Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 591 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 479Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #17701 of 21300 Old 07-23-2014, 04:33 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,061
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 435 Post(s)
Liked: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
QUESTION: Between the 103 and 103D, which one did Oppo sell the most units?

...I know, it's a tough question, but someone had to asked.
I don't have actual numbers, but given how much longer the 103 has been on the market (and the lower price), I think it's safe to assume that they have sold many more 103's so far.
gsr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17702 of 21300 Old 07-23-2014, 07:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Kamikaze13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
Sometimes a 'fly' (particle of long dust) can infiltrate the inside disc tray and land on the disc.
...Happened to me once or twice.
Unfortunately I had another 2 lock ups last night watching World War Z at approximately 47 minutes and 93 minutes (The Django lock ups were at 15 and 30 minutes).
The screen froze and the disc was completely unresponsive. Had to power off and reload, again I had friends over . It played through those scenes the second time without a hitch.

I did watch Kick Ass 2 in between watching Django and WWZ with no problems.

I'm thinking maybe the Oppo is overheating?

Is there a way to clean the laser if their is dust?

VIDEO: JVC DLA-RS57U Projector / 106" Grandview fixed frame screen - Oppo BDP-103 Blu-Ray Player - PlayStation 3 AVR: Onkyo TX-NR3009 SPEAKERS: Paradigm Monitor 11 Mains - Paradigm Monitor CC-390 Center - Paradigm Monitor ADP-390 Surrounds x 4 SUBWOOFERS: SVS PB2000 / Velodyne DPS-12

Last edited by Kamikaze13; 07-23-2014 at 07:29 AM.
Kamikaze13 is offline  
post #17703 of 21300 Old 07-23-2014, 08:37 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,633
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 927 Post(s)
Liked: 1145
^ Give OPPO Tech Support a call and let them walk through the options with you. It's possible your player needs Warranty service. They can explain options for cleaning the laser lens as well.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #17704 of 21300 Old 07-23-2014, 08:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Kamikaze13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Give OPPO Tech Support a call and let them walk through the options with you. It's possible your player needs Warranty service. They can explain options for cleaning the laser lens as well.
--Bob
Thanks that was my next move.

VIDEO: JVC DLA-RS57U Projector / 106" Grandview fixed frame screen - Oppo BDP-103 Blu-Ray Player - PlayStation 3 AVR: Onkyo TX-NR3009 SPEAKERS: Paradigm Monitor 11 Mains - Paradigm Monitor CC-390 Center - Paradigm Monitor ADP-390 Surrounds x 4 SUBWOOFERS: SVS PB2000 / Velodyne DPS-12
Kamikaze13 is offline  
post #17705 of 21300 Old 07-23-2014, 09:20 PM
Senior Member
 
ronton3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Macon, Mo
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Ip manual setting

I am trying to use a manual ip setting and can not figure out how to enter a DNS # that is two digits and then a period etc with the remote. Can it be done. Thanks ron
ronton3 is offline  
post #17706 of 21300 Old 07-23-2014, 11:21 PM
Member
 
mario315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 18
New 4K HVEC Encoding for Oppo Apps ?

I own the Oppo 103, was tempted to purchase the 103-D for 4K upscaling..... Now I'm wondering if I should just wait for the new HVEC H.265 encoding to be added by Oppo to its Netflix app, like the new 4K TV's are doing.... Thus, I'd use the Oppo player as my 4K streamer on my SONY 4K TV lacking the new HVEC encoding....

Do we know if or when Oppo would move forward with the new 4K encoding available now ?.... Or will they just wait for the 4K disc standards to be decided at the end of 2014 before they do this ?....

Don't wish to purchase the SONY 4K "X10" Player if I can get Oppo's version instead....

Thanks !
mario315 is offline  
post #17707 of 21300 Old 07-23-2014, 11:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East, dts:x
Posts: 11,150
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4653 Post(s)
Liked: 1874
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamikaze13 View Post
Unfortunately I had another 2 lock ups last night watching World War Z at approximately 47 minutes and 93 minutes (The Django lock ups were at 15 and 30 minutes).
The screen froze and the disc was completely unresponsive. Had to power off and reload, again I had friends over . It played through those scenes the second time without a hitch.

I did watch Kick Ass 2 in between watching Django and WWZ with no problems.

I'm thinking maybe the Oppo is overheating?

