Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 478 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2014, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scott_bernstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Upper West Side, Manhattan, NYC, US
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by DERG View Post

Called Oppo today & they suggested to install oShare on my PC. That was the perfect solution.
Yes OShare is mindblowingly simple for sharing your content on your Windows PC network. Far simpler than any of the Microsoft solutions and seems to work flawlessly. Seriously it could not be easier to install and configure.
scott_bernstein is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2014, 01:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
DERG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brown City, Michigan
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_bernstein View Post

Yes OShare is mindblowingly simple for sharing your content on your Windows PC network. Far simpler than any of the Microsoft solutions and seems to work flawlessly. Seriously it could not be easier to install and configure.

I have to agree. I kept telling myself this is too simple, that nothing is this easy. But, everything worked perfectly. Actually, it seems Oppo has made everything fairly simple to understand & easy to use. It has proven to be well worth the extra money!
DERG is offline  
Old 01-14-2014, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
LairdWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by DERG View Post

Called Oppo today & they suggested to install oShare on my PC. That was the perfect solution.
That is certainly an easy and workable choice.
Windows media is not terribly functional.

If you are going the DLNA server route (which is what OShare is) you might consider trying JRiver Media Center too, just for kicks.
It works very well with the Oppos in general, and can take advantage of the 103/105 as renderers as well as players.
There is a very nice iPad app that lets you browse your media from the iPad and then play it on the Oppo from JRiver.
This frees you to
A) Turn off your TV when listening to music. Important for folks with bulb-based projectors (to avoid burn-outs) and plasmas (to avoid burn-in).
B) Have a far more rich interface for browsing/searching your media than a LURDS remote.

I tried about a dozen DLNA servers on windows and mac with my 103, along with about a half-dozen iPad apps for control.
No other combination of the dozens I tried was anywhere near as easy or reliable as JRiver 19 and JRemote.

Not saying you got bad guidance in any way. If OShare is working for you and you are happy with it the way it is, then super!
But if you want to go another step in usability...
starchoice likes this.

Display: Panasonic P60UT50 (Plasma)
Speakers: (4) Monitor Audio Silver 9i (Front and Surround), (1) Monitor Audio Silver 12i (Center), (4) Monitor Audio Silver 4i (Rear and Wide), (2) Aperion Audio Bravus II 8d (Subwoofers)
Receiver: Pioneer Elite SC-87 AVR (9.2)
Sources: Oppo BDP-103, Roku 3, Cable...
LairdWilliams is online now  
Old 01-14-2014, 01:41 PM
Member
 
starchoice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks very much DSperber, gsr and Bob Pariseau for the responses. This clarifies everything.
starchoice is offline  
Old 01-14-2014, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by LairdWilliams View Post

That is certainly an easy and workable choice.
Windows media is not terribly functional.

If you are going the DLNA server route (which is what OShare is) you might consider trying JRiver Media Center too, just for kicks.
It works very well with the Oppos in general, and can take advantage of the 103/105 as renderers as well as players.
There is a very nice iPad app that lets you browse your media from the iPad and then play it on the Oppo from JRiver.
This frees you to
A) Turn off your TV when listening to music. Important for folks with bulb-based projectors (to avoid burn-outs) and plasmas (to avoid burn-in).
B) Have a far more rich interface for browsing/searching your media than a LURDS remote.

I tried about a dozen DLNA servers on windows and mac with my 103, along with about a half-dozen iPad apps for control.
No other combination of the dozens I tried was anywhere near as easy or reliable as JRiver 19 and JRemote.

Not saying you got bad guidance in any way. If OShare is working for you and you are happy with it the way it is, then super!
But if you want to go another step in usability...

