Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 55 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 288Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1621 of 19423 Old 11-01-2012, 12:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadillacjack View Post

I am using a previously unused HDMI port. I will try another cable.
Thanks,

Each HDMI port on the display must be individually calibrated or you shouldn't expect to see even remotely similar image on one port vs another.
Same can be true for handshake issues, the setup on one display port might work much better than on another if the settings are different.

Player settings which are relevant to both cases:
Color space
Deep color
resolution (auto vs explicit)
HDMI audio (LPCM vs bitstream)
rdgrimes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1622 of 19423 Old 11-01-2012, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
twarren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Blackburn View Post

You can rent Blu-ray 3D from 3d-blurayrental.com -- allows you to see releases you may not want to buy without paying an arm and a leg... rentals aren't cheap, but they do have "specials" that are significantly discounted.

also check your local video stores; mine gets most of the 3d releases and rents them at its normal blu-ray rate ($2 for 2 nights)
twarren is offline  
post #1623 of 19423 Old 11-01-2012, 02:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by twarren View Post

also check your local video stores; mine gets most of the 3d releases and rents them at its normal blu-ray rate ($2 for 2 nights)

Most if not all of the video stores in my area have closed. The only place is the local supermarket and they do not rent any Blurays at all. The only options are Redbox or Netflix which from what I have seen do not have any 3D Blurays. I do not have a 3D capable TV so its not a big deal at this time. But when I do I would like the option to rent 3D and standard Blurays locally. With Redbox and Netflix going strong I do not see anyone opening a video store in my area anytime soon.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #1624 of 19423 Old 11-01-2012, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
CatBrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
More jobs down the tubes by RoboBoy.
CatBrat is offline  
post #1625 of 19423 Old 11-01-2012, 05:52 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1011
Who's RoboBoy?
vinnie97 is offline  
post #1626 of 19423 Old 11-01-2012, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
pentium7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post

Most if not all of the video stores in my area have closed. The only place is the local supermarket and they do not rent any Blurays at all. The only options are Redbox or Netflix which from what I have seen do not have any 3D Blurays. I do not have a 3D capable TV so its not a big deal at this time. But when I do I would like the option to rent 3D and standard Blurays locally. With Redbox and Netflix going strong I do not see anyone opening a video store in my area anytime soon.
Bill

The reading and talking to people that I do we are in a very small % of overall people watching movies. The vast majority are streaming and just don't think about the quality of the video. An example is we had a halloween party this past weekend and we were talking about TV series and movies and netflix and HBO/SHO etc subscriptions. One guy said "You guys don't just download all of these things" and most people said "Ya we do". I then explained why I still use physical discs and explained 1080P compressed vs uncompressed and lossless audio and they said "Ya I guess if we paid what you did but we just have XX" TV and cheap stereos" That doesn't even begin to get into 3D that % is even less the smaller the display the worse the 3D experience. VUDU does have 3D and I tried the 2 min free preview on several videos on their 1080P HDX stream having a 50mbps connection it was fine you need I think 9mbps min which most people have these days, looked great and 3D worked.

I'm thinking with the prices of the 3D discs Netflix won't have them for a while since it just isn't important to 99% of the people using their service. Also why they split the subcriptions from disc and stream I bet they have a much higher % of streamers. There's also no local video stores here either and only 1 blockbuster in 20 miles when there used to be 8 of them, if that is even open still.
pentium7 is offline  
post #1627 of 19423 Old 11-01-2012, 08:17 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,782
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 676 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Folks: Technical Q&A only, BDP-103 only.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #1628 of 19423 Old 11-01-2012, 11:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Jottle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm on mac os 10.6. I've enabled file sharing (with smb) for a particular folder on my mac for the oppo to see. I can see the mac on my bdp-103, but it asks for a login and password. I have guest access enabled for the folder (my guest account on my mac has no password), but I can't seem to login to the guest account on my oppo. It just says incorrect password if i try to log in with User: Guest and leaving the password field blank. Any idea how I can get this working? Should I just try to login with my mac os admin account? That has read/write access to that folder.
Jottle is offline  
post #1629 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 01:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jottle View Post

I'm on mac os 10.6. I've enabled file sharing (with smb) for a particular folder on my mac for the oppo to see. I can see the mac on my bdp-103, but it asks for a login and password. I have guest access enabled for the folder (my guest account on my mac has no password), but I can't seem to login to the guest account on my oppo. It just says incorrect password if i try to log in with User: Guest and leaving the password field blank. Any idea how I can get this working? Should I just try to login with my mac os admin account? That has read/write access to that folder.

Mac OS SMB does not work. This is due to the SMB sharing on Mac OS being newer than what is currently licensed on the BDP-103, and the newer version is not backwards compatible with previous revisions.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #1630 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

Mac OS SMB does not work. This is due to the SMB sharing on Mac OS being newer than what is currently licensed on the BDP-103, and the newer version is not backwards compatible with previous revisions.

