Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 49 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1441 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzyboy View Post

So is it official that the BDP-83 is still a better SD-DVD up converter than the new 103?

There is nothing official other than subjective opinions (including present company). My ownership of my BDP-93 briefly overlapped my ownership of my BDP-83SE and I do recall preferring the BDP-83SE for DVD playback, but it was only on specific content. There were times when either transport would have sufficed, but if I had to make a choice it probably would have been the BDP-83SE. Again, all subjective. We must keep in mind that Oppo had extensive experience with the ABT chip in the BDP-83. In the long run the improvements in the BDP-93 far outweighed my subjective preference for the BDP-83s DVD playback.smile.gif

Fast forward to the BDP-103 and I do see improvements over the BDP-93 as it pertains to DVD playback. I am not sure how much more there is to be squeezed out of a DVD.smile.gif

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1442 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian-HD View Post

I am not sure what you are talking about "you must not know much about blu ray players" or the point you are trying to make. Oppo recommended single HDMI connection with LPCM when I called. It was also with dual cables as well. If you read the above post, this is likely to be a BUG.
FYI Oppo 83se
Oppo 95 Sold
Panasonic 500
Sony 790 Best network player
Oppo 103


blu ray player had problems early on when they first started and still have problems to this day. some players do a better job then others like the oppo. I had many other panasonic players that would still have problems with one thing or another even after a generation. sometimes the first generation might be better then later. that was my point that I was making.

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #1443 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 07:13 AM
Member
 
Hikmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So I got my prized Oppo 103 the other day and am amazed at all the formats I can throw at this thing, the USB capability is great. However I still find myself scratching my head on a couple issues. Perhaps folks out there can let me know their thoughts.

1. The mouth moves out of sync with the music, sometimes it’s really bad for instance with Netflix.
2. HDMI input doesn’t seem to jive with my cable box, the main reason I forked over cash to get this thing. After a few minutes I get a message saying Advanced security has kicked in and the screen goes green. There is a way to get around this on my Motorola and change an option setting on HDMI to DVI however the setting seems to reset after the box is turned off. Anyone know about this?
3. Biggest issue…the sound! The bass is weak and the dynamics aren’t what I expect. I hooked up my old MSB LINK (Model 2) as a DAC and the difference was noticeable enough to be somewhat disappointed. I was hoping I could get rid of my MSB but in all honesty the Oppo made my DAC sound better than before…tight bass, well imaged vocals, etc.

So I am let wondering if I made the right decision, will future upgrades and modifications balance out the problems I have found? I am a 2 channel person with a very nice vinyl front end, I expected this to be the last digital upgrade I would need for a while but still not convinced.
Hikmer is offline  
post #1444 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 07:24 AM
Member
 
taxman95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

I just wish that Oppo change the Canadian distributors asap
1. One distributor is open "by appointment only". Seriously, WTF?
2. Another distributor on the list given by Oppo customer support says, "we never carry Oppo!". Another WTF moment.
3. Final distributor, located 90 minutes away from home took my order over the phone, took my credit card number, received confirmation e-mail, I drove there... Then they told me it's not available until November 9th.
Great choice of distributors, Oppo! mad.gif

Buy it online in the US and have it shipped to one of the warehouses near the border such as CBI. Much easier. When I bought my 83 I declared it but was never charged the HST and same thing happened with my projector (I use Nexus not the regular lane)
taxman95 is offline  
post #1445 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post

It seems that you are unhappy with the 103. Maybe the best option would be to return it. I'm very happy with the 103 but all I do is play shiny discs with it smile.gif.
Bill

Bill,

I am just like you. Only shiny disc and FLAC files of course. I think some are looking for perfection when only excellence can be achieved.smile.gif

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #1446 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian-HD View Post

I did a complete factory (included network) reset this morning and the audio lip sync stopped and player FW is back to baseline. Yesterday, it was my first time using the network to stream music. It is likely that the network had something to do with the audio sync.

Brian,

You may be on to something. When all else fails do a factory reset. While an inconvenience (minor); firmware updates are finicky sometimes. I am glad this seemed to have resolved your your lip sync issue.

