Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 568 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 495Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17011 of 21409 Old 05-22-2014, 08:57 PM
Member
 
david515mi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
B
Quote:
Originally Posted by oztech View Post

For those using the OPPO APP it was updated in iTunes this evening.

The iPhone app seems to be further developed than the iPad version, which just added bug fixes, while the iPhone version has a slick new look, and controls/album art for CDs/SACDs.
david515mi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17012 of 21409 Old 05-23-2014, 01:27 AM
Senior Member
 
wesslan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks everybody! Gonna try when it arrives smile.gif
wesslan1 is offline  
post #17013 of 21409 Old 05-23-2014, 06:29 PM
Member
 
cc999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

I believe the weighted USB extender that comes with the player is simply a USB extension cable that with a weighted stand on the end.
I haven't tried it personally, but I would think that any USB device that can plug directly into the players USB inputs, should also work when plugged into the USB extension.

For the record it di NOT work, very disappointing. Looks like we are stuck with the Oppo usb wireless adapter
unless some figured out how to get it to work. When I remove the Oppo adapter and replace it with the new
Asus one the Oppo unit says no wireless usb found!

CC
cc999 is offline  
post #17014 of 21409 Old 05-23-2014, 06:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,700
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 363 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc999 View Post

For the record it di NOT work, very disappointing. Looks like we are stuck with the Oppo usb wireless adapter
unless some figured out how to get it to work. When I remove the Oppo adapter and replace it with the new
Asus one the Oppo unit says no wireless usb found!

CC

Huh? You mean you are trying to use a different wireless dongle than the one that comes with the player?
Ya I wouldn't think that would work. If you said that in your original post then I must have missed it.

EDIT: You did say that, but I was just explaining how the extension cable worked and failed to mention another dongle wouldn't work.
In my defense I was probably tired. tongue.gif

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #17015 of 21409 Old 05-23-2014, 06:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I have a Sony VPL-VW600ES 4K projector. Is there any reason I should set the 103 to output 4K? I expect it is better to force the 103 to output 1080p and let the projector do the upscaling. Right?
bweissman is offline  
post #17016 of 21409 Old 05-23-2014, 07:12 PM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,537
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc999 View Post

For the record it di NOT work, very disappointing. Looks like we are stuck with the Oppo usb wireless adapter
unless some figured out how to get it to work. When I remove the Oppo adapter and replace it with the new
Asus one the Oppo unit says no wireless usb found!

That's not surprising. There may be another USB wireless adapter that would work, however it would probably take a lot of trial and error to find it. OTOH, almost any wireless adapter that connects via the ethernet port should almost certainly work . . .

I believe it's time to Overthrow VerticalScope..
and Bring Back Huddler!

It's a shame that in the end TCU's playoff chances all came down to this . . .

Blu-rays & DVD's
WS65711 is offline  
post #17017 of 21409 Old 05-23-2014, 07:27 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,691
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 959 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post

I have a Sony VPL-VW600ES 4K projector. Is there any reason I should set the 103 to output 4K? I expect it is better to force the 103 to output 1080p and let the projector do the upscaling. Right?

It's hard to be sure. The best answer is to try it both ways and see if you can spot a reason to prefer one over the other.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17018 of 21409 Old 05-23-2014, 10:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 105
I got some very odd behavior out of my BDP-103 tonight. I had started playing a Blu-ray disc and everything seemed normal. I switched to watching TV, but left the BD playing. When I switched inputs back to the Oppo, I could get no audio. I do use a Split A/V setup. The Oppo info screen showed no audio on both HDMI outputs. If I shut down my AVR, I could get LPCM audio on HDMI 1. If I switched my TV to show video from the AVR and the Oppo's HDMI 2, I got no video or audio. All other video from all other sources on the AVR was normal. I tried resetting factory defaults, and unplugging the 103, as well as reseating all the HDMI plugs in the chain. No change. The resolution of the 103's menu screens was also obviously not 1080, although my TV showed it was receiving a 1080p signal. I had the 103's output resolution set to Auto, so I changed it to 1080p, which did correct the resolution of the menu screens, only as long as 1080p was selected. Also no internet connection was indicated, and Wireless Setting was greyed out. I finally gave up on it for a while, and shut the 103 down for about 30 minutes. When I turned it back on, everything had returned to normal.
.
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #17019 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 12:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,700
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 363 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC-Technerd View Post

