Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 451 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13501 of 17631 Old 12-06-2013, 05:00 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 774
^ When you go to the detail page for a Netflix program -- i.e., where you start or resume the playback -- you'll find an Audio & Subtitles line. You can select Stereo audio there and then start the program.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13502 of 17631 Old 12-06-2013, 05:05 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 774
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankee14 View Post

I am having trouble logging onto my network via 103, it will not accept my info

I have a direct ethernet wired from the modem and get Netflix and updates.

When I go to network my iMac shows and the pop up for the user name and p/w appears.

I have tried to enter my ATT and MAC user names and passwords but they do not allow me access and it keeps saying incorrect user name or password

Is there a different "Network" user name and password that I need to use ?

The ATT is my main e-mail address and p/w that I always use to log into my e-mail account.
For my iMac I have tried every combination of my apple forum and regular e-mail accounts, my sign in only requires a p/w.

Any thoughts

Greg
If you are trying to connect to your Mac as an SMB server (for file sharing), you will need to make a change on the Mac to enable a compatible version of SMB. The information is available in the Knowledge Base on the OPPO Support page for the player.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #13503 of 17631 Old 12-06-2013, 05:58 AM
Newbie
 
tom_k35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone with the IMEGStore region free mod performed the Dec 5 firmware update? Just curious if there were any problems or unusual after the the update?
tom_k35 is offline  
post #13504 of 17631 Old 12-06-2013, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

If you are trying to connect to your Mac as an SMB server (for file sharing), you will need to make a change on the Mac to enable a compatible version of SMB. The information is available in the Knowledge Base on the OPPO Support page for the player.
--Bob

I will say though that SMBup is a little buggy though and has some weird quirks. I would avoid using administrator accounts for SMB access via the Oppo.
apw2607 is offline  
post #13505 of 17631 Old 12-06-2013, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam-DiVine View Post

Can you force the Netflix app to give audio in stereo? My receiver is already converting the audio stream from Netflix to stereo (2.1), since that is all I have hooked up to the receiver and I still hear the problem. It is extremely distracting to watch anything through Netflix mad.gif

Agreed. I'm surprised more people are not noticing it. I do think it effects only some titles though. Give stereo a try and report back if that fixes the problem. Although its "stereo" .. the track still contains Dolby Surround, therefore switch you're receiver to Pro Logic (II) ... and it will still sound very good !!

Edit - scratch that, just realized you're running a stereo setup anyway !
apw2607 is offline  
post #13506 of 17631 Old 12-06-2013, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
yankee14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks there seems to be an acknowledgement that there are problems accepting passwords.

I have an Apple TV but the remote is limited, that is why I was trying it through the OPPO.

I will work on it later .

One question:
When you say: "I would avoid using administrator accounts for SMB access via the Oppo."

What entry would I use, please note that I am 70 and limited in computer knowledge.
yankee14 is offline  
post #13507 of 17631 Old 12-06-2013, 09:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 14,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Just installed the latest update and it performed as advertised. When I powered up my 103 for the first time after the latest update was installed, I was prompted to either reset the 103 to factory defaults, which was highly recommended, or keep the present settings. I decided to believe the Big Computer in the Sky and pressed the Reset to Factory Defaults button. Since then everything has gone well.

On another issue discussed here recently, I installed a JVB Digital all regions modification chip in my 103 in April and it has performed flawlessly ever since. Highly recommended!
gwsat is online now  
post #13508 of 17631 Old 12-06-2013, 11:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Adam-DiVine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Belvidere, NJ
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

Agreed. I'm surprised more people are not noticing it. I do think it effects only some titles though. Give stereo a try and report back if that fixes the problem. Although its "stereo" .. the track still contains Dolby Surround, therefore switch you're receiver to Pro Logic (II) ... and it will still sound very good !!

Edit - scratch that, just realized you're running a stereo setup anyway !

I'm not sure if others are experiencing the same problem that I am. It makes Netflix watching almost unbearable. I am going to hook up an old stereo preamp to my system to rule out the receiver, but again this problem only started when I switched from the 93 to the 103D. I will have to check if the problem is only with 5.1 titles or with stereo titles as well. Maybe I should contact oppo?
Adam-DiVine is offline  
post #13509 of 17631 Old 12-06-2013, 12:07 PM
Member
 
warrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post

On another issue discussed here recently, I installed a JVB Digital all regions modification chip in my 103 in April and it has performed flawlessly ever since. Highly recommended!

I will second this endorsement. The internal/external region free mod kit from JVB Digital definitely seems the one to have. No problems with updates or operation for me. Although like some others, you really do need to turn off Auto Resume to switch regions properly.

