Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 579 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 523Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17341 of 21724 Old 06-21-2014, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kemiza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Circle City
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I updated my Oppo app last night. Why would they make the remote control smaller? Makes no damn sense.
kemiza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17342 of 21724 Old 06-21-2014, 12:46 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
Still getting intermittent stuttering with Netflix on the Roku. Since I have the TV also connected wirelessly with no problems, I'm going to pin the blame on the Roku. I'll just live with it for now...perfection is always just over the horizon.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #17343 of 21724 Old 06-21-2014, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ I was just about to suggest that. 5GHz (if you are within range of a suitable base station) is far less likely to have throughput problems due to interference.

By the way, the quality on the native Netflix app is superior to what you'll get from the ROKU Stick Netflix app, so you should use the native app for Netflix -- and in fact for ALL the cases where there is a native app on the player.
--Bob
Bob, for some reason, on Netflix I routinely get 480 or 720 resolution on the Oppo 103 app, while getting 1080 on the same Netflix source material played over a Roku 2 XS immediately afterwards. Both the Oppo and the Roku are connected via Ethernet and are right next to each other.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #17344 of 21724 Old 06-21-2014, 07:22 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 1188
^ Are you running the latest firmware? Check Setup > Device Setup > Firmware Information. The Main firmware version number should end "0515".
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17345 of 21724 Old 06-22-2014, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,581
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 44
.
The reason I asked about the HDMI input and 3D is for stuff like media players that can do 3D. I'd like to know if I can connect a 3D media player to the input of the OPPO 103 and then let the OPPO take care of splitting the audio and video.

I've not seen any media players, and not expecting to, that have the dual HDMI out.

So it is either media player's HDMI to the TV for the 3D video, then digital, optical or coax, to a non-HDMI 1.4 receiver which means not HD Audio, a new receiver or attempt to use something like the OPPO 103 to manage the media player's 3D output on its one HDMI port.

All I have found so far is just general information, HDMI Input. No information relating to my inquiry however.

If the OPPO can do this I can just create an activity on my Logitech remote to manage the process/steps.

Sure the OPPO has to be on but I'd rather buy a 103 than a new receiver JUST for 3D.....


E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #17346 of 21724 Old 06-22-2014, 08:00 AM
Member
 
Daffietje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
Will the hdmi input on the back take a 3D input and then via the dual outs pass video on to a 3D TV and the audio to a non 1.3 receiver?
Yeah, should be no problem AFAIK.

Panasonic TX-P50GT60 / Marantz SR5004 / 4 x KEF HTS 3001 SE (front + rear) + HTC 3001 SE (centre) + REL T-9 sub / Oppo BDP-103EU (MultiRegion+MultiZone)
Daffietje is offline  
post #17347 of 21724 Old 06-22-2014, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Holland108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I posted earlier that my picture (when using the OPPO 103-EU with updated Netflix app, latest firmware) is also giving me issues. Every 3 seconds it is skipping or holding a frame (very visilble when the camera is panning).
But now I also noticed that the Youtube connection does not have sound anymore.
(and yes, I first went to factory settings after the firmware update).

Anybody having this problem? (before I return the player to Oppo)
Holland108 is offline  
post #17348 of 21724 Old 06-22-2014, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,581
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daffietje View Post
Yeah, should be no problem AFAIK.
Thanks but just making doubly sure. Nothing like spending the money for a unit like the 103 and then finding out I didn't really provide myself any practical options and am left where I started....

IF it is the case the 103 can be used reliably in this fashion seems to me like a very nice option.....

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #17349 of 21724 Old 06-22-2014, 08:43 AM
Newbie
 
Rmafive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

I am just starting to learn how to stream to my BDP-103. I am testing two files, one a straight MKV from a blu ray and an mp4 file that was converted with Handbrake (using that mkv file). I pass through DTS-HD in the third audio track in the MP4 file, but the Oppo doesn't seem to see it. However, it sees the DTS HD track in the mkv file just fine. Is this a format issue or am I doing something wrong?
Rmafive is offline  
post #17350 of 21724 Old 06-22-2014, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank Derks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Region A,B,C
Posts: 1,996
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holland108 View Post
I posted earlier that my picture (when using the OPPO 103-EU with updated Netflix app, latest firmware) is also giving me issues. Every 3 seconds it is skipping or holding a frame (very visilble when the camera is panning).
But now I also noticed that the Youtube connection does not have sound anymore.
(and yes, I first went to factory settings after the firmware update).

