Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 499 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 495Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14941 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 07:55 AM
Member
 
trp3383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I also noticed the volume difference from lpcm and bitstream with my Pioneer sc-1222k. I can't find any info on the dac in my 1222k. Does anyone know if i would be better of using lpcm out of the oppo via hdmi or bitstream and let my pioneer handle the decoding?
trp3383 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14942 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post

You know what I don't like? Paying for stuff I don't need and will never use. I don't need the USB WiFi dongle and I sure don't need another HDMI cable. (And I have plenty of canvas shopping bags.) Oppo ought to allow deletion of unwanted accessories.
The total cost for all those things probably only adds up to about $10-15 or so. Insignificant, IMO. The idea is to give the purchaser everything needed out of the box. I would probably cost Oppo more to create two different packages for buyers to choose from.


"Everything?" I needed the IR Extender and had to pay extra for it. I did not need the dongle or cable.

bweissman is offline  
post #14943 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 08:04 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,101
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post


"Everything?" I needed the IR Extender and had to pay extra for it. I did not need the dongle or cable.
Then purchase a different player that includes the IR Extender and none of the other stuff you don't want. Seriously, the stuff you're complaining about adds next to nothing to the cost of the player. As others have mentioned, it would cost more to inventory multiple SKU's or to take the time to drop the bits and pieces each customer wants into the boxes when preparing the players to ship (and greatly increase the odds of forgetting to include something).
Smarty-pants likes this.
gsr is offline  
post #14944 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 08:09 AM
Member
 
wlst101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I downloaded and burned to DVD the AVS HD 709 display calibration but it wont play on my 103. Any suggestions?
wlst101 is offline  
post #14945 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 08:18 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,591
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1131 Post(s)
Liked: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlst101 View Post

I downloaded and burned to DVD the AVS HD 709 display calibration but it wont play on my 103. Any suggestions?

That was working the last time I checked, although it has been a while. It also works when copied to a USB stick, and over SMB.

Does the disc show a proper AVCHD directory structure when you mount it on a computer?

I can try this later today if the disc looks good to you.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #14946 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 09:00 AM
Member
 
jboileau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I am unclear about DSD playback. Does the Oppo 103 include any specialised 1-bit DAC for DSD when outputing to analog? Does it instead convert to something like PCM before sending to its 24 bits DAC? My AVR does not decode DSD (or even DTS-MA for that matter) so presently my Oppo is set to output PCM. My understanding is that the Oppo converts from DSD 1-bit to PCM 24 bits. Would, in the context of DSD, be any advantage of using the analog output of the Oppo? Would it skip the DSD to PCM conversion somehow and give better audio result this way?
jboileau is offline  
post #14947 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,865
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 123
You don't need a 1-bit DAC to decode DSD. Just the proper algorithm. The Oppo BDP-10x units can convert DSD directly to analog or pass either DSD or PCM to an AVR. They will only pass DSD to receivers that can accept it.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #14948 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 09:35 AM
Member
 
jboileau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I imagine I should consider my Oppo as having the proper algorythm then. :-)

I know the Oppo can convert DSD to PCM and I know it can pass DSD directly to AVRs that can decode it. But I am wondering if there is a difference in sound quality between converting to PCM and sending it to the AVR or letting the Oppo convert to analog and sending the analog to the AVR. Lets for the sake of simplifying things not take into account room correction. Lets say the AVR is set to direct or pure audio or whatever is needed to bypass room correction.
jboileau is offline  
post #14949 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,865
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Some people say they hear a difference. Most do not. There is no objective reason why PCM should sound any different from DSD. Analog could sound different if being decoded by an AVR or processor that does a better job than the Oppo. The Oppo 105x would do a superior job compared to almost all AVRs as far as conversion to analog. The 103x is still very good.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #14950 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 10:26 AM
Member
 
wlst101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

That was working the last time I checked, although it has been a while. It also works when copied to a USB stick, and over SMB.

Does the disc show a proper AVCHD directory structure when you mount it on a computer?

I can try this later today if the disc looks good to you.

-Bill

Looks like my burning didnt take. Any free DVD burning software you recommend?
wlst101 is offline  
post #14951 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmalczewski View Post


Don't know if you solved this in the intervening weeks, but every once in a while mine would do this, although I think just with blu-rays (which happens to also be the only thing I use my Oppo for at present, so that's probably why wink.gif). On your tv there is a preference setting in the 3D Settings called Auto detect 3D. If it is set to Auto 2, it uses some kind of algorithm to also try and detect 3D content that isn't flagged, thereby under certain circumstances flipping the tv into 3D (your screen shift, losing color, blur...) when it really shouldn't be. Change this to Auto 1, and this seemingly random switching to 3D goes away (for me anyway, haven't run into it since). (Other setting on the tv I have probably changed is 3d signal notification is set to Off, and on the Oppo I have it set to Auto for 3D output.)

