Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 544 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 505Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #16291 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 10:19 AM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Is the 103 better at noise reduction over the 103D? I also hear the Qdeo chip is better than the VRS
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16292 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 10:26 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,708
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 1183
The QDEO excels at noise reduction. Of course that's only really relevant if you watch poorer quality content. Most people leave Noise Reduction in the 103 set to the Default (0) value. Please note that Noise Reduction does not mean "noise repair". Once the content is damaged you can't fix that -- the information has been permanently lost. All you can do is blur the damage to make it less noticeable. Better Noise Reduction accomplishes that without the blurring itself becoming a new problem.

As to "better", I'd say they just have different things they focus on.

Keep in mind that the fundamental video processing functions: Decoding, de-interlacing, color up-sampling, and scaling up to 1080p are all handled by the MediaTek SystemOnChip in both players -- the QDEO and VRS chips aren't handling that.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #16293 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 11:13 AM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Thanks Bob...yea I might just settle for the 103. I need some better sound too so the extra 100$ could be used toward that unless Darbee is worth it more than sound.
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #16294 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 11:27 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
seggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

Thanks Bob...yea I might just settle for the 103. I need some better sound too so the extra 100$ could be used toward that unless Darbee is worth it more than sound.

SeLf....

I was in your boat recently. Having read some stuff here, I decided to go with the 103 (as I don't have a large screen or a projector) and put the difference towards my new Denon AVR.

Personal choice and all that....

Seggers

Mits 73835, Denon X4000, Emotiva UPA5 (triggered), Wharfedale Pacific Evo 40s, CS, 10s, PC DX12 sub, the internet, a NAS drive, a TiVo Series 3 and a Sony BDPS6200. There's also a Wii, but we don't talk about that...
seggers is offline  
post #16295 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 11:41 AM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by seggers View Post

SeLf....

I was in your boat recently. Having read some stuff here, I decided to go with the 103 (as I don't have a large screen or a projector) and put the difference towards my new Denon AVR.

Personal choice and all that....

Seggers
PM sent
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #16296 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
AlexanderDelarg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Omaha
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post


Why is it that this forum generates so much discussion on the Darbee but every time I ask a question about 3D, I get no response? Doesn't anyone use their 103/105 to watch 3D movies?

 

I have watched one movie in 3D - Avengers - and it was very good. I have all of the 103 settings to 0 and use the Epson for picture adjustment.  


Epson Pro Cinema 6030 | OPPO BDP - 103 | Pioneer Elite VSX 70 | Definitive Technology PM 1000 (L/R) | PC 2000 (C) | SR8040BP's (7.1) | Rythmik LV12R | Carada Criterion Brilliant White 118" | URC MX 780 & MRF 350 | ATS Acoustic Panels | Sanus AV Rack | DirecTv | Roku 2 | Monoprice 12AWG |
AlexanderDelarg is offline  
post #16297 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 12:21 PM
HPQ
Advanced Member
 
HPQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 69
I have the 103 and 3d works great!

I have no issues. I put the 3D disc in and on the screen I get a pop up that it is 3d and click ok and then everything is 3d. I have no complaints.

Seen several movies that are in 3d and all are great! smile.gif

Samsung UN75F8000 LED TV, NAD T-777 (7.2 Receiver), Oppo 103, Sony PS4, Panamax MR-5100, 7 Paradigm Reference series 8" in ceiling speakers (AMS-150R) - 30 degree tilting speakers, 2 Paradigm SE Sub, universal remote MX-450, universal advanced RF base station MRF-3501. Pics here.
HPQ is offline  
post #16298 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by emmat2011 View Post

I actually changed my 55 inch setup to a 75 and the 3D has more pop, i watched the hobbit part 2 and was really pleased with the 3D experience on the oppo 103d.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

Darbee is more true to improving realistic picture quality while 3D is is viewed by most as gimmicky.
I have an Oppo player and a 3D capable display, but I still don't use 3D. I feel it's still to early in it's infancy to be anything more than the equivalent of an amusement park ride.
Anyway, part of my point is that most people aren't into 3D.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexanderDelarg View Post

I have watched one movie in 3D - Avengers - and it was very good. I have all of the 103 settings to 0 and use the Epson for picture adjustment.  