Anybody having this problem? (before I return the player to Oppo)

Do you use a wireless network connection?


If so check that the neighbors wifi channel is not interfering with yours. Switch to a free channel in your wifi router if this is the case.
Frank Derks is offline  
post #17351 of 21724 Old 06-22-2014, 11:13 AM
Member
 
Holland108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Derks View Post
Do you use a wireless network connection?


If so check that the neighbors wifi channel is not interfering with yours. Switch to a free channel in your wifi router if this is the case.
No, the player is connected with cable.
Holland108 is offline  
post #17352 of 21724 Old 06-22-2014, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,892
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
Thanks but just making doubly sure. Nothing like spending the money for a unit like the 103 and then finding out I didn't really provide myself any practical options and am left where I started....

IF it is the case the 103 can be used reliably in this fashion seems to me like a very nice option.....
Oppo has a "no questions asked" return policy for 30 days so if it turned out the player wouldn't do what you needed, you would only be out one-way shipping cost to return it to Oppo.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #17353 of 21724 Old 06-22-2014, 11:50 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,836
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1275 Post(s)
Liked: 587
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rmafive View Post
Hi guys,

I am just starting to learn how to stream to my BDP-103. I am testing two files, one a straight MKV from a blu ray and an mp4 file that was converted with Handbrake (using that mkv file). I pass through DTS-HD in the third audio track in the MP4 file, but the Oppo doesn't seem to see it. However, it sees the DTS HD track in the mkv file just fine. Is this a format issue or am I doing something wrong?
There is a free utility called "mediainfo" which gives details on the codecs used. Post the text output for both files so we can see what we're dealing with.

Does the MP4 audio play correctly on another device, say "vlc" on a PC?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #17354 of 21724 Old 06-22-2014, 12:01 PM
Newbie
 
Rmafive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
There is a free utility called "mediainfo" which gives details on the codecs used. Post the text output for both files so we can see what we're dealing with.

Does the MP4 audio play correctly on another device, say "vlc" on a PC?

-Bill
Thanks very much for your help! I have attached the mkv and m4v text files (I used media info to check that it actually did have the hd stream before hand, which it does). It is strange that the Oppo isn't even picking it up at all (not showing up in the audio track selection). Before I sent the file over to the Oppo, I switched from m4v to mp4, which really shouldn't have changed much of anything. All three tracks show in VLC, which only adds to the confusion!
Attached Files
File Type: txt District_9_mkv.txt (1.3 KB, 17 views)
File Type: txt District_9_m4v.txt (1.4 KB, 12 views)
Rmafive is offline  
post #17355 of 21724 Old 06-22-2014, 12:35 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 1188
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
Thanks but just making doubly sure. Nothing like spending the money for a unit like the 103 and then finding out I didn't really provide myself any practical options and am left where I started....

IF it is the case the 103 can be used reliably in this fashion seems to me like a very nice option.....
Note however that the HDMI Inputs can not accept the high bit-rate, lossless Bitstream audio formats (Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD MA). If your 3D media player can decode those into high bit-rate multi-channel LPCM, then the HDMI Inputs of the 103 *CAN* accept that, and split it out on the two HDMI outputs as you describe.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17356 of 21724 Old 06-22-2014, 12:40 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,836
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1275 Post(s)
Liked: 587
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rmafive View Post
Thanks very much for your help! I have attached the mkv and m4v text files (I used media info to check that it actually did have the hd stream before hand, which it does). It is strange that the Oppo isn't even picking it up at all (not showing up in the audio track selection). Before I sent the file over to the Oppo, I switched from m4v to mp4, which really shouldn't have changed much of anything. All three tracks show in VLC, which only adds to the confusion!
In the MKV file the audio tracks are:
  • DTS-HD MA
  • DTS

In the M4A file:
  • Dolby (ac3)
  • AAC
  • DTS-HD MA

Did these come from two original tracks? I'm not sure where the Dolby came from: HandBrake sometimes does odd conversions, and will automatically create an AAC copy to go with an AC3 original. I'm not sure if it does the same thing with DTS.

