Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 445 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Blu-ray & HD DVD > Blu-ray Players > Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread

Blu-ray Players

htwaits's Avatar htwaits
01:12 AM Liked: 482
post #13321 of 20314
11-25-2013 | Posts: 24,871
Joined: Sep 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by GizmoDVD View Post

What's the best place to sell my region free Oppo 103? EBay seems risky with an item priced this high.
I used information from E-Bay to set the price, and did an adv here at AVS to sell an OPPO 83.
AndrewFG's Avatar AndrewFG
03:07 AM Liked: 24
post #13322 of 20314
11-25-2013 | Posts: 250
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by LairdWilliams View Post

And I hope they don't stop at filesystem-based gapless either. Good DLNA SetNextAVTransportURI support would be nice to have sometime.

Bravo !!

This is my favourite "high horse" topic. Every consumer needs to whack their device manufacture over the head with wet fish until they are finally persuaded implement this method... wink.gif
Bob Pariseau's Avatar Bob Pariseau
03:48 AM Liked: 1087
post #13323 of 20314
11-25-2013 | Posts: 28,318
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by GizmoDVD View Post

What's the best place to sell my region free Oppo 103? EBay seems risky with an item priced this high.

Typical places besides eBay are here at AVS, the AUDIOGON site (good for reaching folks looking for higher end gear), and also the used marketplace at Amazon.

Lots of folks use eBay of course, so I'm not sure why you think it is particularly risky (compared to any way of doing a transaction with a person you don't know).
--Bob
Repdetect's Avatar Repdetect
06:34 AM Liked: 18
post #13324 of 20314
11-25-2013 | Posts: 428
Joined: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by GizmoDVD View Post

What's the best place to sell my region free Oppo 103? EBay seems risky with an item priced this high.

I have bought/sold components on audiogon for almost 10 years and had good experiences.

The buyers are more savvy and reliable than ebay and the selling costs are much less at audiogon.

Haven't used avs so can't comment.
pqwk50's Avatar pqwk50
08:07 AM Liked: 23
post #13325 of 20314
11-25-2013 | Posts: 74
Joined: Oct 2013

This unofficial bdp-103 FAQ recommends setting color space at 4:4:4. It says because the Auto setting does this anyways.http://watershade.net/wmcclain/BDP-103-faq.html#what-are-the-recommended-settings-for-the-oppo-bdp-103

 

If Blu-ray is encoded at 4:2:0, why does it make sense to use a wider color space? Does the Oppo color space setting actually do much or is it mostly theoretical? Is any content out there even available in 4:4:4?


MIIKE888's Avatar MIIKE888
08:25 AM Liked: 10
post #13326 of 20314
11-25-2013 | Posts: 20
Joined: Jun 2009
Hi

what should the deep color setting be?,,,i have it on 36bit but what does it actually do?
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
08:27 AM Liked: 410
post #13327 of 20314
11-25-2013 | Posts: 18,057
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by pqwk50 View Post

This unofficial bdp-103 FAQ recommends setting color space at 4:4:4. It says because the Auto setting does this anyways.http://watershade.net/wmcclain/BDP-103-faq.html#what-are-the-recommended-settings-for-the-oppo-bdp-103

If Blu-ray is encoded at 4:2:0, why does it make sense to use a wider color space? Does the Oppo color space setting actually do much or is it mostly theoretical? Is any content out there even available in 4:4:4?

All Blu-rays and DVD are encoded using 4:2:0, an ancient lossy compression technique.

This is a storage format not meant for transmission and HDMI 1.x doesn't even carry it, although HDMI 2.0 will. (I'm not sure who on the committee wanted that or why, or when players, AVRs and displays will accept it).

The 4:2:0 must be fully chroma upsampled before it can be displayed: every pixel must have a color, not just every fourth one. 4:4:4 is the upsampled result. Inside the display it will be converted to RGB for the electronics.

See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chroma_subsampling for some diagrams and more detail.

