Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 593 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 522Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17761 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 07:55 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1262 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecsobar61 View Post

Now, the thing is I can't figure out how to connect the NuForce properly to the Oppo to drive the 'phones. The front left and right don't work. The coaxial doesn't work. Can anyone let me know if I can get the headphones to work with the NuForce and which connects to .... connect?



Brian
Welcome to AVSForum.

The FR/FL should work. There is a downmix setting in Setup you should set to Stereo so that multichannel sources are mixed correctly.

Tell us more.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17762 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 08:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Japan, near Tokyo
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the speedy response! I'm looking at the Set-up but I don't understand 'down mix setting'. Which menu you are referring to: Playback Set-up/Video Setup/Audio Format Setup/Audio Processing/ Device Set-up etc. Can you advise?
ecsobar61 is offline  
post #17763 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,154
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
OPPO Digital in the US has released an updated User Manual for the BDP-103, available for download on their Support page for the player.
I've performed a quick search of the new user manual (v1.8.1) and as far as I can see, the very useful 'blue button' network navigation feature has not been mentioned again

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 07-29-2014 at 08:34 AM.
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #17764 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 08:13 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 1188
^ When playing CDs, the Speaker Configuration > Down Mix setting won't do anything since CDs are already just Stereo.

If you are not getting audio from either the FL/FR Analog jacks or the Optical jack then first double check you are connected to the jacks you think you are using. Next check that you haven't hit Mute on the remote by mistake. And that the Analog Volume setting on the OPPO (Volume buttons on remote) is not too low.

That's about the only way to screw this up on the OPPO, so if still no luck you need to check how you are using your headphones amp. Is it powered and turned ON? Does it have its own Mute? Are you using the correct jacks?
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #17765 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 08:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Japan, near Tokyo
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks. I tried all those things. The only big mistake was the fact that my amp wasn't being powered. But I connected it to my laptop and then the TV but it it's made no difference. My mini-amp only has a coaxial, left and right RCAs, and a USB Type 2-to-USB Type 1 output. Normally, the USBs connect the amp to a computer. There's no other source. I don't know if that creates some kind of loop. I haven't changed any settings yet as I couldn't follow the previous poster's instructions.

Btw, this has some images of the headphone amp I am trying to use:

http://www.digitaltrends.com/headpho...eview/#!bpTWzn
ecsobar61 is offline  
post #17766 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 08:40 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 1188
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecsobar61 View Post
Thanks. I tried all those things. The only big mistake was the fact that my amp wasn't being powered. But I connected it to my laptop and then the TV but it it's made no difference. My mini-amp only has a coaxial, left and right RCAs, and a USB Type 2-to-USB Type 1 output. Normally, the USBs connect the amp to a computer. There's no other source. I don't know if that creates some kind of loop. I haven't changed any settings yet as I couldn't follow the previous poster's instructions.

Btw, this has some images of the headphone amp I am trying to use:

http://www.digitaltrends.com/headpho...eview/#!bpTWzn
Oh, good grief. Have you checked the Specifications page at that link, or looked in the Manual for your headphones amp?

The RCA and Optical jacks on that headphones amp are *OUTPUTS*.

The only INPUT to that particular amp is the USB jack you normally use to connect to the computer.
--Bob
KC-Technerd likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #17767 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 08:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Japan, near Tokyo
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
O.K. Are you saying that that headphone amp is no good for my purposes? I really am not up on the technical side. Input and output totally confuse me. Do I need a totally different device to use my headphones on the Oppo?
ecsobar61 is offline  
post #17768 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 08:58 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 1188
^Yep. That particular headphones amp only takes audio input from your computer (that USB jack). It produces audio output on the headphones jack, on its optical jack, and on its RCA stereo Analog jacks.

So this headphones amp won't work with the OPPO as the OPPO has no way to produce the type of USB output that comes from your computer.

