Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 514 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15391 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 06:26 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 866
^ I'm not familiar with your Marantz, but there are a limited number of possible explanations. Either you have disabled a video processing setting in the Marantz that it needs to have enabled to overlay its on screen display, or the video from the OPPO is of a format that the Marantz can't do the overlay. The likely culprits in the later case would be 1080p resolution and /24 frame rate. Try setting the OPPO to 1080i with 1080p/24 OFF and Deep Color OFF and if the Marantz OSD works then you an experiment to see what combos of video format types it can overlay.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15392 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 07:08 AM
Member
 
mgulenproto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post


I sent my Oppo-103 to Jena Labs for modification/upgrade. I received it a few days ago. I'm not a tech saavy, so I do not know everything that they did to it (I opened it and installed a region free kit which works with no issues). I've the Oppo connected to my Denon 3808 via HDMI and my TV is a Panny Plasma V10.

I could not believe what I saw when I re-inserted the player into my system.

At first I thought it was my imaginations, but after watching a few other movies with it, I'm certain that the video filter they installed is truly working, since the image depth has really increased. I never tweak the Oppo settings as it was suggested in the Oppo FAQ.
My power cord has Furutech Rhodium plated connectors (Fi-28) also and the cable is an Acrolink 6N-P4030.
I prefer digital audio. The Denon decodes it and I'm happy with it.

I attached a couple of photos for you to see some of the mods. The IEC is a Furutech Rhodium plated one which is not obvious in the photo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spawnofwar1600 View Post


Nice!
How much did the mod cost?
Did you notice any difference in the sound quality?
Im quite interested in comparing the 103 as a pre/pro to a decent $ 1000 avr ..
Cheers

 

Hey sharok, did you notice a difference with the Furutech upgrade?   I see one available on ebay HERE, but wasn't sure if it was really work the pricetag.  Any thoughts?

mgulenproto is offline  
post #15393 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 07:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ I'm not familiar with your Marantz, but there are a limited number of possible explanations. Either you have disabled a video processing setting in the Marantz that it needs to have enabled to overlay its on screen display, or the video from the OPPO is of a format that the Marantz can't do the overlay. The likely culprits in the later case would be 1080p resolution and /24 frame rate. Try setting the OPPO to 1080i with 1080p/24 OFF and Deep Color OFF and if the Marantz OSD works then you an experiment to see what combos of video format types it can overlay.
--Bob

Thanks for the response. I'll give that a try .
mbroder is offline  
post #15394 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 07:57 AM
Member
 
gossamer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I have the Sanus ELM501 and it doesn't seem to like my Oppo. I know Oppo sells an IR extender (IR-ES2 External IR Sensor).

Has anyone been able to get a 3rd party repeater to work with the Oppo?
gossamer88 is offline  
post #15395 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by gossamer88 View Post

I have the Sanus ELM501 and it doesn't seem to like my Oppo. I know Oppo sells an IR extender (IR-ES2 External IR Sensor).

Has anyone been able to get a 3rd party repeater to work with the Oppo?

I use the OPPO IR extender with no problems.

With dual subs, stack'em in the corner and put on a jockstrap. Don't want EVERYTHING in the room jingling!
Mongo171 is offline  
post #15396 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgulenproto View Post

Hey sharok, did you notice a difference with the Furutech upgrade?   I see one available on ebay HERE, but wasn't sure if it was really work the pricetag.  Any thoughts?

To be honest with you, No, I did not see a difference or at least not to the extent of the whole upgrade through Jena labs.
But again, others said that they saw an improvement in picture quality.
mgulenproto likes this.
sharok is offline  
post #15397 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroder View Post

Thanks for the response. I'll give that a try .

If i/p scaler in your Marantz is set to OFF for the Oppo's input, then the on-screen display from the Oppo will not show up on your TV.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is online now  
post #15398 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 10:26 AM
Member
 
raist3001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have An Oppo 103, Denon 2313cl, and a samsung un60es8000

Recently I have noticed that all my MKV files played thru the oppo are playing with a very noticeable grain. Something I had never noticed before,

If I play the same MKV files thru my samsung tv (network to media center), there is no grain. Also if I play the same MKV FileS thru my PC to my HD monitor, there is no grain.

I did a recent firmware upgrade to the oppo, and reset to factory settings as advised.

Is there something I am over looking, or something the new firmware adds that would cause this?
raist3001 is offline  
post #15399 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 11:05 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 866
^ While playing an MKV, use the Info button to see what the OPPO is sending out on the HDMI cables. Make sure it is what you expect. Also check what the player is reporting as the input stream format. The only change I can think of that might be affecting you is that the player will now preserve /24 when upscaling 720p content to 1080p output.