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #1447 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 08:30 AM
Member
 
Ali is mental's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

I just wish that Oppo change the Canadian distributors asap
1. One distributor is open "by appointment only". Seriously, WTF?
2. Another distributor on the list given by Oppo customer support says, "we never carry Oppo!". Another WTF moment.
3. Final distributor, located 90 minutes away from home took my order over the phone, took my credit card number, received confirmation e-mail, I drove there... Then they told me it's not available until November 9th.
Great choice of distributors, Oppo! mad.gif

I'm pretty sure that in 1. above you are referring to Solutions A/V. They have online ordering off their website and you can have it shipped to you for $10 when they become available which is indicated as being next week sometime. Give them a break. Oppo dictates when they get units.
Ali is mental is offline  
post #1448 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 08:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by venus933 View Post

After deactivating and reestablishing my account I'm able to load/play titles where on occasion the problem will still reoccur. So I'm largely cured and stand where I was when I first noticed this glitch. So I plan on uploading and reinstalling the firmware update, reset factory defaults and reconnect my Netflix account to see if that solves the problem completely. I'm quite familiar with this version of Netflix from my other devices and something is amiss with the missing Recently Used queue. It's as if it's not there because for some reason there's no history retained from my prior session though my Recently Used queue from my other devices has a history of what has played on the oppo player.

Reinstalling the firmware update didn't resolve the problem of the occasional title not playing and requiring a power off. As a last resort I again deactivated Netflix, deactivated my devices from Netflix's webpage and reestablished my Netflix account... drum roll please....

The Recently Used queue magically came back to life and after loading/playing 15 or so titles it's so far so good. By George, I think I've got it!

Prior to my oppo-103 I returned my oppo-93 to Amazon but before doing so I of course deactivated my accounts via the player. I'm reasoning that when I linked the oppo-103 to my Netflix account there was a remnant of the oppo-93 settings (on Netflix's end) that was causing a conflict. Well anyway I'm a happy camper.

Samsung PN60E7000
OPPO BDP-103 Universal Disc Player
MartinLogan Motion Vision Gloss Black 5-Channel Soundbar
MartinLogan Dynamo 700 10-inch Wireless Ready Subwoofer
venus933 is offline  
post #1449 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakerwi View Post

Brian,
You may be on to something. When all else fails do a factory reset. While an inconvenience (minor); firmware updates are finicky sometimes. I am glad this seemed to have resolved your your lip sync issue.

I am convinced that the network was giving me these audio syncs while playing blu ray discs. With internet connection off for BD, it was major lip sync. All the discs played fine on my 83se.
Brian-HD is offline  
post #1450 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by venus933 View Post

Reinstalling the firmware update didn't resolve the problem of the occasional title not playing and requiring a power off. As a last resort I again deactivated Netflix, deactivated my devices from Netflix's webpage and reestablished my Netflix account... drum roll please....
The Recently Used queue magically came back to life and after loading/playing 15 or so title it's so far so good. By George, I think I've got it!
Prior to my oppo-103 I returned my oppo-93 to Amazon but before doing so I of course deactivated my accounts via the player. I'm reasoning that when I linked the oppo-103 to my Netflix account there was a remnant of the oppo-93 settings (on Netflix's end) that was a causing conflict. Well anyway I'm a happy camper.

This is a great suggestion.
Brian-HD is offline  
post #1451 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Exploded View of Loader on the 105 is the same on the 103?
Brian-HD is offline  
post #1452 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 10:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
IceTBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Since my 103 has HDMI inputs can a pro calibrator now come in and hook his signal generator directly to the HDMI input and get a very accurate calibration on my Pio plasma for the 103 input? Or is any calibration like this just going to be limited purely to the user controls in the 103's Video Setup? Would there be any advantage to using the HDMI input for pro calibration?

BTW yes my Pio has been pro calibrated and touched up again about a year and a half after the original calibration. Just looking to the future. wink.gif
IceTBC is offline  
post #1453 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 11:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceTBC View Post

Since my 103 has HDMI inputs can a pro calibrator now come in and hook his signal generator directly to the HDMI input and get a very accurate calibration on my Pio plasma for the 103 input? Or is any calibration like this just going to be limited purely to the user controls in the 103's Video Setup? Would there be any advantage to using the HDMI input for pro calibration?
BTW yes my Pio has been pro calibrated and touched up again about a year and a half after the original calibration. Just looking to the future. wink.gif

The player already outputs very accurately, there's no real reason to calibrate it. If the input on your display is calibrated, simply hook up the Oppo and enjoy. Depending on the model of your plasma, you may wish to use RGB-Video output from the Oppo. There have been reports of the Pio displays doing better processing with RGB input. Your calibration tech may have an opinion on that.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #1454 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,815
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

The player already outputs very accurately, there's no real reason to calibrate it. If the input on your display is calibrated, simply hook up the Oppo and enjoy. Depending on the model of your plasma, you may wish to use RGB-Video output from the Oppo. There have been reports of the Pio displays doing better processing with RGB input. Your calibration tech may have an opinion on that.