Any idea as to whether Oppo plans to update their license? I have the same problem. Also, I have tried but it doesn't recognize my Mac user name and password.
dsinger is offline  
post #1631 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 06:54 AM
Member
 
Vincent Kompany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
when using split A/V - with HDMI1 directly into the display and HDMI2 into my AVR - i am getting video from both outputs. is this normal?
Vincent Kompany is offline  
post #1632 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 06:59 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,782
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 676 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Kompany View Post

when using split A/V - with HDMI1 directly into the display and HDMI2 into my AVR - i am getting video from both outputs. is this normal?

Yes. See the FAQ: How does Dual HDMI Output work?

-Bill
lanping09 likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #1633 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 07:46 AM
Member
 
Vincent Kompany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cheers, bill.
Vincent Kompany is offline  
post #1634 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 07:48 AM
Member
 
Dirtold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an unusual problem. When I first turn on my 103, no audio. To get audio I have press mute twice on the Oppo remote, after that all is normal. My audio goes to an Onkyo receiver.
I'm using the recommended settings.
Dirtold is offline  
post #1635 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4,685
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Who's RoboBoy?

A new upcoming feature on the 103 ?

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #1636 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsinger View Post

Any idea as to whether Oppo plans to update their license?

Don't know the answer to this. OPPO always hopes to integrate newer technologies into their player, but there are always underlying software or hardware limitations which may inhibit their ability to add or enhance features.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #1637 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
CatBrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Who's RoboBoy?

Just so I can put this comment to an end, the talk was about losing brick and morter rental stores to machines. So, in this case, RoboBoy are the machines you use to rent movies from. "Losing jobs to RoboBoy".

Not relevant to conversation, but oh well. Peace.

I have an OPPO 93 that I bought last year, and am planning to buy the 103 sometime soon. There. It's relevant again. (also, these comments makes it easier to find where you left off smile.gif
CatBrat is offline  
post #1638 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oztech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 7,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Any hint when an iPhone App may be coming sorry if its already been asked very late to the party.
oztech is offline  
post #1639 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Jottle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

Mac OS SMB does not work. This is due to the SMB sharing on Mac OS being newer than what is currently licensed on the BDP-103, and the newer version is not backwards compatible with previous revisions.

That's just sad. Newer license=no backward compatibility. That's a huge shame.
Jottle is offline  
post #1640 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 11:44 AM
Member
 
airborn007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This player is a keeper for me. I really like the idea of dual hdmi, with this setup I'm able to get RGB (16-235) through my Kuro monitor. Somehow when I connect it directly to my Denon receiver, it will chose RGB (0-255) over (16-235) only and I'm not sure if one is prefered over the other in this case and maybe as long as one of these colorspace gives me the correct color that shouldn't matter..........someone can correct me on this since please chime in.
airborn007 is offline  
post #1641 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 11:46 AM
Member
 
videoluvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A couple issues with the 103.

First, I created a Blu Ray rip transcoded to a 3.5 GB M4V and the file plays fine with VLC directly on Windows and Linux. However, I put the file on my MediaTomb DLNA server (also the Linux box) and when I tried to access it with the 103 the first time, I got a message to the effect the file type was not valid and the player skipped to the next video in the list. (I found out later the issue was with MediaTomb not handling the file correctly and presenting it as 0 length.) Problem is, when I went back to try the file again, the 103 hung and had to be power cycled to recover. I also noticed when the player hung, the video output of the player started to jitter. Now, when I simply step through the video list to that file, the player will hang when trying to read the metadata. The problem cause is on the MediaTomb server, but the 103 should handle it more gracefully.

Enter problem #2

The jitter problem that started above is now a permanent "feature" of the player. Whenever I power up the player cold, the video is fine for a few minutes but then the jitter starts. I tried resetting to factory defaults but that didn't work, and it now looks more like a hardware problem. It may have been purely coincidental that this jitter started after trying to access the video, but in the time I've owned the 103 the video output has been fine - never a glitch.

I also tried connecting a Roku box and my cable box to the same HDMI cable the 103 uses and they work fine so the problem is originating in the 103.

I'm running the latest firmware and the problem is on HDMI-1 out. Before anyone asks, I haven't tried HDMI-2 out yet.

I reported these problems to OPPO tech support last night but haven't heard back yet. Has anyone else experienced the "jitter" I'm experiencing?

Thanks
videoluvr is offline  
post #1642 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 11:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by airborn007 View Post

This player is a keeper for me. I really like the idea of dual hdmi, with this setup I'm able to get RGB (16-235) through my Kuro monitor. Somehow when I connect it directly to my Denon receiver, it will chose RGB (0-255) over (16-235) only and I'm not sure if one is prefered over the other in this case and maybe as long as one of these colorspace gives me the correct color that shouldn't matter..........someone can correct me on this since please chime in.