Why on earth do you want to pay for a DLNA server or remote when they are free ones out there that work perfectly with the Oppo and many other BDPs and STBs.
apw2607 is offline  
Old 01-14-2014, 06:15 PM
Senior Member
 
LairdWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

Why on earth do you want to pay for a DLNA server or remote when they are free ones out there that work perfectly with the Oppo and many other BDPs and STBs.
Because the non-free one includes a lot of other tools.
Because its remote is not generic, and is therefore both more reliable and more feature-rich than the generic DLNA controller apps for the iPod.

Have you LOOKED at JRMC? I HAVE looked, at nearly all of the big DLNA servers and controllers in dozens of combinations, even trying some on both Mac and PC platforms.

TVersity, OShare, Plex, Twonky, PS3 Media Server, Twonky Beam, Linn, name one.

The free DLNA servers don't even come close - nor do most of the other paid servers.


And while we are at it - if you are spending $500-$1000 on a BD-Player and thousands upon thousands on speakers, amp, etc., "why on earth" would you piss on the idea of spending the cost of a couple of movies to get a reliable, full-featured, fully-supported solution?

Display: Panasonic P60UT50 (Plasma)
Speakers: (4) Monitor Audio Silver 9i (Front and Surround), (1) Monitor Audio Silver 12i (Center), (4) Monitor Audio Silver 4i (Rear and Wide), (2) Aperion Audio Bravus II 8d (Subwoofers)
Receiver: Pioneer Elite SC-87 AVR (9.2)
Sources: Oppo BDP-103, Roku 3, Cable...
LairdWilliams is online now  
Old 01-14-2014, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Yup. JRMC on the Mac is complete junk. Not stable in any way and constantly crashes. Not even beta quality.
apw2607 is offline  
Old 01-14-2014, 08:02 PM
Senior Member
 
LairdWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

Yup. JRMC on the Mac is complete junk. Not stable in any way and constantly crashes. Not even beta quality.
agreed...and even what if it has gets to working well it will still be missing tons of the features of the Windows version. But if you are running Windows, which is what the person I originally responded to is running....

Display: Panasonic P60UT50 (Plasma)
Speakers: (4) Monitor Audio Silver 9i (Front and Surround), (1) Monitor Audio Silver 12i (Center), (4) Monitor Audio Silver 4i (Rear and Wide), (2) Aperion Audio Bravus II 8d (Subwoofers)
Receiver: Pioneer Elite SC-87 AVR (9.2)
Sources: Oppo BDP-103, Roku 3, Cable...
LairdWilliams is online now  
Old 01-14-2014, 09:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Twylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had terrible luck with the ipad HDmediacontrol app on release firmware and beta firmware...I take it im not the only one? I would hard lock up randomly every 10 minutes or so...i really want it to work so i can leave the projector off when listening to music...is there some Wizardry that will help this out or are we waiting for new releases from oppo...?

REW...most expensive freeware ever...

Twylight is offline  
Old 01-14-2014, 11:33 PM
Newbie
 
magic1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Murphy, Texas
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

2 issues that hopefully someone can point me to solutions for.

1. My BDP-103 is hdmi connected to my Dennon x2000 which is hdmi connected to my Panasonic 65ZT60. I just updated the firm ware to BDP10x-67-1024 and now when I turn on the Oppo or hit home from another screen or start a dvd, etc the bottom 1/3 of the screen on the tv shows white vertical lines/streaks (no image visible in this white area). The image is fine above the white lines. After several seconds the screen will return to normal. Since it did not do this before the update I figure it must either be the update or a factory setting. Any suggestions?

2. I connected a usb external drive to the unit and have found several movie files that play, but with no sound. Formats with this issue include AVI, MPG, MP4 however other MPG files, etc on the same drive play video and sound fine.

Thanks,

Mark
magic1981 is offline  
Old 01-14-2014, 11:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 189
You are likely seeing the HDCP handshakes, and instead of it showing up as a blank screen or a screen full of snow, the screen is just tearing at the bottom.

