Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 547 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 463Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16381 of 21148 Old 04-18-2014, 05:58 AM
Senior Member
 
LairdWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post

Well, with pretty good Chicago Comcast broadband speed, we attempted to watch S02E01 of "House of Cards" on Netflix. What a disaster! And this is Comcast, who just accepted lots of money from Netflix to provide improved connectivity and performance. And yet, it was awful! Every few minutes it would just freeze (kind of like I pressed PAUSE), and then 1 minute or so later would resume. This was at about 9PM Chicago time. After resuming normal playback for a bit, it would once again freeze for a while. This happened repeatedly, for probably 40 minutes of the 49 minute program. It was very unpleasant, and my sister was not impressed.

You are assuming that a business deal that was announced merely weeks ago has been finalized, the associated new network edge equipment acquired, installed, connected and provisioned, and the configurations at both ends changed to support the new routing. Not very realistic expectations.

I agree that Netflix's issues are irritating - but the Comcast deal will be totally irrelevant for quite some time yet.

Display: Panasonic P60UT50 (Plasma)
Speakers: (4) Monitor Audio Silver 9i (Front and Surround), (1) Monitor Audio Silver 12i (Center), (4) Monitor Audio Silver 4i (Rear and Wide), (2) Aperion Audio Bravus II 8d (Subwoofers)
Receiver: Pioneer Elite SC-87 AVR (9.2)
Sources: Oppo BDP-103, Roku 3, Cable...
LairdWilliams is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16382 of 21148 Old 04-18-2014, 06:49 AM
Member
 
rafaelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did not have time to read everything but I must agree that it is Netflix. I have an Apple TV in one room and an Oppo BDP-103 in another. Both were working fine although the Oppo side had a few more hiccups. Now forget it. I can almost never get Netflix on the Oppo although YouTube works just fine
rafaelp is offline  
post #16383 of 21148 Old 04-18-2014, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 241
After reading so many 103/105 owners who are having a miserable time with the embedded Netflix app on those players, I'm glad I don't have to use that app on my Oppo player. I use my IOS based Netflix app and stream movies to my SmartTV's Netflix app. My internet provider is Verizon FIOS. Every movie I have watched since having this setup has played back nearly flawlessly. Most movies load immediately, with no stuttering or loss of resolution after the movie begins. There's gotta be other Netflix customers like myself who have not seen any problems streaming movies with their service.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #16384 of 21148 Old 04-18-2014, 07:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by flinchn View Post

Change your Oppo screen size to 999" under 3d settings. Then come back and say how 3d is...

I have a passive 4k Sony delivering 1080p to each eye and 3d is unbelievable. I thought it was a gimmick before this.

I finally had a chance to watch a 3D movie using 999 under the 3D settings. It was incredible but I don't know whether it was because of the setting change or because Pacific Rim is a really great 3D movie? Maybe both?

lujan
764 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #16385 of 21148 Old 04-18-2014, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
flinchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

I finally had a chance to watch a 3D movie using 999 under the 3D settings. It was incredible but I don't know whether it was because of the setting change or because Pacific Rim is a really great 3D movie? Maybe both?

Both. wink.gif
This is no placebo. I have rewatched a few titles that I just watched and some comparisons and the effect is really something to see. Reviewers say 4k passive is the best way to watch one in your home. (Which is what I have)

I'll go one further- No theater comes close to this tweak's effect either.
Granted a much larger screen adds immersion, but man so does this.

I have friends coming over today who haven't seen my set. 3d is on the menu.
flinchn is offline  
post #16386 of 21148 Old 04-18-2014, 07:57 AM
Member
 
3DFREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Need some help!!
I recently added a small TV to use as a display so I wouldn't have to turn on the big TV to see the menus when listening to music on the 103.
Now I noticed that the DVD-A selection in the menu is greyed-out and I can only get 2.0 audio, also 5.1 SACD's only play in 2.0.
I had to set the resolution to "auto" because the smaller TV wouldn't except 1080p.
The small TV is on HDMI 2
I didn't change anything otherwise.... Big TV runs out from the receiver along with the Oppo on HDMI 1.
Does HDMI 1 not support 5.1 when you use both HDMI outs?