I got some very odd behavior out of my BDP-103 tonight. I had started playing a Blu-ray disc and everything seemed normal. I switched to watching TV, but left the BD playing. When I switched inputs back to the Oppo, I could get no audio. I do use a Split A/V setup. The Oppo info screen showed no audio on both HDMI outputs. If I shut down my AVR, I could get LPCM audio on HDMI 1. If I switched my TV to show video from the AVR and the Oppo's HDMI 2, I got no video or audio. All other video from all other sources on the AVR was normal. I tried resetting factory defaults, and unplugging the 103, as well as reseating all the HDMI plugs in the chain. No change. The resolution of the 103's menu screens was also obviously not 1080, although my TV showed it was receiving a 1080p signal. I had the 103's output resolution set to Auto, so I changed it to 1080p, which did correct the resolution of the menu screens, only as long as 1080p was selected. Also no internet connection was indicated, and Wireless Setting was greyed out. I finally gave up on it for a while, and shut the 103 down for about 30 minutes. When I turned it back on, everything had returned to normal.
.

I know a guy who knows a guy and for a thousand bucks he'll come in and do an exorcism on your a/v gear.
It's actually a decent deal since it covers all the gear in your home, but not including the garage.
So if you have any in the garage you need to bring it in the house for it to work.
Anyway, if you want his number just let me know.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #17020 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
retro124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 482

Hello guys, I read 2 weeks ago about Oppo and 4k60fps update. Just want to ask about Oppo and 4k60fps update if is already available and if is only for 103D and 105D version or it will work with 103 also? Thanks


Denon X4000
Klipsch RF-7II's , RC-64II , RB-81II's , RS-52II's
SVS 2x PC12-Pluses
Sony XBR65X850B
Apple Mac mini, Sony PS3
retro124 is offline  
post #17021 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 06:20 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,581
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1124 Post(s)
Liked: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by retro124 View Post

Hello guys, I read 2 weeks ago about Oppo and 4k60fps update. Just want to ask about Oppo and 4k60fps update if is already available and if is only for 103D and 105D version or it will work with 103 also? Thanks

The first post in this thread has a history of firmware updates. For BDP10X-75-0515 it has:
Quote:
7. Added support for the "4Kx2K@50/60Hz" resolution to the BDP-103D/105D (HDMI 1 only, and in YCbCr 4:2:0 format only). The "4Kx2K Output" setting for the BDP-103D/105D is set to "Auto 4K 50/60Hz 4:2:0" by default. Please note that once "4Kx2K@50/60Hz" is activated, the user choices of "Color Space (HDMI 1)" and "Deep Color (HDMI 1)" in "Setup Menu -> Video Setup -> HDMI Options" is not used.

...which sounds like it is for the D models only.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #17022 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kemiza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Circle City
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Can you use a dual band USB wifi adapter in place of the wifi adapter that came with the player?

Panasonic TC-P50ST60 plasma HD television, Onkyo TX-SR805 and PIONEER ELITE VSX-47TX receivers, Klipsch RB-75(2 pair) and RB-61 bookshelf speakers, Klipsch RSW-10, RSW-12(2), Velodyne HGS-12, HGS-18 subwoofers, OPPO BDP-103, PS3 80G, PIONEER DV-525 dvd player, Klipsch RS-42 surrounds, Klipsch RC-52 center channel
kemiza is offline  
post #17023 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
retro124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

The first post in this thread has a history of firmware updates. For BDP10X-75-0515 it has:
...which sounds like it is for the D models only.

-Bill

Thanks for fast answer do you know what is YCbCr 4:2:0 format only? I'm in to buy Oppo just want to be prepare for 4K and looks like 103D is way to go. I'm using for BlueRay now PS3 need to also check it out if PS4 is able to do 4K 60fps or not.