________________________________________
Sony Bravia KDL-55BX520 / Pioneer VSX-54TX
OPPO BDP-103D / Xfinity X1 / Klipsch Speakers
warrian is offline  
post #13510 of 17631 Old 12-06-2013, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by warrian View Post

I will second this endorsement. The internal/external region free mod kit from JVB Digital definitely seems the one to have. No problems with updates or operation for me. Although like some others, you really do need to turn off Auto Resume to switch regions properly.


I had better customer service from them as well.

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #13511 of 17631 Old 12-06-2013, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Morris Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Monrovia, CA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed others reporting audio troubles with the Netflix app.

I tried my first "Super HD" movie a couple of weeks ago (Serenity) and had all sorts of data-rate problems. Worse, the Center speaker audio was being routed to my Left Surround.

I've been seeing friends post on Twitter asking if others are having Netflix data rate problems. Hopefully this is a network problem they'll be able to deal with.

Morris Jones
Monrovia, CA
http://www.whiteoaks.com
Old Town Astronomers: http://www.otastro.org
Morris Jones is offline  
post #13512 of 17631 Old 12-06-2013, 05:15 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 774
OPPO UK has now posted the Official 1204 firmware for the EU versions of the 103/105/103D

http://www.oppo-bluray.co.uk/customer-services/firmware-updates/

--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #13513 of 17631 Old 12-06-2013, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morris Jones View Post

I noticed others reporting audio troubles with the Netflix app.

I tried my first "Super HD" movie a couple of weeks ago (Serenity) and had all sorts of data-rate problems. Worse, the Center speaker audio was being routed to my Left Surround.

I've been seeing friends post on Twitter asking if others are having Netflix data rate problems. Hopefully this is a network problem they'll be able to deal with.

I guess my question is why are some people not having audio troubles with Netflix? I have had none at any time, except for an occasional movie where the sound was egregiously out of sync.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is offline  
post #13514 of 17631 Old 12-06-2013, 09:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Rhythmx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick Question. The 1080p/24 selection is now Auto, Forced or Off. Should I leave it on Auto, or Forced. Auto seems to work fine. Wasn't sure since the old firmware used Auto, ON and OFF.

Mark
Rhythmx is offline  
post #13515 of 17631 Old 12-06-2013, 09:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhythmx View Post

Quick Question. The 1080p/24 selection is now Auto, Forced or Off. Should I leave it on Auto, or Forced. Auto seems to work fine. Wasn't sure since the old firmware used Auto, ON and OFF.

Some people say that in general, when using settings with an auto-or-explicit option, you should set it to an explicit setting when possible.
Sometimes that will take stress off of the processor in the player so it has less to do, and thus less things to overwhelm/overwork it.
Not sure if that applies in this case, but If all the displays that are connected to the player do support 1080p/24, then you can change it to "forced" if you want to. Then again if it's working fine the way it is, you can leave it on "auto" too.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #13516 of 17631 Old 12-07-2013, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Morris Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Monrovia, CA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post

I guess my question is why are some people not having audio troubles with Netflix? I have had none at any time, except for an occasional movie where the sound was egregiously out of sync.

Given the distributed nature of Netflix, it makes sense to me that people in some areas would see problems that aren't evident in others. Not so much physical geography as network topology.

Mojo

Morris Jones
Monrovia, CA
http://www.whiteoaks.com
Old Town Astronomers: http://www.otastro.org
Morris Jones is offline  
post #13517 of 17631 Old 12-07-2013, 09:51 AM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Anyone with the XBR-65X850A and the Oppo 103? Have you tried 3D yet? I can't get it to work.

I've tried disconnecting the HDMI from my AVP and going directly from the 103 to the TV. The TV reports 3D signal detected.
I tried pressing the 3D button on my remote - tv says 3D on
I put on 1 pair of glasses - light flashing green - still I either get things way out of phase like a 3" wide ghost from the image or no ghost but still no 3D
I put on another pair of glases - also flashing green - still no 3D
On the TV, I went to the home - then 3D settings - It says on, auto, auto, auto .. I've tried adjusting just about all - still no 3D through any of the glasses that came with the TV
On the Oppo, I've tried changing the screen size, depth - etc - still no 3D on the glasses.
I'm at the same level as the TV - clear line of sight - no 3D.
Tried turning on and off lights - no 3D.