I agree. I just calibrate the input on the plasma with my meter and generator, then only check brightness on the Oppo. Nothing else to worry about IMO.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #1455 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Reference_head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 663
When I run the 103 though this hdmi switcher I only get 8bit color. When I run it without the switcher I get the 12bit. I did go into the set up and change it to 36bit to get the 12bit. So it works perfect when I don’t use the switcher. I have two other blu ray players (ps3 and a cheap sony player) that get the 12bit when going through the switcher so any ideas why the 103 wont?

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10110&cs_id=1011002&p_id=6259&seq=1&format=2

Klipsch Pro Cinema KPT-904 L/C/R, Pro Cinema KPT-1201-T2 for sides and RB-61 II for backs.
SVS PB13-Ultra, PB12-Plus x2, and Velodyne SMS-1 Sub EQ
SC-55 elite and B&K 200.7 S2
JVC RS-45 Projector, and Seymour CS 125” 2.35 screen
Oppo BDP-103 9 ATS Acoustic panels
Reference_head is offline  
post #1456 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 12:11 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 866
A new French review of the BDP-103EU from HDFever:

http://www.hdfever.fr/2012/10/26/test-oppo-bdp-103eu/

http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=fr&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.hdfever.fr%2F2012%2F10%2F26%2Ftest-oppo-bdp-103eu%2F


The second link is the Google translation, which apparently thinks French "platine" should be translated as English "platinum" instead of "deck" as in "record or disc deck".

Note that there are 5 pages to this article (the links between them are easy to miss). Also, if you see something confusing in the graphics rendered in the English translation, check the French original, as Google's processing seems to be producing some odd stuff there as well.

The review includes some bench test results of audio, as well as video captures showing 4K upscaling and the benefits of some of the Picture Adjustments offered by the QDEO video processing.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1457 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 12:14 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reference_head View Post

When I run the 103 though this hdmi switcher I only get 8bit color. When I run it without the switcher I get the 12bit. I did go into the set up and change it to 36bit to get the 12bit. So it works perfect when I don’t use the switcher. I have two other blu ray players (ps3 and a cheap sony player) that get the 12bit when going through the switcher so any ideas why the 103 wont?

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10110&cs_id=1011002&p_id=6259&seq=1&format=2

Check whether it will work at 1080p/24 but not at 1080p/60. If so there's a bandwidth issue in the switch. If it also doesn't work at 1080p/24, then evidently there's some problem in how the player is seeing its capabilities. Pass on the info to OPPO Tech Support as they may have some history with the switch.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1458 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Reference_head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 663
1080/24 and 1080/60 both work as they should. It’s just stuck in 8bit color if I run it though the box.

Klipsch Pro Cinema KPT-904 L/C/R, Pro Cinema KPT-1201-T2 for sides and RB-61 II for backs.
SVS PB13-Ultra, PB12-Plus x2, and Velodyne SMS-1 Sub EQ
SC-55 elite and B&K 200.7 S2
JVC RS-45 Projector, and Seymour CS 125” 2.35 screen
Oppo BDP-103 9 ATS Acoustic panels
Reference_head is offline  
post #1459 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 01:37 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,687
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakerwi View Post

Brian,c.

I like your quote, I do the same get the equipment in my room listen or watch and then make a decision if I like it I buy it otherwise return it. Who cares what others think as long as it pleases you wink.gif

My humble Cinema
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wse is offline  
post #1460 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 01:55 PM
Member
 
mattr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lakewood. OH
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Maybe a dumb question, but now having directv going hdmi in I am not able to view directv's 3D channels correctly?? It displays as side by side and I can't seem to change it via the projector ( Benq w7000) or via the player. Am I missing something? Two days ago before the 103 had no problem viewing directv 3D. Is it a 3D setting? Any help much appreciated.

I must have 1080p
mattr6 is offline  
post #1461 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
pentium7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
LOVE the BDP-103. It will be my baby until Oppo makes something better! After a couple weeks and about 10 discs I still comment to my wife about how damn fast it navigates and responds to blurays and menus etc. When I turn my entire A/V system on and select bluray it is ready and has the bluray loaded way before my projector is ready. Pause,FWD,RWD, Play all react snappy compared to previous gen. And now I have it working perfectly 2 room scenario with wired IR plug to plug no bud. It is in a vented cabinet (Salamander rack) and you can't even see it anymore unless you open the door. Tested Vudu 1080P + 3D flawless, tested 3D 1080P bluray flawless through Denon AVR-5308CI upgraded 3D. Love it.
pentium7 is offline  
post #1462 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 02:02 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reference_head View Post

1080/24 and 1080/60 both work as they should. It’s just stuck in 8bit color if I run it though the box.
My question was actually whether 36-bit worked with 1080p/24, but I take it it does not.