-Bill
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
08:29 AM Liked: 410
post #13328 of 20314
11-25-2013 | Posts: 18,057
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by MIIKE888 View Post

Hi

what should the deep color setting be?,,,i have it on 36bit but what does it actually do?

It does next to nothing. "Off" is a good value. Even people who use will tell you it depends on the rest of your gear.

If you have test patterns that show a perceptible improvement then you will have found a good value for your setup.

-Bill
chileboy's Avatar chileboy
09:49 AM Liked: 10
post #13329 of 20314
11-25-2013 | Posts: 164
Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ My recommendation would be that you be patient for a while longer, rather than converting your FLAC files yet.

Or if you want to experiment now, just convert a few albums to WAV to play around with.

The choice of WAV was just to keep things simple while the engineers were sorting through the difficulties of getting Gapless to work at all.

OPPO is fully aware that people also want FLAC file support for this.
--Bob

OK, I understand - I try to be patient but, well, you know. And I guess the comment in the release notes "This feature is still under development and may be improved in the next firmware releases" doesn't sound too promising for anything in the near future.

Maybe I will try the WAVs as you said. I'm curious as to how well the Gracenote feature will work. Maybe I don't care about the embedded metadata if it works well enough.

Thanks Bob,

- Mark
detroit1's Avatar detroit1
12:09 PM Liked: 27
post #13330 of 20314
11-25-2013 | Posts: 495
Joined: Jul 2007
what are people's feedback on the new Beta Firmware that came out last week?
paul54's Avatar paul54
12:32 PM Liked: 15
post #13331 of 20314
11-25-2013 | Posts: 74
Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by pqwk50 View Post

This unofficial bdp-103 FAQ recommends setting color space at 4:4:4. It says because the Auto setting does this anyways.http://watershade.net/wmcclain/BDP-103-faq.html#what-are-the-recommended-settings-for-the-oppo-bdp-103

If Blu-ray is encoded at 4:2:0, why does it make sense to use a wider color space? Does the Oppo color space setting actually do much or is it mostly theoretical? Is any content out there even available in 4:4:4?

All Blu-rays and DVD are encoded using 4:2:0, an ancient lossy compression technique.

This is a storage format not meant for transmission and HDMI 1.x doesn't even carry it, although HDMI 2.0 will. (I'm not sure who on the committee wanted that or why, or when players, AVRs and displays will accept it).

The 4:2:0 must be fully chroma upsampled before it can be displayed: every pixel must have a color, not just every fourth one. 4:4:4 is the upsampled result. Inside the display it will be converted to RGB for the electronics.

See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chroma_subsampling for some diagrams and more detail.

-Bill

Bill,

At great risk of showing my ignorance of things video, does this (highlighted section in your response) mean there would be less conversion happening, or required, if the Oppo was set to output RGB in the first place?

Thanks,

Paul
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
12:44 PM Liked: 410
post #13332 of 20314
11-25-2013 | Posts: 18,057
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul54 View Post

Bill,

At great risk of showing my ignorance of things video, does this (highlighted section in your response) mean there would be less conversion happening, or required, if the Oppo was set to output RGB in the first place?

Thanks,

Paul

Sadly, no. At least there is no sure way to know that. The display may convert incoming RGB to YCbCr to do it's own default manipulations, then back to RGB again.

That said, I do use RGB Video output from the player because at one time I thought my display became confused in some respects and handled YCbCr incorrectly. But I have not revisited that for a long time.

Spear & Munsil have an article on choosing a color space on their web site. They shown how to run tests using their calibration patterns.

-Bill
paul54's Avatar paul54
02:35 PM Liked: 15
post #13333 of 20314
11-25-2013 | Posts: 74
Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul54 View Post

Bill,

At great risk of showing my ignorance of things video, does this (highlighted section in your response) mean there would be less conversion happening, or required, if the Oppo was set to output RGB in the first place?