Does it require two hdmi cables? I'm currently using one - when it said 3d signal detected I thought it only required one but I could be wrong as I've never set up 3D before. Again, currently it is going direct from the 103 to the XBR.
boe is offline  
post #13518 of 17631 Old 12-07-2013, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morris Jones View Post

Given the distributed nature of Netflix, it makes sense to me that people in some areas would see problems that aren't evident in others. Not so much physical geography as network topology.

Mojo

Then the blame must not rest on Oppo or its Netflix app.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is offline  
post #13519 of 17631 Old 12-07-2013, 10:29 AM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 48
In addition to not being able to get 3D to work - I'm pretty sure the fault lies with me; I can't get 4K to output from the 103 with the new firmware. I have 4K set to forced on the Oppo but the XBR-65X850A only sees it as 1080p. I hook up the Sony 4K media player to the same HDMI port and it sees it as 2160p so I know it isn't the port but perhaps something I'm doing wrong on the oppo.
boe is offline  
post #13520 of 17631 Old 12-07-2013, 10:59 AM
CHG
Advanced Member
 
CHG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob305 View Post

I had better customer service from them as well.

Jacob

I have had great customer service from JVB Digital, as well. They even responded to one of my emails at 2:45 in the morning. Just a couple of hours after I had emailed them.
CHG is offline  
post #13521 of 17631 Old 12-07-2013, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Kayess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have older Denon receiver that doesn't support HDMI input and a sim2 projector that only supports 1080i and has HDMI input. I am thinking about getting the Oppo 103 as my Pioneer 51FD's HDMI stopped working.

I have a couple of questions that someone may be able to answer:

- How does the analog 7.1 output of the BDP-103 sound?

- Will I see a noticeable video difference in quality (as opposed to another player like my pioneer) on 1080i?

Thanks,
Eskay
Kayess is offline  
post #13522 of 17631 Old 12-07-2013, 02:15 PM
Member
 
Tornado Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I'm wondering if anyone else has had issues with the new Eric Clapton BD release of the Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 on their 103. I bought it on release day a few weeks ago and found the video virtually unwatchable, it was that bad. Heavy, heavy grain, flickering background light and gray banding across the screen. Only during the concert though, interviews were fine. I saw one bad review, that was on hometheatershack where the reviewer had similar issues to mine (not sure of his test delivery system). I read a good write up on Blu-ray.com with none of the issues I had. Hmmm. I returned the BD today and got another copy, same thing as the first one. I pull the BD out of the Oppo and put it in my Sony 350 in my living room and it looks fine. The disc looks bad on the Oppo with old firmware, and no better with the new Dec.5/13 firmware. I've never had this happen to a Blu-ray like this before, I would sure appreciate it if anyone has any insight to what my issue might be, thanks.
Tornado Red is offline  
post #13523 of 17631 Old 12-07-2013, 02:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 77
It may well be that it is 1080i 30 or 1080i 25 or 50. It was probably shot on video. If you have 1080p 24 turned on on your Oppo, try turning it off and see if that makes a difference.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #13524 of 17631 Old 12-07-2013, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by boe View Post

In addition to not being able to get 3D to work - I'm pretty sure the fault lies with me; I can't get 4K to output from the 103 with the new firmware. I have 4K set to forced on the Oppo but the XBR-65X850A only sees it as 1080p. I hook up the Sony 4K media player to the same HDMI port and it sees it as 2160p so I know it isn't the port but perhaps something I'm doing wrong on the oppo.

The OPPO logo will be 1080p/60Hz, so there will be no 4K. Ensure that you have 4Kx2K Output set to FORCED and not AUTO.

Ensure that you are playing back a 1080p/24Hz content such as a Blu-ray.

Try using the HDMI 4 input on your 4K display.

Ensure that you are using HDMI 1 and not HDMI 2 when connected to the display.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #13525 of 17631 Old 12-07-2013, 03:16 PM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Thanks - 4K it is set for forced on the Oppo

I am using a bluray disc - Avatar

I tried HDMI 4 - that is the one that shows 2160p for the 4K media server but only shows 1080p for the Oppo

I am using HDMI 1 on the oppo - tried connecting it to HDMI 1 and 4 on the Sony.


UPDATE - Thanks - I switched it over to Ironman 2 (not a great movie) and it is output is now 2160p - I tried it on both HDMI 1 and 4 and it works.

Now if you guys can help me figure out what I've messed up on the 3D I'll be golden! I've tested with Avatar and another 3D movie - neither one works with the settings I've got. You get out of phase video.
boe is offline  
post #13526 of 17631 Old 12-07-2013, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Tornado Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post

It may well be that it is 1080i 30 or 1080i 25 or 50. It was probably shot on video. If you have 1080p 24 turned on on your Oppo, try turning it off and see if that makes a difference.