That just means you need a different headphones amp. One which has stereo Analog or Optical *INPUTS*. There are lots of those out there at price points from inexpensive to ridiculously expensive.
--Bob
ecsobar61 likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #17769 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 09:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Japan, near Tokyo
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks. That's a great help. Now I finally know where I stand. I've been on the Steve Hoffman boards for ages, and no one figured this out.
ecsobar61 is offline  
post #17770 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 09:17 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 1188
^ By the way, OPPO makes their own Headphones Amp -- a new product -- the HA-1. It's an amazing product, but this may be more than you are looking to spend for just headphones listening:

http://www.oppodigital.com/headphone-amplifier-ha-1/

Then here's an example of a lower priced Stereo Amp with both Analog and Optical inputs, that also happens to have a Headphones jack

http://www.amazon.com/Teac-AH01-S-St...headphones+amp

With something like this, you could also switch to stereo speakers (and even a Subwoofer) instead of using the speakers built into your TV.

And as I said, there are less expensive "just Headphones" amps out there as well. You just have to be careful not to get the type you have now -- which only accepts computer audio via USB.
--Bob
ecsobar61 likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #17771 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 09:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Japan, near Tokyo
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Advice and links very much appreciated from this rube! Those are doubtless great but too pricey for me right now. I was just about to ask you if this does the same job. This was recommended to me at a certain stage:

http://www.amazon.com/FiiO-Digital-A.../dp/B005PWPUW6

I didn't buy the NuForce for the Oppo, so I was just hoping it would work all this time.
ecsobar61 is offline  
post #17772 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 09:34 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 1188
^ Not really. That is "just" a DAC -- a Digital to Analog Converter. It takes Digital stereo audio input (Optical or Coax) and converts it to Analog stereo audio output.

The problem is, it's not an Amp! For example, there's no volume control.
--Bob
ecsobar61 likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #17773 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 09:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Japan, near Tokyo
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Oh dear. You can see I need to do a course in Hi-Fi to be able to get my head around this. I will have to go back to the drawing-board on headphone amps, I guess. I need to understand this better before I fork out.

Having said that, I only have Sony MDR-1Rs, which are nice, but not that high-end so I am not even sure that it makes sense to pay over $100 just to be able to use the headphones with the Oppo when I can actually use them plugged straight into the TV, if that makes sense.

(My decent amplifier and another SACD player with speakers are in another room, which is why I am trying to find a cheap way of getting good sound from the Oppo without having to buy another amp and speakers, btw.)
ecsobar61 is offline  
post #17774 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,154
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecsobar61 View Post
O.K. Are you saying that that headphone amp is no good for my purposes? I really am not up on the technical side. Input and output totally confuse me. Do I need a totally different device to use my headphones on the Oppo?
If all you require is a basic 'cost effective' headphone amplifier, with a choice of (SPDIF) optical, coaxial and USB inputs... here's one.


Cheers
ecsobar61 likes this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #17775 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Japan, near Tokyo
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks! This is more my range, as long as it works with the Oppo, which I'm sure it does.
ecsobar61 is offline  
post #17776 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 10:08 AM
Member
 
swspiers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
Next, compare the analog stereo outs of the Oppo 103 perfectly volume matched with the analog outs of an Emotiva ERC-2 (or ERC-3) CD player, and playing through the exact same pair of loudspeakers and playing the exact same music recording(s).

* And to Daffie who doesn't have 'Ratatouille' on Blu-ray; go get it, it's a must have Blu-ray title.


Okay- I'll bite. Why would I want to do this?
swspiers is offline  
post #17777 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 10:11 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 1188
escobar61,
It will certainly work for CD listening, however it's probably not particularly special in terms of the quality of its headphones output. It's not got a lot of output power for example.

Which means it may not be any better (or worse) then the headphones solution you are currently using -- i.e., the headphones jack on your TV.

If you were also thinking of listening to audiophile discs such as stereo SACD, DVD-A, or Blu-ray music discs, you should also be aware that the Optical/Coax outputs of the player are restricted for those -- licensing restrictions, due to the fact that there's no Copy Protection on those outputs.