Here is my current gear: Onkyo TX-NR809 Receiver, CarverTFM-35 Front Amp, Sony EX55-720 3D TV, Oppo BDP-103 3D Blu-Ray Player, Panasonic DMB-BD50 Blu-Ray Player (for Cinavia encrusted copy playback), Polk RTI-12 Fronts, Polk LSiM703 Rears, Polk DSW Pro600, Older Infinity Center.
3DFREAK is offline  
post #16387 of 21148 Old 04-18-2014, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 2,998
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DFREAK View Post

Need some help!!
I recently added a small TV to use as a display so I wouldn't have to turn on the big TV to see the menus when listening to music on the 103.
Now I noticed that the DVD-A selection in the menu is greyed-out and I can only get 2.0 audio, also 5.1 SACD's only play in 2.0.
I had to set the resolution to "auto" because the smaller TV wouldn't except 1080p.
The small TV is on HDMI 2
I didn't change anything otherwise.... Big TV runs out from the receiver along with the Oppo on HDMI 1.
Does HDMI 1 not support 5.1 when you use both HDMI outs?

I use my Android cell phone (Samsung S4) running the Media Control App for this. I was just playing some HDTracks (Stevie Wonder Fullfillingness First Finale, Innervision) last night.

Had no problems controlling it with that, no need for the TV. I think it's actually easier to use and faster than the on screen interface.

The HDMI connection chain is probably telling the Oppo that the little TV is only 2.0 capable, that's what the Oppo should send and so it dutifully does.
hernanu is offline  
post #16388 of 21148 Old 04-18-2014, 08:53 AM
Member
 
3DFREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the response. I guess HDMI 1 is affected by HDMI 2 then?
I wonder if switching them around would work, probably not. If that's the case, then I go back to one display....can't sacrifice the hi-rez and 5.1 audio.

Here is my current gear: Onkyo TX-NR809 Receiver, CarverTFM-35 Front Amp, Sony EX55-720 3D TV, Oppo BDP-103 3D Blu-Ray Player, Panasonic DMB-BD50 Blu-Ray Player (for Cinavia encrusted copy playback), Polk RTI-12 Fronts, Polk LSiM703 Rears, Polk DSW Pro600, Older Infinity Center.
3DFREAK is offline  
post #16389 of 21148 Old 04-18-2014, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 2,998
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DFREAK View Post

Thanks for the response. I guess HDMI 1 is affected by HDMI 2 then?
I wonder if switching them around would work, probably not. If that's the case, then I go back to one display....can't sacrifice the hi-rez and 5.1 audio.

I haven't seen it, so can't say definitively, but it sounds like what's going on - If you turn the main display on, does 5.1 come back?
hernanu is offline  
post #16390 of 21148 Old 04-18-2014, 09:10 AM
Member
 
3DFREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nope, it stays the same 2.0. Guess the Oppo won't send out different resolutions to HDMI 1/2. It even greyed-out the DVD-A option in the set-up menu.

Here is my current gear: Onkyo TX-NR809 Receiver, CarverTFM-35 Front Amp, Sony EX55-720 3D TV, Oppo BDP-103 3D Blu-Ray Player, Panasonic DMB-BD50 Blu-Ray Player (for Cinavia encrusted copy playback), Polk RTI-12 Fronts, Polk LSiM703 Rears, Polk DSW Pro600, Older Infinity Center.
3DFREAK is offline  
post #16391 of 21148 Old 04-18-2014, 09:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,659
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 226
You could try using a different output than hdmi. If you are only looking at menus on a small panel,
could just use composite (DIAG) output if your display has a composite input.
nathan_h likes this.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #16392 of 21148 Old 04-18-2014, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 2,998
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 568
This may sound simple (not the first time I've been accused) but are those 5.1 SACD's?

I've got plenty of 2.0 SACD's.
hernanu is offline  
post #16393 of 21148 Old 04-18-2014, 10:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 762 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DFREAK View Post

Need some help!!
I recently added a small TV to use as a display so I wouldn't have to turn on the big TV to see the menus when listening to music on the 103.
Now I noticed that the DVD-A selection in the menu is greyed-out and I can only get 2.0 audio, also 5.1 SACD's only play in 2.0.
I had to set the resolution to "auto" because the smaller TV wouldn't except 1080p.
The small TV is on HDMI 2
I didn't change anything otherwise.... Big TV runs out from the receiver along with the Oppo on HDMI 1.
Does HDMI 1 not support 5.1 when you use both HDMI outs?

Assuming only one display is on at any time, set the player to "split" HDMI mode and see if that resolves this. Also bear in mind that video resolution must be at 720 or higher to support HD audio. As for the DVD-A settings, they won't be available when a disc is in the player. Any time the player is set to "dual" HDMI mode and 2 displays are active, stereo audio is forced.