Denon X4000
Klipsch RF-7II's , RC-64II , RB-81II's , RS-52II's
SVS 2x PC12-Pluses
Sony XBR65X850B
Apple Mac mini, Sony PS3
retro124 is offline  
post #17024 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 06:42 AM
Senior Member
 
tjenkins95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Just purchased a new OPPO 103 to go along with my OPPO 93. I cannot believe how fast it starts up and loads a DVD. Another fine job from the OPPO folks!smile.gif

Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 5030 UB
Denon AVR-X5200W
Blu-Ray: Oppo 103
Pioneer Dolby Atmos enabled Elite Concentric Speakers: SP-EFS73, SP-EBS73, and SP-EC73
Klipsch Speakers: RF-82, RC-62, RS-52, RB-61
tjenkins95 is offline  
post #17025 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 06:43 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,691
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 959 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemiza View Post

Can you use a dual band USB wifi adapter in place of the wifi adapter that came with the player?
Alas, no. A Wifi adapter can only work if there's a matching driver in the player's firmware.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17026 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 06:47 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,691
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 959 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjenkins95 View Post

Just purchased a new OPPO 103 to go along with my OPPO 93. I cannot believe how fast it starts up and loads a DVD. Another fine job from the OPPO folks!smile.gif
The extra speed of the 10x players is one of their best features -- and one frequently overlooked by folks trying to decide whether to buy. I also have a 93 for testing, and it is painful to go back to it. And the 83 is even slower.

The power of faster processors compels you! biggrin.gif
--Bob
jskang likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17027 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 06:50 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,691
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 959 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
Quote:
Originally Posted by retro124 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

The first post in this thread has a history of firmware updates. For BDP10X-75-0515 it has:
...which sounds like it is for the D models only.

-Bill

Thanks for fast answer do you know what is YCbCr 4:2:0 format only? I'm in to buy Oppo just want to be prepare for 4K and looks like 103D is way to go. I'm using for BlueRay now PS3 need to also check it out if PS4 is able to do 4K 60fps or not.
That data format is the only way to accommodate that 4K frame speed on current HDMI.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17028 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kemiza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Circle City
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Alas, no. A Wifi adapter can only work if there's a matching driver in the player's firmware.
--Bob
Ok didn't know that. Thx.

Panasonic TC-P50ST60 plasma HD television, Onkyo TX-SR805 and PIONEER ELITE VSX-47TX receivers, Klipsch RB-75(2 pair) and RB-61 bookshelf speakers, Klipsch RSW-10, RSW-12(2), Velodyne HGS-12, HGS-18 subwoofers, OPPO BDP-103, PS3 80G, PIONEER DV-525 dvd player, Klipsch RS-42 surrounds, Klipsch RC-52 center channel
kemiza is offline  
post #17029 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
LairdWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc999 View Post

For the record it di NOT work, very disappointing. Looks like we are stuck with the Oppo usb wireless adapter
unless some figured out how to get it to work. When I remove the Oppo adapter and replace it with the new
Asus one the Oppo unit says no wireless usb found!

CC
That makes sense from a technical perspective. The only way it could have possible worked would have been if you had a USB dongle that uses the exact same wireless chipset as the dongle that Oppo provides. For any other dongle to work, Oppo would have to waste effort and space integrating DEVICE DRIVERS for each dongle/chipset they want to support. They would have to test all these drivers and the inactive ones would have to sit there chewing up space that could be used for something else. Further, they would have to add the complexity of a dynamic driver model into the embedded software. This can all be done - but in return for what? Other features and fixes coming at a much slower pace - that's what.

While the Oppo IS a computer, it is NOT a general purpose computer. Your PC (or Mac) can work with many wireless devices because it has access to and can dynamically load drivers for all of them. The providers of the dongles or their internal chipsets write those drivers - not Microsoft or Apple. On the Linux front - lots of people write drivers. The point is that nobody else is going to write a driver for Oppo or any other single-purpose embedded computer, for that matter. That leaves it to Oppo. How about we let them stick with lower hardware diversity in return for letting them spend time and effort making fixes quickly and introducing new featured in the firmware, rather than integrating, testing, and debugging wireless drivers. I vote for that.