Check your choice of output Resolution (normally you should use an explicit Resolution such as 1080p instead of AUTO or SOURCE DIRECT). Check your choice of video output format. Normally you will want an explicit choice (e.g., YCbCr 4:4:4) instead of AUTO.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #15400 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 11:37 AM
Member
 
raist3001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
^if I disable the 24 output, my video is noticeably better. My tv supports 24 playback, so unsure why the oppo is adding grain?
All my files are 1:1 bluray rips in 1080p
My oppo is set to output 1080p
And color space is set to YCbCr 4:4:4

Edit:
I found the reason. Wasn't my oppo at all. Turns out someone had switched my tv input from movie mode to standard mode. That's why suddenly I was seeing so much grain.

All happy again smile.gif

Thanks for the input Bob.
lanping09 likes this.
raist3001 is offline  
post #15401 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I have some high rez audio that I downloaded to USB. It's Aretha Franklin's 30 Greatest Hits. All the songs won't fit on one CD and I do want them on one disc so my question is if I record them to on a DVD, will my Oppo 103 be able to play them. I'm thinking yes but don't have any recordable DVDs on hand to do a test.
jbug is offline  
post #15402 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 11:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbug View Post

I have some high rez audio that I downloaded to USB. It's Aretha Franklin's 30 Greatest Hits. All the songs won't fit on one CD and I do want them on one disc so my question is if I record them to on a DVD, will my Oppo 103 be able to play them. I'm thinking yes but don't have any recordable DVDs on hand to do a test.

Any optical disc, burned in ROM or UDF format should get treated as a data disc by the player, meaning your answer is yes. You can do this with DVD or BD recordables. The player's interface will be the same as if you used a thumb drive, so access it via the "music" pathway.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #15403 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 11:52 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 866
Quote:
Originally Posted by raist3001 View Post

^if I disable the 24 output, my video is noticeably better. My tv supports 24 playback, so unsure why the oppo is adding grain?
All my files are 1:1 bluray rips in 1080p
My oppo is set to output 1080p
And color space is set to YCbCr 4:4:4

Edit:
I found the reason. Wasn't my oppo at all. Turns out someone had switched my tv input from movie mode to standard mode. That's why suddenly I was seeing so much grain.

All happy again smile.gif

Thanks for the input Bob.

Suddenly, as if by Logic! Glad you found the answer. Tell "someone" they get no dessert this evening. biggrin.gif
--Bob
Smarty-pants likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #15404 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Welcome back, Bob!

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #15405 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Check your Netflix playback you might be pleasantly surprised at the improved picture quality today if your a Comcast subscriber. Short 23.796 is a good one to try. Related to this news.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
post #15406 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post

If i/p scaler in your Marantz is set to OFF for the Oppo's input, then the on-screen display from the Oppo will not show up on your TV.

I was able to get it working by turning off video conversion on the marantz. Not sure why. I don't have anything but hdmi inputs into the marantz, so I'm not sure why conversion would be a factor. I was able to leave the I/p scaler off so now I will run my direct tv and roku through the oppo for scaling.
mbroder is offline  
post #15407 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

Any optical disc, burned in ROM or UDF format should get treated as a data disc by the player, meaning your answer is yes. You can do this with DVD or BD recordables. The player's interface will be the same as if you used a thumb drive, so access it via the "music" pathway.

Cool and thanks. I'm just getting seriously into high rez audio which is another drain on the wallet (lol).
jbug is offline  
post #15408 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 1,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAV View Post

Check your Netflix playback you might be pleasantly surprised at the improved picture quality today if your a Comcast subscriber. Short 23.796 is a good one to try. Related to this news.
I have Time Warner Cable and the best Netflix streaming picture quality that get on my Oppo BDP-103 and Roku 3 is only at 480p and below. I guess that Time Warner Cable and Netflix is throttling me even though a stream from Netflix twice a week.
Kage is offline  
post #15409 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 06:38 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
I checked the new firmware on some multichannel FLACs and still heard a gap. Does gapless only apply to 2-channel files thus far?
vinnie97 is offline  
post #15410 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

I checked the new firmware on some multichannel FLACs and still heard a gap. Does gapless only apply to 2-channel files thus far?
Did you play your flacs from a usb attached drive? And did you enable the "gapless" option from the Oppo remote? A few of us have tested gapless flac, and while the tracks in a directory will play back without any gaps, there is a bug that has already been reported to Oppo. No matter what flac file you start gapless playback from in your directory, the first track plays fine, but the second track will repeat itself twice. After that, the successive tracks in that directory will play back without repeat, but the onscreen track counter will be off after the second track repeats itself. Strange bug for sure.
lanping09 likes this.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #15411 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 06:44 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
1) Yes. 2) I didn't realize it needed enabling. What is the trigger? smile.gif
vinnie97 is offline  
post #15412 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 06:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

