Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 550 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3146Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16471 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17,124
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 751 Post(s)
Liked: 628
Hopp, it really would be better if you just used the multi-channel analog outputs to make the setup easier.
You will also not get the reduced audio bandwidth that the manual describes.
You really shouldn't be getting dropouts though either way, so that is a separate issue.
It sounds like some kind of handshaking issue in your setup.
I would suggest trying to hook up the 5.1/7.1 analog connections and then see if the problem is still there.
If not, then you killed 2 birds with one stone so to speak and are better off.

Realize also, that all of the outputs on the player are active 24/7 unless you have settings prohibiting it to do so.
You could hook up the multi-ch analog output AND also use the coax/optical connections for something else, or as a comparison.
Honestly though, there's no reason not to use the multi-ch analog for all your audio.
Smarty-pants is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16472 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post

I'm squinting at your photos, but those jacks by the red 3 on your receiver look like preamp OUTPUTs. You can't connect the BDP's output to those jacks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post

I'm squinting at your photos, but those jacks by the red 3 on your receiver look like preamp OUTPUTs. You can't connect the BDP's output to those jacks.
Yep, looks to me like he has no analog inputs on that unit in which case he is sort of screwed for high-quality audio.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #16473 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 12:13 PM
Newbie
 
Hopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for the quick feedback, I really appreciate your input and its help me gain a better understanding of this.

 

It's been a while since I had to think about anything AV related as my system was serving me well.  But all things must change.

The CRT went out a little while ago and I upgraded to a plasma (Panasonic VT60), got the Oppo on a recommendation from a trusted sales person and just made the simplest connections I could with the Oppo and B&K....  Only realizing I'm going to have to upgrade the AVR after I started hooking things up.

 

 Dooh!!!  I feel like a total noob - Thanks for pointing out OUTPUT's bweismann - I kept looking at it and it wasn't really registering... but I was thinking the B&K AVR 202 didn't have those separate analog inputs (as it was so "cutting edge" back-in-the-day with the fancy coaxial and digital inputs ;-)  ).

 

Well I guess I was asleep during 15-years of tech advances and I've got to start researching again for another AVR...

Don't even know where to begin that one, looks like B&K aint even on the radar anymore???  Emotiva?

Hopp is offline  
 
post #16474 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Depending on your budget, there are lots of good AVRs these days. The good folks over on the AVR section of these forums should be able to help you get started in your quest. Unfortunately, 15-year-old AVRs just don't have what you need any more. You'll be amazed at what current ones can do.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #16475 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 12:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,578
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post

I'm squinting at your photos, but those jacks by the red 3 on your receiver look like preamp OUTPUTs. You can't connect the BDP's output to those jacks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post


Yep, looks to me like he has no analog inputs on that unit in which case he is sort of screwed for high-quality audio.
That's what I see too... Might indeed be time to look for a new amp wink.gif

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #16476 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 01:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,766
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 682 Post(s)
Liked: 1218
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post

I'm squinting at your photos, but those jacks by the red 3 on your receiver look like preamp OUTPUTs. You can't connect the BDP's output to those jacks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post


Yep, looks to me like he has no analog inputs on that unit in which case he is sort of screwed for high-quality audio.

I don't know - this manual says that they can be used as inputs, but an internal switch has to be turned on, which you need to contact service for eek.gif
hernanu is offline  
post #16477 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 01:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,578
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post


I don't know - this manual says that they can be used as inputs, but an internal switch has to be turned on, which you need to contact service for eek.gif
That's very clever of B&K. This would increase the life of the amp. Nice find wink.gif

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #16478 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 01:27 PM
Newbie
 
BobbyES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The unit was set up correctly and worked shortly in a correct manner. All of a sudden you would give your tv a command and it would turn off. Then it started turning off just because. Now you can not even turn the volume of the TV up or down because it tells the crappy OPPO to a turn on or off. This is a piece of crap unit and no one at OPPO knows what to do about it. This may sound strange but at this time the only answer is to purchase another unit and not OPPO. This is one terrible company in which is making sub par units with now reduced warranties. I have it plugged into a power strip now because it turns on and off with the TV control volume. Nothing suggested in this forum has worked including technical support. They even told me it will cost more to repair than just buying a new unit. No labor warranty on the 103 after 30 days. When not using it it has to be powered down, no power to the unit.