Is there a way to clean the laser if their is dust?
Try this:

a) Unplug your 103's power cord and plug it back (from the wall, or your surge protector bar).

b) Unplug both HDMI cables from both ends (103 and projector and receiver) and plug them back.

* Your 103 is not overheating, and I highly doubt that you need to clean the laser lens.
It is most likely a minor shaking-hand issue. I had the same experience @ the beginning with my 103.
It did that for perhaps three or five times before it stabilized by itself. I did like you did; powered it off and back on again.
NorthSky is offline  
post #17708 of 21300 Old 07-24-2014, 04:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 804 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by mario315 View Post
I own the Oppo 103, was tempted to purchase the 103-D for 4K upscaling..... Now I'm wondering if I should just wait for the new HVEC H.265 encoding to be added by Oppo to its Netflix app, like the new 4K TV's are doing.... Thus, I'd use the Oppo player as my 4K streamer on my SONY 4K TV lacking the new HVEC encoding....

Do we know if or when Oppo would move forward with the new 4K encoding available now ?.... Or will they just wait for the 4K disc standards to be decided at the end of 2014 before they do this ?....

Don't wish to purchase the SONY 4K "X10" Player if I can get Oppo's version instead....

Thanks !
Several issues with your question. 1st, your 103 already does 4K scaling. 2nd, there's no reason to assume that Netflix will make 4K streams available to BD players any time soon. Certainly Oppo will be among the last to be bestowed with that gift. 3rd, H.265 decoding requires a complete hardware revision, as does 4K processing. Don't expect to see an all-new Oppo model for a year or more.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #17709 of 21300 Old 07-24-2014, 05:01 AM
Senior Member
 
LairdWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronton3 View Post
I am trying to use a manual ip setting and can not figure out how to enter a DNS # that is two digits and then a period etc with the remote. Can it be done. Thanks ron
Try using zeros to pad the numbers out - so 10.1.1.6 becomes 010.001.001.006
(These ARE numbers, so the two IP addresses above are considered identical)
mhobart likes this.

Display: Panasonic P60UT50 (Plasma)
Speakers: (4) Monitor Audio Silver 9i (Front and Surround), (1) Monitor Audio Silver 12i (Center), (4) Monitor Audio Silver 4i (Rear and Wide), (2) Aperion Audio Bravus II 8d (Subwoofers)
Receiver: Pioneer Elite SC-87 AVR (9.2)
Sources: Oppo BDP-103, Roku 3, Cable...
LairdWilliams is offline  
post #17710 of 21300 Old 07-24-2014, 05:25 AM
Senior Member
 
ronton3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Macon, Mo
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 19
That was easy

Thank you so much. ron
ronton3 is offline  
post #17711 of 21300 Old 07-24-2014, 08:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Kamikaze13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
Try this:

a) Unplug your 103's power cord and plug it back (from the wall, or your surge protector bar).

b) Unplug both HDMI cables from both ends (103 and projector and receiver) and plug them back.

* Your 103 is not overheating, and I highly doubt that you need to clean the laser lens.
It is most likely a minor shaking-hand issue. I had the same experience @ the beginning with my 103.
It did that for perhaps three or five times before it stabilized by itself. I did like you did; powered it off and back on again.
Thanks for the suggestions. Would be nice if it were just a minor hand-shake.
Seems strange that a hand-shake issue would start now? I've had it since December.

I Contacted tech support and they recommended cleaning the laser and instructed how to do it.
It was pretty easy but once I opened it up I didn't feel that was the issue either.
They also said to do this "Also clean the rubber spindle on the servo to make sure there is no hair or lint which can make the discs load off center."
It was unclear to me where this actually was but I removed the silver metal plate and cleaned the attached rubber parts.

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/attach...178242&thumb=1

Hopefully I have time tonight to test it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140723_173809.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	142.3 KB
ID:	178242  

VIDEO: JVC DLA-RS57U Projector / 106" Grandview fixed frame screen - Oppo BDP-103 Blu-Ray Player - PlayStation 3 AVR: Onkyo TX-NR3009 SPEAKERS: Paradigm Monitor 11 Mains - Paradigm Monitor CC-390 Center - Paradigm Monitor ADP-390 Surrounds x 4 SUBWOOFERS: SVS PB2000 / Velodyne DPS-12
Kamikaze13 is offline  
post #17712 of 21300 Old 07-24-2014, 08:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East, dts:x
Posts: 11,150
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4653 Post(s)
Liked: 1874
The rubber spindle is the small center platform on which the disc reposes. ...Underneath that silver metal plate that holds the disc clamp.