If you found a similar box to this which had stereo ANALOG inputs (fed from the LF/RF Analog output jacks of the OPPO) you would have no such restrictions.
--Bob
ecsobar61 likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #17778 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 10:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Japan, near Tokyo
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Once again, thanks for all this. Really helpful. I would like to be able to enjoy the hi-rez formats for sure. So more food for thought.

Your post makes the private message I just sent redundant.

Btw, would the other poster's recommendation work (i.e. stereo analog inputs)?

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003XCHCLC/...SIN=B003XCHCLC

Last edited by ecsobar61; 07-29-2014 at 10:24 AM.
ecsobar61 is offline  
post #17779 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 10:33 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 1188
^Uh, no. That's why I mentioned the restriction. That particular box has Optical/Coax style input (which will work from the OPPO -- with restrictions for audiophile discs) and USB DAC style input (which will work from your computer), but no ANALOG audio input.
--Bob
ecsobar61 likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #17780 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 10:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,766
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecsobar61 View Post
Once again, thanks for all this. Really helpful. I would like to be able to enjoy the hi-rez formats for sure. So more food for thought.

Your post makes the private message I just sent redundant.

Btw, would the other poster's recommendation work (i.e. stereo analog inputs)?

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003XCHCLC/...SIN=B003XCHCLC
I do not see any analog inputs on that one either. I see USB, optical and coax digital inputs on the back and analog outputs on the front. No go for you.
ecsobar61 likes this.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
post #17781 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 10:47 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 1188
escobar61,
Here's an example of the type of relatively cheap, stereo Analog input to Headphones output, Amp that we've been talking about:

http://www.amazon.com/SMSL-sApII-Pro...KJAM06Y39KA34X

I have no knowledge of this product other than what's shown on that page. I.e., I don't know anything about its audio quality, etc.
--Bob
ecsobar61 likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #17782 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 10:48 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1262 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecsobar61 View Post
Thanks! This is more my range, as long as it works with the Oppo, which I'm sure it does.
You know... a simple y-cable adapter works, too. Two RCA male plugs on one end and one headphone female on the other. Costs pennies.

(Before others abuse me: yes, it's true, I'm indifferent to audio and wouldn't appreciate a good amp if I had it).

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #17783 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 10:58 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 1188
^ It would be an interesting experiment to see if he can hear a difference comparing the Headphones out jack of his TV to a simple Y-cable like that connected to the LF/RF outs of the OPPO and using the OPPO's own, Analog output Volume control. His Sony headphones are probably not particularly demanding.
-Bob
Smarty-pants and ecsobar61 like this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 07-29-2014 at 11:02 AM.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #17784 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 11:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Japan, near Tokyo
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm not averse to trying this, but I need a diagram to have any chance of working this out. I know a similar trick for listening to old mono on vinyl.

Yes, upgrading my headphones is also a way off!
ecsobar61 is offline  
post #17785 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,612
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 1011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecsobar61 View Post
I'm not averse to trying this, but I need a diagram to have any chance of working this out. I know a similar trick for listening to old mono on vinyl.

Yes, upgrading my headphones is also a way off!
I have a great solution for you. Sell the 103 and buy a 105.
Mongo171 is offline  
post #17786 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 11:36 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 1188
^ It's simple. Buy a Y adapter cable -- Radio Shack or online at Monoprice.com -- with a stereo RCA plug pair at one end and a stereo headphones socket at the other end. Costs a few bucks.

Plug the stereo RCA pair into the LF/RF Analog output jacks of the OPPO. Plug your headphones into the other end.

In the OPPO, set the Analog Output Volume to Variable. Use the +/- Volume buttons at the top of the OPPO remote to control Volume. (That won't change the Digital audio Volume to your TV.)

That's it for stereo content. If you are also listening via headphones to Multi-channel content, set Speaker Configuration > Down Mix to Stereo in the OPPO. Again, that won't change the digital audio to your TV.