Thanks, I'm just now waiting for the 3D of the latest Hobbit movie to arrive to try 3D with the new setting.

lujan
787 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #16299 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 12:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Carl_Ballard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently added a BDP-103 and an Anthem REX-510 to my system which includes a Panasonic TV-P65VT50 display. I thought this arrangement would end my lip-sync issues and auto sync. However, I still have lip sync issues. Any idea why it is not auto syncing?
Carl_Ballard is offline  
post #16300 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 12:45 PM
Member
 
rainman64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gentlemen,

Thanks for your help.
My 103 arrived today.
I am using the onboard DAC for dts Master decoding, so I may continue to use my Halo C2 processor.
The setup for the audio was almost too easy.
All I had to do was pull the distances from the Halo, input into the Oppo, break out the db meter, and off I went.

All I can say is WOW!

Well worthy of the praise I have read.

Now I went and tried the video sharpness to one.
Nope, didn't like the artifacts, but hey, that just personal.
LOL

Thank you all much for the wisdom here.
I was worried about buyers remorse, but now, I am just trying not to piss off the wife with the loudness!

HA!
rainman64 is offline  
post #16301 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 12:49 PM
Member
 
Pmasox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Norton, MA
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Repdetect View Post

Anyone had problems connecting to Netflix the last 2 nights?

Get a "Try again later" screen.

First time for me on the Oppo.

My Roku box has no problems connecting.

Wish I knew I was not the only one having this problem Wed night. Was driving me crazy, nothing worse than 7yr old daughter in a panic over not seeing Suite Life of Zach and Cody. I tried re-setting factory defaults, unplugging the machine, everything. All is fine now. Well, except now we can stream Suite Life of Zach and Cody. . . .
Pmasox is offline  
post #16302 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 02:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,272
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 849 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl_Ballard View Post

I recently added a BDP-103 and an Anthem REX-510 to my system which includes a Panasonic TV-P65VT50 display. I thought this arrangement would end my lip-sync issues and auto sync. However, I still have lip sync issues. Any idea why it is not auto syncing?

There's no such thing as "auto synch", and any such settings in your processor should be turned off. Most synch issues are audio ahead of video, which is the result of processing in the display and might vary depending on the frame rate of the source material. Many folks find relief by turning off 24p processing in the display, or any other processing which requires a frame buffer. I keep my 65VT25 Panasonic set to 60Hz for all inputs and never see any synch issues.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #16303 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 04:23 PM
Member
 
rickydenim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Something I have noticed for ages and slightly irks me is that when using the network function to stream from PC, the blue select box pixelates as you move down through your list. Anyone else notice that?
rickydenim is offline  
post #16304 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 04:28 PM
Member
 
Wodde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post


Keep in mind that the fundamental video processing functions: Decoding, de-interlacing, color up-sampling, and scaling up to 1080p are all handled by the MediaTek SystemOnChip in both players -- the QDEO and VRS chips aren't handling that.
--Bob

Is this 100% sure?

I'm asking because with newest Firmware i have visible Chroma Upsampling Errors on HDMI 1, but not on HDMI 2 (with same Settings of Course)
So i guess Color Upsampling on HDMI 1 is done by the Qdeo and not the Mediatek Chipset.

The Errors are visible as green Halos on Red edges.
Wodde is offline  
post #16305 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 04:39 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,708
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 1183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wodde View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post


Keep in mind that the fundamental video processing functions: Decoding, de-interlacing, color up-sampling, and scaling up to 1080p are all handled by the MediaTek SystemOnChip in both players -- the QDEO and VRS chips aren't handling that.
--Bob

Is this 100% sure?

I'm asking because with newest Firmware i have visible Chroma Upsampling Errors on HDMI 1, but not on HDMI 2 (with same Settings of Course)
So i guess Color Upsampling on HDMI 1 is done by the Qdeo and not the Mediatek Chipset.

The Errors are visible as green Halos on Red edges.

I'm talking about the conversion from YCbCr 4:2:0 which is what comes off the disc.

The QDEO establishes the final Color Space for output. That said, I've not found any such errors in the HDMI 1 output of the current firmware (with default Picture Adjustment settings of course). So I'm guessing there is something else going on in your HDMI 1 vs HDMI 2 comparison -- a difference in the handshake or a difference in the input settings in your AVR or Display.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #16306 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 04:48 PM
Member
 
Wodde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thats strange.

I've plug my Oppo directly to my Pana STW60.