Using a can of compressed-gas duster and couple jet sprays on top of the spindle would do it.
But I doubt it is the cause of your issue. ...Still, no arm done doing it.

My previous suggestions (a and b) are just that, and even if you had your player since last December. Here too no harm done.
And takes only couple minutes.

Last edited by NorthSky; 07-24-2014 at 08:52 AM.
NorthSky is offline  
post #17713 of 21300 Old 07-24-2014, 08:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East, dts:x
Posts: 11,150
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4653 Post(s)
Liked: 1874
..."No arm done" ...Harm; forgot the "h" in front.

..."Shaking-hand" ...Hand-shake, right. I reversed accidentally (my French accent).
NorthSky is offline  
post #17714 of 21300 Old 07-24-2014, 08:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 804 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamikaze13 View Post
I Contacted tech support and they recommended cleaning the laser and instructed how to do it.
It was pretty easy but once I opened it up I didn't feel that was the issue either.
They also said to do this "Also clean the rubber spindle on the servo to make sure there is no hair or lint which can make the discs load off center."
It was unclear to me where this actually was but I removed the silver metal plate and cleaned the attached rubber parts.
FWIW, its also a good idea to clean the rails that the laser unit rides on. (while you're in there) These generally also have some kind of lube on them which you don't want to remove, so a dry q-tip is best. I doubt yours are in need of it though, being fairly new.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #17715 of 21300 Old 07-24-2014, 09:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Kamikaze13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
FWIW, its also a good idea to clean the rails that the laser unit rides on. (while you're in there) These generally also have some kind of lube on them which you don't want to remove, so a dry q-tip is best. I doubt yours are in need of it though, being fairly new.
Thanks, I had a look at the rails and they still had grease on them.

I was rushed when I cleaned it but I should have taken a little more time to look for the spindle. Hopefully I don't have to go back in.

VIDEO: JVC DLA-RS57U Projector / 106" Grandview fixed frame screen - Oppo BDP-103 Blu-Ray Player - PlayStation 3 AVR: Onkyo TX-NR3009 SPEAKERS: Paradigm Monitor 11 Mains - Paradigm Monitor CC-390 Center - Paradigm Monitor ADP-390 Surrounds x 4 SUBWOOFERS: SVS PB2000 / Velodyne DPS-12
Kamikaze13 is offline  
post #17716 of 21300 Old 07-24-2014, 09:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 804 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamikaze13 View Post
Thanks, I had a look at the rails and they still had grease on them.

I was rushed when I cleaned it but I should have taken a little more time to look for the spindle. Hopefully I don't have to go back in.
Spindle wouldn't usually be suspect unless you play a lot of rental discs.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #17717 of 21300 Old 07-24-2014, 09:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,690
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 233
^LITHIUM GREASE
From the experience I have had opening several players, I have never seen a problem with the grease,
aside from looking like there might be too much, but better to have too much than not enough I guess.
You can take a q-tip and swab the grease around a little more if it looks like it needs to be, especially up and down the rails,
making sure that the rails are nice and covered all over. (covered as in "ultra thin layer", not "gobs of grease")
You can also examine it to make sure there is nothing embedded in the grease like hair or other junk that can cause the mechanism to stutter or stick.
If you add more of your own grease, just make sure it's LITHIUM GREASE.
Like I said though, most times it won't even need attention.
The affects of lithium grease should last for many many years, decades even, so it's not a matter of it drying out,
you just want to make sure that it is being applied to the rails properly.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #17718 of 21300 Old 07-24-2014, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Kamikaze13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Spindle wouldn't usually be suspect unless you play a lot of rental discs.
No rental discs at all. Just my own. I maybe watch 1 movie a week.
I did drop the one bluray on the carpet before watching it and that's when this all started so I thought that could have possibly been the cause.
Even though I did clean the disc before putting it in and thought it was free from any debris.

