Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 517 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 463Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2014, 10:54 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,339
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebring1 View Post

I cannot find any reset or restore factory settings anywhere in the menus for either my 103 or 105. There is a settings management for backing up settings to a USB stick and reloading them. When I installed the latest firmware there were three optional installations which I did. It did not reset my settings. Last night I had to unplug the 103 and plug it in again to get it to work at all. it would not work by turning it on and off several times. The 105 usually has to be turned on and off twice to load discs (DVD or BD.) 

There is more than one screen of settings; are you scrolling down to see all the options?

Here is an outline of the Setup Menus: http://watershade.net/wmcclain/BDP-103_Settings_Checklist.html

Do you not see all those options on your player?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2014, 11:12 AM
 
Sebring1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebring1 View Post

I cannot find any reset or restore factory settings anywhere in the menus for either my 103 or 105. There is a settings management for backing up settings to a USB stick and reloading them. When I installed the latest firmware there were three optional installations which I did. It did not reset my settings. Last night I had to unplug the 103 and plug it in again to get it to work at all. it would not work by turning it on and off several times. The 105 usually has to be turned on and off twice to load discs (DVD or BD.) 

Setup Menu > Device Setup > Reset Factory Defaults

It is not there.

Sebring1 is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 11:13 AM
 
Sebring1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebring1 View Post

I cannot find any reset or restore factory settings anywhere in the menus for either my 103 or 105. There is a settings management for backing up settings to a USB stick and reloading them. When I installed the latest firmware there were three optional installations which I did. It did not reset my settings. Last night I had to unplug the 103 and plug it in again to get it to work at all. it would not work by turning it on and off several times. The 105 usually has to be turned on and off twice to load discs (DVD or BD.) 

There is more than one screen of settings; are you scrolling down to see all the options?

Here is an outline of the Setup Menus: http://watershade.net/wmcclain/BDP-103_Settings_Checklist.html

Do you not see all those options on your player?

-Bill

It is not there. I scrolled all the way down.

Sebring1 is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 11:18 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,339
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebring1 View Post

It is not there. I scrolled all the way down.

Contact OPPO support.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 11:40 AM
 
Sebring1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

I downloaded the firmware again from the support page, reinstalled and now the factory reset options show up. Hopefully this will resolve the startup issues as well.

Sebring1 is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 12:30 PM
 
William Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Help again! I turned on my player for the first time after connecting the cat5 cable, and once the player powered up, it did a firmware upgrade and gave me the option of doing a reset to factory defaults, which I chose to do. Then the player powered down by itself, so I waited about a minute to see if it would power back up, but it didn't so I turned it on, pressed "open" on the remote and the drawer opened but then it immediately closed. I pressed "open" again and the drawer opened and then immediately closed. I turned off the player, waited a few seconds, turned it back on and pressed "open," the drawer again opened and also closed by itself. I recall reading something about this on the forum awhile back but I can't remember what the fix is. I have also contacted Oppo about this. Any ideas what might be wrong?
William Moore is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 12:39 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,339
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Moore View Post

Help again! I turned on my player for the first time after connecting the cat5 cable, and once the player powered up, it did a firmware upgrade and gave me the option of doing a reset to factory defaults, which I chose to do. Then the player powered down by itself, so I waited about a minute to see if it would power back up, but it didn't so I turned it on, pressed "open" on the remote and the drawer opened but then it immediately closed. I pressed "open" again and the drawer opened and then immediately closed. I turned off the player, waited a few seconds, turned it back on and pressed "open," the drawer again opened and also closed by itself. I recall reading something about this on the forum awhile back but I can't remember what the fix is. I have also contacted Oppo about this. Any ideas what might be wrong?

Are you using the OPPO remote? Does it do the same thing if you use the buttons on the front of the player?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 12:56 PM
 
William Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Are you using the OPPO remote? Does it do the same thing if you use the buttons on the front of the player?

-Bill
Problem solved, apparently. I discovered that i had failed to remove the clear vinly sheet which covers up the display AND the drawer. Stupid! So the drawer wasn't opening at all but from across the room I couldn't tell that. I peeled off the cover and then everything was OK. I hope that this didn't screw something up inside, but that explains why the player went into the "close" mode right away.
William Moore is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 01:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
AlexanderDelarg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Omaha
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Moore View Post


Problem solved, apparently. I discovered that i had failed to remove the clear vinly sheet which covers up the display AND the drawer. Stupid! So the drawer wasn't opening at all but from across the room I couldn't tell that. I peeled off the cover and then everything was OK. I hope that this didn't screw something up inside, but that explains why the player went into the "close" mode right away.