No matter what Colorspace Output i choose (4:2:2 or 4:4:4), on HDMI 1 there are this green Halos on red Edges (best to see on the Captain Phillips BD).
On HDMI2 everything is fine.
Wodde is offline  
post #16307 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 04:58 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,708
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 1183
^ Can you also see this if you view, say, a Color Bars chart on a Blu-ray calibration disc?
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #16308 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 05:02 PM
Member
 
Wodde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortunately i have no Calibration Disc frown.gif

Is a such a Pic on the AVS Disc?
Wodde is offline  
post #16309 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 05:26 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,708
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 1183
Yes.

Are you running HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 into the same input of the Display? If not, check HDMI 1 into that other input. Display settings are remembered per-input. So we need to eliminate that.

Do you have Deep Color enabled for HDMI 1or 2? If so, try with it OFF.

Check for the problem with 1080i output. Also with both 1080p/24 and 1080p/60.

It's possible your player needs service. Just trying to hone in on the issue.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #16310 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 05:31 PM
Member
 
Wodde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's the same Input, HDMI 1 on my Pana.
Deep Color is disabled on both HDMI Outputs, Dithering is also off.

I'll try it with different Resolutions an Hz tomorrow.
Also i'll try to get a Calibration Disc from a Friend, he has the Spears & Munsil BD.

Edit:

Ok, it's getting weird.
This Errors are only visible on the Menu of the Captain Philips BD.
I' ve tested it now with the Credits of 300 and Dawn of the Dead 2004, my Standard Benchmarks for Chroma Errors.
Absolutely no Errors...

Maybe the Encoding of the BD (expanded Colorspace) is crap?
Or the Qdeo has a Problem with Color Upsampling from BD Menus?
Wodde is offline  
post #16311 of 21449 Old 04-11-2014, 06:37 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,708
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 1183
^ If you can't reproduce the problem on the calibration disc, then it could be a bug in handling that movie disc. The bug may be in the disc's authoring.

In that case email OPPO Tech Support with the details, including the bar code number from the disc packaging (discs are sold in multiple authoring configurations). If you can take a pair of digital photos clear enough to show the difference in the two outputs, include that as well.

If the problem only shows on that one disc, then it is UNlikely your player needs service.

NOTE: Disc Menus are the natural habitat of disc authoring bugs and strangenesses. I wouldn't worry so long as you can't spot the problem in actual feature content or calibration discs.
--Bob
Wodde likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #16312 of 21449 Old 04-12-2014, 08:28 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Carl_Ballard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found that switching my display's "1080p pure direct" from "off" to "on" has solved my lip sync issues.
Carl_Ballard is offline  
post #16313 of 21449 Old 04-12-2014, 09:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,272
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 849 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl_Ballard View Post

I found that switching my display's "1080p pure direct" from "off" to "on" has solved my lip sync issues.

Which is telling you that some processing in the display involves frame buffering. You may well find other settings that also resolve the video lag. Most likely related to 24fps input.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #16314 of 21449 Old 04-12-2014, 09:57 AM
Member
 
Musky45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

where do you find the 1080p pure direct setting??

Musky45 is offline  
post #16315 of 21449 Old 04-12-2014, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: O.A.S.I.S
Posts: 5,272
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Musky45 View Post

where do you find the 1080p pure direct setting??

On his TV.

____________________

Build thread & current gear: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".
nathan_h is offline  
post #16316 of 21449 Old 04-12-2014, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Oppo won't connect to Netflix, Roku will. Both wired connections. What gives??

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #16317 of 21449 Old 04-12-2014, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,114
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post

Oppo won't connect to Netflix, Roku will. Both wired connections. What gives??
Out of interest, what have you done to try to rectify your issue?

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #16318 of 21449 Old 04-12-2014, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 125
^^
Just shutting off the Oppo and unplugging it briefly before trying again with the same result. Never happened before..

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #16319 of 21449 Old 04-12-2014, 01:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,272
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 849 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post

^^
Just shutting off the Oppo and unplugging it briefly before trying again with the same result. Never happened before..

There have been recent issues across a range of devices. Try de-authorizing the Oppo in the setup menu, then re-authorize again. Also try setting the player to Energy Efficient standby mode instead of Quick-Start. These issues appear to be random, so doing nothing might also resolve it if you wait a while.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #16320 of 21449 Old 04-12-2014, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post

Oppo won't connect to Netflix, Roku will. Both wired connections. What gives??


On Netflix's help page it says

Quote:
We are aware of reported issues with some televisions and Blu-ray players.
Other devices including computers, games consoles, and mobile devices are able to continue streaming. We are sorry for any inconvenience. Thank you for your patience.
bweissman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off