Another option would be to run HDMI-1 direct to your display, HDMI-2 to your AVR and the small TV off the AVR. Set the player to split mode.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #16394 of 21148 Old 04-18-2014, 10:23 AM
Member
 
3DFREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the help, but I think I'll skip the 2 display option. It's an HD TV so it has to be at least 720p. Yup, they are 5.1 SACD's. I tried the composite suggestion and the TV didn't like the signal.
No biggie, but thanks.......LOVE this player!

Here is my current gear: Onkyo TX-NR809 Receiver, CarverTFM-35 Front Amp, Sony EX55-720 3D TV, Oppo BDP-103 3D Blu-Ray Player, Panasonic DMB-BD50 Blu-Ray Player (for Cinavia encrusted copy playback), Polk RTI-12 Fronts, Polk LSiM703 Rears, Polk DSW Pro600, Older Infinity Center.
3DFREAK is offline  
post #16395 of 21148 Old 04-18-2014, 05:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
esh516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ The firmware history can be found in the first post of this thread. The changes are listed there. Personally, I think it is wise to take advantage of the updates and bug fixes; such updates are part of the reason to buy an OPPO player in the first place. The latest Official firmware is what's shipping in new players, now.

If the player offers a Recommended Reset on the first power up after a firmware install, you SHOULD do that, to establish proper operation of the new firmware.
--Bob
OK..thank you Bob..I probably should go ahead and do it.
esh516 is offline  
post #16396 of 21148 Old 04-19-2014, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Calilife17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Having a Major issue with my 103 and split A/V. before we start, my setup I'm running through

65ZT60
Dennon 2313ci
Oppo 103

-Oppo HDMI 1 to TV
-Oppo HDMI 2 to AVR

Last night I watched a movie no problem, but today went to go watch a new movie, and i get no audio with Split/AV selected. I get video but no audio. Have tried different HDMI cables, Different inputs on AVR, Factory Reset Oppo, but i can't get Split A/V to work. Have tried Bitstream Audio, PCM, nothing seems to work.

My Only work around right now is Dual Display mode, and then run everything through HDMI 1, audio and video.

Any Ideas? wondering if my HDMI 2 output port crapped out.

Theater Room: 65ZT60, Denon 2313CI, Oppo 103D, Apple TV, Logitech Harmony Ultimate
Bedroom: 65VT50, Sony S790, Harmony Smart Control
Game Room: Vizio P70, Harmony Ultimate, Apple TV, Nexus player, Xbox One, PS4, Wii U, and about 20 more gaming systems
Spoiler!
Calilife17 is offline  
post #16397 of 21148 Old 04-19-2014, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 103
why are you running split mode?
wase4711 is offline  
post #16398 of 21148 Old 04-19-2014, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 100

Can any of the mods ( or those in the know) comment on whether AVS was affected by the pesky HeartBleed virus that revealed passwords and other personal information on all affected websites? I see no discussion on it on the forum in general...


How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #16399 of 21148 Old 04-19-2014, 11:27 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 5,342
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post

Can any of the mods ( or those in the know) comment on whether AVS was affected by the pesky HeartBleed virus that revealed passwords and other personal information on all affected websites? I see no discussion on it on the forum in general...
Best to ask in the operation's center.

http://www.avsforum.com/f/43/forum-operations-center

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #16400 of 21148 Old 04-19-2014, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: O.A.S.I.S
Posts: 5,267
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by wase4711 View Post

why are you running split mode?
guessing: Because running in dual mode forces audio to be stereo? Or at least that is what I have found.

____________________

Build thread & current gear: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".
nathan_h is offline  
post #16401 of 21148 Old 04-19-2014, 11:58 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,507
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 868 Post(s)
Liked: 1115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calilife17 View Post

Having a Major issue with my 103 and split A/V. before we start, my setup I'm running through

65ZT60
Dennon 2313ci
Oppo 103

-Oppo HDMI 1 to TV
-Oppo HDMI 2 to AVR

Last night I watched a movie no problem, but today went to go watch a new movie, and i get no audio with Split/AV selected. I get video but no audio. Have tried different HDMI cables, Different inputs on AVR, Factory Reset Oppo, but i can't get Split A/V to work. Have tried Bitstream Audio, PCM, nothing seems to work.

My Only work around right now is Dual Display mode, and then run everything through HDMI 1, audio and video.

Any Ideas? wondering if my HDMI 2 output port crapped out.