You clearly need to avoid RGB-PC (0-255). For some reason your AVR is stretching 16-235 to 0-255, which is bad. The Kuro wants 16-235 for sure.
The Oppo shouldn't be sending 0-255 if your have 16-235 selected in setup. With the player on and the HDMI-2 active, use the players OSD to see what is being sent over each output. Use the page-down function to see video output. That SHOULD display RGB with specifics for each output.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #1643 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 11:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoluvr View Post

A couple issues with the 103.
First, I created a Blu Ray rip transcoded to a 3.5 GB M4V and the file plays fine with VLC directly on Windows and Linux. However, I put the file on my MediaTomb DLNA server (also the Linux box) and when I tried to access it with the 103 the first time, I got a message to the effect the file type was not valid and the player skipped to the next video in the list. (I found out later the issue was with MediaTomb not handling the file correctly and presenting it as 0 length.) Problem is, when I went back to try the file again, the 103 hung and had to be power cycled to recover. I also noticed when the player hung, the video output of the player started to jitter. Now, when I simply step through the video list to that file, the player will hang when trying to read the metadata. The problem cause is on the MediaTomb server, but the 103 should handle it more gracefully.
Enter problem #2
The jitter problem that started above is now a permanent "feature" of the player. Whenever I power up the player cold, the video is fine for a few minutes but then the jitter starts. I tried resetting to factory defaults but that didn't work, and it now looks more like a hardware problem. It may have been purely coincidental that this jitter started after trying to access the video, but in the time I've owned the 103 the video output has been fine - never a glitch.
I also tried connecting a Roku box and my cable box to the same HDMI cable the 103 uses and they work fine so the problem is originating in the 103.
I'm running the latest firmware and the problem is on HDMI-1 out. Before anyone asks, I haven't tried HDMI-2 out yet.
I reported these problems to OPPO tech support last night but haven't heard back yet. Has anyone else experienced the "jitter" I'm experiencing?
Thanks

Unplug the player for a few minutes after doing the reset. That might clear the pipes and get things going again.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #1644 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 12:00 PM
Member
 
airborn007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

You clearly need to avoid RGB-PC (0-255). For some reason your AVR is stretching 16-235 to 0-255, which is bad. The Kuro wants 16-235 for sure.
The Oppo shouldn't be sending 0-255 if your have 16-235 selected in setup. With the player on and the HDMI-2 active, use the players OSD to see what is being sent over each output. Use the page-down function to see video output. That SHOULD display RGB with specifics for each output.
Thanks for your input. Yeah I always want 16-235 even if my reciever prefers 0-235 which does display proper blacks but |'m not sure what else it may do or not do when chosing this colorspace. I own 05FD and Oppo 103 the reciver does the same thing but when I hooked up my Sony 1000Es 16-235 was able to achieve the proper blacks. So now I'm not sure if it's just the players that causes this glitch or i'ts my Denon reciever causing this glitch. But it's a good thing I can just bypass this by using the dual hdmi output biggrin.gif
airborn007 is offline  
post #1645 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Jottle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I know this has possibly been reported here before, but I am experiencing some lip sync issues in the netflix app on both the analog and digital outs running into my receiver. Pausing the netflix feed and resuming seems to fix it for a bit (as far as I can tell). Has this been reported to Oppo? And does anyone know if it's being addressed? I'm on the original firmware btw.
Jottle is offline  
post #1646 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by oztech View Post

Any hint when an iPhone App may be coming sorry if its already been asked very late to the party.

Absolutely none. OPPO has never worked on an iOS device before, so they are having some teething problems working on the iOS development. It is still planned, but absolutely no ETA has been established.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #1647 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oztech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 7,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

Absolutely none. OPPO has never worked on an iOS device before, so they are having some teething problems working on the iOS development. It is still planned, but absolutely no ETA has been established.

Thanks
oztech is offline  
post #1648 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 01:52 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1011
Quote:
Originally Posted by CatBrat View Post

Just so I can put this comment to an end, the talk was about losing brick and morter rental stores to machines. So, in this case, RoboBoy are the machines you use to rent movies from. "Losing jobs to RoboBoy".
Not relevant to conversation, but oh well. Peace.
I have an OPPO 93 that I bought last year, and am planning to buy the 103 sometime soon. There. It's relevant again. (also, these comments makes it easier to find where you left off smile.gif
10-4. I wasn't following the conversation very succinctly.redface.gif Downgrading from Blockbuster to Redbox selection definitely hurts (in more ways than one). Amazon shipped my 103 yesterday (to keep it on topic). eek.gif
vinnie97 is offline  
post #1649 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 02:01 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,045
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 613 Post(s)
Liked: 1018
Amazon is now showing the BDP-103 as "In Stock November 15".
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #1650 of 19423 Old 11-02-2012, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Bryan Beckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Amazon has begun shipping the 103. (I got my notification today.)

Looks like they went through their first batch in a hurry -- the product page now says "In stock on November 15, 2012."
Bryan Beckman is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off