Display: Panasonic P60UT50 (Plasma)
Speakers: (4) Monitor Audio Silver 9i (Front and Surround), (1) Monitor Audio Silver 12i (Center), (4) Monitor Audio Silver 4i (Rear and Wide), (2) Aperion Audio Bravus II 8d (Subwoofers)
Receiver: Pioneer Elite SC-87 AVR (9.2)
Sources: Oppo BDP-103, Roku 3, Cable...
LairdWilliams is offline  
post #17030 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 07:28 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,095
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 460 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemiza View Post

Can you use a dual band USB wifi adapter in place of the wifi adapter that came with the player?
As Bob already said, no. But what you can do is use a wireless bridge and connect that to the Oppo's wired Ethernet port. The Oppo will just think it's hard wired to your network and the bridge will take care of the wireless part.
gsr is offline  
post #17031 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kemiza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Circle City
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post

As Bob already said, no. But what you can do is use a wireless bridge and connect that to the Oppo's wired Ethernet port. The Oppo will just think it's hard wired to your network and the bridge will take care of the wireless part.
I see. Thx bro.

Panasonic TC-P50ST60 plasma HD television, Onkyo TX-SR805 and PIONEER ELITE VSX-47TX receivers, Klipsch RB-75(2 pair) and RB-61 bookshelf speakers, Klipsch RSW-10, RSW-12(2), Velodyne HGS-12, HGS-18 subwoofers, OPPO BDP-103, PS3 80G, PIONEER DV-525 dvd player, Klipsch RS-42 surrounds, Klipsch RC-52 center channel
kemiza is offline  
post #17032 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 08:56 AM
Member
 
quarlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Fort Stinkin' Desert, AZ
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
^^^^
Just for some confirmation and FWIW ... I have the exact setup gsr mentioned using a Linksys/Cisco Wireless-N Universal Media Connector (as they like to call it). Handles the Oppo just fine in addition to my Dish DVR. The Linksys grabs my LAN wirelessly and serves it up through these ancient "wire" thingys to as many as four devices. I live in the middle of the Sonoran Desert with limited bandwidth and have had no problems whatsoever.
quarlo is offline  
post #17033 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

I know a guy who knows a guy and for a thousand bucks he'll come in and do an exorcism on your a/v gear.
It's actually a decent deal since it covers all the gear in your home, but not including the garage.
So if you have any in the garage you need to bring it in the house for it to work.
Anyway, if you want his number just let me know.

I may need him if it happens again. This was the first time I had played any kind of disc since updating to BDP10X-75-0515. I had only been checking out the free concerts on the Berliner Philharmoniker App prior to that. When I did the firmware update, I had my settings stored on an attached USB drive so I was not prompted to do the factory reset and assumed it occurred automatically. When the bizarre behavior occurred, I did do the factory reset, and additionally power cycled the player, unplugged it, and held the power button down while it was off (and power cycled the connected AVR). What surprised me was after that did NOT fix the problem, turning the 103 off for 30 minutes apparently DID fix the problem (the AVR and TV remained on during the 30 minutes the Oppo was off).
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #17034 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 11:24 AM
Member
 
jake9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tucson
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I just bought my first SACD. How come I can't adjust the volume when the SACD output is set to DSD? It only works when it's set to PCM. I'm using the 103 analog outs directly to my amplifier.

5.1 System
Denon AVR-2312CI | Oppo BDP-105D | Martin Logan Dynamo 1000 | Energy Take Classic | Toshiba 42RV530U HDTV
2.1 System
Oppo BDP-105D | Parasound Halo A 21 | Parasound New Classic 2100 | Rega RP-3 | Martin Logan Theos | Martin Logan Dynamo 1000
jake9 is offline  
post #17035 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 11:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,700
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 363 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC-Technerd View Post

I may need him if it happens again. This was the first time I had played any kind of disc since updating to BDP10X-75-0515. I had only been checking out the free concerts on the Berliner Philharmoniker App prior to that. When I did the firmware update, I had my settings stored on an attached USB drive so I was not prompted to do the factory reset and assumed it occurred automatically. When the bizarre behavior occurred, I did do the factory reset, and additionally power cycled the player, unplugged it, and held the power button down while it was off (and power cycled the connected AVR). What surprised me was after that did NOT fix the problem, turning the 103 off for 30 minutes apparently DID fix the problem (the AVR and TV remained on during the 30 minutes the Oppo was off).