Ah ha. Thanks for the info. Although that wasn't it, it did get me looking at my video settings. Since near the beginning of 103 ownership 9 months ago, I've been running +2 for sharpness (old eyes). I've never had a negative response to running +2 until now. There's something about this disc when set at +2 sharpness on the Oppo that makes the video just brutal. Moving to sharpness 0 has rid this of about 90% of my issues. This will never be considered reference video I don't believe on this disc, but a lot of the background in it is very dark, and all the small anomalies that come with that seem to be exacerbated by +2.
Tornado Red is offline  
post #13527 of 17631 Old 12-07-2013, 04:15 PM
Member
 
Tornado Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
While I'm here this evening, I thought I'd pass along another small anomaly. I purchased "Breakfast In America" by Supertramp on BD recently. I'm an avid collector of BD concerts, but this is the first I've owned from the new High Fidelity Pure Audio Blu-ray series. Sound is phenomenal, btw, easily rivals some of my SACDs. There are 3 audio options, all sourced from 24bit/96khz. As an aside here, although there have been Blu-ray audio only discs in the past (i.e. Pink Floyd's TDSOTM and WYWH, Tom Petty's Mojo, etc) these pure audio discs are made to be played with no display, if you'd like to use, say, an Oppo 105 running analog in a 2 channel set up, for example. The 3 audio options are seen on the front of my 103, up/down arrows access those. Left/right accesses the tracks.

Anyway, the audio options are (all 2.0 on this disc) PCM, DTS-Master and Dolby TrueHD. The DTS and Dolby tracks are very close, but I slightly prefer the Dolby. I've had this disc for a few weeks and it's played fine using the Dolby version. After I updated the firmware on my 103 yesterday to the new Dec.5/13 issue, I've started to miss the beginning second or so of any song on this disc I try to access, be it forward or backwards. But only when I use Dolby TrueHD, the DTS and pcm versions are unaffected. I didn't have this issue before the new firmware. I've written Oppo and their response was that it was likely a handshake issue. While I certainly agree it would seem to be that, it wasn't a problem before the new firmware. They recommended that I unhook the HDMI video (if I was running split, which I am). Well, that didn't help and really I shouldn't have to unplug a cable so I don't miss the beginning of songs on a particular disc. I know, first world problems, eh? Seems kind of petty I guess, I'll run DTS for now, but just thought I'd point out that issue with DolbyTrueHD. I know with audio dropouts on Dolby TrueHD movies that are to hard fix, Oppo probably wishes DolbyTrueHD would just go away rolleyes.gif
Tornado Red is offline  
post #13528 of 17631 Old 12-08-2013, 12:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by boe View Post

Now if you guys can help me figure out what I've messed up on the 3D I'll be golden! I've tested with Avatar and another 3D movie - neither one works with the settings I've got. You get out of phase video.

Frame packed 3D will always be 720p/24 or 1080p/24. There is no specification for current generation of players/displays for supporting this at 4K/24.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #13529 of 17631 Old 12-08-2013, 04:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayess View Post

I have older Denon receiver that doesn't support HDMI input and a sim2 projector that only supports 1080i and has HDMI input. I am thinking about getting the Oppo 103 as my Pioneer 51FD's HDMI stopped working.

I have a couple of questions that someone may be able to answer:

- How does the analog 7.1 output of the BDP-103 sound?

- Will I see a noticeable video difference in quality (as opposed to another player like my pioneer) on 1080i?

Thanks,
Eskay
The analog outputs are great. However, if your Denon receiver has RoomEQ or Audyssey, it won't be active when you're using the EXT IN inputs on your receiver, and you will need to set bass management chocies and speaker distances on the Oppo unit. Concerning the video difference, I find that the Oppo does a better job upsampling DVDs than my Pioneer BDP-320, but there is no difference between the players that I can see when I'm watching BluRay discs.

A nice advantage of the Oppo over any of the older Pioneer plays is much faster startup and load times.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is offline  
post #13530 of 17631 Old 12-08-2013, 05:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
SteveV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I ordered a BPD-103 yesterday and just now realized that I violated my #1 rule in buying HT gear: confirm it has discrete power on/off codes. I've had a look at the Oppo Excel download that lists all the discrete codes. The first code in the list is the Power toggle command and the last couple of commands are "On" and "Off" which hopefully correspond to Power On and Off.

Since this is Oppo I'm guessing I'm OK but can someone confirm that the 103 does in-fact have discrete IR power on/off codes?

Thanks--Steve
SteveV is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc , Seiki Digital Se50uy04 50 Inch 4k 120hz Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off