set to 0 for DVD's after using the CD-R to make the player region free but now I can't seem to find where I looked. thank you.
TARDIS2008 is offline  
post #12342 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,900
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlst101 View Post

Yes and yes.

Are you going into an AVR? I assume it reports LPCM, and what does it do with the H25 direct to it?

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #12343 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,900
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Ok, so the OPPO output shown is correct: regardless of the source or the player settings, the TV can accept only LPCM stereo.

-Bill

Well that answers that!

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #12344 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 11:22 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,704
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by TARDIS2008 View Post

Would someone please tell how to look up the region setting on my OPPO 103? I remember verifying (several months ago) that the region setting had been set to 0 for DVD's after using the CD-R to make the player region free but now I can't seem to find where I looked. thank you.

There is no display of the player's current Region and Zone settings.

For more information on Region Free mods -- including the no-hardware-needed Super Disc mod for SD-DVD Region Free playback -- see the FAQ: Link available at the top of the first post of this thread.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #12345 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 11:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 40

Guys

whenever i use a blue ray and put the resolution to 4kx2k, the picture starts ghosting.

I'm using a sony x900 UHD tv.

 

I called Oppo, and they told me that all content must be 24fps on 4kx2k.

They also told me to put HDMI options to RGB color.

 

That did not help.

 

Last night i was watching avatar, and the 4kx2k could not be used...had to leave it on auto.

 

any clues?

quovadis123 is offline  
post #12346 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,709
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

There is no display of the player's current Region and Zone settings.

For more information on Region Free mods -- including the no-hardware-needed Super Disc mod for SD-DVD Region Free playback -- see the FAQ: Link available at the top of the first post of this thread.
--Bob
What about the 0770 code sequence?

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #12347 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 12:16 PM
Member
 
wlst101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
gadgtfreek, No I'm going in to the tv directly. My pre/pro is not HDMI capable. If it was I'm assuming the output would show differently.
wlst101 is offline  
post #12348 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 12:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
donaldsonjune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Philly
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
hello all,

can some please let me if this unit decodes HD audio (dolby true hd & dts hd master) thur media play back via mkv files?
also does it play dolby digital plus thur netflix (super hd programing).

June
"IF YOU FAIL TO PLAN, YOU PLAN TO FAIL"
donaldsonjune is offline  
post #12349 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 12:36 PM
Member
 
TARDIS2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post

What about the 0770 code sequence?[/quote

What is the 0770 code sequence?
TARDIS2008 is offline  
post #12350 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,709
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Go into Setup and then enter 0770 on the remote. It should display info about the firmware and the current region. I haven't tried it for a long time so I don't remember exactly what is displayed.
TARDIS2008 likes this.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #12351 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161

Hey guys.  It's been awhile since I replaced my 83SE with a high-end Denon player with DenonLink connection, but I'm thinking about getting a 103 (paired with a Marantz 8801) vs Denon DBT3313 (paired with an AVR4520).  If you'd like to help with my decision, click here. Thanks.:)


Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #12352 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 02:08 PM
Member
 
TARDIS2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote name="JazzGuyy" url="/t/1432162/official-o
Oppo-bdp-103-owners-thread/12330#post_23830099"]Go into Setup and then enter 0770 on the remote. It should display info about the firmware and the current region. I haven't tried it for a long time so I don't remember exactly what is displayed.
Quote:




Thank you. That was exacrly what I was looking for.
TARDIS2008 is offline  
post #12353 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 07:10 PM
Member
 
spawnofwar1600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemiza View Post

The PS3 already outputs 1080P.
yes it does ,but wouldn't the ps3 benefit from Qdeo chip's superior video processing ,im interested if it improves game graphics or the picture quality during game play.
spawnofwar1600 is online now  
post #12354 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 07:13 PM
Member
 
spawnofwar1600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Yes, although there is an issue with the player being set to Bitstream vs LPCM; what are you using now? Try the other.

If still no good, copy the file to local storage to see with the DLNA server is the issue.

-Bill
How about this Bill
will this play over dlna on the oppo:
Quality: BD Remux

Format: MKV

Video codec: H.264

Audio Codec: DTS, DTS-HD

Video: 1920x1080, 28817 kbps, 23.976 fps

Audio1: Russian DTS 5.1, 48 KHz, 768 kbps

Audio2: English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1, 48 KHz, 24 bit, 4146 kbps, Lossless (DTS Core: 5.1, 48 KHz, 24bit, 1536 kbps)

thanks
spawnofwar1600 is online now  
post #12355 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 07:30 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by spawnofwar1600 View Post

How about this Bill
will this play over dlna on the oppo:

Can't you test this yourself?

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #12356 of 18669 Old 10-12-2013, 09:37 PM
Member
 
spawnofwar1600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Can't you test this yourself?

-Bill
Well yeah i could but have not downloaded it yet, 40 gigs is a lot of bandwidth, its like 25 % of the monthly limit.
spawnofwar1600 is online now  
post #12357 of 18669 Old 10-13-2013, 05:25 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by spawnofwar1600 View Post

Well yeah i could but have not downloaded it yet, 40 gigs is a lot of bandwidth, its like 25 % of the monthly limit.

I don't see anything wrong with the spec, but you will not know for sure without trying it.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #12358 of 18669 Old 10-13-2013, 06:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

I don't see anything wrong with the spec, but you will not know for sure without trying it.
This.

The spec is just fine on paper and the container (MKV) and codecs (h.264, DTS, DTS-MA) are all 100% supported by the Oppo via DLNA.......but that's only the start.

There are many variables with the DLNA server used (not all handle HD audio well), the quality of the home network (this is a high-bandwidth file), and the encoding/remuxing done by whomever created the file itself.
bluechunks is offline  
post #12359 of 18669 Old 10-13-2013, 09:36 AM
Senior Member
 
heiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have a new 103 and want to know if I should let the player do the audio processing or my pioneer VSX-522. Which of the two has the better processor.
Pioneer is about one year old - so pretty recent.
heiwi is offline  
post #12360 of 18669 Old 10-13-2013, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,900
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 323
In theory they should both be equal. I always bitstream from a player.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off