Bob
BobbyES is offline  
post #16479 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,589
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2483 Post(s)
Liked: 1789
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyES View Post

They even told me it will cost more to repair than just buying a new unit. No labor warranty on the 103 after 30 days.
Bob

Oppo didn't tell you that. The unit has a full 2 year warranty, no questions asked. I suspect you haven't spoken to Oppo at all. Whatever store you got it from is telling you a bunch of hooey.
Ricker62 likes this.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #16480 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 01:37 PM
 
Brian Fineberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 8,184
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3543 Post(s)
Liked: 3517
Lol. Is this guy for real?!
RayWK likes this.
Brian Fineberg is offline  
post #16481 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 01:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Either that or someone is selling phony Oppo players. My bet would be we have a troll though since this guy posted earlier with the same complaints and was given a whole bunch of things to try that would probably fix all his problems and he has ignored them. I think we should now ignore him.
RayWK likes this.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #16482 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 01:47 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 9,346
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1289 Post(s)
Liked: 1352
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Fineberg View Post

Lol. Is this guy for real?!
Dunno, but he's got 10 thumbs up for 3 posts, so he must be doing something right... biggrin.gif
gsr is online now  
post #16483 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,578
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post

Dunno, but he's got 10 thumbs up for 3 posts, so he must be doing something right... biggrin.gif
This begs an 'off-topic' question... Why does this forum automatically award 10 thumbs to new members?

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #16484 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 02:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 346
To make them feel good?

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #16485 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Help. Has anyone had success using the 103 to upscale to 4k with the 39" Seiki 4k TV ? Bought the Seiki to use as a PC monitor. Seiki says "not supported" when sent 4k from Oppo. Tried 4k forced from Oppo and that didn't work either. Thought I would try here before contacting Oppo. Thanks
dsinger is offline  
post #16486 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 02:41 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,620
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 2107
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyES View Post

The unit was set up correctly and worked shortly in a correct manner. All of a sudden you would give your tv a command and it would turn off. Then it started turning off just because. Now you can not even turn the volume of the TV up or down because it tells the crappy OPPO to a turn on or off. This is a piece of crap unit and no one at OPPO knows what to do about it. This may sound strange but at this time the only answer is to purchase another unit and not OPPO. This is one terrible company in which is making sub par units with now reduced warranties. I have it plugged into a power strip now because it turns on and off with the TV control volume. Nothing suggested in this forum has worked including technical support. They even told me it will cost more to repair than just buying a new unit. No labor warranty on the 103 after 30 days. When not using it it has to be powered down, no power to the unit.

Bob
Did you buy a second hand OPPO 103 that's over two years old? That's probably not possible unless you got a pre-production player.

Do you have proof of purchase from an authorized dealer? Would that be BB's Magnolia department?

Do you know that OPPO frequently repairs their players free even after the two year warranty has expired?

Are you actually in contact with OPPO?

Have you followed any advice that you've been provided?

Nothing you've posted is consistent with anything ever reported by an owner of any OPPO player. That's especially true of your claim that OPPO has reduced their warranty from two years to thirty days, and that OPPO don't know what to do with your problem. Based on how you've communicated with this OPPO owner's thread, it's hard for me to see how anyone will be able to help you.

Have you turned off CEC in your Sony display, your AVR, and the OPPO player? Do you need help figuring out how to do that?

Do you need help finding out which firmware version is installed in your OPPO?
htwaits is offline  
post #16487 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 03:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 373 Post(s)
Liked: 221
I have an Oppo 103 that won't play my VHS tapes. Oppo and BestBuy won't do anything! An I just supposed to throw this $500 player in the trash?!?!?!
jgambino likes this.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1 (also used for music playback in the main system, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is online now  
post #16488 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 03:02 PM
 
Brian Fineberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 8,184
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3543 Post(s)
Liked: 3517
Lmao
Brian Fineberg is offline  
post #16489 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 03:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,578
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post

I have an Oppo 103 that won't play my VHS tapes. Oppo and BestBuy won't do anything! An I just supposed to throw this $500 player in the trash?!?!?!
Bummer... Surely you can use the Oppo's disc tray as a cup holder!?
Ricker62, RayWK and Musky45 like this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #16490 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 03:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 373 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post

Bummer... Surely you can use the Oppo's disc tray as a cup holder!?

That's silly. I already use that little motorized tray on my PC for that.
Ricker62 and RayWK like this.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1 (also used for music playback in the main system, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is online now  
post #16491 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 04:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Phrehdd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post

That's silly. I already use that little motorized tray on my PC for that.