 

That's good news, nothing serious at all, just new owner error.  I am a new owner myself so don't feel bad. Welcome to the club. 


Epson Pro Cinema 6030 | OPPO BDP - 103 | Pioneer Elite VSX 70 | Definitive Technology PM 1000 (L/R) | PC 2000 (C) | SR8040BP's (7.1) | Rythmik LV12R | Carada Criterion Brilliant White 118" | URC MX 780 & MRF 350 | ATS Acoustic Panels | Sanus AV Rack | DirecTv | Roku 2 | Monoprice 12AWG |
AlexanderDelarg is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 01:26 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,512
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 871 Post(s)
Liked: 1117
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Moore View Post

. . . .I hope that this didn't screw something up inside, but that explains why the player went into the "close" mode right away.

No harm done. The Tray has a safety switch. In case it can't open fully, such as due to running into the door of a cabinet, it closes again.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 01:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by rexdragon View Post

99% of the time this behavior can be attributed to the actual files themselves and NOT the player. I too have a usb 4tb hd which contains digital movie files (mkv, avi, mp4) and when the hd is attached to my Sony bluray player (S790), 20% of my files exhibit the exact same behavior you're describing. However, when the hd is attached to the oppo, 100% of my files is playable with no problems. Apparently, when the digital file is encoded with a codec (video and/or audio) that is incompatible with the player's decoder (any blu ray player is basically a computer with an optical drive) then you're gonna have playability problems.

As for your Avengers disc's strange behavior (sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't), it sounds more like there may be a problem with your player's optical drive system (dirty or an actual malfunction) which means it requires servicing. Good luck mate!smile.gif

I guess I am going to have to convince my wife that the s790 has got to go, as I have the same issue when network streaming .mkv's with dtsma/dts 7.1.
Calling sony to ask if the s6200 would solve this issue gets me no where, and it appears that the oppo 103 handles this task perfectly 100% of the time.

is amazon still the best price to grab this guy at?

thank you!
wase4711 is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 01:59 PM
 
William Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK. Now I have another issue. I connected both the player's HDMI outs to my Marantz receiver, with #1 going thru the BluRay input and #2 going into another HDMI input. I wanted to have the video from that second output so I could pair it with the 7.1 analog outputs of the player, just to have that second playback option. Well, with both outputs of the player connected, by default apparently, the player goes into "Split AV Mode" with video only coming from #1 and audio only coming from #2. So, I was getting no audio on my BluRay input of the receiver. And then, according to the book, if I switch to "dual Display" mode, the surround sound may be downmixed to stereo. What's up with that? And, is there any way around this, or will I have to use an HDMI splitter from #1 out so I can feed the full audio and video signal into separate inputs on my receiver? I just don't understand why Oppo configured both outputs that way.
William Moore is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,823
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 116
You don't have to configure it that way. All outputs are active on the Oppo so just connect one HDMI cable to your AVR and analog outs from your Oppo to the appropriate inputs on your AVR. Then you merely need to switch the AVR to choose either HDMI audio or analog audio.

JazzGuyy is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 02:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
AlexanderDelarg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Omaha
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by wase4711 View Post


I guess I am going to have to convince my wife that the s790 has got to go, as I have the same issue when network streaming .mkv's with dtsma/dts 7.1.
Calling sony to ask if the s6200 would solve this issue gets me no where, and it appears that the oppo 103 handles this task perfectly 100% of the time.

is amazon still the best price to grab this guy at?

thank you!

 

Amazon - $499 with free 2 day shipping if you are an Amazon Prime member. The warranty applies as Amazon is an authorized OPPO seller. 

wase4711 likes this.