 

Only getting false positives with 3D set to Auto 2, eh?  I don't recall what it was set to when I switched it to 'Off', which is where it now is and no more weird display anomalies occur.  I can set it to Auto 1 tonight and see if that does the trick on my ST60...thanks!

 

T

Tgterm is offline  
post #14952 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 10:50 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,591
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1131 Post(s)
Liked: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlst101 View Post

Looks like my burning didnt take. Any free DVD burning software you recommend?

I'm on linux so my tools might not be helpful.

I forget: does the AVCHD version uncompress into an ISO file? OPPO's support page has tips on burning ISO with common software: http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-bdp-103/BDP103-firmware-67-1204.aspx#ISO

This is for their firmware updates, but the procedure would be the same.

If the AVS HD 709 file produces an AVCHD directory rather than ISO, let us know and we'll try to find help.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #14953 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 01:57 PM
Newbie
 
Scott 106's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North East PA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,glad to say I finally upgraded to the 103 it's been awhile I've been using my bdp-80.just wanted to say I've been reading all the posts for awhile and it's all been extremely helpful in learning about the player.when the 103 arrives I'll hook it up to my 3d tv and it's off to the races.
Scott 106 is offline  
post #14954 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 01:58 PM
Member
 
wlst101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

I'm on linux so my tools might not be helpful.

I forget: does the AVCHD version uncompress into an ISO file? OPPO's support page has tips on burning ISO with common software: http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-bdp-103/BDP103-firmware-67-1204.aspx#ISO

This is for their firmware updates, but the procedure would be the same.

If the AVS HD 709 file produces an AVCHD directory rather than ISO, let us know and we'll try to find help.

-Bill

Yes it uncompresses into an ISO. So I down loaded it to a USB stick, plugged it in and it shows as USB 1> Oppo media info > grace note > then a audio and video folder with nothing in them...?
wlst101 is offline  
post #14955 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 02:20 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,591
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1131 Post(s)
Liked: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlst101 View Post

Yes it uncompresses into an ISO. So I down loaded it to a USB stick, plugged it in and it shows as USB 1> Oppo media info > grace note > then a audio and video folder with nothing in them...?

The ISO is ready to burn to DVD. To copy it to USB you have to mount the ISO and copy the contents (an AVCHD directory structure) to the USB device.

The easiest way to do that is to burn the DVD correctly and copy it when it is mounted on a computer. Or: there are utilities that will mount the ISO file itself and make the contents available. Virtual Clone Drive, which is part of the AnyDVD package, is a popular choice on windows.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #14956 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlst101 View Post

I downloaded and burned to DVD the AVS HD 709 display calibration but it wont play on my 103. Any suggestions?

Make sure you are downloading the AVCHD version. I have an HDMV version burned to DVD (DVDM) that works with my Sony BDP-S1, but it will not play on my Oppo BDP-103.
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #14957 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by trp3383 View Post

I also noticed the volume difference from lpcm and bitstream with my Pioneer sc-1222k. I can't find any info on the dac in my 1222k. Does anyone know if i would be better of using lpcm out of the oppo via hdmi or bitstream and let my pioneer handle the decoding?

Both should work fine. I prefer using the bitstream output option to my Pioneer receiver. With the Pioneer doing the bitstream decoding (which doesn't have anything to do with the DAC), it is also applying the dialog normalization based on its reference level. My theory is that any processing based on relationship to reference level volume may then be more accurate since the Pioneer is expecting the final volume to based on its dialog normalization reference level. If you experience any audio instability (dropouts, static, etc.) when using bitstream output from the Oppo (which I rarely experienced with previous Oppo firmware versions, but not with the currently available versions) or HDMI handshake issues, switch to LPCM. I've never had any audio instability issues when using the LPCM output option. Bitstream should produce the louder output (4dB louder) at the same volume setting.
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #14958 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 03:57 PM
Member
 
wlst101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

The ISO is ready to burn to DVD. To copy it to USB you have to mount the ISO and copy the contents (an AVCHD directory structure) to the USB device.

The easiest way to do that is to burn the DVD correctly and copy it when it is mounted on a computer. Or: there are utilities that will mount the ISO file itself and make the contents available. Virtual Clone Drive, which is part of the AnyDVD package, is a popular choice on windows.

-Bill

Thanks, I'll give that a try
wlst101 is offline  
post #14959 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 03:58 PM
Member
 
wlst101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC-Technerd View Post

Make sure you are downloading the AVCHD version. I have an HDMV version burned to DVD (DVDM) that works with my Sony BDP-S1, but it will not play on my Oppo BDP-103.