VIDEO: JVC DLA-RS57U Projector / 106" Grandview fixed frame screen - Oppo BDP-103 Blu-Ray Player - PlayStation 3 AVR: Onkyo TX-NR3009 SPEAKERS: Paradigm Monitor 11 Mains - Paradigm Monitor CC-390 Center - Paradigm Monitor ADP-390 Surrounds x 4 SUBWOOFERS: SVS PB2000 / Velodyne DPS-12
Kamikaze13 is offline  
post #17719 of 21300 Old 07-24-2014, 09:24 AM
Member
 
mario315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Several issues with your question. 1st, your 103 already does 4K scaling. 2nd, there's no reason to assume that Netflix will make 4K streams available to BD players any time soon. Certainly Oppo will be among the last to be bestowed with that gift. 3rd, H.265 decoding requires a complete hardware revision, as does 4K processing. Don't expect to see an all-new Oppo model for a year or more.
Thanks !.... I had thought that only the 103-D model did 4K upscaling.... Happy to hear my 103 model does it as well.....

I would have guessed that Netflix would have wanted Oppo (and every other hardware manufacturer out there) to get the new 4K stream ASAP as it would expand their 4K footprint to yet another distributor....

Nonetheless, the new Spring 2014 4K TV's have the encoding so I don't understand why it would be more difficult for Oppo (as opposed to SONY, LG, Samsung, Vizio) to release a new BD player with H.265 this year.... If Netflix doesn't want to play 4K ball with Oppo, there's Vudu and CinemaNow that may...

And, as it has been published, the 4K disc standard will be finalized in 4th Quarter 2014, would it not make business sense for Oppo to quickly release a 4K BD player in Dec. 2014- Jan. 2015 ?...

Last edited by mario315; 07-24-2014 at 09:26 AM. Reason: typo
mario315 is offline  
post #17720 of 21300 Old 07-24-2014, 09:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 804 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by mario315 View Post
Thanks !.... I had thought that only the 103-D model did 4K upscaling.... Happy to hear my 103 model does it as well.....

I would have guessed that Netflix would have wanted Oppo (and every other hardware manufacturer out there) to get the new 4K stream ASAP as it would expand their 4K footprint to yet another distributor....

Nonetheless, the new Spring 2014 4K TV's have the encoding so I don't understand why it would be more difficult for Oppo (as opposed to SONY, LG, Samsung, Vizio) to release a new BD player with H.265 this year.... If Netflix doesn't want to play 4K ball with Oppo, there's Vudu and CinemaNow that may...

And, as it has been published, the 4K disc standard will be finalized in 4th Quarter 2014, would it not make business sense for Oppo to quickly release a 4K BD player in Dec. 2014- Jan. 2015 ?...
4K content from Netflix alone wouldn't justify the expense of a new player design. 4K blu-ray might, if there was actually any 4K discs available. That is by no means a certainty. But by all means make your wishes known to Oppo.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #17721 of 21300 Old 07-24-2014, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,075
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
But by all means make your wishes known to Oppo.
Hi Mario315,

In case you missed it, here's a link to the dedicated What features would you like in your next Oppo BR - e.g. Oppo BDP-113 and BDP-115 topic

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 07-24-2014 at 10:24 AM. Reason: link added...
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #17722 of 21300 Old 07-24-2014, 04:28 PM
Member
 
mario315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Hi Mario315,

In case you missed it, here's a link to the dedicated What features would you like in your next Oppo BR - e.g. Oppo BDP-113 and BDP-115 topic
Thank you for the thread referral, I will add it to my favorites.... There are many posts there already discussing 4K for future Oppo players, which was a good thing to read about...

Hopefully, Oppo's high-end market will drive them to lead in this category, as 4K is quite the high-end product and is now shipping a critical mass number of 4K TV's ....

Don't want to switch out my Oppo 103 for Sony/Samsung/LG 4K BD players ! (apparently being announced at CES 2015)
mario315 is offline  
post #17723 of 21300 Old 07-25-2014, 01:42 PM
Member
 
Daffietje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Is it known that the Oppo is clipping the image above 90IRE when the contrast setting is set at its default value of 0 ?
The person who did my ISF calibration on my Panasonic P50GT60 Plasma is saying this.
To not have it clip the image the contrast setting on the Oppo should be set @ -2, according to him.

Any truth to that ?