Epson Pro Cinema 6030 | OPPO BDP - 103 | Pioneer Elite VSX 70 | Definitive Technology PM 1000 (L/R) | PC 2000 (C) | SR8040BP's (7.1) | Rythmik LV12R | Carada Criterion Brilliant White 118" | URC MX 780 & MRF 350 | ATS Acoustic Panels | Sanus AV Rack | DirecTv | Roku 2 | Monoprice 12AWG |
AlexanderDelarg is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 02:22 PM
HPQ
Advanced Member
 
HPQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 65
When I ordered my oppo from amazon, at the time, I was not a prime customer so I just selected free shipping 5 days. But then it showed up at my house in 2 days. I was very happy. smile.gif

Samsung UN75F8000 LED TV, NAD T-777 (7.2 Receiver), Oppo 103, Sony PS4, Panamax MR-5100, 7 Paradigm Reference series 8" in ceiling speakers (AMS-150R) - 30 degree tilting speakers, 2 Paradigm SE Sub, universal remote MX-450, universal advanced RF base station MRF-3501. Pics here.
HPQ is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 02:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
AlexanderDelarg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Omaha
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by HPQ View Post

When I ordered my oppo from amazon, at the time, I was not a prime customer so I just selected free shipping 5 days. But then it showed up at my house in 2 days. I was very happy. smile.gif

 

Nice.  I do enjoy using Amazon for many purchases that run a a wide gamut.   


Epson Pro Cinema 6030 | OPPO BDP - 103 | Pioneer Elite VSX 70 | Definitive Technology PM 1000 (L/R) | PC 2000 (C) | SR8040BP's (7.1) | Rythmik LV12R | Carada Criterion Brilliant White 118" | URC MX 780 & MRF 350 | ATS Acoustic Panels | Sanus AV Rack | DirecTv | Roku 2 | Monoprice 12AWG |
AlexanderDelarg is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
flinchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post



HDMI 1 output in the 103 uses the QDEO video processing, HDMI 2 output does not. Most people use HDMI 1 for video. Most also use HDMI 1 for audio, but some cable both outputs with HDMI 2 going to their AVR for audio and HDMI 1 going direct to the Display. For more info on the QDEO processing I'd suggest looking at the FAQ for the 103 -- the link will be found at the top of the first post of this thread.
--Bob

Apologies if I'm wrong or this is a beaten horse:

I think I read somewhere that HDMI2 was preferable by some as the primary video output since by bypassing the chip you mention it defeats some noise reduction (I think that was it)? And other people using HDMI1 bumping up sharpness to +1 to help against it?

I'm on HDMI1 because I like the picture just fine on my Sony 4k, but I always have open ears for improvements.
flinchn is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 02:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
flinchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post


Good to know as I plan on watching this one tonight. smile.gif

I don't know if you will come across this.
Happened on Gravity 3d. I think it's something in my chain, possibly my darblet. But as long as I can force it, no problem. Good guy oppo: allows a workaround for touchy 3d flags!
flinchn is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 2,901
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1709 Post(s)
Liked: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by flinchn View Post

Apologies if I'm wrong or this is a beaten horse:

I think I read somewhere that HDMI2 was preferable by some as the primary video output since by bypassing the chip you mention it defeats some noise reduction (I think that was it)? And other people using HDMI1 bumping up sharpness to +1 to help against it?

I'm on HDMI1 because I like the picture just fine on my Sony 4k, but I always have open ears for improvements.

in your experience does the oppo 103 in general have less digital noise than standard blu ray players without losing detail/depth?

TV; SAMSUNG 65 HU9000(current) SAMSUNG 65 8550 4k (30 days) SONY XBR65X850B 4k(owned for 2 weeks), previous was SAMSUNG 65 7100
AVR: Sony 7.2 1040
Blu Ray: Oppo 103D
ray0414 is online now  
Old 02-26-2014, 03:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
flinchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post

in your experience does the oppo 103 in general have less digital noise than standard blu ray players without losing detail/depth?

Can't tell you. Coming from an oppo 83
flinchn is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 04:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
BobearQSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Bump - can anyone tell me if the BDP-103 supports 3D MKV files?
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobearQSI View Post

I had thought I read somewhere that the current firmware supports playing 3D Blu-rays on MKV.

I bought Gravity 3D today, and just wanted to test the 3D MKV feature. I ripped to an MKV using the latest MakeMKV downloaded today. The only video option was the 3D track. After ripping, the output MKV file says in media info:
Code:
Video
ID                 : 1
Format             : AVC
Format/Info        : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile     : Stereo High@L4.1 / High@L4.1
MultiView_Count    : 2

I'm playing over my network via SMB. However, the video is not in 3D. Putting the disk in the Oppo, it plays in 3D. Is this supported? If so, how do I get it to use the 3D from the MKV?
BobearQSI is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thehun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wine country CA
Posts: 7,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post

Out of interest... Is there any particular reason why the Oppo does not support playback of Meridian Lossless Packed (MLP) PCM streams?