Double check that you haven't accidentally reversed your connections to HDMI 1 and 2. When both HDMI ports are active, and with Split A/V set, audio is muted on HDMI 1 by design
--Bob
nathan_h likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #16402 of 21148 Old 04-19-2014, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
bgoering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post

Can any of the mods ( or those in the know) comment on whether AVS was affected by the pesky HeartBleed virus that revealed passwords and other personal information on all affected websites? I see no discussion on it on the forum in general...

My guess would be no as it doesn't seem to be running https:// (SSL)

Bill
bgoering is offline  
post #16403 of 21148 Old 04-19-2014, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgoering View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post

Can any of the mods ( or those in the know) comment on whether AVS was affected by the pesky HeartBleed virus that revealed passwords and other personal information on all affected websites? I see no discussion on it on the forum in general...

My guess would be no as it doesn't seem to be running https:// (SSL)

Bill

Good point Bill... AVS doesn't use the security protocols used by financial transaction firms.


How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #16404 of 21148 Old 04-19-2014, 02:26 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,999
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 389 Post(s)
Liked: 315
^ Guys, please take this to the forum operations forum. It's WAY off topic here.
gsr is offline  
post #16405 of 21148 Old 04-19-2014, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Calilife17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Double check that you haven't accidentally reversed your connections to HDMI 1 and 2. When both HDMI ports are active, and with Split A/V set, audio is muted on HDMI 1 by design
--Bob

That was one of the things I tripled checked was that Cables were correctly plugged in. HDMI 1 Out goes straight to TV for video, HDMI 2 goes into AVR which should carry the sound, problem is I get no Sound, and just picture.

I tried Dual display Mode as well, With HDMI 1 Out to TV and HDMI 2 out to AVR. When i do this i get Sound from TV speakers with HDMI 1 out to tv. If i switch my TV input over the AVR input (Oppo HDMI 2 out), i get no sound, no video, nothing. just a blank black screen. Now normally when the Denon is hooked up to an input and nothing is outputting, you will get a Spalshscreen that says Denon. I don't even get that. So its like its output a straight black picture.

I have no idea what could be causing this. Its like HDMI 2 output doesn't want to work. Thats why I though of the idea if the the port went bad.

any thoughts?

Theater Room: 65ZT60, Denon 2313CI, Oppo 103D, Apple TV, Logitech Harmony Ultimate
Bedroom: 65VT50, Sony S790, Harmony Smart Control
Game Room: Vizio P70, Harmony Ultimate, Apple TV, Nexus player, Xbox One, PS4, Wii U, and about 20 more gaming systems
Spoiler!
Calilife17 is offline  
post #16406 of 21148 Old 04-19-2014, 03:54 PM
Member
 
dsteak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Can any of the mods ( or those in the know) comment on whether AVS was affected by the pesky HeartBleed virus that revealed passwords and other personal information on all affected websites? I see no discussion on it on the forum in general...

Norton has a tool that checks websites. I have no idea how comprehensive this is, but it's something.

http://safeweb.norton.com/heartbleed
dsteak is offline  
post #16407 of 21148 Old 04-19-2014, 05:49 PM
Member
 
gossamer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calilife17 View Post

That was one of the things I tripled checked was that Cables were correctly plugged in. HDMI 1 Out goes straight to TV for video, HDMI 2 goes into AVR which should carry the sound, problem is I get no Sound, and just picture.

I tried Dual display Mode as well, With HDMI 1 Out to TV and HDMI 2 out to AVR. When i do this i get Sound from TV speakers with HDMI 1 out to tv. If i switch my TV input over the AVR input (Oppo HDMI 2 out), i get no sound, no video, nothing. just a blank black screen. Now normally when the Denon is hooked up to an input and nothing is outputting, you will get a Spalshscreen that says Denon. I don't even get that. So its like its output a straight black picture.

I have no idea what could be causing this. Its like HDMI 2 output doesn't want to work. Thats why I though of the idea if the the port went bad.

any thoughts?

Have you tried another input on the receiver?
gossamer88 is offline  
post #16408 of 21148 Old 04-19-2014, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Calilife17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by gossamer88 View Post

Have you tried another input on the receiver?