Thanks,

Paul

Sadly, no. At least there is no sure way to know that. The display may convert incoming RGB to YCbCr to do it's own default manipulations, then back to RGB again.

That said, I do use RGB Video output from the player because at one time I thought my display became confused in some respects and handled YCbCr incorrectly. But I have not revisited that for a long time.

Spear & Munsil have an article on choosing a color space on their web site. They shown how to run tests using their calibration patterns.

-Bill

Thanks. I'll check out their site. I recently got their calibration disk but haven't had a chance to try it out yet.

Paul
pbarach's Avatar pbarach
03:39 PM Liked: 118
post #13334 of 20314
11-25-2013 | Posts: 2,691
Joined: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by detroit1 View Post

what are people's feedback on the new Beta Firmware that came out last week?

Mucho problems with oShare getting frozen that I didn't have on the last beta firmware. I have to turn off the player and restart it, or else the screen gets stuck on the top line showing the folder on my PC and won't respond to any keys except POWER.

BTW, I had a lot of trouble getting oShare to run until I figured out that it has to go in a folder under C:\Program Files (x86) on my Windows 7 PC. I"d tried it in other locations and could never bring up the oShare window to add any folders.
apw2607's Avatar apw2607
04:28 PM Liked: 207
post #13335 of 20314
11-25-2013 | Posts: 2,332
Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by globalnomad View Post


Not really answering his/her question about where to sell. But I don't know either :/

Whoops - my bad !!

How about avsforum classified? Also, Amazon.com. I've sold a good selection of used or like new A/V equipment. The only downside is, Amazon takes longer to process the transaction and give you your money.
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar SeeMoreDigital
07:36 AM Liked: 96
post #13336 of 20314
11-26-2013 | Posts: 1,939
Joined: Jul 2003
Good news...

Firmware version BDP10XEU-67-1120B for the European players is now available from the UK web site: http://www.oppo-bluray.co.uk/customer-services/firmware-updates/bdp-103eu-105eu-beta-firmware.aspx


Cheers
Murrayb's Avatar Murrayb
10:21 AM Liked: 10
post #13337 of 20314
11-26-2013 | Posts: 60
Joined: Aug 2005
Is there a way (and if there is, what is it) to stop Blu-rays / DVDs from automatically loading when you power on the player?
Mongo171's Avatar Mongo171
10:31 AM Liked: 842
post #13338 of 20314
11-26-2013 | Posts: 2,280
Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murrayb View Post

Is there a way (and if there is, what is it) to stop Blu-rays / DVDs from automatically loading when you power on the player?

Setup Menu - Playback Setup - Auto Play Mode - OFF
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar SeeMoreDigital
10:38 AM Liked: 96
post #13339 of 20314
11-26-2013 | Posts: 1,939
Joined: Jul 2003
Has anyone here tested PGS subtitles in .MKV?

For me, PGS subtitles are visible when the .MKV file is accessed via SMB. But they are not visible when accessed via UPnP.

Can anybody else confirm?
Lex22's Avatar Lex22
10:43 AM Liked: 17
post #13340 of 20314
11-26-2013 | Posts: 183
Joined: May 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post

Has anyone here tested PGS subtitles in .MKV?

For me, PGS subtitles are visible when the .MKV file is accessed via SMB. But they are not visible when accessed via UPnP.

Can anybody else confirm?

Cannot answer your exact question, but I can tell you that PGS subtitles now work for an HDD connected via USB, when they didn't before.
pqwk50's Avatar pqwk50
10:53 AM Liked: 23
post #13341 of 20314
11-26-2013 | Posts: 74
Joined: Oct 2013

Guys, what's the difference between DVD-Audio & DVD-Video for this setting: Playback Setup > DVD-Audio Mode

 

Which setting should I choose?