Thank goodness for the coffee cup tray on my pc. I was up all night looking for the "any" key while reading instruction for a software install.
RayWK likes this.
Phrehdd is offline  
post #16492 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 04:14 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 32,643
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3797 Post(s)
Liked: 4935
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Fineberg View Post

Lol. Is this guy for real?!
Dunno, but he's got 10 thumbs up for 3 posts, so he must be doing something right... biggrin.gif

AVS gives you a "gift" of 10 Thumbs Up for signing up.
--Bob
RayWK likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #16493 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17,124
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 751 Post(s)
Liked: 628
gsr, pbarach, dmusoke and 1 others like this.
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #16494 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 04:20 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 9,346
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1289 Post(s)
Liked: 1352
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

AVS gives you a "gift" of 10 Thumbs Up for signing up.
--Bob
Damn kids - us old timers had to earn all of our Thumbs Up. biggrin.gif
RayWK likes this.
gsr is online now  
post #16495 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 04:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 11,041
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsinger View Post

Help. Has anyone had success using the 103 to upscale to 4k with the 39" Seiki 4k TV ? Bought the Seiki to use as a PC monitor. Seiki says "not supported" when sent 4k from Oppo. Tried 4k forced from Oppo and that didn't work either. Thought I would try here before contacting Oppo. Thanks

Ensure that the Seiki supports 4Kx2K at 24Hz. The player does not output 4Kx2K at 60Hz at the moment. This is likely to change in the future.

If you have not done so already, upgrade the firmware of the monitor. If the firmware is out of date, you may get an out of range signal error on the display.

Try another port on the display. Some ports are more reliable than others on this display.

Also, do not use the provided Seiki HDMI cable. It is crap. Use the OPPO cable.
ceat likes this.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #16496 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 04:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hopp View Post

but when I went to play Total Recall (new remake) the sound kept cutting out due to those bandwidth limitations (i.e. Dolby True format). 

fwiw, Total Recall (new remake) blu-ray disc is defective (the original blu with the extended cut on it). What you would need to do (were you are connected via hdmi) is listen to it with Oppo first decoding the Dolby TrueHD soundtrack internally to multichannel PCM, as the Dolby TrueHD soundtrack is basically defective in terms of being able to stream it without dropouts. (Sony didn't bother to fix their disc, Oppo apparently didn't bother to issue a workaround fix.)

Not sure what the equivalent would be for analog output (or coax/optical), perhaps select a lossy version of the soundtrack instead (although I think that's what you are doing?).

Anyway, it's the disc, not your player. Mostly.

Other workaround is allegedly to get the Mastered in 4K version. No extended cut there, but I recall reading that the soundtrack is not screwed up on that one.
fmalczewski is offline  
post #16497 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
AYColumbia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Just want to say thanks for the comic relief. I needed that (it was looking grim there for a while). biggrin.gif
pbarach likes this.

AYColumbia is offline  
post #16498 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 07:13 PM
Member
 
borninusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone out there had an audio sync issues with the 103 and the movie Philomena?

I don't know if I have a setting wrong..or its a disc issue

I probably have a setting wrong....more than likey....but being that I am not overly technical...what are some key settings I should make sure are correct?
borninusa is offline  
post #16499 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 07:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 19,385
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3424 Post(s)
Liked: 4008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrehdd View Post

Thank goodness for the coffee cup tray on my pc. I was up all night looking for the "any" key while reading instruction for a software install.

If I could just find the Any Key and The Lost Chord, I would then only need to see Paris and die. smile.gif

HT setup: Sony 75XBR X940D UHD HDR TV; Kaleidescape Strato Movie Server 6 TB; Yamaha RX-A3060 AV receiver; Sonamp 2-1 2channel 100W power amp; Crestron Control System; 2 Rythmik FV18 subwoofers, 6 Hsu HB-1 Bookshelf speakers, 1 Hsu HC-1 Center speaker, 4 Focal ICW8 in-ceiling Atmos speakers; Oppo UDP-203 4K HDR BD player; Mac Mini HTPC. TiVO Bolt 1TB DVR; TiVo Premiere Elite 2 TB DVR; Roku Premiere+
gwsat is offline  
post #16500 of 24854 Old 04-26-2014, 09:23 PM
Senior Member
 
117olddude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: West of LA
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Why would you want to spray this cute little guy?
117olddude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off