That is surprising after all that, it was still in a state of disarray.
I would recommend sending the details to Oppo in an email just so they have a record of it. Perhaps it could be useful to them.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #17036 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 11:50 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,691
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 959 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake9 View Post

I just bought my first SACD. How come I can't adjust the volume when the SACD output is set to DSD? It only works when it's set to PCM. I'm using the 103 analog outs directly to my amplifier.

The DACS (Digital to Analog Converters) in the 103 do not support Volume control while doing DSD-Direct-to-Analog Conversion. Either send LPCM to the DACs or connect through a pre-amp for Volume control.

The more expensive DACs in the 105 and 105D *DO* support Volume control while doing DSD-Direct-to-Analog Conversion. So if this is important to you, another possibility would be to exchange your 103 for a 105 or 105D.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17037 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 12:31 PM
Member
 
jake9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tucson
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

The DACS (Digital to Analog Converters) in the 103 do not support Volume control while doing DSD-Direct-to-Analog Conversion. Either send LPCM to the DACs or connect through a pre-amp for Volume control.

The more expensive DACs in the 105 and 105D *DO* support Volume control while doing DSD-Direct-to-Analog Conversion. So if this is important to you, another possibility would be to exchange your 103 for a 105 or 105D.
--Bob

Okay. Understood. Thanks, Bob. I have considered upgrading to the 105 for the additional digital inputs + the better DAC. Now it seems this is just one more reason to upgrade. I bought the 103 in Jan, and I feel I should have opted for the 105! There may be a 103 up for sale soon. LOL.

5.1 System
Denon AVR-2312CI | Oppo BDP-105D | Martin Logan Dynamo 1000 | Energy Take Classic | Toshiba 42RV530U HDTV
2.1 System
Oppo BDP-105D | Parasound Halo A 21 | Parasound New Classic 2100 | Rega RP-3 | Martin Logan Theos | Martin Logan Dynamo 1000
jake9 is offline  
post #17038 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 06:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post

I have a Sony VPL-VW600ES 4K projector. Is there any reason I should set the 103 to output 4K? I expect it is better to force the 103 to output 1080p and let the projector do the upscaling. Right?

It's hard to be sure. The best answer is to try it both ways and see if you can spot a reason to prefer one over the other.
--Bob


Theoretically (or maybe even philosophically) speaking, why would a device inherently limited to 1080p content offer upscaling to 2160p? Wouldn't - shouldn't - Oppo engineers presume that any 4K display will do its own native upscaling without help from a BDP?

bweissman is offline  
post #17039 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 06:25 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,691
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 959 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
Choice! You get to see which you like better.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17040 of 21409 Old 05-24-2014, 06:58 PM
 
William Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello. 103 owner here with a couple of issues. I have been going round and round with Oppo regarding how to connect the 2 HDMI outs. Since I bought this player in February this year, I have connected HDMI 1 to my Marantz Sr7007 receiver's BluRay input and HDMI 2 directly to my display into a DVI adapter. I have a Pioneer KRP600M panel which has only 2 HDMI inputs and 1 DVI. I also connected the player's 7.1 analog outs to my receiver so I could use that as a secondary audio source while I was viewing the video on the DVI input. I'm using the "split AV setting" from the menu. Well, according to the manual and Oppo tech support, I should be connecting HDMI 1 directly to my display for the video and HDMI 2 to my receiver for the audio saying that in Split AV mode, there will be no audio output from HDMI 1. Well, I have been using the setup I have described since February and I do get full HD audio from HDMI 1 thru my receiver. I really haven't watching anything yet thru the HDMI 2 out/DVI connection with analog audio, but I did go to this input when I was monitoring the firmware upgrade the other day and I got that video just fine; however, the next time I viewed this input on my TV with the 103 turned on to check some menu settings, I couldn't get the "home page" and all I saw was some faint whiteish flickering. I then turned off my display and the player, then turned both back on and "voila" I once again had video from the player. A handshake issue maybe? When I told Oppo about this, they blamed it on the way I have my player connected via HDMI and once again suggested what the manual recommends in "Split AV" mode. So here's my question, is there anything wrong with the way my player is connected and, if so, why then am I getting Dolby True HD and DTS/MA from HDMI 1 going thru my receiver when the book says I won't get audio at all.
Hopefully I didn't confuse everyone, but I would really like to get this answered. Thanks!
William Moore is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off