Yup mentioned that in my first post smile.gif

tried different inputs, different Cables, different movies just incase something was funky with the movie. Different Audio decoding, and for whatever reason between last night and this morning, it has stopped working

Theater Room: 65ZT60, Denon 2313CI, Oppo 103D, Apple TV, Logitech Harmony Ultimate
Bedroom: 65VT50, Sony S790, Harmony Smart Control
Game Room: Vizio P70, Harmony Ultimate, Apple TV, Nexus player, Xbox One, PS4, Wii U, and about 20 more gaming systems
Spoiler!
Calilife17 is offline  
post #16409 of 21148 Old 04-19-2014, 07:06 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,507
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 868 Post(s)
Liked: 1115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calilife17 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Double check that you haven't accidentally reversed your connections to HDMI 1 and 2. When both HDMI ports are active, and with Split A/V set, audio is muted on HDMI 1 by design
--Bob

That was one of the things I tripled checked was that Cables were correctly plugged in. HDMI 1 Out goes straight to TV for video, HDMI 2 goes into AVR which should carry the sound, problem is I get no Sound, and just picture.

I tried Dual display Mode as well, With HDMI 1 Out to TV and HDMI 2 out to AVR. When i do this i get Sound from TV speakers with HDMI 1 out to tv. If i switch my TV input over the AVR input (Oppo HDMI 2 out), i get no sound, no video, nothing. just a blank black screen. Now normally when the Denon is hooked up to an input and nothing is outputting, you will get a Spalshscreen that says Denon. I don't even get that. So its like its output a straight black picture.

I have no idea what could be causing this. Its like HDMI 2 output doesn't want to work. Thats why I though of the idea if the the port went bad.

any thoughts?

Physically disconnect HDMI 1 and see if you now get audio (and video) on HDMI 2 -- try it both with HDMI 2 wired to your TV and with HDMI 2 wired to your AVR.

If you DO get audio and video then you know the hardware is not busted.

If you don't, then physically disconnect HDMI 2 and try HDMI 1 alone first into the TV and then into the AVR. Be sure to use the same cables you've been using all along with HDMI 1 and HDMI 2, i.e., don't switch then for this test.

If a single cable setup works from both plugs, and you still can't get audio out of HDMI 2 (check again you are using the correct socket) with two cables and Split A/V, then it is time to hit it with a bigger hammer: Do a complete Reset of the player:

1) Remove any disc. Jot down your settings or save them to a USB stick (Setup > Device Setup > Settings Management)

2) In Setup, Erase Persistent Storage. Then Reset Factory Defaults

3) When that finishes, power down the player, then unplug the player from wall power.

4) While it remains unplugged, press and hold the Power button on the Front Panel for a few seconds. This is to discharge any residual voltage in the player.

5) Plug in, power up and reload your personal settings.

6) Power down once more. Settings are saved during the power down cycle.

Test again with two cables. If still no luck, call OPPO Tech Support. Your player may need service. They will likely ask you to start by reloading the firmware to see if that provides an easy fix, but let them walk you through that.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #16410 of 21148 Old 04-20-2014, 07:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Calilife17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Physically disconnect HDMI 1 and see if you now get audio (and video) on HDMI 2 -- try it both with HDMI 2 wired to your TV and with HDMI 2 wired to your AVR.

If you DO get audio and video then you know the hardware is not busted.

If you don't, then physically disconnect HDMI 2 and try HDMI 1 alone first into the TV and then into the AVR. Be sure to use the same cables you've been using all along with HDMI 1 and HDMI 2, i.e., don't switch then for this test.


If a single cable setup works from both plugs, and you still can't get audio out of HDMI 2 (check again you are using the correct socket) with two cables and Split A/V, then it is time to hit it with a bigger hammer: Do a complete Reset of the player:

1) Remove any disc. Jot down your settings or save them to a USB stick (Setup > Device Setup > Settings Management)

2) In Setup, Erase Persistent Storage. Then Reset Factory Defaults

3) When that finishes, power down the player, then unplug the player from wall power.

4) While it remains unplugged, press and hold the Power button on the Front Panel for a few seconds. This is to discharge any residual voltage in the player.

5) Plug in, power up and reload your personal settings.

6) Power down once more. Settings are saved during the power down cycle.

Test again with two cables. If still no luck, call OPPO Tech Support. Your player may need service. They will likely ask you to start by reloading the firmware to see if that provides an easy fix, but let them walk you through that.
--Bob

Bob,

For the first part of troubleshooting, should I be doing this is Split A/V mode or Dual Display output?

Theater Room: 65ZT60, Denon 2313CI, Oppo 103D, Apple TV, Logitech Harmony Ultimate
Bedroom: 65VT50, Sony S790, Harmony Smart Control
Game Room: Vizio P70, Harmony Ultimate, Apple TV, Nexus player, Xbox One, PS4, Wii U, and about 20 more gaming systems
Spoiler!
Calilife17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off