Try setting HDMI Audio to LPCM and see if the same issues occur.
Neuromancer is offline  
Old 01-15-2014, 02:02 AM
Newbie
 
nesone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question for audiophiles.
Would I buy external DAC, such as the Rega DAC. Will there be a better sound in system?
The system is: Onkyo 3007, Oppo 103, Amp. Nad C352, Cd player Nad C 542 and complet 5.1 Monitor Audio RS speakers. Front is RS8, rear RS1.
Amp is connected via pre-out on Onkyo 3007.
For music I use CD player Nad C542,
and for Blu ray and DVD films is Oppo 103.
How to improve the sound system?
Thanks in advance.
nesone is offline  
Old 01-15-2014, 02:35 AM
Senior Member
 
AndrewFG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by dargha View Post

Hi
However when I go to the 103's home page and select network, I can see the NAS but clicking on it to drill down to the any of the folders seems to lock the 103 up, it becomes completely unresponsive, to point I have to pull the power cord out. Odd thing is that if I use a DMC app such DS video or Kinsky on an Ipad  I can see the 103 and I can then send it a moive and it plays it. It just seems that it freezes up when using its own home screen network function

This is a bug in the Oppo...

If your NAS library has very many entries in the branches of the library tree, (for example my library has over 800 albums in the "Albums" tree), then the Oppo downloads all of those entries into memory before it starts displaying anything on screen. (The Oppo does not actually freeze up -- if you wait long enough, it will come back to life once it has downloaded all entries).

I don't know why the Oppo behaves this way; the UPnP specification has a mechanism that allows large lists to be downloaded one screen page at a time. And as you observe most other devices and control points do indeed load and display one page at a time.

In my opinion this bug makes the Oppo unusable as a UPnP control point if you have any appreciable amount of stuff in your library. Most users with such a situation end up using a third party control point on a PC or a tablet (e.g. personally I use JRiver Media Center).
AndrewFG is offline  
Old 01-15-2014, 02:39 AM
Senior Member
 
AndrewFG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by LairdWilliams View Post

Because the non-free one includes a lot of other tools.
Because its remote is not generic, and is therefore both more reliable and more feature-rich than the generic DLNA controller apps for the iPod.

Have you LOOKED at JRMC? I HAVE looked, at nearly all of the big DLNA servers and controllers in dozens of combinations, even trying some on both Mac and PC platforms.

TVersity, OShare, Plex, Twonky, PS3 Media Server, Twonky Beam, Linn, name one.

The free DLNA servers don't even come close - nor do most of the other paid servers.


And while we are at it - if you are spending $500-$1000 on a BD-Player and thousands upon thousands on speakers, amp, etc., "why on earth" would you piss on the idea of spending the cost of a couple of movies to get a reliable, full-featured, fully-supported solution?

+1 smile.gif
AndrewFG is offline  
Old 01-15-2014, 03:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Since updating to the newest beta firmware, the Youtube app requires me to sign in every time I start it. It works fine without a sign-in, but then it doesn't have access to my subscriptions, watchlists, etc. Anyone else noticing this?

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
Old 01-15-2014, 04:06 AM
Newbie
 
dargha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewFG View Post


This is a bug in the Oppo...

If your NAS library has very many entries in the branches of the library tree, (for example my library has over 800 albums in the "Albums" tree), then the Oppo downloads all of those entries into memory before it starts displaying anything on screen. (The Oppo does not actually freeze up -- if you wait long enough, it will come back to life once it has downloaded all entries).

I don't know why the Oppo behaves this way; the UPnP specification has a mechanism that allows large lists to be downloaded one screen page at a time. And as you observe most other devices and control points do indeed load and display one page at a time.

In my opinion this bug makes the Oppo unusable as a UPnP control point if you have any appreciable amount of stuff in your library. Most users with such a situation end up using a third party control point on a PC or a tablet (e.g. personally I use JRiver Media Center).


Thanks for answering my question.. So okay then, I suppose I'll leave for a few hours and see how we get on. I personally use synologies own app for audio, DS-Audio but haven't yet settles on one for the video side of things.