Send OPPO Tech Support an email with the details on the switch and what's happening, including how you know that 36-bit is working through it from the other two players. They may have some info on the switch.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1463 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 02:33 PM
Member
 
Ali is mental's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have a 2.5 TB drive formatted as GPT. Will the 103 read it? I keep seeing a maximum of 2 TB's mentioned even though the 103 supposedly supports GPT.
Ali is mental is offline  
post #1464 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 02:47 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali is mental View Post

I have a 2.5 TB drive formatted as GPT. Will the 103 read it? I keep seeing a maximum of 2 TB's mentioned even though the 103 supposedly supports GPT.

GPT partitioning support is one of the new features of the 103/105. GPT partitioning (vs. MBR) is REQUIRED for use of more than 2TB. See the FAQ (link at the top of the first post of this thread) for more info.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1465 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 02:57 PM
Member
 
Ali is mental's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So people are actually using it and it is working?
Ali is mental is offline  
post #1466 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Reference_head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

My question was actually whether 36-bit worked with 1080p/24, but I take it it does not.
Send OPPO Tech Support an email with the details on the switch and what's happening, including how you know that 36-bit is working through it from the other two players. They may have some info on the switch.
--Bob

With the player set to 36bit I get 1080/24 and 8bit deep color (not 12 like I get with the other players). When I hit info on my projector it shows the info. My guess is it’s a handshake issue.

Klipsch Pro Cinema KPT-904 L/C/R, Pro Cinema KPT-1201-T2 for sides and RB-61 II for backs.
SVS PB13-Ultra, PB12-Plus x2, and Velodyne SMS-1 Sub EQ
SC-55 elite and B&K 200.7 S2
JVC RS-45 Projector, and Seymour CS 125” 2.35 screen
Oppo BDP-103 9 ATS Acoustic panels
Reference_head is offline  
post #1467 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 04:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Take a wild F&*king guess!
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anybody running the 103 with a Mitsubishi HC7000? When running to a 65 Panny plasma (with Darbee), I have ZERO issues with regards to HDMI handshake when streaming. When running to the Mits, I keep losing sync every few minutes or so (VERY annoying) when streaming. It has NOTHING to do with my network as everything I run to the Panny is perfect. Anything I could be missing in settings that could potentially be causing this?

Also, I mentioned this before but it is DEFINITELY a pretty consistent issue. If I'm watching an mkv/m2ts (streaming), the moment I fast forward one time, subtitles are now on! Eventhough is says "Off" on the subtitle menu, they are on. To get them off, I have to put them on (in the menu) then off again.
Darrin is offline  
post #1468 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 04:29 PM
Member
 
zuter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just got my first OPPO. From ordering to shipping it only took 2-1/2 days to Calgary, Canada! Once it arrived I was connected and up and running in minutes. I played around a bit then I went into the setup and adjusted for my devices. After, I slapped in a calibration disc and got it working to perfection wink.gif I've been playing BD's, DVD's and CD's so far. I don't have any SACD's or DVD-A's, I guess I'll have to get some now! Everything looks and sounds great!

The only issue I had was getting the harmony remote working properly. That took a little longer than I'm used to - as it turned out I had to delete and recreate the activities which used the OPPO. Once I figured that out it was off to the races!

The BD playback and DVD upscale both set to 1080P/24 sounds and looks awesome. The wireless was simple to setup and I had my first FW update - which took a only a few minutes. The CD playback is also quite good but I'm using an old Pioneer Elite as a pre/pro which I need to replace with a dedicated unit, then my HT will be complete. Honestly, the BD and DVD playback is worth the price of this unit alone - goodbye to cheap BD players, they don't hold a candle to this one. Anyone hesitant about the price don't be! This is an amazing player. I couldn't be happier!

Great product OPPO, and thanks!
zuter is offline  
post #1469 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian-HD View Post

Exploded View of Loader on the 105 is the same on the 103?

Yes.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #1470 of 18311 Old 10-27-2012, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattr6 View Post

Maybe a dumb question, but now having directv going hdmi in I am not able to view directv's 3D channels correctly?? It displays as side by side and I can't seem to change it via the projector ( Benq w7000) or via the player. Am I missing something? Two days ago before the 103 had no problem viewing directv 3D. Is it a 3D setting? Any help much appreciated.

You will need to manually switch to Side-by-Side 3D processing on the projector. Most 3D projectors have the ability to select the 3D Mode, and one mode will be Side-by-Side, Top-Bottom and Frame Packed.

In the future OPPO is hoping to allow this to be done through the player, but this is something that is not guaranteed.
lanping09 likes this.
Neuromancer is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc , Seiki Digital Se50uy04 50 Inch 4k 120hz Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off