I realise that MLP is a proprietary technology, but it is used for packing Dolby TrueHD audio streams, which can be played by the Oppo!
Are you referring to the USB input? It certainly plays back DVD-A discs with internal decoding of MLP, but it won't stream it to outside decoding, for lack of hardware [Except a handful of Meridian controllers] and licensing issues.

sent via Morse code...........

The Hun
thehun is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by flinchn View Post

I don't know if you will come across this.
Happened on Gravity 3d. I think it's something in my chain, possibly my darblet. But as long as I can force it, no problem. Good guy oppo: allows a workaround for touchy 3d flags!

That's the other one I purchased yesterday. smile.gif

I don't have the darblet so maybe it won't happen to me?

lujan
764 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 04:40 PM
 
William Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by flinchn View Post

Apologies if I'm wrong or this is a beaten horse:

I think I read somewhere that HDMI2 was preferable by some as the primary video output since by bypassing the chip you mention it defeats some noise reduction (I think that was it)? And other people using HDMI1 bumping up sharpness to +1 to help against it?

I'm on HDMI1 because I like the picture just fine on my Sony 4k, but I always have open ears for improvements.
Has anyone actually viewed the video coming from HDMI #2? I'm thinking of running it directly to my display and plugging it into my DVI adapter for the video and then pairing this with the 7.1 analog inputs. That way, it wouldn't matter what the Oppo did to the audio coming from #2, as along as it left the audio from output#1 intact. Right?
William Moore is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 05:05 PM
Senior Member
 
DrMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Question....I am selling my 103 to my father and was wondering if he should use the oppo to process his video? He has a 5 year old Onkyo AVR and my thought was the video processor would be more up to date than the Onkyo.

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60
Marantz AV8801 pre-pro / MM8077 amp
Martin Logan Motion 50XT Center
Martin Logan Motion 60XT Fronts/40 Rears
REL R-528 SE (2)
Oppo BDP-103D/Playstation 4/Furman ELITE-20 PF i
DrMichael is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 05:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebring1 View Post

It is not there. I scrolled all the way down.

Make sure you are are on INPUT BLU-RAY and that you have no disc in the player. Go into Setup Menu, Device Setup, then press the UP arrow key. Do you see Reset Factory Defaults highlighted or is the player still skipping this option?
Neuromancer is online now  
Old 02-26-2014, 05:36 PM
 
Sebring1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebring1 View Post

It is not there. I scrolled all the way down.

Make sure you are are on INPUT BLU-RAY and that you have no disc in the player. Go into Setup Menu, Device Setup, then press the UP arrow key. Do you see Reset Factory Defaults highlighted or is the player still skipping this option?

I went to the Oppo support page, downloaded the firmware again and reinstalled it. The reset settings now show up.

Sebring1 is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 06:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by flinchn View Post

Apologies if I'm wrong or this is a beaten horse:

I think I read somewhere that HDMI2 was preferable by some as the primary video output since by bypassing the chip you mention it defeats some noise reduction (I think that was it)? And other people using HDMI1 bumping up sharpness to +1 to help against it?

I'm on HDMI1 because I like the picture just fine on my Sony 4k, but I always have open ears for improvements.

I think I am ready to pull the trigger on this oppo, since I cant stream mkv/dts ma/7.1 properly through my s790 sony;
since I am using a pioneer sc-25, which is only hdmi 1.3a, should I run the video through hdmi 1, and run the audio through hdmi 2 out to my Pioneer, or just run i hdmi cable from the oppo to the pioneer?
I am not sure if I can get 4k upscaling if I dont run a seperate hdmi directly to the SonyTV

I assume I can get 7.1/dts-ma streaming from my network server, through the oppo, doing it this way..

thanks!
wase4711 is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Moore View Post

Has anyone actually viewed the video coming from HDMI #2?

I have. With my system it is very easy to switch between the video from HDMI 1 and HDMI 2. I have not yet been able to positively discern any difference in the image quality from Blu-ray discs between the two.
KC-Technerd is offline  
Old 02-26-2014, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Moore View Post

I'm thinking of running it directly to my display and plugging it into my DVI adapter for the video and then pairing this with the 7.1 analog inputs. That way, it wouldn't matter what the Oppo did to the audio coming from #2, as along as it left the audio from output#1 intact. Right?

If you're using the 7.1 analog outputs on the Oppo to your audio system, the audio from both HDMI outputs would be inconsequential.
KC-Technerd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off