1) Yes. 2) I didn't realize it needed enabling. What is the trigger? smile.gif
I added a little more to my above post, but the "trigger" is the "option" button on your Oppo remote. Hit the options button after entering the directory where your flac files are and before playing the first track. That will bring up a popup menu at the bottom of your screen to select the gapless option. After selection, you can start playing your flac files.
vinnie97 likes this.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #15413 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 06:56 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 866
^ When Gapless playback is in effect the on-screen graphics for music playback will show "Gapless" above the timeline.

By the way, selecting Gapless playback is not a set once setting. You need to use Option Button > Gapless as the way you start Gapless playback EACH time you want Gapless. Partly this is because Gapless is still a work in progress, and partly because selecting Gapless playback reduces which playback controls are available (e.g., Fast Forward).
--Bob
lanping09 likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #15414 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 07:03 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
^Bummer! I hope they find a way to re-enable such navigation in the future. That they have added gapless after all these years is a testament to the fact that they do listen to their user base and most loyal customers.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #15415 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 07:11 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 866
^ For now, you can use Go To to get the same sort of positioning within a track during Gapless. Press Go To and use the arrow keys, numeric keys, and Enter to edit the time code location within the current track.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #15416 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 07:17 PM
Member
 
ceat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I'm having an issue with the bdp103, I'm using a TiVo and an Apple TV plugged into the inputs, the screen will have some white horizontal lines and then the picture will go out and back in for a second, I also see some white spots all over the screen and than they will disappear , is doing it a lot since I got it, I travel for work so I only use it on the weekends, I have replaced the hdmi cables and the issue still there, has anyone seen this before? Any suggestions, I have adjusted the video settings also, nothing seems to help, I'm about to call oppo, all my equipment is plugged into a power conditioner. Thank you
ceat is offline  
post #15417 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage View Post

I have Time Warner Cable and the best Netflix streaming picture quality that get on my Oppo BDP-103 and Roku 3 is only at 480p and below. I guess that Time Warner Cable and Netflix is throttling me even though a stream from Netflix twice a week.
Nothing is perfect yet, tonight running Example Short 23.976 its back to the 560 kbps during local prime time viewing hours instead of 5800 kbps I got this morning.
lanping09 likes this.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
post #15418 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 09:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
AlexanderDelarg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Omaha
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroder View Post

I was able to get it working by turning off video conversion on the marantz. Not sure why. I don't have anything but hdmi inputs into the marantz, so I'm not sure why conversion would be a factor. I was able to leave the I/p scaler off so now I will run my direct tv and roku through the oppo for scaling.

This is exactly what I will be doing come Thursday. DirecTv and Roku 2 into the Oppo 103 and then into my Pioneer Elite AVR (with video conversion set to off) and then into my Epson 6030 projector. I was told to make sure the DirecTv is set to native on as well so only the Oppo is doing the video processing.

Epson Pro Cinema 6030 | OPPO BDP - 103 | Pioneer Elite VSX 70 | Definitive Technology PM 1000 (L/R) | PC 2000 (C) | SR8040BP's (7.1) | Rythmik LV12R | Carada Criterion Brilliant White 118" | URC MX 780 & MRF 350 | ATS Acoustic Panels | Sanus AV Rack | DirecTv | Roku 2 | Monoprice 12AWG |
AlexanderDelarg is offline  
post #15419 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 09:34 PM
Senior Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
can anyone tell me if heat is let out thru the bottome of the oppo or the top? just wondering because of the bottom legs that comes on the BD player, if i get this i need to figure out where to set it because theres limited room on my 3 shelves, not sure if setting it on top of my sony AVR is a good idea because that thing already puts out a ton of heat.

TV; samsung 65F7100
AVR: Sony 7.2 1040
Blu Ray: Oppo 103D
ray0414 is offline  
post #15420 of 18334 Old 02-23-2014, 09:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexanderDelarg View Post

This is exactly what I will be doing come Thursday. DirecTv and Roku 2 into the Oppo 103 and then into my Pioneer Elite AVR (with video conversion set to off) and then into my Epson 6030 projector. I was told to make sure the DirecTv is set to native on as well so only the Oppo is doing the video processing.

That's the plan for me as well. My only concern with running native on Directtv is the lag time when changing channels that are different resolutions. I hope the oppo synchs things quickly.
mbroder is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc , Seiki Digital Se50uy04 50 Inch 4k 120hz Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off