So: the player subtitle popup shows the third track in the in M4A file, but plays silence? And you get good audio from that track when playing it with VLC?

I can only recommend writing this up for OPPO and offering them sample files. Maybe a chapter extracted from a larger title.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #17357 of 21724 Old 06-22-2014, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,581
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Note however that the HDMI Inputs can not accept the high bit-rate, lossless Bitstream audio formats (Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD MA). If your 3D media player can decode those into high bit-rate multi-channel LPCM, then the HDMI Inputs of the 103 *CAN* accept that, and split it out on the two HDMI outputs as you describe.
--Bob
Thanks. Tested and my media player, as I expected and is according to its design, IF the source is Multi-Channel LPCM it will pass it. The media player does not covert one to the other, Dolby TrueHD to LPCM, etc.

It isn't designed to do that kind of thing.

Too bad. This would have been a nice way to add playback sources to my non-1.4 receiver.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #17358 of 21724 Old 06-22-2014, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,154
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rmafive View Post
... It is strange that the Oppo isn't even picking it up at all (not showing up in the audio track selection). Before I sent the file over to the Oppo, I switched from m4v to mp4, which really shouldn't have changed much of anything. All three tracks show in VLC, which only adds to the confusion!
Actually it's not that strange...

Placing any flavour of DTS audio within the .MP4 container is not very well supported when played using a software media player. So it's even less likely to be supported when played using a hardware media player. Indeed, I'm not aware of any hardware media player that supports playback of DTS in .MP4


Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #17359 of 21724 Old 06-22-2014, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank Derks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Region A,B,C
Posts: 1,996
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holland108 View Post
No, the player is connected with cable.

Did you try the digital concert hall app? If so does it show a similar problem?


You can test your internet connection using a regular web browser.
http://www.digitalconcerthall.com/en/info has an option to test your connection.


This may help to determine if the problem is your network or the Oppo.


DCH works perfect for me trough a London server.
Frank Derks is offline  
post #17360 of 21724 Old 06-23-2014, 06:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Aliens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,861
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 782 Post(s)
Liked: 750
Can you dim the front panel display? That thing is bright. Searching is giving me nothing. Thanks.
Aliens is online now  
post #17361 of 21724 Old 06-23-2014, 06:07 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,836
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1275 Post(s)
Liked: 587
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aliens View Post
Can you dim the front panel display? That thing is bright. Searching is giving me nothing. Thanks.
Oh, yes. You can dim it and turn it off. The remote has a suggestive Dimmer button.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #17362 of 21724 Old 06-23-2014, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Aliens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,861
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 782 Post(s)
Liked: 750
Dang, it was right in front of me. Thanks, Bill.
Aliens is online now  
post #17363 of 21724 Old 06-23-2014, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank Derks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Region A,B,C
Posts: 1,996
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 103
It's also under setup->device setup->front panel brightness
Frank Derks is offline  
post #17364 of 21724 Old 06-23-2014, 07:16 AM
Member
 
MIIKE888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi!

i still have major audio dropouts when watching Dolby True Hd movies!!

i thought this was fixed in a firmware but apparently not!

if i change HDMI Audio to PCM not Bitstream then the problem is solved but Bitstream should work also!

i use Emotiva UMC-200 as a Processor.

//Mikael
MIIKE888 is offline  
post #17365 of 21724 Old 06-23-2014, 07:23 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,836
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1275 Post(s)
Liked: 587
Quote:
Originally Posted by MIIKE888 View Post
Hi!

i still have major audio dropouts when watching Dolby True Hd movies!!

i thought this was fixed in a firmware but apparently not!

if i change HDMI Audio to PCM not Bitstream then the problem is solved but Bitstream should work also!

i use Emotiva UMC-200 as a Processor.

//Mikael
The fix for Monters U was first introduced in 69-0124B and I recall hearing that it would fix some cases but not all.