KC, yes I do have the AVCHD version. Thanks.
wlst101 is offline  
post #14960 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 06:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
seggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 29
OK, so I don't own the 103 (yet, maybe...). But I do own the Onkyo 805. And I do have the lastest (last) DSP and 1.08 FW files for it. Any 805 owners here that need those files can PM me and I'll email them to you outside of AVS.

As always, play at your own risk, YMMV etc etc....

Seggers

Mits 73835, Denon X4000, Emotiva UPA5 (triggered), Wharfedale Pacific Evo 40s, CS, 10s, PC DX12 sub, the internet, a NAS drive, a TiVo Series 3 and a Sony BDPS6200. There's also a Wii, but we don't talk about that...
seggers is offline  
post #14961 of 21411 Old 02-11-2014, 10:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 102

Any word on when the beta firmware will become official?


How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #14962 of 21411 Old 02-12-2014, 12:11 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,872
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post

Any word on when the beta firmware will become official?
There never is ahead of it becoming official.
htwaits is offline  
post #14963 of 21411 Old 02-12-2014, 06:16 AM
Member
 
cc999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Oppo 103 and Outlaw 975 Pre amp

What do I set the Audio section at?
PCM, LCPM, or Auto ? What about the SACD setting?

I am hearing since the 975 does NOT have dual cirrus chips you need to use LCPM as the output mode to get the highest bit rate?

I have HDMI connection between Oppo and the 975, my cable box is also connected with HDMI.



CC
cc999 is offline  
post #14964 of 21411 Old 02-12-2014, 07:00 AM
 
Sebring1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc999 View Post

Oppo 103 and Outlaw 975 Pre amp

What do I set the Audio section at?
PCM, LCPM, or Auto ? What about the SACD setting?

I am hearing since the 975 does NOT have dual cirrus chips you need to use LCPM as the output mode to get the highest bit rate?

I have HDMI connection between Oppo and the 975, my cable box is also connected with HDMI.



CC

Why not just use the Oppo? As soon as I purchased the Oppo I threw the Outlaw 975 in the closet and forgot about it. The Oppo works much better as a preamp.

Sebring1 is offline  
post #14965 of 21411 Old 02-12-2014, 07:48 AM
Member
 
Rogier75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question for the people using this unit as pre-amp;

How do you correct the -10dB (or -15 with the player's bass management enabled) on the SW analog out ?

Pioneer PDP427XD - Cambridge Audio Azur 752BD - Arcam FMJ P7 - B&W 804S HTM4S SCMS ASW825
Rogier75 is offline  
post #14966 of 21411 Old 02-12-2014, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 465 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogier75 View Post

Question for the people using this unit as pre-amp; How do you correct the -10dB (or -15 with the player's bass management enabled) on the SW analog out ?
You raise the volume/gain on the sub first and foremost. Don't adjust the 103 trim setting for the sub analog out unless you can't raise volume of your sub high enough to make up -10 db or -15 db reduction.
Rogier75 likes this.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #14967 of 21411 Old 02-12-2014, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fanboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Is the noise reduction undefeatable on all modes?

The proper setting for sharpness is always0.
Also my Oppo BDP-103D is region free.
That makes me awesome.
Fanboyz is offline  
post #14968 of 21411 Old 02-12-2014, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanboyz View Post

Is the noise reduction undefeatable on all modes?

According to Oppo, a minimum amount of noise reduction is always applied by the QDEO processor to the HDMI 1 output. If you want to bypass this noise reduction use the HDMI 2 output which bypasses the QDEO processor altogether. I can easily switch back and forth between HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 for video on my setup and I have not yet been able to positively discern a difference between the two.
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #14969 of 21411 Old 02-12-2014, 11:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post


You raise the volume/gain on the sub first and foremost. Don't adjust the 103 trim setting for the sub analog out unless you can't raise volume of your sub high enough to make up -10 db or -15 db reduction.


But wouldn't raising it at the sub first have the potential to raise it too much for other audio outputs?  I.e., I have mine connected analog multichannel for the oppo, but optical for my DVR (no hdmi on my receiver).  If I raise at the sub to compensate for the analog multichannel, I would get too much sub for my DVR, no?

 

Thanks.

Tgterm is offline  
post #14970 of 21411 Old 02-12-2014, 12:29 PM
Member
 
em0ti0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Czech Repulic
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post

Yes you're correct. With 'Source Direct' selected, all my 'pure interlaced' 720x576 MPEG-2 files are output as progressive.

It's much the same with 'pure interlaced' MPEG-4 SP/ASP files, 'pure interlaced' MPEG-4 AVC files and 'pure interlaced' WMV9/VC-1 files...
Oppo is aware of this and they are working on the fix, as I was told by one of their support guys.

There is nothing in the desert and no man needs nothing.
em0ti0n is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off