 

Wonder if Oppo will ever "fix" this ???????

dargha is offline  
Old 01-15-2014, 04:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
DERG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brown City, Michigan
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by LairdWilliams View Post

Because the non-free one includes a lot of other tools.
Because its remote is not generic, and is therefore both more reliable and more feature-rich than the generic DLNA controller apps for the iPod.

Have you LOOKED at JRMC? I HAVE looked, at nearly all of the big DLNA servers and controllers in dozens of combinations, even trying some on both Mac and PC platforms.

TVersity, OShare, Plex, Twonky, PS3 Media Server, Twonky Beam, Linn, name one.

The free DLNA servers don't even come close - nor do most of the other paid servers.


And while we are at it - if you are spending $500-$1000 on a BD-Player and thousands upon thousands on speakers, amp, etc., "why on earth" would you piss on the idea of spending the cost of a couple of movies to get a reliable, full-featured, fully-supported solution?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LairdWilliams View Post

agreed...and even what if it has gets to working well it will still be missing tons of the features of the Windows version. But if you are running Windows, which is what the person I originally responded to is running....

I'll check out JRMC but I doubt if using this function enough will justify the extra $$. Then again... the 103 opens many doors that I wasn't aware of so maybe I'll use this more that I anticipated. We have our home theater located in our basement with a projector & all. It's nice to have our entire music collection at the touch of a button instead of jumping up & down changing CDs. Movies last hours so not as big of a deal. Wouldn't hurt to try it free for awhile. We'll see. Thanks for the tip!
DERG is offline  
Old 01-15-2014, 04:57 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by magic1981 View Post

2. I connected a usb external drive to the unit and have found several movie files that play, but with no sound. Formats with this issue include AVI, MPG, MP4 however other MPG files, etc on the same drive play video and sound fine.

We would need to know the audio codecs used inside those containers. There is a free utility "mediainfo" which will display that and much other useful info.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Old 01-15-2014, 06:21 AM
Senior Member
 
AndrewFG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by dargha View Post

So okay then, I suppose I'll leave for a few hours and see how we get on.

It should come back to life in about 5..10 minutes. If it really freezes for hours then there is definitely something else wrong.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dargha View Post

Wonder if Oppo will ever "fix" this ???????

You could try writing to their customer support. They are extremely helpful. I would be interested to hear their answer too...
AndrewFG is offline  
Old 01-15-2014, 07:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I have an IR question for the 103. Can you directly connect a cable from an IR hub to the back of the 103, or do you have to use an IR receiver led.

I am asking because I have done this on other equipment ,by passed the leds and connected a mono cable from the IR out to the IR in directly, but not allequipment can be connected like this.

I am using Buffalo IR hubs.

Thanks,
Skybolt

skybolt is online now  
Old 01-15-2014, 07:19 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
thduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: LI New York
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Since updating to the newest beta firmware, the Youtube app requires me to sign in every time I start it. It works fine without a sign-in, but then it doesn't have access to my subscriptions, watchlists, etc. Anyone else noticing this?

Yes this also happens on the official December release

GoldenEar Triton One's 2
GoldenEar Triton Two's 2
GoldenEar Super Center XL 1
GoldenEar SuperSat 3 2
GoldenEar ForceField 5 1
OPPO 105, Emotiva XPA-5, Emotiva XPA-2
thduke is offline  
Old 01-15-2014, 08:06 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,010
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by skybolt View Post

I have an IR question for the 103. Can you directly connect a cable from an IR hub to the back of the 103, or do you have to use an IR receiver led.

I am asking because I have done this on other equipment ,by passed the leds and connected a mono cable from the IR out to the IR in directly, but not allequipment can be connected like this.

I am using Baffalo IR hubs.