"Should work": well, yes, but this is Dolby's fault, along with the studios who deployed an authoring technique without proper testing. Complaints to them, please.

The ultimate fix to the existing problem discs is new firmware in the receivers, but that doesn't often happen, so we get the complaints in the player forums.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #17366 of 21724 Old 06-23-2014, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by MIIKE888 View Post
Hi!

i still have major audio dropouts when watching Dolby True Hd movies!!

i thought this was fixed in a firmware but apparently not!

if i change HDMI Audio to PCM not Bitstream then the problem is solved but Bitstream should work also!

i use Emotiva UMC-200 as a Processor.

//Mikael
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
The fix for Monters U was first introduced in 69-0124B and I recall hearing that it would fix some cases but not all.

"Should work": well, yes, but this is Dolby's fault, along with the studios who deployed an authoring technique without proper testing. Complaints to them, please.

The ultimate fix to the existing problem discs is new firmware in the receivers, but that doesn't often happen, so we get the complaints in the player forums.

-Bill
There was a significant improvement with this on either 68-1224 or 68-1225B. I've not experienced any significant audio dropouts on Dolby TrueHD tracks with any subsequent firmware. I also have seen the suggestion that the dropouts were Dolby's fault because of the way the discs were authored, and agree that if that is truly the case that a firmware update in the device doing the bitstream decoding (the AVR) would probably need to be the fix. Of course there never has been any problem when the Oppo is doing the bitstream decoding (set to LCPM output). However I find it curious and confusing that either one or multiple Oppo firmware update(s) apparently corrected the majority of the dropouts I was experiencing on Dolby TrueHD audio with bitstream output. If this is only a case of authoring in a manner that the bitstream decoder has difficulty with, how does a firmware update on the Oppo effect this at all when the Oppo isn't doing the bitstream decoding?
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #17367 of 21724 Old 06-23-2014, 08:22 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 1188
^ My understanding is that Dolby has confirmed to OPPO that the Bitstream output of the player is "correct". Any remaining problems are in the Receivers. The processing in the player involves extracting the Bitstream audio from the disc and packaging it up for HDMI output. It was possible for the player to do that in a way that reduced, but evidently did not completely eliminate, the chance that the Bitstream decoders in the Receivers would screw up. This is content dependent -- specifically, which Dolby tools were used to produce the content on disc and how far the studio's authors pushed those tools. The problem arises when newer authoring tools are used with older decoders in the Receivers.

As discussed, the workaround, if your receiver hiccups on this stuff, is to let the OPPO do the decoding -- set HDMI Audio LPCM for such tracks.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17368 of 21724 Old 06-23-2014, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
AndrewFG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
In recent builds the Oppo added the capability to play DSD DFF files (mime type audio/x-dff) via UPnP push. And according to my testing this capability works just fine.

But there is still a niggle that needs to be fixed: a UPnP renderer is supposed to respond to a UPnP GetProtocolInfo request with a SinkProtocolInfo return value giving a list of all the media formats that it can play. Presently the Oppo can play tracks with mime type audio/x-dff but it does not include audio/x-dff in its SinkProtocolInfo response list. So I hope that Oppo can correct this inconsistency in its next software release.

Is there some one here (Bob for example) who can convey this request to the developers please?
AndrewFG is offline  
post #17369 of 21724 Old 06-23-2014, 09:21 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 1188
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewFG View Post
In recent builds the Oppo added the capability to play DSD DFF files (mime type audio/x-dff) via UPnP push. And according to my testing this capability works just fine.

But there is still a niggle that needs to be fixed: a UPnP renderer is supposed to respond to a UPnP GetProtocolInfo request with a SinkProtocolInfo return value giving a list of all the media formats that it can play. Presently the Oppo can play tracks with mime type audio/x-dff but it does not include audio/x-dff in its SinkProtocolInfo response list. So I hope that Oppo can correct this inconsistency in its next software release.

Is there some one here (Bob for example) who can convey this request to the developers please?
I'll post your report.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17370 of 21724 Old 06-23-2014, 09:47 AM
Senior Member
 
AndrewFG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
I'll post your report.
--Bob

Many thanks Bob
AndrewFG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off