Should work fine even with no amp in between if your headphones don't require a lot of output level.
--Bob
mhobart and wicklow like this.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #17787 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 02:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,389
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 923 Post(s)
Liked: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
escobar61,
Here's an example of the type of relatively cheap, stereo Analog input to Headphones output, Amp that we've been talking about:

http://www.amazon.com/SMSL-sApII-Pro...KJAM06Y39KA34X

I have no knowledge of this product other than what's shown on that page. I.e., I don't know anything about its audio quality, etc.
--Bob
As long as you keep analog-digital-analog conversions out of the mix, it's not difficult or expensive to have decent quality from a small analog headphone amp. If fact you'd have to try pretty hard to make it sound bad.

Once you throw a $5 DAC chip into it, all bets are off.
ecsobar61 likes this.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #17788 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Partyslammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I asked about this subject regarding a solution to create playlists for media, notably music files for an external drive plugged into the Oppo 103 via USB on the "other" BD forum and figured I'd also try here. I've spent time searching through various forums but haven't found a real solution.

I know how to use the Oppo's clunky playlist function in the on screen media menu (remote's Green button adds files in order of selection to create ONE playlist) but I have an external drive with literally thousands of individual WAV files and the Oppo has no problem reading the drive and playing the files.... but I want to make multiple playlists ideally on my PC where it's easier to drag, drop and arrange numerous files say, of various ambient songs, another playlist of soundtrack music, another one of hard rock, and so on. Basically like anyone can do in any basic media player like iTunes, Windows Media Player, etc.

I thought I could just copy the file that the Oppo player writes it's playlist to and edit it in notepad to at least tediously add, link and arrange the files to a custom playlist but the Oppo must write and save that file internally on the player's HD instead of on my external drive's "Oppo" folder the player creates when you first access it. I don't even know what type of doc the Playlist file is to create one from scratch.

It was suggested to make CUE playlists so I fiddled around with CUE Master today to try and put together a test playlist but it couldn't accept a file over 6MB w/drag n' dropping. No good as I'm dealing with 16-bit @ 44,100Hz WAV files. Even more muddled results using the "Import/Scan" feature (clumped together files into 30+ minute groups).

It seems like such a simple thing, I'm a bit floored that as versatile as the Oppo players are, importing and editing Playlists doesn't appear to be a doable option. Even an iPad/iPhone App as part of or separate from the Oppo Media Control App that could approximate dragging and dropping files into multiple playlists on a USB-connected Hard Drive to the Oppo player similar to what can be done with iTunes would be a huge step.
Partyslammer is offline  
post #17789 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 05:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Japan, near Tokyo
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ It's simple. Buy a Y adapter cable -- Radio Shack or online at Monoprice.com -- with a stereo RCA plug pair at one end and a stereo headphones socket at the other end. Costs a few bucks.

Plug the stereo RCA pair into the LF/RF Analog output jacks of the OPPO. Plug your headphones into the other end.

In the OPPO, set the Analog Output Volume to Variable. Use the +/- Volume buttons at the top of the OPPO remote to control Volume. (That won't change the Digital audio Volume to your TV.)

That's it for stereo content. If you are also listening via headphones to Multi-channel content, set Speaker Configuration > Down Mix to Stereo in the OPPO. Again, that won't change the digital audio to your TV.

Should work fine even with no amp in between if your headphones don't require a lot of output level.
--Bob
Bob: sorry to be a dunce but the links are not giving me the exact products. I have a couple of male and female Y cables but the female end doesn't fit my headphone jack, if I am doing this right. What size should I be looking at?

This is the one I already have:

http://www.amazon.co.jp/オーディオ分配ケーブル-...KVY598RVZ84KAZ

Maybe this is what I need, something completely different?

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=3452165


or this?

http://www.amazon.co.jp/Techlink-iWi...9+Plug+Y-cable

[I realise this is a stop-gap, so I am looking into a proper headphone amp, but it's going to take a while to decide.]

Last edited by ecsobar61; 07-29-2014 at 06:12 PM.
ecsobar61 is offline  
post #17790 of 21707 Old 07-29-2014, 06:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Japan, near Tokyo
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can you explain what you mean by analog-digital-analog conversion here? I basically want to play CDs (digital) on the Oppo and hear them on the headphones (DVD and BD a plus).
ecsobar61 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off