Panasonic TX-P50GT60 / Marantz SR5004 / 4 x KEF HTS 3001 SE (front + rear) + HTC 3001 SE (centre) + REL T-9 sub / Oppo BDP-103EU (MultiRegion+MultiZone)
Daffietje is offline  
post #17724 of 21300 Old 07-25-2014, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daffietje View Post
Is it known that the Oppo is clipping the image above 90IRE when the contrast setting is set at its default value of 0 ?
The person who did my ISF calibration on my Panasonic P50GT60 Plasma is saying this.
To not have it clip the image the contrast setting on the Oppo should be set @ -2, according to him.

Any truth to that ?
Extremely unlikely. A large number of 103 owners have OCD for things like that including me. NO ONE in the history of this thread has reported anything like that. Standard practice for calibration is to adjust the contrast on the display using something like the clipping pattern on the Spears & Munsil test disc's as well as setting black level (brightness) on the display before starting the calibration. If using the Oppo to play back test patterns you would never make the adjustment in the Oppo. If you did the calibration results would be wrong for other sources i.e. STB. Has the calibrator ever done a calibration before? Is he from Best Buy?
dsinger is online now  
post #17725 of 21300 Old 07-25-2014, 02:14 PM
Member
 
Daffietje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yeah he has done it for years, not from Best Buy. He is from The Netherlands.

Panasonic TX-P50GT60 / Marantz SR5004 / 4 x KEF HTS 3001 SE (front + rear) + HTC 3001 SE (centre) + REL T-9 sub / Oppo BDP-103EU (MultiRegion+MultiZone)
Daffietje is offline  
post #17726 of 21300 Old 07-25-2014, 02:30 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,872
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daffietje View Post
Is it known that the Oppo is clipping the image above 90IRE when the contrast setting is set at its default value of 0 ?
The person who did my ISF calibration on my Panasonic P50GT60 Plasma is saying this.
To not have it clip the image the contrast setting on the Oppo should be set @ -2, according to him.

Any truth to that ?
In the US, the standard method used by professional calibrators is to leave OPPO players in a default state and calibrate the display. If your calibrator has already done the work and you're happy with it, I would say leave it alone.
htwaits is offline  
post #17727 of 21300 Old 07-25-2014, 03:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 804 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daffietje View Post
Yeah he has done it for years, not from Best Buy. He is from The Netherlands.
Its possible you misunderstood, and what was really happening was that your display was clipping if the player was set to "0". Not knowing the specifics of the display or how it was set up makes it impossible to say. In any case, no the player does not clip whites. In fact it outputs WTW if its present in the content.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #17728 of 21300 Old 07-25-2014, 03:44 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,633
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 927 Post(s)
Liked: 1145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daffietje View Post
Is it known that the Oppo is clipping the image above 90IRE when the contrast setting is set at its default value of 0 ?
The person who did my ISF calibration on my Panasonic P50GT60 Plasma is saying this.
To not have it clip the image the contrast setting on the Oppo should be set @ -2, according to him.

Any truth to that ?
The OPPO 103 does not clip Peak Whites -- unless of course you are using RGB PC Level as your output format, which does clip those by definition.

Either your calibrator got confused or there is a problem in your Display.
--Bob

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 07-25-2014 at 03:45 PM.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #17729 of 21300 Old 07-26-2014, 04:46 AM
Member
 
Daffietje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
The OPPO 103 does not clip Peak Whites -- unless of course you are using RGB PC Level as your output format, which does clip those by definition.

Either your calibrator got confused or there is a problem in your Display.
--Bob
I told him your reaction. His reaction is :

"Afaik (measured on different Panasonic TV's in the 50/60 series) the Oppo is clipping the CMS if contrast is set to 0. If set to -1 or -2 it is not clipping anymore.
The differences are minimal though."

Panasonic TX-P50GT60 / Marantz SR5004 / 4 x KEF HTS 3001 SE (front + rear) + HTC 3001 SE (centre) + REL T-9 sub / Oppo BDP-103EU (MultiRegion+MultiZone)
Daffietje is offline  
post #17730 of 21300 Old 07-26-2014, 05:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,075
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daffietje View Post
I told him your reaction. His reaction is :

"Afaik (measured on different Panasonic TV's in the 50/60 series) the Oppo is clipping the CMS if contrast is set to 0. If set to -1 or -2 it is not clipping anymore.
The differences are minimal though."
Hmmm....

I'd be interested to know what this guy has to report about other makes/models of Blu-ray player connected to a Panasonic P50GT60?

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off