SeeMoreDigital's Avatar SeeMoreDigital
11:23 AM Liked: 96
post #13342 of 20314
11-26-2013 | Posts: 1,939
Joined: Jul 2003
When you have the 'DVD-Audio' mode set to 'DVD-Audio', the DVD-A disc's MLP audio stream will be selected by default. By contrast, if you have the 'DVD-Audio' mode set to 'DVD-Video', the DVD-A disc's Dolby Digital audio stream will be selected by default.


Cheers
Bob Pariseau's Avatar Bob Pariseau
11:23 AM Liked: 1087
post #13343 of 20314
11-26-2013 | Posts: 28,318
Joined: Jul 2004
^ Some DVD-Audio discs include an SD-DVD layer as well. Lower quality audio but with video (could be anything). The setting is for which layer plays by default if both are present. DVD-Audio is the normal choice.
--Bob
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
11:55 AM Liked: 410
post #13344 of 20314
11-26-2013 | Posts: 18,057
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post

Has anyone here tested PGS subtitles in .MKV?

For me, PGS subtitles are visible when the .MKV file is accessed via SMB. But they are not visible when accessed via UPnP.

Can anybody else confirm?

You're right. The subtitles are not displaying with miniDLNA, although the tracks and language tags show in the popup menu. VOBSUB is ok and PGS works over SMB.

-Bill
pqwk50's Avatar pqwk50
11:55 AM Liked: 23
post #13345 of 20314
11-26-2013 | Posts: 74
Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ Some DVD-Audio discs include an SD-DVD layer as well. Lower quality audio but with video (could be anything). The setting is for which layer plays by default if both are present. DVD-Audio is the normal choice.
--Bob


Ah. So the setting really only applies when both are present. Thanks.


Murrayb's Avatar Murrayb
12:05 PM Liked: 10
post #13346 of 20314
11-26-2013 | Posts: 60
Joined: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post

Setup Menu - Playback Setup - Auto Play Mode - OFF

Thanks Mongo.
apw2607's Avatar apw2607
12:43 PM Liked: 207
post #13347 of 20314
11-26-2013 | Posts: 2,332
Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

You're right. The subtitles are not displaying with miniDLNA, although the tracks and language tags show in the popup menu. VOBSUB is ok and PGS works over SMB.

-Bill

I'm using serviio DLNA and at least on the 103D, subtitles seem to be working fine with MKVs. I'm assuming the MKV has PGS embedded subtitles ?
AYColumbia's Avatar AYColumbia
12:53 PM Liked: 16
post #13348 of 20314
11-26-2013 | Posts: 357
Joined: Dec 2010
Am I the only one who hates the stupid volume display that now comes up on start-up? I asked Oppo if they could add it as an option to show/hide and their response was
Quote:
If we made it an option then people, who may be the most affected, can hide it, making the point of this indicator moot.
A find that response a bit condescending if you ask me, but that's just me. What do you all think? I was thinking of creating a poll for this? Is it worth doing that?

Don't most 103 users use digital output where the 105 users are more likely to use the analog? I don't want to assume anything here but I am curious since the volume only affects the analog outputs.
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
12:55 PM Liked: 410
post #13349 of 20314
11-26-2013 | Posts: 18,057
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

I'm using serviio DLNA and at least on the 103D, subtitles seem to be working fine with MKVs. I'm assuming the MKV has PGS embedded subtitles ?

I'm guessing there are some quirks in PGS support over DLNA, but your report indicates "some do, some don't".

-Bill
apw2607's Avatar apw2607
01:03 PM Liked: 207
post #13350 of 20314
11-26-2013 | Posts: 2,332
Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AYColumbia View Post

Am I the only one who hates the stupid volume display that now comes up on start-up? I asked Oppo if they could add it as an option to show/hide and their response was
A find that response a bit condescending if you ask me, but that's just me. What do you all think? I was thinking of creating a poll for this? Is it worth doing that?

Don't most 103 users use digital output where the 105 users are more likely to use the analog? I don't want to assume anything here but I am curious since the volume only affects the analog outputs.

I tend to agree . Think the startup volume indicator is a bit naff.
Tags: Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Reply Blu-ray Players

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3