Thanks,
Skybolt
That's exactly what I'm doing with Crestron IR outputs, which means it would work with Xantech IR blocks too. I would expect it to work just fine with the Buffalo IR hub.
skybolt likes this.
gsr is online now  
Old 01-15-2014, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post

That's exactly what I'm doing with Crestron IR outputs, which means it would work with Xantech IR blocks too. I would expect it to work just fine with the Buffalo IR hub.

That's good to know, thanks. It works so well that way. I use the app on an 8" tablet as well, but structured IR is just so easy.
Yeah, the Xantech seem to be an industry standard and I think the Buffalo's are modeled after those, same power specs, at least for the four output one.

skybolt is online now  
Old 01-15-2014, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
davehale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 28
If I may ask at this point, what button do some of you use on the Harmony One that mimics the "return arrow" button from the 103 remote? Harmony One doesn't do this by default. Will this need to be setup by programming the Harmony? - hopefully both remotes setup end to end.
davehale is offline  
Old 01-15-2014, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,041
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 105
As far as I can see from various images of the Harmony One, it has a 'return arrow' key located below the 'channel' up/down buttons!
ntculenuf likes this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
Old 01-15-2014, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
davehale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Thanks SMD but the Return Arrow don't work on my Harmony One. Tried programming many times but no joy. I'll just keep fiddling with it for awhile longer.
davehale is offline  
Old 01-15-2014, 02:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 26
If I remember correctly, I use the exit button as a return.
bwillcox is offline  
Old 01-15-2014, 02:29 PM
Senior Member
 
LairdWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehale View Post

Thanks SMD but the Return Arrow don't work on my Harmony One. Tried programming many times but no joy. I'll just keep fiddling with it for awhile longer.
You can change that. Just customize buttons for the device.

Display: Panasonic P60UT50 (Plasma)
Speakers: (4) Monitor Audio Silver 9i (Front and Surround), (1) Monitor Audio Silver 12i (Center), (4) Monitor Audio Silver 4i (Rear and Wide), (2) Aperion Audio Bravus II 8d (Subwoofers)
Receiver: Pioneer Elite SC-87 AVR (9.2)
Sources: Oppo BDP-103, Roku 3, Cable...
LairdWilliams is online now  
Old 01-15-2014, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewFG View Post

This is a bug in the Oppo...

If your NAS library has very many entries in the branches of the library tree, (for example my library has over 800 albums in the "Albums" tree), then the Oppo downloads all of those entries into memory before it starts displaying anything on screen. (The Oppo does not actually freeze up -- if you wait long enough, it will come back to life once it has downloaded all entries).

I don't know why the Oppo behaves this way; the UPnP specification has a mechanism that allows large lists to be downloaded one screen page at a time. And as you observe most other devices and control points do indeed load and display one page at a time.

In my opinion this bug makes the Oppo unusable as a UPnP control point if you have any appreciable amount of stuff in your library. Most users with such a situation end up using a third party control point on a PC or a tablet (e.g. personally I use JRiver Media Center).

As another data point i've shared around 3400 albums using DLNA to the Oppo. Displaying the album folders and playing the tracks on the Oppo using its own GUI is almost instantaneous.
apw2607 is offline  
Old 01-15-2014, 03:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

As another data point i've shared around 3400 albums using DLNA to the Oppo. Displaying the album folders and playing the tracks on the Oppo using its own GUI is almost instantaneous.

Hmm, I usually select the "All Music" (I think that's what it's called...basically all tracks from all albums) and prefer to run them in shuffle mode. With the Oppo GUI I have to wait till it has downloaded the entire index of tracks before I can change to shuffle mode since the Blue button used to do that will take me back while it's on the screen showing its indexing progress. With my appx 30,000 tracks this is long enough for my patience to run out. For this reason, I rarely use the Oppo to stream music, but use my Yamaha receiver instead. It seems to do the indexing in the background from what I can tell and it 'remembers' from one time to the next that I had set it to shuffle mode.

My DLNA server is ReadyDLNA on my ReadyNAS NAS box.
bwillcox is offline  
 

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off